Showing 20 reviews for NVX JAD800.4

Customer Review Summary for NVX JAD800.4
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 23 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
87%
4 star:
.
.
13%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
5.0
Features
4.9
Design
5.0
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
April 18, 2013 Very Happy so Far
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Califlub from Temecula
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased the JAD800.4 along with a JAD1200.1 to power my Infinity Kappa speakers and MB Quart subs. My first choice was the Infinity Kappa Five amp, but I had problems with two of them and was given a store credit. Second time around I decided to go with two amps (4/1channel) hoping for better performance / reliability.
I read a lot of mixed reviews on Class D amplifiers. Many people think that A/B has better sound quality, while others prefer the small footprint, high power / low heat output of Class D. Being an engineer I reviewed the specs and was very impressed with the signal to noise as well as the THD compared to Class A/B.
NVX is a relatively new brand so I turned to Google and found several good reviews. I was looking at the Polk amps and NVX seems to be very similar, with the controls panels and specs being almost identical (and NVX was in stock).
Out of the box the amps had a solid feel and clean look. They have a soft-start feature that powers them up a few seconds after they get power. This gives you time to start your engine without drawing any current. Very nice.
The sound quality is excellent - better than other A/B amps I had in the past. More than enough power - I haven't even cranked them all the way up yet and don't think I'll ever have to.
I have a second MB Quart 10 RLP on back order because with one sub I was getting distortion before I could feel the bass. It turns out that the Infinity Kappa Five amp was the weak link. The JAD 1200.1 pushes one sub very well.
The only negative I have to say about these amps is that the adjustment dials take a philips screwdriver, and they do not have an arrow or line showing you what it is set to. This made it a little inconvenient to tweak the crossover points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 29, 2012 Awesome Amp
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Andrew Wiley from Essex, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Running Infinity Kappa 692.9I's and Infinity Kappa 60.9cs's off this amp and MAN, they sound awesome. No sub yet, but people ask me what kind of subwoofer I have running. This thing never overheats, and the lit logo looks awseome. HIGHLY recommend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2014 Clean & solid
Review by
Bryan (AudioPfeil) from San Rafael, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 3 other amps (Kenwood's and a Hifonics) and this one feels way more solid and well manufactured. The potentiometers are solid, the frame is durable... And it sounds incredible. I am running 4 6.5" for my doors on this and I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 7, 2014 High end amp at a good price
Review by
Angel from Danbury, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp paired up with DLS U6i speakers and a set of Pioneer tweeters taken from a Pioneer component TS C1720C. The Pioneer mid bass driver was replaced with a pair of Kicker Comp VT6s- 61/2. I have always been a fan of JL amps and with this set up I have 2 - the other is the JL XD 600 for bass. Originally, the amp powering mids with this set up was an old JL 300/4 amp. The old amp after 15 yrs went in to protection mode and influenced by Sonic consumer reviewers I decided to save money and make a change. The goal was that if the experiment did not work out I would get the old JL amp fixed. As it turned out, there was no need to go back to the JL amp. The NVX had a very compatible sound in terms of clarity but was much louder. To compensate for the higher and brighter mids the gain from the little JL XD amp (powering a 15 inch RE sub) had to be raised. The end result was that the imaging in the car was broadened. Indeed, a fuller spectrum of frequencies was achieved -as well a broader stage. Also noteworthy, is that the NVX is smaller than the JL. Thus, everything said about this amp is true and I also strongly recommend this product. It is definitely a high end amp at a very good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 23, 2014 Less is more
Review by
Lonnie from Squamish, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Loads of power for a couple of fosgate 8" mids and a couple of fosgate p.1's both 8" subs and fit with ease behind the rear seat of my 4 door colorado
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 22, 2014 need to know
Review by
Jonathan from Calera, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
to the point, bought a mb quart rm amp, was good sounded ok, till(i got the nvx jad 800.4) this thing sounds like a really good class ab amp. doesnt get above 38C thats while playing abt 2/3 volume.great amps so far. clean clear crisp tight controlled good crossover. what more could you ask for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 22, 2014 Up in Canada Eh!
Review by
Robert from Kingston, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ordered the NVX JAD 800.4 due to the reviews I read. I was hoping for something powerful and compact. As soon as I got the 800.4 I was surprised how small it actually is, and the RMS rating is 125W but actual RMS output per channel is 140W!!! Tones of power for any speakers you want!!
Only downfall, no pass-thru to hook up the JAD 1200.1 Im going to be getting soon.
NVX JAD800.4 is HIGHLY recommended for any needs: great price, small size, and super powerful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 22, 2014 Good Amp for the Money
Review by
BassHead from Baton Rouge la
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp to replace a Kicker ZX350.4.
This really sounds much better and It runs cool as a fan after hours of use The sound quality is amazing to say i don't have high end speakers
I would recommend this amp to someone that doesn't 500$ to send on a JL Audio or Rockford amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2014 Box opening
Review by
Fax from Va.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All the NVX products I've bought seem to be top quality so that's why I bought 4 NVX amps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 24, 2013 Very impressed
Review by
Cody from Omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The amp is very well constructed and tiny- works well in vehicles with small spaces like my 2008 dodge ram pickup. I have it feeding my polk audio components and the amp never gets hot. Stays cool to touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 26, 2013 great amp
Review by
Roberto from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This little amp has outstanding power runing 4r alpine 6x8 typr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2013 great amp
Review by
Music Lover from bennettsville, SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I owned this amp for almost two months and I must say it is a small powerful amp. It sounds great paired with my infinity front and rear speakers that are 100rms. There is a frequency multiplier button that may come in handy for someone else. Nicely built, gets a little warm, hasn't shut down while playing at high volume. It does lack rca output jacks for anyone wondering. I am very satisfied. And of course, got it from Sonic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 5, 2013 Great sound quality
Review by
Ravi from New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this new line of amp is great quality.The only thing this 4 channel doesnt have an RCA output. I usually buy kickers amp, but I wanted to try this new amp line. Its worth the money and the amp takes up almost 50% space. Get it you wont be disappointed.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 19, 2013 Really Impressed
Review by
Anthony from Saint Louis, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for an amp to power my hertz hsk165 components and my hertz ecx690 6x9s. I had the JL Audio 400/4 powering them but i wanted them alittle louder but didnt wanna lose sound quality. I was gonna get the Polk PA 4000.4 but Sonic was outta stock so this NVX amp was the next best option. I was worried because I've never heard of NVX but man im impressed. The Quality is just as good if not better than my JL amp. So far I love this amp. Im gonna make a youtube vid in bought a month with my whole system... its gonna be the Chamelleon Impala
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2013 Very Impressed sofar
Review by
Chameleon Impala from Saint Louis, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had the Jl Audio 400/4 powering some Hertz hsk165 components and the hertz ecx690 and it was ok... but i wanted more power because my speakers can handle itbut i didnt wanna lose quality like my Jl amp, so I was gonna to gey the Polk pa4000.4 but Sonic was outta stock so this was the next best option based of the stats, being cea certified and the price. I never heard of NVX but i researched and found they are fairly new so I decoded to give them a shot. OMG im impressed with thisover my JL amp... I dont know how durable it it but its a really good probut overall everywhere else... gotta give it 5stars... in a month im goin yo puy my system on youtube
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2013 Good, Solid Amp...and powerful
Review by
Mike from Alabama
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've given 2 months. So far, very pleased.

I'm not one to write reviews, but they have been so helpful to me, I felt compelled. I didn't know much about this brand when I bought it except for a little research and the reviews. I needed a small amp to fit in my Honda CRV. I wanted 120 watts X 4 to fully crank out my Polk MM6501 component speakers. I hoped this amp would do it.

It certainly plays hard and loud. It effortlessly takes the volume to concert levels and then some. It gave me plenty of head room. Tone-wise , it seems pretty flat - which is good. I like bass, and when i turn up the bass it feeds the woofers full bodied power. no sense of roll off anywhere.I have heard amps that were "warmer" sounding. That said, I really like this amp and would recommend it to others without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2013 jad800.4
Review by
Robert from currie, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amp is running 4 door speakers in a crew cab GMC.sounds good, running it a 4 ohms.happy with purchase and would recommend. As far as durability only time will tell since i havent had amp long but seems to be built good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 13, 2012 Great amp
Review by
nick from miami gardens, fl, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i got it could't believe how small it was an easy to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 10, 2012 Good amp at a good value.
Review by
Stephen from Madison, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Running two pairs of image dynamics speakers off of this amp. Have the speakers bridged to two channels so they get perfect power and sound awesome and still have two channels to do with as I please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 6, 2013 Impressed already
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
nathan from atlanta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this amp as an open item. the design is immaculate and I'm impressed with the ease of ordering. I am excited to have this in my car, and will provide a more detailed review once I'm done installing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz