Showing 37 reviews for JL Audio 13W7-D1.5

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio 13W7-D1.5
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 37 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
78%
4 star:
.
.
14%
3 star:
.
3%
2 star:
.
.
5%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.2
Features
4.6
Design
4.6
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Bangin'

I just put this sub in today mounted in a box built to JL specs for the sub on a PowerAcoustik A2400DB amp and this thing is like an earthquake in my trunk!!! If you can afford it, buy it. This thing bangs. The trunk lid looks like it's about to blow off. Classic JL quality.

VS
better out there.

the price for this sub is just too much money for the amount of power it puts out. my friends type r cost half the price of this, and matched it in every sound possible. the recommended sub for this price range on sonic electronix would be the Orion HCCA 12.2 woofer. it'll put this sub 6 feet under.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
June 18, 2014 Awesome W7s
Review by
Ruben from Whittier, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Review by cheif from Moose Jaw, SK, Canada---you mentioned that the Alpine type r will outdo the W7, well I have owned the type r's and the type x, and let me tell you they don't even come close to either the sound quality or spl. Alpine type x is the top of the line and it does not compare, not even close to the W7, so how can the type r be any better, it's lower grade. IF YOU WANT THE BEST THEN JLAUDIO W7'S IS THE ONLY WAY TO GO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2014 Awesome subs don't understand the negitive reviews
Review by
Wolf4Life from OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I currently have a JL w7 13.5 love it and have had DD,FI,AQ/SQ,Alpine T-R and others and nothing sounds as good or clean as the JL. Sure it cost a bit but you get what you pay for and more then anything have a good custom box make for optimum performance. This one sub is louder and moves more air then 2 FI BL 12s or a FL BL 18 I had. As for SPL come on people JL is known for quality/sound quality not a SPL/burp sub, though they can get very loud but also sound good doing it once again depends on the box. If you can't or know how to build a proper box stick to JL specs. Mine in in a 4th order bandpass and goes from 30Hz at the -3db F3 point to 90Hz and has a sensitivity rating of +17db is all about the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2011 Hehe.
Review by
D from Toledo Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have one of these in a spec box with a jl 1000/1 v2 in my eclipse hatchback. Loudest system around. Louder than my previous system of 2 kicker cvx 12s. Unremarkable prrformance. Kudos to jl audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 15, 2010 JL audio 13.5" w7
Review by
the dude from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Recommend. If you're trying to crack the pavement when you ride by, I highly suggest you grab a pair or maybe even 1 of these. Ordered mine from Sonic and I'm 100% satisfied. I have two 13.5 JL W7 with one 1000/1 JL amp and It's exactly what I expected. I wanted one 1000/1 amp per speaker but didn't need it at all. I have more than enough with just 1 amp. Just my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 6, 2010 WOW just one sub beats 2 12s
Review by
Spencer from Estherville, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this sub it looks awesome and sounds even better. not only is it loud but its sq is so d*** nice. I had mine ona 1000/1 v2 and it slapped the s*** out of my 83 eldorado. Only cons is the 1.5 ohm load and the fact that its way over priced for a sub in this RMS range. Way better subs for cheaper than this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 2, 2010 Quad box
Review by
Venfayon from New Baltimore, Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put 4 of these in a sealed quad box and it hit good. I had 2 MTX T9515-04 in a custom vented box tuned at 38.38 hz and the MTX subs had that insane bass and beat the sealed on low end shaking. For the recommended sealed enclosure JL specs, the sealed box sounds good when it hits 30 Hz, but the bass sounds funny when higher notes are hit, it makes you worry if the voice coil will be damaged. I'd never buy JL Audio subs again. Their components and HD amps are phenomenal though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 25, 2010 Not worth the price.
Review by
jaritt from grand junction, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My friend owns one of these paired with the JL performance box. and feeding it the correct RMS, and all i have to say is... BOO.... no way are these subs worth $650. I have two old MTX 8000 thunder 10" in my car that are louder then his $650 sub. It was loud don't get me wrong but not $650 loud.

*Admin Note: Make sure you build a custom box to specifications for the best sound quality and loudness*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 7, 2010 A Hard Hitter But Over Rated
Review by
SeanConRR from Fresno, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
No Doubt This Is A Good Sub But Over Rated & Too Pricey. I Own 2 Of These, Yes They Do Hit Hard But Just Too Overpriced. For The Money You Spend On These From JL Audio You Might As Well Go To Some Of These Other Well Known Competition Car Audio Companies Like - Fi Car Audio, DC Audio, RD Audio, Digital Designs, RE Audio & Get Some Subs For Less Or Same Price That Will Hit So Much Harder Than These & Out Play Them & Even Last Longer. But Overall This Is A Great Sub Though I Just Think JL Audio Needs To Lower Their Prices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2010 JL monster
Review by
kiKI from Omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had a friend who had 2 of those, Damn, this is one of the best subs. It blew 2 15" Kicker L7 far far away, sound like no other. If you want to go big and loud, I would suggest go with this one, and you can't go wrong with this big monster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2010 jl audio everyones competition
Review by
andrew from weaverville nc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i don't own one of these and i haven't heard one before im actually new to the car audio so this is my first set up but after reviewing all the good subs rf t2's jbl gti kicker l7's mtx 9500's orion hcca's so on iv come to the point where...every site has the same thing on it..jl w7s ares are better than the w7s this and that if everyone's comparing there subs to jl w7's why not buy jl w7's? i mean com-on you can never find a really good deal on these they must be worth there cost but yea this is the best deal iv seen and iv been to ebay 2 so ill buy from here =) very good prices
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2010 BEWARE,, 13w7, R Only Good in a JL Pro Wedge Sealed Box..... 100% the Truth
Review by
paulwallsautomallcom from VA. Beach, VA.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The W7- 8,10,12s can be in a Vented or Sealed box, Only the 13.5 has to be in Their Special Box that cost $300. WOW!!
Trust me, I've went thru 5 Diff. box's, till I broke down and bought a Pro Wedge Box, I've researched it for weeks.. JL even says it, FOR OPTIMUM PERFORMANCE.. Because of the Special Baffles & Chambers that surround & support the Sub inside the box.. Help build up pressure for that DEEP INSANE BASS!! Unless you duplicate & copy it to the T. of a Pro Wedge Inside & out, ur NOT feeling the Full effect or Hitting as Hard as you should or Feeling that CRAZY W7 Deep Bass... I'm Hitting a 148bds wit just 1...
My cousin has 2-12W7's in the Pro Wedge box's in a small SUV... Man you cant sit in there.. He's Hitting 156dbs. wit a 3000Watt MA Audio D class Amp.. ALL THAT BASS FOR THE LITTLE SPACE... NO OTHER SUB CAN TOUCH IT..But for the $$$ part,, it should of been LESS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 24, 2009 sick
Review by
vincent from east moriches, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best sub made hands down. Had my friends car for a week with two of them in the car and I couldn't hear people after the volume half way up. Only problem money because ull need one 1000/1 amp to power one and you have to have custom box. But if you have the money well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 10, 2009 13w7
Review by
Kirk from Tecumseh, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is awesome. It sounds great paired with the 1000/1. I recommend this to anyone who has a strong back, because this beast is heavy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 28, 2009 Wicked Sub
Review by
KB from Toronto, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best sound quality sub hands down. Only competition for the same price range would be the RF T2 15 inch which is a bit louder but not the same quality. Put this sub in a doubled up 2 inch mdf box sounds nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2009 type r guy
Review by
somedude from idkevenknow
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
whoever this guy is has no clue wtf hes talkin about. ima rockford guy but this w7 will beat the brakes off them type r's allllllllll day. my buddys got a type R with a 1000w TMA amp n they SAY 1200w max on type r. nope we turned it not even halfway up n bout melted the coils.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 3, 2009 i love my w7s
Review by
bubba from alabama
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have two of these baby's in my 01 ext. cab Silverado and they are insanely loud all my friends envy me b/c of it lol and idk what the guy is talking about with the type Rs and Orions but you put this sub in the right box and it will beat with 500 watts, its a very picky sub when it comes to the enclosure though ... build a great box and you'll have and amazing sounding system with any w6 or w7 sub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 21, 2009 one of the lowest hitting single subs i have heard
Review by
M eazy from lumberton, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i put it in a Honda civic si 08. i put it in a 3ft box port and tune to 30hz . it hit the lows like a mac truck. you definitely get ur money worth. ppl think you have two 15s. they will be surprised. the first hour i had it. it cracked the spoiler straight down the middle lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2009 best sub ever
Review by
shawn from albuquerque, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have 2 of these in my yukon ported @ 34hrz running off 2 rf bd 1500s at .75 ohm it runs all day tested at 5000ft elevation 150.1 db dont know what this type r guy is saying but before the w7s i had 8 10inch type r with about 3000 watts on them and the jls smash the alpines if the box is right and the power is there these subs will out perform any 12 or 15 inch sub out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 22, 2009 Great value
Review by
jason from Silver City, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Worth every penny, all you need is one of these to make you ride bump
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 5, 2009 JL
Review by
Jack from Salinas, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these JL13W7's in my Cadillac. I have 2 JL1000/1 going to each of the subs. Most of the time I don't use bass boost, and I keep my sub level at -6(the lowest) and you get a nice clean bass. If you add the bass boost and increase the sub level bass is still deep and clean. Spent a lot on my system but worth every single penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2008 Great sub with some minor issues
Review by
sw from Wisconsin
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is unreal. To think that one sub can hit this hard and still sound this good just blows me away. I am powering this with a Rockford Fosgate T10001.bd running the coils in series, so I'm putting about 800 watts to it. Now the bad part, When I ran it in parallel (1500 watts) the sub actually started clipping! What $600 sub starts clipping at that wattage?
If I run the sub at 800 watts there are no problems at all and it still hits extremely hard.

***Admin Note: The sub is not clipping, the amp is because it is running at .75 ohms which the amp is not stable at.***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2008 :) best sub hands down
Review by
delvin from joliet, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have just one in a 04 explorer and man when i pull up to some one else or at the store every body ask me what i got they think its like 4 15' in their and all i got on there is a punch 800 but it sounds good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2007 Hawaiian
Review by
aviam from travis afb, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have four of these subs in a custom homemade box. I am running 4 JL audio 1000/1 amps to each sub. I am not the one to boast but i am sure i have the loudest car in my town. I recommend this sub to anyone. It is expensive but its worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2007
Review by
intigam from woodmere, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have 2 W7 running on 2 JL 1000/1 in my X5 and that combo hit so hard i got 7 tikets in 3 days and i made a chik in a cafe throw up just by stopping at a red light... everytime i turn the volume up all the way all 5 of my tvs shut off... these subs are no joke... people with good subs trip off car alarms i trip off house alarms going down the block... deffinatly recomend these if u got the cash...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 3, 2006 Oh My God
Review by
Jake from North Platte, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This thing is a beast. Why would anyone who can afford one of these not get one. They are the ultimate sub. The main thing about the 13W7 is that it only runs on an RMS of 1000. All other subs must run on like 3000 to 5000 to match it. Eveyone else is to worried about what their subs look like and how their shaped (Kicker). They need to just stop where their at cause they dont even come close to JL. The only thing i didnt like about this sub is that i couldnt get a High Output box for it. Which wasnt even anything about the sub. Buy this if you can cause it is worth it. JL all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2006 Did you say something?
Review by
Joe from Marquette, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ok, so I got this sub in part of a local clear out sale... and got it for 500 dollars. So I couldn't pass it up. I'm running it with an Orion 1200D at .75ohm so the sub is seeing about 1750RMS. It's quite possibly the loudest... and most BA sounding sub ever. I love it! and BTW, if running sealed box... go about 2.5 - 3 ft^3, amazing difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2006 nice
Review by
Aaron from brandon, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
my friend had 4 of these in his car and when he would turn them up it would blow my hat off my head there worth the money they hit sooo hard!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2005 What can I say.
Review by
Andy from Enid, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've never been more impressed by a subs output. this thing wangs like no other, and the SQ is still really good. If you can afford the sub, then get it. You will not be disapointeed.

Just make sure you have a monster of an amp to power this thing, cause its gonna need it. a JL1/1000, would do nice, especially because of this subs odd impedance loads. This is a bit pricey, but definately worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2005
Review by
Sergio from Roswell, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is worth every dollar.All u need is one because the bass is so deep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 3, 2005 JL's finest.
Review by
Bryan from West Palm Beach, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Unmatched. That is the word to describe this sub. The deep low bass is amazing, the SQ is immersive, and the overall quality and design is elite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 22, 2005 THE BEST
Review by
Seth from carencro, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
even though its expensive it is well worth the money... VERY loud and good deep bass coming from this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 9, 2005 jl is awesome
Review by
andrew from port st luciePort Saint Lucie, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was in sound advice the other day when i put on two 13W6V2's in a sealed box and then just for fun I put on a single 13W7 and it hit so much harder and lower than the two 13W6V2's and the were running the same JL 1000/1 amp and they were both in sealed boxe's and i could not believe there would be such a differace but there was so before you go with Audiobahn who makes some of the worst sounding speakers i would look at these
or any JL's for that fact, hope i could help
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 5, 2005 Really Amazing
Review by
none from none, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was in a car audio shop, and just for fun I asked them if I could hear 2-12" w6v2's and some other model 12's, then he put on one 13.5" w7... WOW. Very deep bass even at low volumes, it by far is better (in every way) than any 2-12's I've heard. My brother had 2-15" W3's with a JL 1000 watt amp to them... still the W7 is easily louder, deeper and more clear. If you have the money, you won't be dissappointed. * EDITED FOR CONTENT *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 18, 2005 JL audio
Review by
Brandon from peabody, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best sub made hands down. Had my friends car for a week with two of them in the car and I couldnt hear people after the volume half way up. BLOW THE CLOTHES OFF THE GIRLZ no joke. Only problem money because ull need one 1000/1 amp to power one and you have to have custom box. But if you have the money well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 31, 2010 Bangin'
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ArmyPreston from Baumholder/Smith Barracks, Germany
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just put this sub in today mounted in a box built to JL specs for the sub on a PowerAcoustik A2400DB amp and this thing is like an earthquake in my trunk!!! If you can afford it, buy it. This thing bangs. The trunk lid looks like it's about to blow off. Classic JL quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 8, 2007 Wow, friend's truck...
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kenneth from Gainesville, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
MY friend's dad had EIGHT of these installed by SafeAndSound in an F350 Harley edition. It's sick. The most SPL I've heard ever, and I'm a professional installer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 20, 2009 better out there.
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
cheif from Moose Jaw, SK, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the price for this sub is just too much money for the amount of power it puts out. my friends type r cost half the price of this, and matched it in every sound possible. the recommended sub for this price range on sonic electronix would be the Orion HCCA 12.2 woofer. it'll put this sub 6 feet under.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz