Showing 18 reviews for Sony CDX-GT660UP

Customer Review Summary for Sony CDX-GT660UP
Average Customer Rating is 4.4 out of 5 stars:
4.4
based on 28 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
64%
4 star:
.
.
21%
3 star:
.
.
7%
2 star:
.
.
7%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.6
Features
4.6
Design
4.5
Usability
4.0
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
July 28, 2012 Very Satisfied
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
MoreOvalteenPlz from Pawnee, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This HU retails at major electronics stores for $150 so I thrilled to see the $110 price Sonic was selling it for. I put this HU and Kicker KS components in my 2007 Wrangler and MAN it's a huge difference. It's a very simple headunit that is very easy to use. Tons of features to please just about anyone who likes listening to music. This was my first dealing with Sonic and I am very satisfied with their products and services. Will definitely be purchasing all my audio equipment from Sonic from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 24, 2013 Great buy
Review by
Johnny from Van Alstyne, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this stereo to replace my stock Jeep stereo that had a broken CD player. This stereo has all the features I needed and the quality of the features was excellent. I only have a few minor complaints. I wish I would have chosen an Android compatible stereo. This unit works great with Apple products. This is great for my family. I just use the auxiliary feature for my Android Pandora. The unit offers a variety of colors, but the display is not very clear in sunlight. I have found that the pink color works very well during day or night driving. The volume dial is easily pushed in which brings up some of the menus and you can change your settings if you are not paying attention. I try to use the remote only. When using the remote, you have to point it directly at the stereo or you will not get any response. I would definitely buy this stereo again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 31, 2013 Excellent buy
Review by
Azhar from Arcadia, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this player for USB and MP3 CD playback. I do not regret it. Normally I download all my online class lecture on a USB and listen to them on the way to work and back home. This player has helped me immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 10, 2013 Satisfied
Review by
Curtis from Kamloops, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am very happy with this product. It is simple to use, lots of features, and looks great. For what you pay, its a great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2013 Great Stereo
Review by
Steve from Lake Havasu City, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I originally bought it for my boat but it did not have all the connections i needed for that application. I gave it to my daughter who loves it, she likes the appearance as well as the sound quality. I would definatley buy from Sonic again, great customer service and friendly people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 1, 2013 Great Radio
Review by
William from Norwalk, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have never had a problem with Sony radios. Its been working fine since i bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2013 Love it!
Review by
Johnnie from Knoxville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Liked the first one so much I bought a 2nd for my car. Always loved Sony receivers and this one hasn't disappointed me yet. Using a flash drive in the usb port I've got more music on demand than I'll ever need
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 1, 2013 nice player
Review by
freddie from kodak, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had this installed in my pt cruiser it looked good the color changing lights on the display were a nice touch to but in all a great product and i would recommend this CD player to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2012 great for the price
Review by
Evan from Fonthill, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for a cheap deck with a custom eq, usb, aux, cd and 3 pre outs. This one had it all with 35,000 colors to boot. When using the USB a large bump can cause the music to stop playing and the song has to re load. Some days the buttons dont like to work either, but simply folding the screen down once or twice solves the problem. Couldnt ask for much more with the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 29, 2012 excellent value
Review by
Thomas from Oceanside, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is by far a very easy to use and has all the features one could look for in a unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 26, 2012 oh wow
Review by
03wrangler from Wonder Lake, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I put This head unit in my 03 wrangler to replace the stock one. still have the stock speakers in and it made a huge difference and i would recommend this product to any one. great price too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 12, 2012 Sony CDX GT660UP
Review by
Mark from Mokena, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had this unit in my truck now for a little over 6 mo. Everything has been great. I don't use all features like the lights, but having the USB hookup has been great. Very pleased with the sound, more clarity than before. Sometimes I think the channel buttons are a bit small or hard to read at night. Takes awhile to get things set up where you want them. There seems to be more features than what you will probably use. Starting to think it mght be nice to have some more power and work on improving this sound. No hurry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 28, 2012 Better Deal than C*********
Review by
kc2u from Mission Viejo, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great buy at an unbeatable price. Installation took only about 30-45 minutes with the free installation kit provided. Can't say enough good things about this unit. It has great sound with tons of features. Delivered very fast too! The only change I would like is for it to always show the clock without having to select "Display".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 17, 2012 Excellent !
Review by
Ralph Swanson from Billings, MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
More than I expected. Far better sound over stock radio in a '02 Ford Excursion. Only thing I do not like is the beeping when the vehicle is turned off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 11, 2012 Very nice CD unit!
Review by
chuck_tempe from Tempe, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
As a huge fan of Alpine products, this deck really surprises me on how nice it is. This unit was to replace a stereo in my Ranger and has many features that impresses me. This is coming from a guy who used to install stereos professionally and a huge Alpine lover. I own an Alpine CDA-9835, look it up, this is NOT a cheap or mid level stereo. This Sony has quite a few features for the price, IT CANNOT BE BEAT! This will directly access iPods, my iPhone 4, and USB flash drives. In additon to Pandora, which I do not use, I DO USE the Pandora mode to access Slacker Radio. To do that, you must cycle through the different modes. You do not get the full function of the app, but still get the direct input and charging capabilities from the Sony. The only beef/complaint would be the "push"of the main knob is easy and can be pushed "in" when you are trying to turn down the volume knob. As a customer of Sonic Electronix, I have NEVER had an issue with this company and recommend this stereo and the company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2012 Great buy
Review by
Gerard from Rowland Heights, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this headunit to upgrade from my cdx-gt620. Overall, I'm really impressed at how much it has upgraded from the 35,000 color selection, and RDS, to the passenger iPod control. Really loving it. Definitely not regretting this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 14, 2011 alsome head unit
Review by
steven from newburgh, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used to have a JVC CD player and this one blows it away completely. The features of this CD player are amazing. I cant Evan tell you how many there are. Also, they are very fast shippers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 1, 2011 Best I've ever owned.
Review by
Will from Richmond, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The reason to buy this unit is the passenger control mode for the iPod. I'm coming from one of the top of the line Pioneers that cost twice as much and you cannot compare the two. This Sony is easy to use, intuitive, and has everything you need - pandora, ipod control, satellite radio. All I listen to is Pandora or my iPod. There is no easier way to control an iPod than by using the Ipod itself - that is what passenger control mode does. I now enjoy driving and listening to my iPod again! Pandora works on the iPhone only so be careful of that, Sony does make a unit that works with blackberrys, androids and iPhones but they use the old satellite tuner. I prefer the new universal tuner for it's size - it's tiny and it's universal.

For XM use the SiriusXM SXV100. It works, I have it. As long as your head unit says "SiriusXM Ready" the SXV100 works, it's not an Alpine only product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz