Showing 55 reviews for JL Audio 12W6v2-D4

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio 12W6v2-D4
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 55 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
93%
4 star:
.
.
7%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
4.5
Features
4.8
Design
4.8
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
January 4, 2012 Greatest Sub Ever!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Rene from Los Angeles,CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is by far the best sub i have heard ever, i have two in a ported downfiring custom box and wow do they pound, the bass is so accurate and clean, JL Audio is the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 25, 2009 great product and value
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
james from cola. sc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
its jl that says it all and i had to try it to see for myself the single w6 in my tiburon sounds great nobody thinks its just one sub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 11, 2013 good subs
Review by
jay from hudson, nh
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm running 2 12 w6v2's loud subs but bass wise don't hit that hard. I used to run 2 kicker l7's they did on volume 10 what the jl's do on 20.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 8, 2013 Deep BASS....
Review by
Ben from Anaheim, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have two in a custom made slot ported enclosure made out of 1" mdf board, powered by a Hifonics BRUTUS 1200 wired down to 2 ohm. These subs hit hard , great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2013 13'w7
Review by
Ice cold from winnsboro,sc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a monster,its not a subwoofer,its a machine,awsome tecnology in this sub..highly recommend it,not the average subwoofer,i have 1 13'5 w7 in my 1986 300zx turbo,with a 1000/1v2 slash.ears cant take it half way up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2012 12w6v2-d4
Review by
Jake from Louisiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This would be the second time I own one of these. Sound quality is amazing!!! It hits the lows great. With the rite box it gets pretty loud!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 26, 2012 Outstanding Subwoofer from Great Company!
Review by
Anton from Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I listen to a jazz.
It is a "musical" subwoofer, it is ideal for jazz music.
If is necessary to you the detailed, musical bass - this is your choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 28, 2012 you only need one
Review by
dBHedz from 404_AUDIO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 12W6's, but only use one. I got the first one on trade and decided I wanted two. So I found a second one that needed a new surround. I repaired the foam. After a break-in period, I hooked it up to my KX500.2 amp and realized the amp only takes the pounding of one sub. I'm using a JL basswedge deep slot ported box designed for the 12w1 sub. 500-700w is plenty of power. I prefer the oldschool class A/B amps of my generation. (MTX,RF,KICKER,ORION, etc...) I have a customer that wants to trade me his mojo for my other one, but I think I will just hold onto it because I can't buy another one for what I have invested so far. Definitely recommended! Please know your amp and how to tune a system. I also recommend some type of subsonic filter and parametric eq.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 22, 2012 Worth the big bucks
Review by
Jgofx from Miami fl HOME OF THE BASS!
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had these in 2 of my suv now for the last 7yrs started with 1 on 500w rms and now moved up to 2 with hd750/1 .I'm very happy with the way it sounds with my factory set up in a sealed box they hit hard And tite .I like sound clean sound and I have to say this is the best sub i heard that sound good with any kinda of music you play. Some speaker can only sound good when you plan hip hop or bass but can do much with rock or a slow jam these speaker will make anything sound good.I had some kind of sound system from a full blown 4 amp set up 2000watts rms with13 speaker epic center all out in my cars to just adding a single sub to a mark levinson system for the last 20yrs and I never thought jl was worth all that money man was I wrong . these speakers are tanks they don't die and the over all sound is AMAZING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 9, 2012 Real Power Subs
Review by
Fin from los angeles
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought 2 of these subs and they shake the ground, I have them hooked up to the latest T1500-1bd mono amp. I'm currently running them @ 1ohm, I would recommend it to anyone who likes the power bass..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 23, 2012 perfect
Review by
kiley from greensboro, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put one of these in my tsx, and man did that thing rock. Great sound quality its worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 6, 2012 Best subwoofer
Review by
Joshua from San diego
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned and approved of only jl. The w6 is by far the best for its price. I paid 4 hundred for it used and feel it is definitely worth it once in and set up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2012 jl w6
Review by
t-roy from palermo,ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this sub a couple days ago and this thing pounds. I had 2 12" kickers comp and it out does them both. Would recommend this sub to anyone into systems plan on getting a nother one in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2011 12W6: Great Sub
Review by
Cody from Oklahoma City, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this sub for about 6 months. It's in a sealed 1cu' box powered by an XD600/1 with a small bit of the better polyfill, in my 06 Reg' Cab Silverado. It sounds great. This sub seems to work well in all sizes of enclosures and always sounds awesome. I like accuracy and it shines in small sealed boxes. It's tight, fast, big, loud and hits with force when you want it to, but you can also listen to it low and it sounds just right. It's got great excursion capabilities as well. The motor structure/basket are one of the coolest, cleanest designs I've seen. I listen to all kinds of music from metalcore, metal, rap, rock, indie, my girlfriend likes some country (haha)...etc. It sounds great with everything and it doesn't color everything like other subs do, it sounds so much more controlled. This is my favorite sub. It'll drop down to 20Hz in my setup just fine and lower. Get a good set of components and upgrade your system all around and you'll hear this sub shine even more. I didn't think this sub was gonna get any better until I heard it with my 6,1/2" C5's, wow. It's amazingly clean and gets loud too. I'm planning on getting another one and an HD1200/1 to power them both. Don't listen to the JL haters repping the internet brands. Simply do some research and you'll see JL is on top of the game. I recommend 500 to 600 RMS, it's perfect for this sub. If you're into SQ meet the JL W6v2. It's one of the cleanest out there and by far the nicest sounding sub I've heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 15, 2011 w6
Review by
alex from bothell, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very expensive. The only reason i got my w6 is becuase i got it and a hug box for 250 from a guy on craigslist. But about 4-5 months after i got it got damaged so i got a type-r. The w6 was really nice wen it wasnt damaged, i was running a rockford fosgate prime r-500 that was giving it 528 rms. It would pound. It set off car alarms multiple times when i was driving down the street and it had amazing sound quality for how loud it was. It hit sooo many notes compared to the type-r and the transition between the notes was so crisp i wish it didnt get damaged. I loved it i would recomend it to anybody that wants a loud ass sub thats extremely clear. However, you have to be willing to shell out some cash for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 31, 2011 Best Subs no questions asked
Review by
Purcell from Fpo, AE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs deliver that tight bass while the excursion helps the sounds travel. I have a Fosgate Power Series 1000 amp running and it turn heads. I had to double dynamat my trunk plus take other parts together. Sometimes I think I have shaken something loose in my car.

Highly recommend this sub to anyone that wants either deep bass or hurt someone's feelings int he competition world. JL Audio name/ quality speaks for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 10, 2011 VERY pleased!
Review by
Fortitude253 from Seattle, WA.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's a W6! What else do I need to say? 2 driven with an Alpine PDX-M12, sealed box; Excellent sound!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 8, 2011 A must have!
Review by
Billy from Norfolk, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had my 12 inch Jl W6 for 5 months now and it sounds great. It has progressively gotten louder and the sound quality is amazing. I have it amped on 500 watts and it is perfect for what I need. People always ask me what the heck i got back there because it is a powerful low wattage sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2011 Is that just one sub?
Review by
christian from Valencia, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had this in my mustang and people would think it was 2 12s ... this is a really good sub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 12, 2010 Sound quality !
Review by
Bill from Iowa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the best sound quality sub made, though it does get pretty loud for one 12". Highly recommended, I have it in a ported box to specs so I don't know what it's like sealed, it's actually recommended to be in a sealed box. Power it with a JL Audio 500/1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 10, 2010 JL audio all the way
Review by
Ernie from Downey ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 12w6v2 powered with a JL 1000/1 slash series amp and let me tell you these subs are by far the best I have had. There in my dodge ram 1500 quad cab, in a custom fiberglass box under my rear seats. I just love how loud they sound in such little space they require with my audio control epicenter u can see all my windows flexing I also have a 450/4 amp for the mids and high powering 2 JL Audio 6x9 zr and 2 6.5 vr series. 1 thing is for sure u will need and extra power battery I have a optima yellow top with a kinetic hc1800.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 21, 2010 jlw6 12in
Review by
Ryan from Valencia, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sub for the price. Very very loud. I have it in a sealed box, so its a nice tight base. great sound quality but you def. need mids and highs with this thing. i actually have the base on my head unit set at 0 its so loud. very heavy weighs about 25 or 30lbs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 25, 2010 Great Buy!!!
Review by
Tim from Fort Lauderdale,Fl.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this speaker it takes a beating everyday with no problems and Sonic Electronix had the best price for the best speaker on the planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2010 Great
Review by
brandon from clayton, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used to have kicker subs. Im a 17 year old kid and i have a great system now. I bought 2 of these subs and they are greattttttt. Loud,crisp,and clear. I would never buy anything other then jl ever again. I thought my kickers were good,but they are NOTHING compared to these!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 8, 2010 Very nice sub
Review by
Zak from Salt Lake City, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've got 4 12w6's. 2 are in a sealed box (2.4 cu) with an MB Quart 1500.1 amp. They sound very nice and they do get low. They're probably seeing right around 1200 watts RMS between the two. The second pair I have are in a ported box (3 cu) with a Hifonics 1601 (1600 wRMS) and sound better than the sealed pair. I bought mine used only b/c there are subs out there that perform just as well for HALF the cost. I got all 4 of mine for $800 used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 3, 2010 SICK
Review by
John from El Dorado Hills, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these in a sealed enclosure being powered by 2 JBL amps putting 700 watts rms to each and let me tell you they POUND like nobody's business. I would recommend these subs to anyone who likes to see some excursion as well because that's what these do best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2010 well worth the money hits as hard as some 15"
Review by
Tim from Canberra, 0, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this sub is awesome and very cheap (well where i'm from it retails about $1300) just wish it could go lower and deeper but i think that's what the W7 dose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2009 12w6v2
Review by
Mack from Detroit, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great subwoofer to add to any system you have. It is clean and clear through any range of music whether it be rap, rock, pop, oldies or anywhere in between. I've run it in both a ported and sealed box, i prefer the sealed because it is a much cleaner sound than a ported but the ported is much louder. I only have 400 watts rms running into it and its still sick. i'm going to get a better amp that will push it to the limits and back once i save up some more money.

I'd highly recommend this sub for any person wanting to add a lot of clean bass to their setup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 28, 2009 the best
Review by
supra boat from graham n.c.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the jl w6 is the best all around sub you can buy. i have 1 w6 in my boat and with the right music u can watch the water ripple. i recomend a sealed box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 14, 2009 JL believer
Review by
Ty from washington
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
so i have been in the car audio game for 5 years now i have had sony,mtx,kicker,pioneer,rockford,alpine you name it ive tried it right now i have a ford focus Zx3 hatch with kenwood excelon x792 deck, infinity refrence 5 1/4 s in the front doors and 6x8 s in the rear panel, street wires 4 gauge wiring kit and a 1.25 farad cap with a Alpine mrd-m605 amp with a upgraded battery.

first i had an mtx 5512 it was okay but not great, then i put in a rockford p312 in a 1.8cuft slot ported box and loved it but wanted more so i just recently bought a rockford t110d4 and it was super nice but i realized i missed the low lows and a buddy had 1 of these for sale and OMG this thing is amazing blurs ur vision, hurts ur hears, u feel it in ur chest, mine is in a 4 cube areoported obcon box and it absolutely pounds i have to put in more dynamat because my door speakers connectors are rattling lose. I am now a believer JL is head and shoulders above everyone else. worth the $
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 15, 2009 Impressive
Review by
benedict from Austin, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would personally recommend this product. I found the reviews that said this subwoofer was accurate, smooth and naturally extended very low was very true. The price for this sub seemed on par with its performance and makes me curious what the W7 series is like!

I presently have this sub in my home with a 120V AC to 13.8V DC power converter supplying a 600W amp and it is the lowest, most accurate sub I have owned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2009 WOW!
Review by
JE from Denver, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this sub over a year ago, have it installed in my '71 Monte Carlo. I had a terrible amp hooked up to it at first, but now I have a nice Sony powering it at about 580 RMS.

This thing is rediculous... There are kids at my school with 3 12's and i roll up and watch their faces melt.

Put this baby in a sealed box, and listen to it do whatever you want it to. Bump hard, sound amazing, blast your rear view mirror to the floor.

Great Subwoofer, definitely worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2009 WOW!!
Review by
Mikael from Decatur
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend people to buy these subs. they are worth the money. So if you are looking for a great sub that bring\'s the bass these are it, but you better have enough power. I have my 2 w6\'s on a hifonics 2000 brutus and 5 farad capacitor and it hits hard! so these are well worth the price tag!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 30, 2008 this is the way to go....
Review by
Brett from Bristolville, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have two of these in a ported box in my extended cab s-10. i used to have them in my chrysler and they were louder than my four rockford fosgate p2s in a sealed box. don't get me wrong rockfrod has great subs, but the jl w6 is better. i currently am running the off a 1050.2 but getting a soundstream 2000d to power them better. every one compliments me on my subs. better sounding and louder than the memphis mojo 12. these subs WILL NOT let you down. i would also recommend getting another battery because these will dim all you lights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2008 its jl... what do you expect?
Review by
christopher from Waldorf, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
some of the best subs ive ever heard... hits all types of notes... rattles the hell out of my brothers car... has sq you cant beat... i love them but not getting them cause i like to compete... we'll see what the polk sr's can do against these!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 11, 2008 Amazing sound quality
Review by
Nick from Fort Myers, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is one of the best sounding subs you can buy! It has crystal clear sound and awesome power handling. Really good price, too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 4, 2008 great sub
Review by
mike from Norfolk, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
really responsive, takes anything you can throw at it and it doesnt require alot of air space, the recomended sealed enclosure is 1.25 cubic feet and only like 1.75 slot ported well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 11, 2008 Quality
Review by
Jesse from Keene, NH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this sub in a sealed enclosure paired with the JL 500/1v2 in my extended cab truck and it's so clear, tight and loud. I can't believe how low this thing can get and still sounds amazing. This sub replaced my new Kicker L7, but I sold it to get this. I've wasted a lot of money on alot of different stuff and have never really been completely satisfied until I finally sucked it up and spent top dollar on the sub and amp. JL is the best, hands down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 16, 2007 BREATH TAKING
Review by
Patrick from Akron, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These also take your breath away if there hooked up perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2007 My Opinion: BEST SUB EVER MADE!!!
Review by
Clint from Selmer, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I LOVE JL AUDIO!! These subs are UNREAL I own 2 of these! they are well worth the money These subs with the right amp combination can win competitions with ease!....

The only drawbacks about these subs is you better have ALOT of air space! and alot of amp!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2007 best subs ive ever had
Review by
Tyler from Anthem, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these and barely pushing 200watts and they even sound loud i have a 1000/1 in my mind well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2007 amazing sub
Review by
patrick from saugus, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is amazing. It delivered deep clean crisp bass. I had two of these powered by a jl 1000/1 mono amp and i could set off car alarms down my street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 1, 2007 Worth the money
Review by
Enrique from Edison, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have found that JL audio products are well worth the money. You get what you pay for and it is very true for the W6. I have it matched with a JL 500/1 and it hits hard when i want it to but is still crystal clear. Amazing product, it is one of the strongest and clearest subs out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2007 BOOM!
Review by
Charles from Camby, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own a 07 ford escape and I've got 2 of these running off a JL 1000/1 in a slot ported box @ 1.5cu per. All I can say is BOOM!! I have talked to people that have had 4 of others subs in the same kind of vehicle with less bass. You definitely get what you pay for when you buy JL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 22, 2006 Awsome SUB, Reliable and Loud
Review by
Fredrick from Simi Valley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All around, besides the price, this subwoofer kicks butt. I had 2 of these subwoofers and a audiobahn amp, it felt like my windows would shatter everytime i played em.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2006 This thing Hits
Review by
Jaythan from Franklinton, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one of this subs with a 500/1 in my jeep and it hits very hard. This is one of the best subs.I'am buying 3 more and one more 500/1.I recommend this sub for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 13, 2006 sweet
Review by
Randal from Seguin, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have 2 of these in my single cab dually. the boxes i have them in are too small, but still i have a JBL bp1200.1 pushing these and it bumps great i cant even imagine what they would do if i had bigger boxes these subs are the s**t price isnt cute but you get what you payfor im almost certain i have the loudest truck in my high school lol JL all the way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 9, 2006 JL Audio
Review by
Jon from Brownsburg, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these in a Grand Am GT with a A8000T amp in 2 ohm, and a ported box tuned to 30 hz, I just got my car tested and it was 153 DB. I have beaten many 15's in sq and spl so if your thinking you wnat 15's just for loudness or cuz the money, keep track of the money you spend trying to find the system you want as loud as that, then you will realize they are definitely worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 25, 2006 Amazing but expensive
Review by
isabel from Hayward, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My friend has two of these in his dodge intrepid. this thing rattles so much that the trunk is bent and wont close right becouse of all the air it moves. He has A jl audio 1000 watt amp. I'm impressed but the price he paid for was ridiculas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 27, 2005 nice sub
Review by
mike from marshfield, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i had 2 of these and then i got the 1208t's and these are put in there grave comparred to price 1208t's beat these in sound diff. and price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2005 Crazy Sub, Crazy Price!
Review by
Richard from National City, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My friend has one of these, just one, in a huge box with a JL 500/1 amp. The whole system is second-hand, but in good condition, and dam this thing hits. One of the best I've ever heard. Better than anything I've ever had in the past. It's both loud and clean. I would have one myself but the price is just crazy high, even for second-hand stuff. JL.. hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 13, 2005 Best in 3's
Review by
matt from Arvadaa, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used to have 3 of these in my s 10 I was hard to breathe with they were hooked up to my Mmats amp, if you have got the space and the power these are great subs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2005 UNREAL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review by
MIKE from Grants, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
AT FIRST I HAD TO THINK ABOUT IT BECAUSE OF THE $, BUT I DID IT I BOUGHT 2 12W6D4'S AND A SUPER BASS FIBER GLASS INFORCED PORTED BOX. PUSHED BY 2 CRUNCH V-DRIVE-2800 AMPS. A DIGITAL AUDIOBAHN CROSSOVER WITH A PXG-1.5 FARAD CAP.IF WIRED RIGHT YOU WILL NOT BELIEVE THE DB'S. YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY. MY NEXT SET WILL BE 2 13.5W7'S YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!!!!MIKE ALBURQUERQUE NEW MEXICO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 24, 2005 very nice subs
Review by
Diane from Winchester, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i own 2 12w6v2's and i run them on a jl 500/1 currently , but im replacing it with a pg x 1200.1. Even on the 500.1 these things sounds very loud, very clear, and very deep. If your goal is sq put this in a nice sealed box, but sinse this sub's sq is so good if you put it in a nice ported box it will shake the fillings out of your teeth and still sound very nice. other kids in my town that have systems are jelous of mine.. and they should be :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2010 OK but needs
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ken from Phoenix, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a PPI2400 which is not a class D amp. It pushes out 5000 watts of peak power. These subs can not handle the power that the amp gives. The subs sound great and work perfect but my recommendation is to get an efficient class D amp or mono block amp with these subs. They are very expensive and will work great with an efficient class D or mono block amp but if you have a class A or B circuitry amp I would not recommend these subs. If you have a class D amp or a mono block amp then these subs are awesome! just make sure you match them with what you have or what you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz