Showing 45 reviews for JL Audio 12W7-3

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio 12W7-3
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 52 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
87%
4 star:
.
.
10%
3 star:
.
.
4%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.4
Features
4.8
Design
4.8
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
September 13, 2013 W7 quality
Review by
JR from Illinois
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is made with quality parts and design. JL holds a lot of trusted patents. All the JL audio haters are just more in love with loud sloppy bass. Put this in a vented enclosure around 35hz and 800-1200 watts rms apiece and you cant ask for much better. Install design is #1 with most all JL products.A bad design and you wont get the most out of it. Im talking the kind of car you have,the box size, Dynamat ect. The thing slams and sounds great doing it! If your into SPL competitions yea, this may not be for you? Never think that this thing cant get down with the others though! Its my centerpiece of a $5000 audio system. All JL audio except a rockford Fosgate T1500.1bdcp amp. The $h1t sounds amazing and near life changing experience! Yea sounds crazy but if you love car audio, buy JL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 6, 2012 Great Subwoofer
Review by
Alan from San Diego, California
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently purchased this subwoofer and all I can say is wow! At first I had it in a cheap pre-fab enclosure and it sounded ok but when I upgraded and put this bad boy in a quality enclosure it really took my breath away (literally). Make sure to get a quality enclosure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 24, 2012 why everyone compares subwoofers to this
Review by
Dan from Detroit, Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
why is a speaker thats 10 years old worth 550 bucks.... b/c no one has topped it and jl can still get top dollar for it ... if you only have room for one sub and need it louid and clean this will def do the trick may leave your wallet a lil light .. ive owned prob 50 different subs over the years and maybe done 2-300 installs and if i could only have one sub in my this would be... just make sure your tune your amp correctly their a lil picky clean signal and these things are bullet proof
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 22, 2011 12" w7
Review by
Jacob from Oahu, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
They are somewhat ovepriced, these subs are made to be a mix of SQ and SPL. When people buy these subs they are looking to be loud while sounding good doing it. I love my W7, just my 2 cents though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2011 great sub good price
Review by
cwsilva from mass
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The sub hits really hard and for the price I shoulda got 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2011 JL audio 12w-7
Review by
Cooty83 from Va
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best in the business!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 13, 2011 w7
Review by
mike from mass
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub was awesome and never herd anything like it until i blew it not once but 2x. first time it froze after 2 years hooked up to a alpine 1000watt amp and second time the cone ripped after 3 years of having it. now im out a s*** load of money. look into the alpine type x. cheaper and lighter. this ones heavy but does sound good it it lasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2010 its well...GREAT!
Review by
mrspl from boston
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i like it but it would be cool if jl did a stealth box for this like they do for the 12w6, 12w3s the box for ext's and the avalanche it would be a good seller i think . good sub tho
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 3, 2010 JL Audio
Review by
jason from Silver City, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i would recommend this to whoever wants bass. looks good and sounds good. i am thinking of getting another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 9, 2010 The best sound I ever heard
Review by
cmoney from Rialto, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these bad boys in my 08 charger and I still have my stock radio in there, it shakes my whole car, my friends can hear me coming a block away, I got it running of a Rockford fosgate T2500bd amp....everyone think it hitting hard now, wait until I get my in dash radio.. I love these sub I won't get nothin but JL!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2010 Great Value/Great Sub
Review by
Gundi from Columbus,Ne
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent sound quality. Great power handling. Looks simple but mean. Highly recommended for anyone wanting great SQ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 19, 2010 Best sub I've heard
Review by
Luke from Omaha NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub will without doubt shake your car like no other. it sounds good with all types of music and is always reliable. You can always trust a JL and they are easily worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2010 12 W7
Review by
Jeremy from Pocatello Idaho
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs are beasts they are probably the loudest and best sounding sub for the money. they have a well rounded range of bass and the clarity of it is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 14, 2009 BANGIN'
Review by
j-bew from clarkston, michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All i gotta say is im glad i bought this woofer even the rf p2s i had were put to shame at the same wattage (500 rms) 1 v 2 thinking 2 will win nope the w7 blew those two out the water so if your looking to get a comp sub this is a great deal shipping is good product is fantastic and overall no hassle and this is one of the cheapest sites to get it from so take every advantage of it and trust me i was second guessing this site but i order all my new electronics from this site matter fact i have 2 6x9s for my gfs car and a jvc 7000 touchscreen coming in a couple days so if i were you don't miss out on this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 11, 2009 I bought a 12w7
Review by
jlaudiow7lover from columbus ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hey everyone i bought a JL audio 12w7 from Sonic Electronix and it is the real deal here i know they ain't no authorized dealer but still you get it brand new in box with here warranty just as you would with a authorized dealer you know what i saying why pay full price while you get it here along with the jl amps can't go wrong with this website
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 27, 2009 sick design
Review by
pete from virginia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
sound quality is amazing its loud and shakes my mustang like crazy and the best part it dosent really hurt my ears because its so clean. the design is untouchable, its sleek and sick looking. i have it wired to an mtx 81001d and a stinger 1.2 farad capacitor. would recommed to anyone interested in looks and nice sound. if you want pure bass get a mtx 9500
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 22, 2009 The BEST so far!!!!!
Review by
Daniel from Scott AFB, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just got an awesome deal with one of these in a ported box for $275 and it is unreal, the sound quality is untouchable and the bass is so deep and loud, I have it running of a MTX 81001 amp and I am totally amazed. I had 2 12" Kicker CVR's in a Kicker Living Loud ported box, same amp and it is no where near the sound this W7 puts out. Get one if you can afford it and the amp+plus the right power source for as well, make sure to do everything right and don't skimp out so that you can truly appreciate this sub!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 19, 2009 Wow
Review by
Taylor from Lenoir City, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product may seem a little pricey at first glance, but it is most definitely worth the money! I strongly recommend this to anyone that wants to have a car with a ton of bass. I have a pioneer premier prs-d1200spl pushing just one of these and it brutally shakes my entire car. My rearview mirror constantly falls because of the bass it puts out. I also put it in a custom built ported box designed to the exact specifications that JL recommended in the w7 owner's manual. Sonic's price on this is unbeatable. Again, I strongly recommend this product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2009 sounds incredible
Review by
Johnny Drama from Philadelphia, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just bought a jl 1000/1 amp and this sub off my boss and i can't begin to tell you how lucky i was he was selling it for so cheap. This sub is the best sub i ever heard when it comes to quality bass, and its one of the loudest out there too. hands down the best move i made putting this in my car. it made my music come ALIVE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 2, 2008 lovin it
Review by
Cheyenne from Douglas, WY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had 1 just bought another along with 2 hifonics 1608, system is best in my town by far only competition is my buddy who has two kicker l7's but i was close to him with one w7, 2 is ganna smoke em haha!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 11, 2008 Powerful, deep bass
Review by
Steven from Quesnel, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is unbelievable. When I turn it up it practically feels like my heart is going to stop and my chest will cave in. I have it powered by a 1000/1 and it sounds really great. The bass can sound great and really surprises anyone that gets in to my vehicle. When I get in to my friends vehicles, some of which have 2 12's, I am almost bored by the bass after enjoying the 12W7 so much. Keep in mind how tall this thing stands, it definitely won't fit in to any small or tight areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2008 JL Audio 12w7
Review by
Thomas from columbia, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just bought one of these bad boys and i have it in a ported box in the back of a 2008 Tahoe running on a jl audio 500/1 amp. Its connected to the factory radio but i have a mtx re-q installed in it and all i can say is wow!!! I did a lot of research before i bought this sub and i can say i'm honestly not disappointed in the least. this sub is really all the bass you need and a bit more. it's pricey but you wont regret it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2008 Unbelieveable!!
Review by
Mark from West Palm Beach, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a 12W7 in my Mazda 6. I was pushing it with a JL 1000/1 and it sounds amazing. The first enclosure I had it in was a slotted enclosure, but I wasn't thrilled about the sound quality, and the box for a single sub nearly took the entire trunk of my Mazda. I changed the enclosure to a sealed box, and it all changed. It sounded awesome! My only recommendation is to check the size of your alternator ahead of time, because the 1000/1 (recommended amp for this speaker) draws a lot of current from your alternator, so you may want to beef up your alternator or have a separate power source to avoid a low voltage outage. It's worth the extra expense, believe me. All in all, I HIGHLY recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 25, 2008 Kestas
Review by
Tadas from Limerick, AE, Ireland
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
yes it`s a little expensive, but when you hear it you`ll be proud to have one of these quality beasts. Had lots of subs during 10 years time but this is something else. Save your time and space, one of these fellas is enough on a perfect wiring,believe me. I would recommend Pioneer Premier PRS-D2000SPL amp, it`s perfect match for this sub(better then JL Audio 1000/1).drives 2 JL`s on 1.5 ohms with no problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 13, 2007 The King of King's for the 12
Review by
christopher from glenn dale, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My brother has 1.....only 1 in a 97' SHO taurus with 2 rockford 1000.1's bridged together powering this MONSTER.....I know when he will be pulling up a good 5 to 10 mins before he gets there! INSANE for 1 sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 12, 2007 JL W7
Review by
jay from fountain, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
a little expensive but its worth it. I think it could have a better visual design but if you can get over that then this is one of the best subs you can get. at just over 85db it will rattle your body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 16, 2007 BEST SUB EVER!
Review by
Patrick from Akron, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My friend had one of these subs and i took a ride with him.....and all i could say is wow. This SUB will take your breath away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2007 JLW7
Review by
Todd from Onalaska, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is amazing! I have two of these powered by 2 JL 1000/1 in a boat! This SUB is amazing, the clarity and spl just blows the competition away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2007 12w7
Review by
jason from odenville, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is one of the best subs ever made.
if you want sq/spl this is the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2007
Review by
daniel from Clearwaterclearwater, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
im proud to say i own 2 of these guys both of which running off 2 jl 1000/1 in a 2000 jeep grand cherokee ,just one jl w7 12" can hit 140 db on perfect wiring perfect deminsions for the sub box perfect everything i plan on buying 4 more to have insane bass , just to give u an example of one w7 i have broken the support welds to my roof my roof used to flex as much as the sub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2007 12W7 POUNDS!
Review by
Jason from Topeka, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have One JL 12W7 in my 97 GMC Jimmy. I have it running off of a JL 1000/1. this thing POUNDS! so far i have been pulled over 4 times because of it. while at my local DbDrag Competition i blew out the back hatch window... glad nobody got hurt. all I have to say is that this sub is a little pricey but it is WELLLLLL worth the cost. I plan on purchasing 4 more and building a wall in my Jimmy. Get this sub... you will NOT be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2007 great
Review by
jason from tuscaloosa, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have one of these in my 4runner in a custom box i made with a 500/1 amp and it pounds. very pricey but well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 22, 2006 the best
Review by
jake from Greenwood, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are absolutely the most incredible subs i've ever heard. I currently own two 12 W7s and they are the clearest, hardest hitting subs i've ever heard. i would absolutely support purchasing these, they're worth the price 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 5, 2006 The Best
Review by
Eric from Walnut Creek, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Jl Audio does it again with this subwoofer. This subwoofer knocks really hard and clear. My cousin bought two and i really enjoyed it so i got some myself. Even though it states that is has 750 rms each, it feels alot stronger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 8, 2006
Review by
matt from columbia, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
ok i heard this sub at tweeter the other day and let me tell you what it pounds the living daylight out of the room....this sub has the best bass i have ever heard......its jsut that it costs soo much....but hey nothing beats a W7...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2006 Mind blowing
Review by
Matthew from Fontana, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this sub in my 06 scion XB. This thing shakes the car around. This sub is awsome but I;m not to impressed with this sub. This sub is awsome and if you want hard hitting bass get this one. This sub pushes like two twelves so, it is like having two twelves. so if you have a hunger for subs go with two JLs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2006 King for a reason
Review by
Robert from Henderson, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i just installed 2 of these into the back of my boys tahoe and they POUND. these subs are made for a perfect blend of sq and spl. you end up with an sql setup that is hard to match. they are pricey but to be top dog you gotta pay top dollar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 25, 2006 an expensive master peice
Review by
isabel from Hayward, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i heard these in the audio store and after 5 seconds of hearing my head was hurting and i felt the sub push the air in my lungs.I would get this sub but the obstacle is the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 17, 2006 these hit hard
Review by
Jason from Fort Lauderdale, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
my friend has these in his 1999 explore and it litterly makes tha door suck in and out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2006 King of all subs!
Review by
marvin from san diego, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had this product back in 2004 before it got stolen. well worth the money, id buy it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 8, 2005 top of the line
Review by
walter from gray court, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i would say this sub is by far the best i have seen in action. in the store "Tweeters" that is around us they have one on display. ok a kid kicked it one day and cracked it! it has a 3 inch crack in the cone but when you turn it up it pounds so hard you wont beleive it! the lights flicker, you feel the breath being pushed in and out. its amazing! yeah sure it might be pricy but YOU WILL LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 9, 2005 power hungry
Review by
mike from erie, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
first off its jl audio you cant go wrong. the local jl audio store has this hooked up to a 1000/1 and a 10 farad capacitor when you turn it up like 3/4 way the capcitor was dropping a whole volt and this sub was on its way to rattling the rest of the store apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 10, 2005
Review by
Nelson from Tilley, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs are completely unreal. They pound harder then anyother single sub I know. 3 people I know have them and they are insane. But for the price you could get 2 subs and a box to match it, cause the price is crazy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 15, 2005 pwnage
Review by
donald from Coatesville, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
one of the best subs i have ever heard i have had old school jl stuff and this just owns all ever !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 22, 2005 The best had it hooked up with an Pheonix gold amp!
Review by
Terry from Hartsville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It hits harder than anything i've ever had!!! Its the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz