Showing 21 reviews for Power Acoustik PTID-8920B

Customer Review Summary for Power Acoustik PTID-8920B
Average Customer Rating is 4.3 out of 5 stars:
4.3
based on 21 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
57%
4 star:
.
.
24%
3 star:
.
.
10%
2 star:
.
.
10%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.2
Value
4.6
Features
4.2
Design
4.4
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 7, 2014 Great Value
Review by
Thomas from Asheville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
No problem with it. Easy to install and easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 27, 2014 sucks
Review by
david from Forth worth tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sucks when I use the usb it automatically will fast forward. Other than that its ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2014 Great product
Review by
Ty from Lillington, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this for about a year and a half I must say it is a very good product. The only problem I have is switching the time from am to pm so my time is backwards. other then that I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2014 good product
Review by
Tyler from lillington, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this product for more then a year and it has worked very well. The only problem I have is getting the time to go from pm to am so my time is backwards but every thing else works 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2014 great value
Review by
big mike from springfield ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price its a good headunit...kinda disappointed that it has usb port but doesnt support ipod...but I use aux cord for it so im still able to use my ipod...have noticed I screen glitch when switching from one mode to the next...but has a great screen and easy to the touch..will prolly upgrade later on but its done its job so far and im happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2014 power acoustik ptid-8920b
Review by
Lamar from Richmond, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i like it, its worth the money, just wish i had a navigation on it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 17, 2014 Great Product
Review by
Kamron from Holyoke, Ma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It looks great, it sounds great. I haven't had a problem with it. The Bluetooth works great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2014 Review Power Acoustik PTID-8920B
Review by
Chris from tOPEKA, ks
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have only owned the Power Acoustik PTID-8920B for about a month and installed it. a good feature about this product is that you can set it to manually open/ close the display so when the gearshift on my pickup is in park the monitor doesn't open or close when I shut the truck off. The sound it very crisp and the video is crystal clear. Another item I like is the Bluetooth. My call history is right at my fingertips displayed on the monitor and the music is also synced. I don't have to use my phone at all. I can just use the radio to dial or receive phone calls. 1 item I would change however is the clock settings. when the monitor is closed the radio doesn't display the time. 1 last FYI, Use the remote to turn the volume up and down. The knob is slick and hard to turn. This receiver is a good value for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 20, 2014 awsome
Review by
Rodney from greenwood south carolina
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I will do business with you again. Even recommended to my friends I ordered cd/dvd car stereo For my son and he loved it was shipped very fast and called tech and he was very helpful and polite. Thanks so much for being a affordable company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 16, 2014 awesome
Review by
chris from Alvarado, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works perfect. Great bright screen. Blue tooth is really nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2014 100%
Review by
damon from waco, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Free wiring harness and dash kit, why not... Have had this radio for 4 months and nothing has gone wrong everything works perfect.. Good bang for the buck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 25, 2013 Works fine. Overall good value. Like it!
Review by
Ronald from Kissimmee, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this PTID-8920B for my LANCER ES 2004 SEDAN in Black Friday and had it installed at the closest Auto shop. It was replacing a Pioneer 15 UB. I already had a separate battery, the Shuriken bt-20, feeding two amplifiers: The Alpine MRP-300 4 ch and the BOSS PHANTOM PH 1502MW Mono. My amps driving a set of Infinity 2 ohm component speakers in the front doors and Sony Xplot 6 x 9 on the Rear deck. Also, pushing 2 Sony Xplod 10” subs in the trunk.
So, with the 15-UB I had attained a really good quality from my music without using optional EQS or Crossovers. But I was dreaming about a DVD player with the optional Rear View Camera. So I decided this Power Acoustik PTID-8920B which I thought was good deal for the price, Bluetooth and all. I paired It with a generic Rear View camera that’s waterproof. After installation Observations: The touch screen has good response. It works fine with my fingers. The settings are easygoing. You can change the angle of the flip out monitor. Actually there was an incompatibility with the dash of my LANCER. When the monitor came out, it was getting obstructed by the upper part of the dash. So, hehheh. I guess this is a factor everytime when adding after market components. A little customization needed. So I dealt with that before the unit got broken ok!!!! Display settings enables you to go through 3 levels of brightness, useful for attaining less power consumption. DVD settings, the most useful stuff when watching DVDs. Now for the most important, the SOUND SETTINGS: Having changed from a Pioneer, these settings are poor. And that is to be expected for the price. You get preset EQ curves (Rock, Flat, etc.) Rock sounds better. You can tweak the EQ yourself, you get Bass, Treble, Fader, Balance, Loudness, and the Subwoofer output (Turn this on). The subwoofer output features 1 mono jack (Not L and R RCA’s, so you’ll need an optional Y adapter so you can connect RCA’s to the amplifier). Media playback: DVD/CD PLAYER – Overall good sound quality, tons of BASS Output. Nice Highs and Mids. USB Drive – Sound quality decreases. You get less bass output. Tons of Highs and Mids. You get better results when switching the EQ to Rock. AV-IN – Tons of Highs and Mids, but the Bass is far. Bluetooth – Tons of highs and Mids. Less Bass. But I should add that this feature is very convenient. You get to play music from your Tablet or Smartphone without cables. To this date I haven’t tried having a phone conversation using the Bluetooth feature. I focused on the sound quality. DVD MOVIES – I tried a couple DVDs. It’s working fine. Radio Tuner – Has some useful features. LOCAL, AS/PS. FM reception is working fine. Commentaries: The front panel as lots of buttons that are really small. I try to use the remote control always. The remote control has lots of buttons, so in order to use the unit it requires from you that you sit down and read. I don’t think somebody that comes to check your new car stereo for the first time would be able to understand it. It’s hard to read the small LCD screen. But who cares, it’s what you get for the price. Overall I believe I got a good deal. This unit packs good VALUE, and with a nice price. If you are an audio fanatic and you find the unit has too little features for tweaking your sound, all you have to do is to add an optional preamp EQ. I already did this. Warning: When installing, be sure you get a “Good Ground”. I was getting noise through the speakers everytime I turned on the lights. Because the guys who installed the unit messed up with this. I added noise suppressor filters and it was fine but still I wasn’t completely satisfied. Couple days later I found out that this was the cause of the problem. I corrected this myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 5, 2013 NICE BUT HAD ISSUES WITH THE FIRST ONE.
Review by
raul from glendale, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
IS A GOOD STEREO, NOT GREAT FOR A SYSTEM WHERE YOU WOULD NEED TO ADJUST THE CROSSOVER INDEPENDENTLY. DVD WORKS GREAT, OVERALL ITS A DESCENT UNIT. IT IS NO ALPINE THATS FOR SURE BUT FOR THE MONEY WHAT CAN YOU EXPECT. AFTER RECVING THE UNIT I INSTALLED IT AND IT WAS FINE. 9 MONTHS AFTER THE INITIAL INSTALL THE DVD/ TOUCH SCREEN WENT BLANK AND I COULD SEE ANYTHING. CALLED SONICELECTRONIX AND LUCKILY IT WAS STILL UNDER MFG 1 YR WARRANTY. SENT IN GOT A NEW ONE, SO THANK TO THEM FOR THE CUSTOMER SERVICE. HOPE THIS SECOND ONE LASTS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 really nice!
Review by
craig from tulsa, ok
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This deck is well worth the money. I have a 2007 hyundai sonata and it even made my stock speakers bang. I got cs6 jl audio 6.5'' 4 and a 760 rms jenson amp for them and it can do alot more. The best feature on this I thought was the response to your touch was instant but get a touch pen or you will have problems with your finger. My major problem was the molding you get that is custom for your car did not work with my car, so find a different one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Excellent Product
Review by
Anteious from Lexington,Ms
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am simply blown away by this product,the vision is great,the different functions are especially cool,overall great product for the price,wonderful sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 22, 2013 Pleasantly Surprised
Review by
Brian from Castle Hayne, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this as a supplement to getting a backup camera for my 2005 Dodge Ram as I didn't want a standalone LCD screen to add to my already crowded dash. I had moderate expectations for this unit. After all, the price point is low and you generally get what you pay for.

So far, after about 2 weeks of use, I can say I am overall very happy and certainly am surprised about one feature which is the Bluetooth microphone. I was actually mad that this unit did not come with a separate external microphone on a wire to be placed elsewhere because it's been my experience that built-in microphones like the one in this unit don't tend to function very well. People can tell that I'm not on my phone, but nobody has complained about call clarity, so definitely a big bonus there.

I've used my USB a couple of times. I have music on a 32GB stick, but it's a little clunky to sort through the folders. Because the Bluetooth audio is so good (very clear with nary a skip or hiccup), I don't even have a need for the USB stick anymore.

I haven't watched a DVD on here nor have I used the CD/DVD player, so I can't speak to those.

So for pros:
- Bluetooth call clarity and music function is flawless. Also connecting a device was very quick and easy - more so than my previous unit and other units I've connected my phone to in my travels.
- Audio clarity is good for a 13x4 system. As long as you don't expect hi-fi sound from this unit, you'll be happy.
- Picture for my backup camera works very well. The universal input (RCA) makes things that much better.

Cons:
- Only bass and treble for sound adjustment. If you're looking for more of an equalizer, you'll need to shell out a few more bucks.
- Buttons around knob are a little small if you have big fingers like me.

Overall, this is a very good buy, especially for under $200. How long it will last remains to be seen, but as a low-end product it has everything I was looking for and I would recommend anyone in the market for a single DIN DVD player to give this unit a solid look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 14, 2012 awsome
Review by
DOUBLE.. Gs from seattle wa.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i just got this 2 weeks ago and it is greaaaaat!! every thing workes great. boy and the sound is awsome! i would double the ratings for this. thanks guys!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2012 Waist of time
Review by
Big cheez from Harrison, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This DVD has a very clear picture and gives good quality sound but that's about it as for the Bluetooth no good my USB did not function at all I never in my life purchased an item before that the majority of the functions just did not work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 30, 2012 Incredible Value!
Review by
richard from Boca Raton, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
In six months of use this device has not let me down once. Music sounds great. The video picture is very clear and colors are wonderful. Bluetooth sounds great and call receivers do not complain of interference; also has never dropped one call. The user interface is simple and easy-to-use. The unit offers unbelievable overall value. Even at a more expensive price point, it's hard to find a better deal than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 9, 2012 outstanding value.
Review by
gunner from grants pass, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had to reset the unit once. Overall the
equipment is an outstanding piece of gear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2011 very disappointed
Review by
cordell from chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The day I got it installed in my truck and wouldn't play any disc reset it disc played but once u take it out and put another in u would have to reset again so I sent it back that same night. I honestly wouldn't recommended this product to anyone. Spend a little more and get a brand name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz