Showing 28 reviews for NVX JAD800.4

Customer Review Summary for NVX JAD800.4
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 28 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
89%
4 star:
.
.
11%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
5.0
Features
4.9
Design
4.9
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
October 10, 2012 Good amp at a good value.
16 of 24 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Stephen from Madison, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Running two pairs of image dynamics speakers off of this amp. Have the speakers bridged to two channels so they get perfect power and sound awesome and still have two channels to do with as I please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 6, 2013 Impressed already
19 of 31 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
nathan from atlanta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this amp as an open item. the design is immaculate and I'm impressed with the ease of ordering. I am excited to have this in my car, and will provide a more detailed review once I'm done installing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2012 used in a Malibu wakeboat
21 of 37 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ryan from oklahoma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
OK, in the never ending quest to get a clean 400w+ to ea REV10, i bought a NVX 800.4 for $225 shipped, to replace my Fosgate T600-4 I had powering them. I bought the Sonic Electronix 3yr service plan on it for an extra $25, i knew I'd be putting it thru its paces. I wanted more power to the Rev10s, but also wanted to do it more efficiently in the Class D, and also run cooler. Temps here are 110+ every summer, so you are at a disadvantage running ABs, eventually they will cut out on you when you push them hard.

Initial impressions: its a small amp which is great. I can easily fit 2 of them where my single T600-4 used to be. Makes me wanna get another set of Rev10s just because the amp would fit so nicely in there.

Performance: It IS better than the T600-4. I am happy, its good quality power. Sounds clean and it is an imporvement over what I had. Dont use the high pass filter, run it full range(i also installed the Exile ZLD ( ), the ZLD may also be influincing my tower zone music quality some). If I had to guess, its around 320w at 12.5v ish and right at 410w at 14.4v. With 3 25A fuses 12vx75 divided by 80% efficient = is where I am getting these guesses on power ratings from. It does come with 4ga power inputs with a 1/0 ga adapter... I ran a real thick 4ga, more comparable to 2-3ga to power it. My 4ga would not fit into their 4ga inputs so I used the 1/0 adapter. Sturdy gear, does not feel cheaply made. Terminals are strong, well made. No hiss, or anything like that. I have my gains set at about between 4 of 10.

sidenote: f'n get your wiring diagram correct NVX! Bridged x 2 is the OUTER 2 speaker terminals for front and rear, not the inner 2. lost me 20 mins and 2 pounds of sweat in a full planking contorsionist position pulling the amp back off and rewiring it again and putting it back in there. if their directions were right I wouldnt have had to do that.

sidenote: the NVX DOES get hot. supposedly with the Class D, they are supposed to run much cooler, not the case here. It gets warm and stays warm just powering it up and light music. I ran it hard for about 5 mins (100degs outside), and was warm/hot to the touch. Not so hot you couldnt hold your hand on it, but it did suprise me it was hot. Never went into protect mode or anything. My 2500w Re Class D sub amp wired at 1 ohm stays ambient temps pretty much unless you was doing hairtricks with it, and was hoping for that. I ran it for about 2hrs at medium party cove volume, it did well. impied in this is if you install, use some spacers to get it off the carpeted amp board some so it can breath.

So all in all, I'd say its a great buy for $225. Could you find a better amp to deliver a little more power 400-500w range? Yes, but most of those are in the $500+ range. they pair nicely with the Rev10s and would suffice for 90%+ of folks at a huge discount compared to the other 400x2 class D's. It def got warm, but never cut out and I run my gear hard. I will repost if I ever get it to cut out this summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 7, 2014 High end amp at a good price
19 of 34 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Angel from Danbury, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp paired up with DLS U6i speakers and a set of Pioneer tweeters taken from a Pioneer component TS C1720C. The Pioneer mid bass driver was replaced with a pair of Kicker Comp VT6s- 61/2. I have always been a fan of JL amps and with this set up I have 2 - the other is the JL XD 600 for bass. Originally, the amp powering mids with this set up was an old JL 300/4 amp. The old amp after 15 yrs went in to protection mode and influenced by Sonic consumer reviewers I decided to save money and make a change. The goal was that if the experiment did not work out I would get the old JL amp fixed. As it turned out, there was no need to go back to the JL amp. The NVX had a very compatible sound in terms of clarity but was much louder. To compensate for the higher and brighter mids the gain from the little JL XD amp (powering a 15 inch RE sub) had to be raised. The end result was that the imaging in the car was broadened. Indeed, a fuller spectrum of frequencies was achieved -as well a broader stage. Also noteworthy, is that the NVX is smaller than the JL. Thus, everything said about this amp is true and I also strongly recommend this product. It is definitely a high end amp at a very good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 22, 2014 Up in Canada Eh!
20 of 36 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Robert from Kingston, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ordered the NVX JAD 800.4 due to the reviews I read. I was hoping for something powerful and compact. As soon as I got the 800.4 I was surprised how small it actually is, and the RMS rating is 125W but actual RMS output per channel is 140W!!! Tones of power for any speakers you want!!
Only downfall, no pass-thru to hook up the JAD 1200.1 Im going to be getting soon.
NVX JAD800.4 is HIGHLY recommended for any needs: great price, small size, and super powerful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2014 Box opening
16 of 28 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Fax from Va.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All the NVX products I've bought seem to be top quality so that's why I bought 4 NVX amps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 5, 2013 Great sound quality
17 of 30 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ravi from New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this new line of amp is great quality.The only thing this 4 channel doesnt have an RCA output. I usually buy kickers amp, but I wanted to try this new amp line. Its worth the money and the amp takes up almost 50% space. Get it you wont be disappointed.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2015 AWSOME AMP
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
RON DOG from CALIFORNIA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
FIRST TEST IN MY WIFES FJ CRUISER WOW VERRY CLEAN AND POWERFUL SURPASSES A JL FOR MUCH LESS SOUNDS LIKE POWER FROM THE GODS EVERYONE NEEDS ONE IM AN AMP NUT MY BOAT RUNS 3 TWO IN MY WORK TRUCK NOW I MIGHT BE CHANGING ALL TO NVX ...THANKS SONIC YEP IM HAPPY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 18, 2013 Very Happy so Far
17 of 32 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Califlub from Temecula
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased the JAD800.4 along with a JAD1200.1 to power my Infinity Kappa speakers and MB Quart subs. My first choice was the Infinity Kappa Five amp, but I had problems with two of them and was given a store credit. Second time around I decided to go with two amps (4/1channel) hoping for better performance / reliability.
I read a lot of mixed reviews on Class D amplifiers. Many people think that A/B has better sound quality, while others prefer the small footprint, high power / low heat output of Class D. Being an engineer I reviewed the specs and was very impressed with the signal to noise as well as the THD compared to Class A/B.
NVX is a relatively new brand so I turned to Google and found several good reviews. I was looking at the Polk amps and NVX seems to be very similar, with the controls panels and specs being almost identical (and NVX was in stock).
Out of the box the amps had a solid feel and clean look. They have a soft-start feature that powers them up a few seconds after they get power. This gives you time to start your engine without drawing any current. Very nice.
The sound quality is excellent - better than other A/B amps I had in the past. More than enough power - I haven't even cranked them all the way up yet and don't think I'll ever have to.
I have a second MB Quart 10 RLP on back order because with one sub I was getting distortion before I could feel the bass. It turns out that the Infinity Kappa Five amp was the weak link. The JAD 1200.1 pushes one sub very well.
The only negative I have to say about these amps is that the adjustment dials take a philips screwdriver, and they do not have an arrow or line showing you what it is set to. This made it a little inconvenient to tweak the crossover points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 17, 2014 Clean and delivers
15 of 29 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Bradley from Fletcher, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Does the job with a small footprint but big clean power. Still new but no issues.

Suggestions for improvements... With all these "clone" amps such as PPI, Hertz, Arc in this price-point it'd be difficult to improve the performance. That said, I can see the value in a few items especially for small-footprint amps. Values I like include 1. all wiring on one side with easier access from overhead while installed. 2. easier access to mounting holes without a shroud around it. 3. differential-balanced inputs. 4. Go to sleeves in a 1/0 hole for big wire connections instead of a butt out plug going into a 4ga hole for 12v/ground terminals. Truly just nitpicky stuff, which makes you see what separates a $250 amp from a $500 amp. Awesome amps as is and good looking clean appearance.

Now I know these things would be a completely different design given these are sourced boards similar in layout to many seen. So they're just improvement suggestions should the design of the board allow.

But as is, with both NVX JAD amps I have, I say overall BRAVO! They sound great, appear to be very well engineered and constructed, and if they hold up well, it was a good purchase and I'm an NVX fan. They're as big a hit as their X-Series speakers which I hope NVX continues for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 19, 2013 Really Impressed
18 of 36 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Anthony from Saint Louis, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for an amp to power my hertz hsk165 components and my hertz ecx690 6x9s. I had the JL Audio 400/4 powering them but i wanted them alittle louder but didnt wanna lose sound quality. I was gonna get the Polk PA 4000.4 but Sonic was outta stock so this NVX amp was the next best option. I was worried because I've never heard of NVX but man im impressed. The Quality is just as good if not better than my JL amp. So far I love this amp. Im gonna make a youtube vid in bought a month with my whole system... its gonna be the Chamelleon Impala
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2013 Very Impressed sofar
9 of 18 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Chameleon Impala from Saint Louis, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had the Jl Audio 400/4 powering some Hertz hsk165 components and the hertz ecx690 and it was ok... but i wanted more power because my speakers can handle itbut i didnt wanna lose quality like my Jl amp, so I was gonna to gey the Polk pa4000.4 but Sonic was outta stock so this was the next best option based of the stats, being cea certified and the price. I never heard of NVX but i researched and found they are fairly new so I decoded to give them a shot. OMG im impressed with thisover my JL amp... I dont know how durable it it but its a really good probut overall everywhere else... gotta give it 5stars... in a month im goin yo puy my system on youtube
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2013 Good, Solid Amp...and powerful
12 of 24 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mike from Alabama
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've given 2 months. So far, very pleased.

I'm not one to write reviews, but they have been so helpful to me, I felt compelled. I didn't know much about this brand when I bought it except for a little research and the reviews. I needed a small amp to fit in my Honda CRV. I wanted 120 watts X 4 to fully crank out my Polk MM6501 component speakers. I hoped this amp would do it.

It certainly plays hard and loud. It effortlessly takes the volume to concert levels and then some. It gave me plenty of head room. Tone-wise , it seems pretty flat - which is good. I like bass, and when i turn up the bass it feeds the woofers full bodied power. no sense of roll off anywhere.I have heard amps that were "warmer" sounding. That said, I really like this amp and would recommend it to others without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 27, 2015 beast
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
hassan from Springfield Gardens, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this amp is small but big in power it gives a clean sound quality and the cross over is very flexible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 22, 2014 need to know
16 of 33 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jonathan from Calera, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
to the point, bought a mb quart rm amp, was good sounded ok, till(i got the nvx jad 800.4) this thing sounds like a really good class ab amp. doesnt get above 38C thats while playing abt 2/3 volume.great amps so far. clean clear crisp tight controlled good crossover. what more could you ask for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 30, 2014 NVX D Class Four Channel
12 of 26 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dylan from Fulton, Illinois
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is insanely small but really puts out the power. It doesn't have a big draw on it and is lightweight and have a white led on it which is pretty cool. Wish it had a copy/mirror switch that would allow to copy two of the channels. Love that it comes with a wire reducer block, really came in handy. It was kind of cool that the set screws were Phillips instead of Allen wrench, they are convenient but easier to strip. The gains have clicks instead of just being smooth so it is a bit easier to match gains. Overall a very good amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 24, 2013 Very impressed
14 of 30 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Cody from Omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The amp is very well constructed and tiny- works well in vehicles with small spaces like my 2008 dodge ram pickup. I have it feeding my polk audio components and the amp never gets hot. Stays cool to touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 30, 2013 small chassis
13 of 28 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ravindra from Richmond Hill, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The amp seems to be a pretty good built amp. Nice finish. This amp can fit in small areas you couldn't before. Im not sure if it does put out the wattage that was stated because I don't have a meter. I have this amp pushing a pair of 6.5" pro Beyma mids and a pair of sound stream bullet tweeters (Big ones) at 4 ohms. Will be connected some more speakers to get that full 200 rms a channel. The only I dont like it doesnt have a rca output, you might want to think about that. Good enough for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2014 Good things in a small package
8 of 19 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
KC64 from New Port Richey, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I picked up this amplifier to replace my blown out Kicker ZX650.4, and the result is ideal.
The amplifier is physically much smaller than my previous amp, allowing me to relocate it to where it can't be seen should I choose to, when before I only had room to mount i on the side of my trunk, which looks a bit ugly and clunky. I would much rather have a clean stealthy install.
Next, this amp provides a lot more power.. Much cleaner signal, much less draw on my battery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 23, 2014 Less is more
13 of 29 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Lonnie from Squamish, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Loads of power for a couple of fosgate 8" mids and a couple of fosgate p.1's both 8" subs and fit with ease behind the rear seat of my 4 door colorado
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 26, 2013 great amp
12 of 27 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Roberto from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This little amp has outstanding power runing 4r alpine 6x8 typr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2013 jad800.4
11 of 25 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Robert from currie, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amp is running 4 door speakers in a crew cab GMC.sounds good, running it a 4 ohms.happy with purchase and would recommend. As far as durability only time will tell since i havent had amp long but seems to be built good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 13, 2012 Great amp
6 of 15 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
nick from miami gardens, fl, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i got it could't believe how small it was an easy to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 25, 2012 Small but powerful
13 of 29 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Alexei from Moscow, 0, Russian Federation
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this amp for my DLS Reference R6A and a pair of DLS R6A midbass drivers. Had been sounding very impressive for a week before went dead. Shipping back costs half of its price. Had to repair it in Moscow as was agreed with NVX and Sonic people. Got a nice and useful gift from NVX for this. Now can enjoy plenty of dB in good quality. Strongly recommend this amp as well as other NVX products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2014 Clean & solid
13 of 30 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Bryan (AudioPfeil) from San Rafael, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 3 other amps (Kenwood's and a Hifonics) and this one feels way more solid and well manufactured. The potentiometers are solid, the frame is durable... And it sounds incredible. I am running 4 6.5" for my doors on this and I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 22, 2014 Good Amp for the Money
12 of 28 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
BassHead from Baton Rouge la
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp to replace a Kicker ZX350.4.
This really sounds much better and It runs cool as a fan after hours of use The sound quality is amazing to say i don't have high end speakers
I would recommend this amp to someone that doesn't 500$ to send on a JL Audio or Rockford amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2013 great amp
7 of 18 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Music Lover from bennettsville, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I owned this amp for almost two months and I must say it is a small powerful amp. It sounds great paired with my infinity front and rear speakers that are 100rms. There is a frequency multiplier button that may come in handy for someone else. Nicely built, gets a little warm, hasn't shut down while playing at high volume. It does lack rca output jacks for anyone wondering. I am very satisfied. And of course, got it from Sonic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 29, 2012 Awesome Amp
8 of 20 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Andrew Wiley from Essex, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Running Infinity Kappa 692.9I's and Infinity Kappa 60.9cs's off this amp and MAN, they sound awesome. No sub yet, but people ask me what kind of subwoofer I have running. This thing never overheats, and the lit logo looks awseome. HIGHLY recommend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz