Showing 20 reviews for Dual XR4115

Customer Review Summary for Dual XR4115
Average Customer Rating is 3.7 out of 5 stars:
3.7
based on 20 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.7
Value
4.4
Features
3.8
Design
4.0
Usability
4.2
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
February 12, 2012 Ok for the price
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Gibron from Rowlett, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this unit and had it installed and about two weeks later the backlight went out on the unit. But over all its a really cool unit and it has 200 watts so it makes your stock car speakers sound like aftermarkets and the sound is great! So for the price i would say yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2013 Preamp Outputs
Review by
eric from tupper lake
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
is anyone else have a problem with the preamp outputs? i have hooked up 2 different amps to the outputs and still no sound is playing out of the sub...............get what ya pay for. i wouldn't recomend this to anyone who is trying to hook up a system......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2013 Cheap
Review by
NA from FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had for almost a year when just started to skip songs by itself. Put it on tuner, it will change stations. Got mad and turned off, it turns itself back on! Have to use remote, face plate won't work. Figured with no mechanical parts, should last a while. You get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2012 Great radio for the price
Review by
Karen from Buford, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have had this radio now for 6 months. For the price, it can't be beat. There are a few things like low end hiss and noticeable skip between songs played from SD card, but is an excellent little radio for the price.

Only use SD card and tuner, have never tried the aux port, so don't know what the sound is like from there. The SD card is SO much better than having all those CDs to fumble with. My son has a 6 CD in his truck, and after playing with this radio, is ready to change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2012 DUAL XR4115
Review by
Rambo from Lake Lynn, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product, great service I highly recommend this product and company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 29, 2012 Nice radio with sd card ability
Review by
Jay from Cambridge, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I basically have an 8gb sd card in this radio and listen to nothing but mp3's. Sound reproduction is great! Some times a little slow picking up the next random song, but sequence play is very fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2012 decent unit
Review by
Jared from White Bear Lake, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All the features work and easy to set up. The two downsides that I have with this unit is no controlling screen brightness option. The other is that I get really bad screen glare during the day, I have to hold my hand over it to see what I am doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2012 Still going strong!
Review by
David from Skiatook, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I don't use cds anymore so this has been working perfect. After installation my wife wanted to drive my vehicle all the time because it had a better music selection. I've been using just a 4gb usb stick and it does pretty good. The cons are that this receiver gets pretty hot when played loudly and it is also very bright at night. Wish there was a way to dim it down a little but for the price I am not complaining. Overall I reccomend this for anyone trying to get away from cds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 8, 2012 Worthwhile Value
Review by
Paul from Estes Park, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Dual XR4115 player has worked as advertised but there was very little said about the random play (random number generator) which is a critical issue to me and I hope other users. Most folks with a disc full of mp3 tracks (upwards of 300) would use random play(shuffle) mode frequently. It is therefore important that the random sequence not repeat in short cycles as many poorly designed players do. I once rented a Chevy Cobalt in which the random track sequence was as short as 7.

This Dual model performed this task adequately with one critical exception. If power was disconnected for any reason, the sequence started over at the same track and it replayed the exact same random sequence. This function needs more work since there are a number of ways the generator can produce different sequences at different starting points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2012 Pretty good
Review by
Jesse from Newport News, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price this is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2012 Overall Great Value
Review by
Donald from Simi Valley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit is one of the best purchases and values for the money that I made to update my van. I love the "mechless" system and just being able to insert an SD card in the unit for tons of custom music. The display is very good at reading the metadata of the mp3 files.
One complaint, the AM radio. At first I was ready to send it back because I was getting so much station bleed that sometimes you would hear 3 stations at once on any channel. The way I solved it was lowering the antenna almost all the way to eliminate all the interference from station other than the one to which I was tuned. The AM portion seems to be hypersensitive without a very good RF discriminator circuit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2012 Mechless Radio helps when you hit the waves
Review by
John from OTTAWA, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own a Bayliner 20foot Cuddy boat, and the one annoying characteristic of boating anywhere are wakes and waves. I could not play the previous (spinning type) CD player because the "skipping" was bad over even the smallest wake. That previous player had 10sec skip prevention but even when that was enabled, the cd's would pause, then restart and so on.
I replaced the previous kenwood with this less expensive "mechless" model and played digital MP3 copies of my classic music and now the skip problems are eliminated even at 40 Knots.
ISSUES: in BRIGHT SUNLIGHT, all InfraRed based remote control links fail (the sun just overwhelms the receiver). Partial resolution: I constructed a sunshade just for the radio housing on the dash (which is angles slightly upwards). Although this radio has been soaked several times, I would recommend the Jensen flip cover to protect against rain and splashing.
Overall: I would recommend this particular brand; its cheap enough not to worry about theft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 20, 2012 Great price, great value, quality and easy installation!
Review by
Ty from Atlanta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this for a Toyota. I dont listen to cds so I didnt want to buy a cd player. This was perfect and I'm impressed with the USB aspect. Did not know it was so easy to listen to music via a thumb drive. You actually dont even need a MP3 player which shocked me. I currently have a 2gb thumb drive that I loaded around 200 songs on and I still have tons more room on the drive. I recommend using the USB port if you just want to let your music play through without a special order. Installation was simple. Some people complain about displays burning out on the Dual brand. MAKE SURE YOU INSULATE THE UNUSED ILLUMINATION WIRE. It's really that simple in regards to that problem. No complaints with this product I am glad I decided to purchase. Thank you to all previous reviews for all of your information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 16, 2012 Great digital media receiver!
Review by
Dave from Warren, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
There don't seem to be many of these guys to choose from, and this one may be the most economical. I don't suppose that any of these things are perfect, but this one sounds great in my antique Accord (1988). It seems to do everything it's supposed to do and most of the things I'd like it to do. I'm probably going to buy another one for another vehicle I have. I'd recommend it to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 15, 2011 Don't buy this unit if you plan on using the tuner AT ALL!!!
Review by
Robert from New Berlin, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ended up buying this head unit for my work van, I just needed something low-priced with an aux-in jack for my mp3 player. After installing it, I was shocked at how bad the tuner reception was and thought for sure that the antenna plug had somehow come out when I was putting it in place in the dash-not the case! The antenna plug was in place and the reception was horrible! I live in the Milwaukee metro area and normally the Milwaukee stations come in totally clear and some of the Chicago stations come in as well. On this unit, the local stations faded in and out and had other stations bleeding through and I couldn't pick up any Chicago stations at all. I know that there was no problem with the antenna because both the factory radio that was in before it and the Kenwood unit I replaced it with tune in all stations just fine. I had it installed for 1 day of driving around and listening to the awful tuner and decided it was better worth it to pull the whole darn thing out and replace it!

Besides the awful tuner, I thought I just looked kind of cheap as far as the faceplate and display go. As far as I got in the owner's manual, I don't think you can do much adjusting to the sound, either, you just have to go with their preset Rock, Jazz, etc. I guess the options of having the usb and sd card inputs are nice if you will really use them, I just find myself using the 3.5mm aux jack anyway, so that didn't make a difference for me, either. The Kenwood unit I replaced it with for the same price looks and performs MUCH better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2011 Poor build quality
Review by
bakageta from Lancaster, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I spotted this unit and realized it was perfect for what I needed, between the radio, sd card / usb slot, and the aux input I'd never need to burn another cd. Unfortunately, the LED backlight for the display seems to have died after about 3 weeks.

Volume is decent, and the manual states that the unit is actually CEMA 2006 certified, though at (I believe) 18w x4, not at the 50w x4 advertised. A full equalizer would've been nice, but at this price point I don't expect it. Sound quality is better than I expected, although I do get some slight interference through the Aux input with a 3ft cable.

Install was very straightforward, and the unit itself is a bit shorter than your standard CD player, so it's easy to squeeze into vehicles that have a cluster of wires behind the factory radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2011 Overall, a great buy
Review by
Chris from Frisco, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
There are very few mech-less units available from any manufacturer, so I consider that a plus for the XR4115. I don't know of anybody that still uses CD's in their cars, so I'm shocked that more manufacturers haven't gotten on the mech-less bandwagon.

The sound from the XR4115 is excellent, if not incredibly loud. However, the sound is clean pretty much all the way up to the max volume of '40'. The display is nice looking, although, does have a slight cheap-ish look. But, if the unit does what it's supposed to do, that really doesn't matter that much to me. Although, I do have a couple of complaints with the interface. First, the removeable face plate tends to rock and move when you push buttons. While not a deal-breaker, I'm sure they could find a way to make it more stable. Second, the volume knob is too shallow and also moves and flexes when you grip it. Third, with the unit not having a cd slot, you'd think they could have found room for dedicated station preset buttons, dedicated loudness button (you have to cycle through the sound settings to get to the loudness control). In general, the buttons are all a bit too hard to press, but once again, not a deal-breaker, especially for the price. I didn't find the brightness to be an issue either. It would have been nice if the lcd display was a bit larger though, to enable more info on it. Fourth, the unit is pretty slow at the initial read of an SD card (and I would imagine a USB drive too). It took between 30 secs to a minute to read my card wih ~2000 songs on it. It was also slow the first time I pressed the next folder (down) button, taking almost another 30 seconds to go to the next folder. But since then, it moves to the next folder almost instantly. So I'm not sure if it was just not totally finished scanning the card or what.

But, like I said the sound from the unit is excellent, so good that I'm considering just keeeping my stock speakers, at least for now. Also, it's SO cool to have my whole music library in my car and available to play without having to fumble with discs (including MP3 discs).

If you want to go mech-less and don't want to spend a ton of money, you can't go wrong with this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2011 Great radio for the price
Review by
Karen from Buford, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great find! I am able to cram hundreds of songs and even concerts on an SD card. There is a slight pause between songs when playing off the SD card, but you get used to it quickly.

Haven't used the USB port but have used the aux port for my nano - works great. Don't really have an issue with it being too bright at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 26, 2011 Good buy for the money!
Review by
DB from Tulsa, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this yesterday to replace a dying factory head unit in my 98 chevy silverado. I don't usually do reviews but this shows my approval for the product and I usually buy products that have more reviews than this one has.
So here is my initial impression:
The pros:
- The unit made my replacement speakers come to life!
- First thing I listened to was through the USB, wasnt too difficult to navigate through folders to find songs
- Radio sounded good as well
- Had wife test drive it to town and back which is about 10 miles round trip and now she thinks she needs a better system for her car.
The Cons:
- Unit has a very bright display, especially at night.
- Went to town to buy an antenna adapter and unit was almost hot to the touch when removing it to install the adapter.

Overall I recommend this unit especially if you want to follow the movement to get away from cds and want to save a little money in the process. Flash drives and SD cards are getting cheap and you donít have to worry about them getting scratched unlike cds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2011 Decent stereo
Review by
Rick from Easton, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Owned this stereo for a week now. Pretty simple to operate out of the box. Audio quality very good using 5.25 speakers. Will likely add an amp and subs to this unit. It has been playing mp3's flawlessly on an 8 gig Sandisk mmc. Haven't tried the usb port yet. Would have liked the capability of adjusting the illumination for night driving. The display is bright but not overwhelming. Overall, a bargain for the price and looks good in the dash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz