Showing 25 reviews for Precision Power PPI P900.4

Customer Review Summary for Precision Power PPI P900.4
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 25 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
88%
4 star:
.
.
4%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
4%
1 star:
.
.
4%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.6
Features
4.5
Design
4.3
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
May 3, 2014 PPI of old
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Toe Jam from Sticks,MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is brings back memories of the 90's PPI stuff just a whole lot smaller. I have it powering an Alpine SPR-60C component set up front and 2 Rockford T1692 6x9's in the rear and holy crap this thing is amazing !! It packs a serious punch for it's size and is so worth the money. I just wish I picked up another one before they sold out !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 28, 2014 Great Little Amp!
Review by
Dsmduck from Portland, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This PPI amp is a powerful amp in a small package. It's running a compound set up consisting of two Kicker SSMB 8"s + tweets on the front channel and two Soundstream 6x9s on the rear channel. It is half the size of my old Planet Audio HVT754 tube amp, but has a lot more power, and is just as clear. I don't know if you could find a better amp in this price range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 14, 2014 Good things come in small packages
Review by
JD from Loveland, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this amp to go active in my SQ install. Being a PPI fan for many years I had to try this one. I was not disappointed. It has plenty of power and is very clean sounding. I have this installed along with my older PPI's and it is right at home. In the SQ circle this amp is quickly growing in popularity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 30, 2014 Best 4 channel on the market
Review by
Oren from Champaign, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Like the title says, best 4 channel on the market, although this is my 2nd out of 4 that Ive owned that stopped working on me with no burns or any mfs fried on the bored. Good thing sonicelectronix warranties. Excellent crossovers, CLEAN power, never get hot, excellent size for applications for limited space. Just hope my next amp doesnt take a dump on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 21, 2014 best amp for $$ period
Review by
john from Marco Island, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Runs cool and has gobs of power. I have it running a pair of 8" fosgates and a pair of 6X9 Infinities in my Nautique. It flat out pounds. I would recommend this amp / speaker combo every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2014 PPI P900.4 Big power little package
Review by
Jones from WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is small and does a great job, it has plenty of power for most car systems and stays cool. I cant say anything bad about it. Have a good set of speakers because this amp has got big power!! I am running 2 set of Polk mm6501 off this amp and it sounds very good!!
For the price you cant go wrong, this is a deal..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 29, 2013 Great little amp
Review by
Ryan from Port Allen, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this amp to anyone who needs a lot of power, small current draw, and doesn't want to break the bank. I think for 99% of car stereo enthusiast, this amp is all you will ever need. Personally I can not hear a difference between this and other A/B amps that I've had before this. The extra power is nice to have and so is the lack of strain on my electrical system. The amp is small, easy to install, and easy to use. The screwdriver issue isn't a huge problem as long as you have a small one around. That is really the only knock against it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 6, 2013 PPI P900.4 - Tiny amp, huge power
Review by
nadcicle from Nashville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ordered this amplifier after hearing about all the positive reviews of it putting out a clean powerful signal. I read into how it came with reducers to fit 0 awg wire for those of us that only run such. Upon opening the box I was greeted with such a small amp staring back at me that I almost dropped the box from laughing. I was thinking to myself of all the places I could mount this thing cause it was so small. Besides the size of it, this amp is also extremely appealing for those of us that like sleek and shiny black. Well, I started hooking this thing up to come back with only a single gripe and that is the location of all the screw heads. I felt like I was scratching the edge above the power/ground area trying to tighten down the reducer. After I finished wrapping my screwdriver in tape to prevent scratching my new amp I finished my install. Starting this thing up had a strong click from the switch and a bright blue "on" light. I started adjusting this thing and really started get more and more surprised that so much power can come out of such a tiny package. I really was blown away by how they managed to squeeze all of the knobs on the side for setting up for an active system. It really is all crammed on a single side. If I had to see another revision I would suggest top mounted controls more spaced apart, but alas after settings them up correctly it was strong clean power coming straight through my speakers. I was so surprised that I went ahead and ordered another almost immediately. I will be back to order 1 more and go ahead and get a 2 channel while i'm at it soon. I might even just order another 4 channel and bridge them instead to keep them all matching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2013 Solid amp
Review by
Jeremy from newtown, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm pretty happy with it so far .works well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Great little amp
Review by
Tim from Corvallis, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For anyone looking for a solid class D amp, this is it. I've been running Class-D's in my last couple installs, no issues, no "coloring" of the music, it all sounds clean.
Compared to my Kenwood XR-4S, it puts out a little more heat, but much less than any A/B I've owned.
The amp is solid, feels like a solid brick. My only gripe is the gain setting. No indexed shaft makes repeat ability difficult, it only has a simple X-cut that doesn't 100% line up with the end cap markings.
For the price it can't be beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2013 Ppi 900.4
Review by
Bumpasauras from Big spring tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very happy with the amp. I plan on buying another . Very stable at 2 ohm. Amp performs as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2013 Excellent Amp
Review by
david from lakewood, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this to power two wetsounds Pro80 speakers on my wakeboard tower. I run it bridged & it delivers! Loud clear power. I ended up purchasing the p600.2 & p900.5 as well to run the rest of my system & proudly boast one of the loudest systems at the lake. Requires less power than conventional amps & they take up half the space. Very happy, I tell you buy this amp, mine came with free foam peanuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 24, 2013 Amazing Amp!
Review by
Davinci from VIC, Australia, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had all the common worries that we all have when buying amps, Does it have ignition/alternator whine issues?, will it cut out up high or can it really handle high loads?. i upgraded to this amp from the Infinity Kappa 4 and considering they are both within the same rms range, this amp is so much better, brought this thing worrying it was not going to deliver, but once i installed it, boy did it deliver simply amazing amp! i have it powering infinity Kappa Perfects and the sound quality is unsurpassed, everyone loves my system! Would recommend this amp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 8, 2013 Awesome!
Review by
Brent from Monument, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just replaced a 50W RMS 4-channel amp with the PPI to drive a PPI PC3.65C front stage and I'm blown away!!!! Mere words don't do justice to this setup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 7, 2013 Great value, power and size
Review by
Robert from Sanford, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great value, power and size. Almost too powerful, had to turn the gain way down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 18, 2012 Clear and powerful in a small package.
Review by
Robert from Sanford, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently installed this amplifier and it certainly has more power than I need for my system. Very clear and loud. no distortion or interference. It has versatility in installation being 2ohm stable. The documentation could be much better. Use a small philips screwdriver and you will have no problems installing the speaker and power wires. Don't forget to buy the 8ga inline fuse, for install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 31, 2012 Powering 2 sets of components!
Review by
FatStrawPDX from Portland, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great budget amplifier. I'm using it to power my Hybrid Audio Unity U61-2 6.5" 2-way in the front doors and my DLS MS6A components in the rear deck. What I love most about this amp is that it came with 0 gauge adapters for the power/ground cables.

This is also a class D amp but very nice compared to most Class A/B amps out there. It produces nice sound quality compared to my old amp and no noise issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2012 Best budget amp hands down
Review by
Dan from Wilmington, DE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's not flashy, and it wasn't made to be. It won't wow you with a bunch of unnecessary bells and whistles. What it will do is very quietly, cleanly, and efficiently deliver ample power to all 4 of your cabin speakers, to your front stage and a subwoofer, or to a set of 2 way components run active. Completely utilitarian in design, this little powerhouse completely owns it's price point in the market. If you've made it this far in the decision making process to read this, buy it. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2012 Great Little Amps!
Review by
Ryan from Mobile, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed a PPI P900.4 and a PPI P1000.1 under the driver's seat in 1998 Toyota Tacoma. These little amps are amazing the power they produce in such a small package. There are 3 things that I can say bad about the PPI is:

1.) Why use Phillips head screws for setting the gains and crossover points?

2.) The Phillip screws for the power and speakers wire holders are partial blocked by the bars made into the ends of the amp. I had to use a very small headed flat head screw driver to tighten the screws without stripping them.

Even with my above complaints these amps are a definite best buy! Btw, SonicElectronix.com sent them at lightning speed! Within 2 days after my order, they were at my house!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 12, 2012 Great little, versatile amp!
Review by
Michael from Western, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great big amplifier in a tiny little package. Sounds great! Pushes my Front component speakers and bridged the rear to push my iDMAX 12! More than enough power for me. Fits very nicely under my passenger seat. Solid little amplifier. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 21, 2012 Solid upgrade
Review by
backtopoolschool from Houston, Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed this in place of the factory amp in my Porche Boxster S, along with Polk Momo's in the door. Very nice improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2012 awesome
Review by
geoff from pomona ny
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is a power house and its smaller than a paperback book. Pics do no justice on it's size. Very low noise floor and very efficient. Barely gets warm. I've had a lot of amps most mid level and a couple high end this amp was without a doubt one of the best amps I've had due to its price, size, power and performance. I've picked up another one because of it. Its not the prettiest but you don't look at amps for looks. Homerun on this one PPI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 28, 2011 Precision Power P900.4
Review by
Radik from Toronto, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp was for a stealth project in my family sedan. No subs, just a strong front stage and subtle rear stage. This amp is amazing, lots of power. It's set 1/4 way full range and it's making my pioneer rev 6x9s shine. It has a great x-over and great small foot print. Fits perfectly under the front seats. Only gripes with this amp, is the RCA connects seem kinda fragile. Also accessing the power and speaker terminals are a pain, you need a small screwdriver to tighten and adjust them. Problem is you lose the torque ability and can't easily tighten. If you can overlook those drawbacks, this is the best 4 Channel amp on the market, at any price point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2014 Cheap made. Others better...
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Carl from Oswego, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking at small footprint amp to fit in my 2006 vette convertable.

This amp is a time consuming to get it dialed in, -screw's for power, ground, and speakers a pain to get too [no allen wrench there ], And also on mine, the RCA inputs were loose and wobble . So be carful hooking up to these.
So if this is what you want for size and power,, I would recomend something like, ??
Pioneer, GM-D8604. As made alot better and sweet sound.. It's about the same power, and size..and its CEA Compliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 10, 2013 disappointed
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
naresh from miami fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i was disappointed with this amp. it worked and performed as expected, but the design of the amp is flawed. as some reviews stated, two Phillips screws on the speaker/power/ground terminals are difficult to tighten with a screw driver and the Phillips heads are easy to get rounded and as a result you cannot get a good contact with the wires .(power/ground/speakers) i contacted precision power via email to see if i can purchase the terminal screws but i did not get a reply and its been about 3 weeks now. because of this i'm giving this product 1 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz