Showing 29 reviews for NVX JAD900.5

Customer Review Summary for NVX JAD900.5
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 33 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
88%
4 star:
.
.
9%
3 star:
.
3%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
5.0
Features
4.8
Design
4.9
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
December 22, 2012 I was skeptical at first but very glad I bought this amp.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Robert J from Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for a smaller amp to replace my two larger amps that I had from a previous install.
I had use the Massive NX5 last year and had the over heating issue every time I was in my car.
The NVX has yet to have any problems. It gets warm to the touch after a 45 min drive but not flaming hot like some other amps.
I like to play my music loud so I was worried that the 70 watts RMS its rated for would disappoint. I had the exact opposite experience! This amp pushes my CDT speakers with ease.

Also note that you can run your system active just by using the built in crossovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 13, 2014 Very Nice Amp
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kyle from Sherrodsville, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price you cant beat it .... but not to sure it is pushing the stated rms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 19, 2014 WOW ! AWESOME VALUE AWESOME POWER!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
EDWARD from Miamisburg, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My experience with Sonic Electronix has been excellent ! The NVX product line is a fantastic value and the performance rivals products 3 times the cost. The JAD900.5 is the amp you need if you are looking to run your whole car audio system with 1 amplifier. I have been so VERY impressed with the power and performance from an amp with such a small footprint. I have 8 speaker running off the 4 stereo channels and one 12in 4ohm sub from the sub output. This amp has more than enough power and is capable of putting out 1000watts RMS of clean, clear power if you want to max it out. For $299 this amp is a steal of a deal and I could not be happier with my purchase. It has all the features you need in a car audio amp except High level inputs which I did not need. I give this amp 5 stars across the board and you will to. I did my research first and it paid off in spades. JUST BUY IT !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 11, 2014 Nice amp
Review by
David from Butler, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It is a clean sounding amp that surprisingly for the price has a lot of power. Obviously its not a window breaker but it does its job and can play loud enough for me. I have mine powering a Hertz high energy 51/4 set with a pair of 6x8 MTX speakers as midbass with an RE SE PRO 15 inch sub with an Audison Bit One processor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 21, 2014 Great value!!
Review by
Joe from North Oxford, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this amp in March '14, but waited a few months before reviewing. This is an excellent amp without question. I have had zero issues with it since day 1. It does not heat up the way my old Alpine amp did, and will only get warm to the touch after hours of use. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 29, 2014 Great deal!
Review by
Ryan from Fort Saskatchewan, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is pretty awesome so far. I wanted to have a so gel amp that I could tuck under my passenger seat on my 2011 Mazdaspeed 3. It fits perfectly, teamed up with the nvx 4 gauge amp kit and the the nvx 1 farad cap. I get minimal power drop at idle and nothing when driving. No lights dimming, nothing. But my sub is numbing and speakers are loud and clear. Love it so far. Highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2014 Great Amp
Review by
dmarco from Fort Worth
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this amp after must research for my 2013 Ford F150, This amp has turned out to be a great investment. Running a set of J L Audio 5x7 components up front and a set of Infinity 5x7 Kappas in rear. Driving a J L Audio 10 inch sub in down firing box under rear seat. All the power you'll need. Highly recommend this amp. Best buy for these new F150's,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 9, 2014 Nice amplifier, you should have one
Review by
HUIZHAO from Rochester, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very nice amplifier, crystal clear sound transformation and small size which could fit in your car anywhere, and light weight to save some gas.

Installation pretty easy, but need to buy other accessories to install, all the lines are pretty, but shipment takes some time. If they are in a whole package will be easy and save customer some time. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 30, 2014 Great little amp
Review by
ChinoDingo from Bronx, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this amp to anybody who has little space to work with. This amp is under rated. It pushes my Sundown audio SD-8 and 4 polk 6.5 speakers with ease.Couldn't be happier with the amp. I had my set-up proffesionally installs, but im trying to tune it myself it myself now, its confusing..lol.. ill learn by experience.Other tahn is kind of hard to tune, its a GREAT AMP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2014 Excellent Value
Review by
J.J. (Supreme12860) from The Bronx, New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased the NVX JAD900.5 amplifier as well as the NVX XKIT 44 4 gauge,4 channel amp connection kit from the same company. You just cant beat Sonic Electronix for value, service, expertise and the excellent reviews received from customers who also purchased this amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2014 NVX JAD900.5
Review by
twmoch from Bismarck, ND
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Recently purchased the NVX JAD900.5. Quality look, quality feel, and more importantly quality sound. Excellent value, would purchase again. I also purchased the VSP65KIT 6.5" component set, also sound well beyond the purchase price. NVX provides affordable, high quality products. Excellent value, would purchase again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 9, 2014 Great fit behind 2013 Frontier Crew Cab Rear Seat
Review by
PK from Asheville, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp was perfect solution for the limited hidden space in my Crew Cab Frontier. Installed behind rear seat. Powers 4 Image Dynamics 6.5" door speakers + Image Dynamics 10" Subwoofer. Sounds great and performs great. Haven't noticed any issues such as heat. I would recommend and have recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 31, 2014 Great amp for a great price
Review by
GeoffC from Denver, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a very good amp for the price. Sound stage is clear and the bass seems very well controlled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 4, 2014 Knocks your socks off
Review by
Jeff from Houston, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp has plenty of power. I don't know how much headroom I have to spare because I am not going any louder - no way!

I listen to classic rock (Rush, etc.), and it is nice and clean... and this is with keeping my factory el cheapo head unit in my Hyundai.

I have some hiss when sound is off, and it could be I have the gains set too high. I will be checking that later (because it got too late tonight, and we needed to finish for the day), but I feel quite sure there is no fault with the amp. I am giving this great rating based on having listened for 1 hour so far. As long as the amp holds up for the long haul, it is a great amp for a great price.

John Islas with SonicElectronix was my sales rep, and he was good to work with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Excellent amp
Review by
Greg from Urbana, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is an excellent amp and compares to the best JL, Fosgate, or other. Wide range of crossover features, high power, and clear sound. I have owned a JL 300/2 and Fosgate T800.4 and this amp is right along those, but for about 1/2 the price. I have one minor complaint, when using the crossover there aren't any markings between the first frequency (40hz) to the last frequency (4000hz). It makes it difficult to tell exactly what frequency the crossover is set at, an it has to be done by ear. Nonetheless it isn't worth spending twice as much money on an amp just for that feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Great AMP
Review by
Justin from Twin Lake, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price, quality, and build of this amp, you can't beat it.
It has great adjustability (not as much as over $500 Amps), but way more than enough for its use.

It powers my Rockford Fosgate 6'' Fronts, Cerwin Vega 6X9 rears, and a 12' sub perfectly at 4 Ohms, gets plenty loud, but not overly where you'll never use its potential.

The amp will get warm after 30-45 mins of heavy use, but even on a long 350+ mile trip (inlcuding through slow chicago traffic) I never had the amp overheat/shut off.
I have had it for about 6 months now and have no complaints!

It is small and compact, fits right behind my rear fender in the trunk allowing me to tuck it away behind the carpet lining (still no heat issues either & its on the exhaust outlet side that gives some radiant heat).

It has over exceeded my expectations, has a range of adjust-ability and uses. NVX has hit the market spot on with a medium-high level amp that is a premium quality at a effective cost!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Small foot print, lots of output , runs cool !
Review by
sound man from Wichita, Ks
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this amp cause of the great reviews it has. It has a really small foot print. the power ratings where in the range I was after. I play my music pretty loud and have never had any concerns of over heating. The amp runs warm at times The output is very clean and smooth sounding. The only thing I wished it had was maybe a bass boost around45Hz for the front and rear channels. The subwoofer does have bass boost option. I have not tried to use it. I am using the Rockford fasgate 360.3 so I run the the amp with all eq's and boost off. But overall this is a great amp. I have been very impressed by NVX so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Very good 5ch Amplifier
Review by
Luis from PR, Puerto Rico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its a very good amplifier. Its a 5ch small/compact design that delivers good power. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2013 Excellent amp, excellent price
Review by
Greg from Urbana, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pro's: The sound is excellent, puts out more than enough power, the price is very good. I was between this and a high end JL amp. I own a JL300/2. I would say this amp is comparable. It's main advantage being it's price. It has a good set of crossovers, easy to use, and good protection from a short circuit.

Con's: I know I'm being picky but I wish there were more options with the crossovers. One channel has a HPF up to 4000 hz, wish it went a little higher. Other channel has a lpf up to 4000 hz and a hpf up to 400hz. But then again to get fully adjustable crossovers would cost much more.

In the end an excellent amp for a excellent price, if I wanted a new amp with full crossovers and 5 channels it would be at least 2x as much. I recommend getting this one unless you have tons of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 29, 2013 Very Good Amp
Review by
detekk from Calgary, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp runs my front components and rear speakers and 200W sub flawlessly. Very nice robust design too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 9, 2013 Awesome AMP at a great price
Review by
Brockfly from Wisconsin
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I couldn't agree more with other reviewers. I hooked this amp up to pioneer components (6.5) inch in the front and JL 5.5 inch two ways in the back of my 2002 honda CRV. Also put a 10 inch shallow enclosed Pioneer sub rated at 200 watts. More than enough power to push everything with plent of gain to spare. Still tweaking but sounds really good. I shopped around and this seamed the best value for the money and got a 2 year warranty when buying the 4 gauge amp install kit. Couldn't be happier with this purchase. Only gave 4 on durability because I have only had it hooked up for a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 29, 2013 Worth every penny
Review by
wthedeerslayer from Lindenhurst NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have all JL in my truck from amps to speakers so i know what good sounds like,i was looking for something cheap that sounds good for my daughters car without breaking the bank,This amp is awesome its clear and powerful it sounds as good as my $800 jl amp,,i would buy this amp a 100 times over,,you will not be dissapointed..Its pushing 4 ,,,
6 3/4 jl and 2 10inch subs,,it sounds unreal sooooooo clean..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2013 Best Bang For your Buck!
Review by
RALPHE from MARGATE, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was a bit reluctant at first since I never heard of NVX but the Rep at Sonic highly recommended it stating that it was a great product with awesome Sound Quality.

He was right!

To take it further I decided to contact NVX in California and spoke to Richard. I picked his brain regarding the JAD900.5 and he went into all of the details and completely addressed all of my questions and concerns.

He also took the time to advise on the proper setting up and matching the unit to other equipment.

I received it and installed it immediately, tweaked the tuning to it's best and all I can say is WOW!!!!! 279? This amp is "EXTEMELY" well worth every penny and then some!!!!

I have had top brand products before and to be honest they are just extremely Over Rated and way over Priced!

Specs Match top line.

It hits very hard and I don't have the Gain Levels turned all the way up.
It doesn't heat up after being driven for hours straight non stop .

Not a fancy setup Kenwood KDC-X895 Head Unit, Infinity Kappa 692.9i using 6x9 Speaker Baffles filled with sound insulation on Rear Deck Infinity Kappa 6x8 in Doors, MTX Thunder 12" 8000 in 1.7 Non Ported Box. 4 Gauge Power and Ground wires + Monster Speaker wire.

Pro's: Small Size, Doesn't heat up, Clean Looking Unit. Clean Sound Quality I would highly recommend this to anyone!

CONS: None

Thanks Richard and Thank you Sonic Electronix!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2013 Awesome Product!!!
Review by
Remo from Ottawa, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed. Great amplifier in a small product. I would buy any NVX product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 10, 2013 Amazing Quality!
Review by
Jonathan from Arlington, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This 5 channel is just Amazing in every aspect! I have it in my 2000 mustang i just put a new components and 6x8's with 2 boston acoustics 12's in a 4.1cube box @34hz and this amp makes everything sound so clear clean and crisp i was so amazed. i extremely recommend this product worth every penny thats for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2012 Hard to find a better value
Review by
DonnieE from Santa Clarita, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
When I was upgrading my system for a third time I had decided I was going to spend the extra money for high SQ products. When looking for a new 5ch class D I had narrowed my field down to the Hertz HDP 5, the JL 700 /5, and the Polk PA 5000. I spoke with a rep at Sonic about placing an order and he said I should look into the NVX JAD900. Having had bad experiences with new outfits or house brand products in the past I was extremely skeptical. He stated all NVX products were CEA rated and if I were to compare specs I would find the NVX would sit right along side the brand name amps I was interested in.

After much research I found that other than some cosmetic differences the amps all used the same chipset, shared nearly identical dimensions and input and control designs, and we're nearly identical CEA rated power. So why did I choose the NVX in the end? I was able to purchase it for about half of the cost of the brand name amps! The amp installed easily, NEVER runs hot, and has really good SQ. for once in my life I was proven wrong that more money means better quality and performance. Do the research and see for yourself. There is no better product for the money!

Pros: Clean power, small footprint, super efficient, looks great, and the best performance per dollar!

Cons: The status light is super bright making tuning at night pretty difficult. The crossovers are a bit too wide range making it difficult to dial in but it's the same crossover and filter setup used on the well known brand name amps. There were some errors in the wiring diagram but it was an easy fix.

Overall a fantastic whole system solution that lets you spend more on your speakers and less on a brand name companies marketing budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 30, 2012 Great Amp!!!
Review by
Adrock1.8t from Wooster, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this amp to replace a dead channel FLI amp that was DOA and no longer available from sonic. Kinda got pushed into a more expensive amp but they were right. I am pushing 2 pairs of polk db components and a 8" JBL gto sub. WOW!!! Great mid sonic lows and very clean. I have pushed this amp for an hour at moderate to high levels and not even warm to the touch. Not a hint of clip at near unlistenable levels. Best 5 channel amp out there that i have ever heard. I am now a loyal NVX Customer! Thanks Sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2012 CLEAN, BEAUTIFUL SOUND!!!
Review by
Eliseo from Pocomoke City, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this in my 2008 Town & Country powering my Arc Audio XDI693's, RF T1572's and my NVX VSW104! It's small enough to fit under my seat and never runs hot! I have all NVX wires too! The SQ is truly amazing! I spend a lot more time in my vehicle now! The side controls are simple and work great for tuning! The sub remote keeps my wife happy! LOL! The power, ground and remote adapter make the install clean and simple as well! This amp is strong and well put together just like every NVX product! Look no further than NVX for quality, durable products! Sonic Electronix should be your first choice when shopping online or anywhere for that matter! Thanks guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2012 Amazing little amp.
Review by
Derrick O'Neal from PhoenixAZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just recently purchased this amp. Got it in one day so I am extremely thrilled with the shipping and service at sonic. I have it powering my entire system with Polk db1240-dvc sub and 2 sets of speakers. In the front I have the Focal 165CA1 and in the back I went with the 690CA1. This amp is tiny and doesn't heat up much at all. I like the controls and I got the gain turned down a little for the 5th ch and my sub sounds great. The highs are crisp on my Focals and I will be back to do my other car sooN! Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz