Showing 20 reviews for Jensen VM9224BT

Customer Review Summary for Jensen VM9224BT
Average Customer Rating is 4.4 out of 5 stars:
4.4
based on 20 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
55%
4 star:
.
.
30%
3 star:
.
.
15%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.5
Features
4.4
Design
4.3
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Works Great for the value

It was easy to install and set up in my 2008 Tacoma. Sometimes the ipod disconnects but other than that I haven't had any problems with it working. There are a few things that would be nice to have like a built in mic, detachable faceplate, anti-glare screen but I still am pleased with it. The suggested Metra dash kit that was sold with it didn't fit and I would recommend getting a Scoshe kit.

VS
Nice product

I bought this deck to replace my single din, it worked good but for me it didn't change songs fast enough! Produces 40rms each channel which was really nice but I was disappointed that u had to buy a different cord to play videos off your iPod. So after about 4months of owning this deck I went with a new pioneer.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
May 25, 2012 Works Great for the value
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Nick from Euless, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It was easy to install and set up in my 2008 Tacoma. Sometimes the ipod disconnects but other than that I haven't had any problems with it working. There are a few things that would be nice to have like a built in mic, detachable faceplate, anti-glare screen but I still am pleased with it. The suggested Metra dash kit that was sold with it didn't fit and I would recommend getting a Scoshe kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 20, 2012 You get a lot of Bang for the Budget Buck!!!!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Bados in the House from Goldsboro, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I owned a Ford Explorer 2002 a decided to junk the factory radio with something more updated. This is the choice for those of you who is on a budget. Installation was easy. The diagram was very helpful along with the free hardness. It took me and my son 4 hours to complete the installation. I wired the pink(ground) wire to a toggle switch wired in arm rest box, just in case I get pulled over by the PO PO. The touch screen response is very precise, the dvd video shows great but the aspect ratio don't work. My Android 2.2 phone paired off in minutes after installation. I won't be upgrading the navigation unit due to the fact that my phone has it already and speaks through the speakers. Overall I'm impressed with this low end head unit....I will be updating later...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2013 great value
Review by
dean from bauxite, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i t is a great product at a great price. read direction dont assume! if you use a sd card for music make sure it is in mp3 format not mp4 which itunes will send the music in. tell itune to translate to mp3 from mp4 ifyou use a sd card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2013 Nice features for the price
Review by
Rick from Grand Rapids, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installation into my 2007 Tacoma was easy with the Scosche dash and wiring kits. I use all 3 preouts. Front and rear into a 4 channel amp and subwoofer out into a separate sub amp.

I did test out the DVD player and the radio and they worked fine. I was also able to watch video from SD and USB (once I found the correct video format to use).

I mostly listen to MP3's so I load about 600 of them up onto a SD card at a time. One thing I do notice is that this unit skips the first 1/2 second or so of MP3's, so you miss the first note of songs with a big opening.

One feature I do like is when I turn the unit on the volume is set to 10 (out of 40) so the music doesn't start out blasting.

Hooking up a rear view camera was as simple as running the wires and plugging it in.

At this price level I would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2013 Great site to buy car stereos
Review by
sunil from Sterling, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Buying experience is awesome with sonic electronic. Required harness wiring for selected stereo and selected car model is wonderful option this site provides. The product is up to the description and features mentioned.
I dont have any issues with the product and its very easy to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 6, 2013 Overall Good Product
Review by
Michael from Fort Myers, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good unit at a good price. Doesn't have a whole lot of bells and whistles but it gets the job done with no problems so far (owned for 6 months). Wish the screen would tilt and iPod interface can be a tad laggy at times but would recommend this product to friends and would but it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2013 Très bonne valeur
Review by
Phocas from Lac Brome, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent rapport qualité prix, un peu complexe a opérer au début.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 14, 2012 Very good radio for the price.
Review by
Caleb from Mt Vernon
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just had this installed and I love it. Complete integration with my iPhone. Very crisp and clear sound from Bluetooth. I think this is the best radio purchase I've made. Most bang for the buck if you ask me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 16, 2012 Jensen VM9224BT
Review by
Mario from Chula Vista
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
WOW great head unit everything works great Bluetooth sounds great I would recommend this to anyone great deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 10, 2012 Great Value
Review by
Albert from NSW, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I imported this product to Australia and found that although this is a double din unit it did not fit properly. The height was not correct. The radio although it picks up well enough does not give good sound compared to playing through the USB. This may be just a country thing.

Pros
Easy to fit
Easy enough to use
Bluetooth phone works well

Cons
Slow when changing to bluetooth phone from USB and visa versa
Difficult to adjust fade and balance although I was only testing and usually do not adjust.

I have yet to install the reversing camera so cannot comment on that. Also yet to play DVD's. Overall a solid unit for the price and features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2012 Very good
Review by
Christopher Jo from Abilene tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It was worth every penny. IT shows great movies. It reads all my music. I don't even have to turn it up loud to blast it through my speakers. Adjust well and has tons of options. Totally worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 2, 2012 Great device
Review by
HRauh from Sparks, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this product because I wanted an upgraded stereo, something that I could connect my sub woofers to, and be able to play my iPod. I liked the look and idea of a touch screen and a double din (I've had a single din before but didn't like the way the little shelf looks). Over all it is an awesome product but to be able to use all of the features you would have to spend the same amount plus another chunk of change so that's why I've only given it 4 stars. I have played a few movies through it and the picture quality isn't bad at all (can't expect too much out of a little thing in your car) I would highly recommend buying the frame cover that makes it look flush with the car if you get the option, I did for my Saturn SC series and it looks like the stereo came stock with the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 22, 2012 Good Headunit, great price
Review by
SR2K from Clarksville, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this radio for my 98 Ford Ranger and was so happy with it that when I got rid of the Ranger it was brought over to the F150. It gets plenty loud, while remaining crisp and clear. Works great with the bluetooth, and comes through very well on the other end as well. The SD card feature is slow to load up, but once it does it works as it should. Overall this is an excellent headunit for someone who wants new features without breaking the bank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 25, 2012 Nice product
Review by
Tj from chugiak, AK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this deck to replace my single din, it worked good but for me it didn't change songs fast enough! Produces 40rms each channel which was really nice but I was disappointed that u had to buy a different cord to play videos off your iPod. So after about 4months of owning this deck I went with a new pioneer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2012 Not Bad!!!
Review by
Stacey from Glenview, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this unit to anyone NOT looking for their head unit to be able to multitask. This unit is simple and basically does one function at a time. I have a DNX9140 in my other vehicle and I'm able to play movies to my headrests while listening to music in the car and I can half split the car to have the movie audio playing in the back and the radio playing upfront. THIS UNIT DOES NOT HAVE THAT CAPABILITY. But, it does stream bluetooth music, navigation directions extremely well from my iphone with no hiccups (better than my DNX 9140). The unit is slow to execute some commands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 7, 2012 Indash
Review by
austin from las vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would definitely buy this product again. All the touch functions work great and the resolution was amazing. Works great with the iPod controller system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 12, 2012 Great Value!
Review by
Vidal from Bay Area, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At first I was a bit skeptical due to the unit having an extremely low price, but I'm glad I pulled the trigger on this unit. The touchscreen is really responsive, the bluetooth works great, the iPod to unit is a bit slow but its nothing I can't deal with. Easy install. I'm considering buying the navigation upgrade soon. Look is very bland, but I bought it for the features not for it to be colorful. Overall Im really happy with this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2012 Awesome car stereo for under $300!
Review by
Darryl from Castle Rock, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this stereo to replace the factory stereo in my Ford Focus and I am so happy with my choice! I love having the touch screen for all of the controls and love the iPod hookup and bluetooth. I leave my iPod hooked up in a small compartment on the left side of the steering wheel. The iPod control works very well! The feature I love the most is the bluetooth. My phone automatically connects with the stereo as soon as I start the car. This was weird to get used to at first, especially if I was on the phone when I got into my car an all of a sudden I couldn't hear the other person, until I turned up the stereo, it switches over automatically! I also love how if I am listening to my iPod and get a call, the song is paused. I also stream Pandora from my phone to the stereo, very cool! Sometimes I even play Youtube videos on my phone and listen through the stereo bluetooth. I don't have a video iPod or iPhone, so I haven't tried playing videos from them onto the stereo screen. Another cool feature is that you can set the start-up volume! So, when you turn off the car after driving with the volume high, when you restart the car, the volume goes to the pre-set value, so no more blsting your ears off when you first start the car!!! The only complaint I have, which might have a solution that I haven't found yet, is the bluetooth phone call volume is pretty low, so I have to turn up the stereo volume to hear the other person, but when I hang up and the radio or iPod starts playing again, I have to quickly turn the volume down. Not the end of the world, but it can be annoying.

One feature that I wish the stereo had, is when listening to my iPod, I wish I could drag the progress bar to quickly move further into the song. I listen to some 2 hr trance mixes and it would be nice to be able to jump 10 minutes instead of the normal fast forward of like 20 seconds per second. You can drag the scroll bar when going through you song list, to move faster through the list, so it seems like it would be possible in a song.

By the way, if you ground the pink video wire to any screw behind the dash, you can watch video while driving. It was going to be way too difficult to connect the pink wire to my handbrake! I watched Top Gun on the stereo and the sound was AWESOME! This is a very nice feature packed head unit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 27, 2011 Good Value
Review by
Lawrence from Madison Heights, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good value, I would not say Awesome. First the good, has good sound quality, lots of adjustments and features for the money. Bluetooth works well. 2 usb ports (front and Back) and sd reader.
Cons. The aspect ratio doesn't display movies properly, I called jensen and was told "it is what it is, you should buy a name brand for correct playback" (unbelievable right). So images are stretched and there's no way to change this. Last the unit will only recoginize 1500 songs on any thumb drive or hard drive, after that it ignores them so 8 gigs is about the max.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 12, 2011 Awesome Value!
Review by
Phil from Milford, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this radio for my Ford Focus at the recommendation of the Sonic Electronix guys, and am I ever pleased. So many features, and all the extras were included. iPod cable to play videos, dash rings, mic for the phone. It has impressed me more than I could have believed that a Jensen could have. The power output is moderate, but rated at 13w rms, it's not misleading in it's description. iPod controls are great, almost like using the scroll wheel itself, but with a slight pause when songs are skipped, but no big deal. Dvd playback is great, with very good screen resolution. It is a little hard to see the screen in direct sunlight or polarized sunglasses, but not to the point of being unable to see it. And it has so many inputs, sd card, a/v, front and rear usb. And expandable with nav, and the bluetooth with the phone is good and syncing very easy. I TOTALLY recommend this head unit to anyone looking for a head unit with the features it offers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz