Showing 15 reviews for Boss MR50B (Black Version)

Customer Review Summary for Boss MR50B (Black Version)
Average Customer Rating is 4.2 out of 5 stars:
4.2
based on 15 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
33%
4 star:
.
.
53%
3 star:
.
.
13%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.6
Features
4.0
Design
4.3
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Nice little speakers

I installed these on my motorcycle, and they sounded good, but do have their limits. At highway speeds, you could no longer hear the speakers, which makes them an ok set for quiet bikes and in city driving, but not good if you have modified pipes or do highway driving. Overall they have good range with some acceptable highs and midrange....they lack in bass, but I guess you wouldn't be bumping on a bike...lmao.

VS
Good sound for good price

Bought a set to mount on the side of our camper. They are a good size unless you want to really crank them up but for our use they are perfect. Our radio is not very powerful so up to about 3/4 volume they sound great. The rain and sun have had no negative effect on them at all.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 8, 2010 Good sound for good price
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
David from Fayetteville, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought a set to mount on the side of our camper. They are a good size unless you want to really crank them up but for our use they are perfect. Our radio is not very powerful so up to about 3/4 volume they sound great. The rain and sun have had no negative effect on them at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 15, 2010 Nice little speakers
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
EvilJesus from Moreno Valley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed these on my motorcycle, and they sounded good, but do have their limits. At highway speeds, you could no longer hear the speakers, which makes them an ok set for quiet bikes and in city driving, but not good if you have modified pipes or do highway driving. Overall they have good range with some acceptable highs and midrange....they lack in bass, but I guess you wouldn't be bumping on a bike...lmao.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 2, 2009 Great Value!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Matt from Wichita, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Features:

I purchased these speakers as a cheap replacement. I was amazed at the quality but two things stood out right away. First the wattage rating is an amazing 150W. This is rare in a set of speakers this small especially if you have a decent head unit which pushes 52W per channel. Other speakers were only rated to 40 and we all know what happens when you crack the sound up with those! Secondly, the frequency response was a very wide range thanks to the true dual coil. 120Hz won't obviously give you that pounding base, but it was 40 Hz lower than other 5 inch speakers.

Quality:

The construction is premium and I like the reinforced housing. Other speakers just have the magnet housing attached to the speaker plane. These had struts that backed up the attachment and will obviously reduce the chance for cracks riding through bumpy water.

All wiring was tinned and was stainless. No exposed copper to corrode. The wiring was plastic coated and was seamless. A true "marine" speaker instead of a name change.


Installation:

I have a 2001 Baylier 1950 Classic Capri and both of the factory speakers were cracked from normal wear. I had to bring the factory mounting hole out just a litte bit (1/8 inch). I used a rotary tool and a scouring blade and it was perfect. The included screws were more than long enough to penetrate the padding, speakers and set into the wood backing.

My only complaint is that the spade connectors on the speakers are just a touch smaller than the wider factory clips. I had to crimp new ends on the boat wiring, but that was the only problem I had.

I would definitely recommend these speakers to someone (especially a Bayliner owner) looking to replace or even upgrade their factory speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 26, 2014 rv useage
Review by
tom from washougal,wa.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced the external speakers on my 2009 cougar travel trailer with boss MR50B speakers. all I can say is that it was an easy job and the speakers sound great. In the northwest we sometimes get a rain storm or two during the year and I feel these speakers are up to the task. At 73 yrs. old I didn't know that the speakers were sold in pairs so I have a spare set for down the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 27, 2014 Great Value
Review by
T.I.T. DEEP ATV from DeRidder, La.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this amp for my atv and im running 8 BOSS 5 1/4" coaxials with it. The amp has never cut out and seems to be very efficient. It has plenty of power. My bike sounds just as good as $1000.00+ systems that ive heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Bos MR50B
Review by
Barbas from Toronto, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sound amazing and very clear at high volume, the price is good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 17, 2011 nice
Review by
waterboy from Brandon, ms
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers worked great and sounded great. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2011 Great value
Review by
Francois from Auckland, New Zealand
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 19, 2011 Boat Speakers
Review by
Nick6string from Saskatoon, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy to install, sound good enough for my boat and use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 24, 2010 Boss MR50B
Review by
Bill from Minneapolis, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The speakers are easy to install, for the price are of good quality with better than I expected tone in all ranges,

I would recommend this speaker to anyone looking for quality sound at entry level prices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 13, 2010 you get what you pay for
Review by
darrin from johnstown, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I wanted a cheap speaker and that's what I got .....they sound ok at low levels but get distorted at high volume
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2009 Boss MR50B Speakers
Review by
Goodolboy1 from Luther, Oklahoma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Boss MR50B Speakers are great! Just what I was in need of for my BAYLINER Cudi Cabin. Great sound even while at cruising speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 10, 2009 WOW Great Speakers for the Boat .
Review by
IdahoBrett from Rigby Idaho
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put these in the boat not expecting much.
The sound is awesome!
Hardware and instructions are all there.
PERFECT FOR THE BOAT !!!
And WaterProof......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 8, 2009 good dependable speaker
Review by
bigl from kansas city kansas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
good speaker, it was easy to install, and has good sound when i take the boat out the lake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 7, 2009 Decent speakers for the money
Review by
Boat Guy from Baltimore, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are descent for the money. I installed in a 1998 Bayliner Capri and I had to cut the hole slightly larger than the original speaker hole. they just fit in the padded area so they worked out. It will take you a little time to trim the hold properly, but these will work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz