Showing 10 reviews for JBL MS-12SD2

Customer Review Summary for JBL MS-12SD2
Average Customer Rating is 4.3 out of 5 stars:
4.3
based on 10 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
60%
4 star:
.
.
10%
3 star:
.
.
30%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.1
Value
4.2
Features
4.1
Design
4.6
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 1, 2014 Pretty Good Subs
17 of 26 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jonathan from Fort Worth, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs were recommended to me by a SonicElectronix employee on the phone. I gave it some thought and decided to go with these, only because JBL products are used in my home studio so I assume the sound quality is very good. This is supposed to be an upgrade from the do-it-yourself Crunch subwoofer + box I got a couple years ago (and that was a pretty good set-up, actually.)

These subs are pretty good for the price. I have them amped up to a Belva BB2000D which gives the sub nearly 600 watts rms, although JBL states this sub can do 450 watts rms. Needless to say, they can definitely take the power.

The only issue I have with these subs is that...they're in a sealed enclosure. So this subwoofer absolutely SLAMS on certain frequencies (roughly 60-80-ish Hz) and anything below that sweetzone, the bass kinda rolls-off. Also, sometimes the subwoofer sounds like it is struggling to hit very quickly, which is odd since I was under the impression that sealed sub boxes give tighter bass response.

So I honestly can't say whether that's an issue with the enclosure or just a limitation of the subwoofer itself. I need to put this sub into a properly tuned ported box to truly gauge its performance. So until then, I gotta give this sub a 7 out of 10.

For those who want to go with great sound quality and are on a budget, these are good for the money; they put out good volume and can hit most low notes. BUT if you can afford something better - please buy better. Personally, I have NVX speakers working like slaves in my ride, so I'll be saving up for the NVX x-series subwoofer to complete the package and enjoy sweet blissful bass. But until then - JBL was a descent choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 11, 2014 Did okay at first, then not so good
16 of 28 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Fat Nate from Anderson, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought a pair of these looking for just a nice clean setup. I hooked them up at 2 ohms to my old kicker zx1000 and they did okay. Keeping in mind they may be seeing about half power for the first 2 weeks,and after 50 hours freeair with maybe 100 rms to each sub. Were the subs broke in? Yes. I tuned and clamped this setup to push 800 rms. Now they say 450rms a piece. Really JBL? First the Infinity Kappas sound like crap now these. I guess they sold out like most company's. The subs sound horrible on real lows struggle very sloppy, CANT BELIEVE THIS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 2, 2014 Underwhelmed
14 of 25 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dante from Loves Park, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
When I received the subwoofer something seemed off about the quality. The holes where the basket meets the cone were misaligned.... Odd for a new subwoofer, but not too major of a problem. After being broken in after a couple weeks the dust cap just came off. Not a big problem either but seriously wtf jbl?
Honestly it's a decent sub for the money, but I wish I just spent more and got a better sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2015 JBL
13 of 24 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Fishy from Fort Edward, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the jbl Ms 12 are a great starting subwoofer and can handle a lot of power. the amp I had couldn't keep up with two of these they were running about 1200 watts at 4 ohm and hit pretty hard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2015 awesome speakers,,great pricing..& fast secure shipping..
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
derell from Honoraville, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these subs are great ,jbl has always been a well known brand & now i know why ,,these subs are very clear ,& hit hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 13, 2015 great
7 of 14 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
lito from l a calif
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Yes it is a great speaker to have you need to have one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 23, 2015 Worth the price
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Justin from Orlando, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The sound good. Can't really complain for what they cost.
I bought 2 for a enclosed box. After like a week the center JBL plastic cap popped off... No big deal really. Didn't change the sound so I just gorilla super glued it back on and it hasn't come off since. In all reality, you get what you pay for. That being said though I'm still happy with the performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 4, 2012 JBL MS 12SD2
15 of 32 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Nathan from Pasadena Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good Speaker For The Money. Good S.Q. Good Power Handling Capability. Overall A Good Speaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 8, 2015 Good Sounding Subs
12 of 27 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Michael from corinth, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought 2 of these and stuck them in a vented box. sound is great. hits hard on a PA ac2500.1m amp wired at 2Ohm. worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2015 great product...great price...fast shipping
14 of 33 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
classicrockguy from greenville, sc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this sub is as good as any in its price range and even alot more. classic JBL quality, both in build and sound. hard to beat at this price. sonicelectronix offered great price, easy ordering and very fast standard shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz