Showing 8 reviews for Sony DSX-S210X

Customer Review Summary for Sony DSX-S210X
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 11 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
73%
4 star:
.
.
18%
3 star:
.
.
9%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.9
Features
4.7
Design
4.5
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
March 28, 2014 Perfect no regrets
Review by
Gabe from Sacramento, California
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product
So many options for controlling the sound in your car
Adjustability allows me to push my speakers more than I thought they could handle. ... It is true that the iPhone may get a bit warm but only after a really good amount of time of use. It hasn't gottn too bad but if it does you can leave the tray open while playing music.
Only thing that I had to get used to was putting the deck face in. I live in a bad area so I take mine in and out often. But nothing big enough to complain.
Great product very glad I chose this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2013 Great value, Great features and it looks great
Review by
justin from edmonton, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was concerned on initial purchase, I've avoided Sony car audio for the last 10 years because everything I had tried was junk. Shopping for a single din with 3 sets of preouts at 4 or more volts isn't easy, you don't have a lot to pick from. I've stuck with Kenwood and Alpine for the last several years.

Why I chose this deck (aside from number of preouts and voltage):

1. The price, If it wasn't up to my standards it would be extremely easy for me to re sell and not loose any money.
2. 7 band parametric EQ. most are 5 or less.
3. The menu is setup very similar to Kenwoods which i'm used to

Why i'm keeping it (aside from whats listed above):

1. It has the same fake T/A as Kenwood only this one doesnt trap you into pre set listening positions, you can fine tune each output individually! bloody amazing!
2. The deck has been a rock solid performer, even at -32C, it gets the slow display they all do but aside from that zero issues.
3. The deck menu is great to use, clock is super easy to set and change, and they made it VERY easy to shut off demo mode (thanks for that)
4. The sound menu stays on the setting you exited on, so I just leave it at sub level, no having to scroll through from the beginning everytime you go into it.

Cons:
1. the joystick, as mentioned, can be tough to use, but they all are.
2. You cant set all sound/EQ functions with the remote alone, you have to the use joystick for parts.
3. With a regular iPod cable my phone (4S) isn't recognized through the front USB port. I only tried it once I'll try it again. This is only a con as I like to have the sound from youtube videos go through the stereo

*IPHONE 5 USERS THIS DOES NOT COME WITH INTERNAL ELBOW FOR YOUR PLUG*

Overall a great deck, the features are great, screen is pretty easy to read during the day, I like the menu's and the expand-ability.

would recommend to friends fur sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2013 sony DSX-S210X
Review by
trip from Fresno "THE NO", CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I currently own the S310BTX and I love it. So many features. This hu is basically the same just no BT. I have to sell it unfortunately :/ but when it comes time to buy another hu, this one is getting purchased for sure cause iam so pleased with all the features. Just don't need the BT. Love the eq and has very good sq!! Time delay really does make a difference if you are picky bout the imaging. The 4v preamp really puts out a nice strong signal which was a huge plus for me. The tune tray comes in handy if you are all about the nice clean look with no wires dangling around! Over all, it is very much worth every penny. The price is just to good to pass up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2013 It's good, but has a frustrating knob!
Review by
Kenneth from Wilsonville, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have really enjoyed owning this stereo, and have had no major issues except for one thing, the knob. I don't know why they decided to make such a difficult to use joystick styled knob for this stereo, but it can at times be very frustrating. Over the six or so months that I've owned it I have gotten pretty accustomed to how to toggle everything just right so that it clicks the new songs/item/etc instead of clicking go back or forward or let's switch to alphabetical search. I would say it's mostly difficult to use by my friends or whoever else is riding in my car because they can never seem to be able to actually click the song they are choosing without multiple back and forth attempts and/or I just have to do it for them. One last thing that has bothered me, but hasn't caused me any major issues is when I have the heat on in my car my ipod will get EXTREMELY hot inside the stereo. It gets almost to the point it feels like it's going to burn you when you get it out, but i suppose the ipod can handle it since it hasn't shown any signs of wear from the heat. Besides these things I think it's a really nice stereo for the price, and I would recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2013 Great Deal
Review by
Saul from Washington, DC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
perfect for replacing my old CD player. does everything it says. the product was easily self installed and works perfectly. Extrenal USB is super convenient for having friends play there music from iphones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 6, 2012 Amazing Deck!!
Review by
Mike from Layton, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a very nice high quality deck!! i would tell any body to buy this product! the deck has an amazing tunes tray which not only keeps your ipod or music accesorie safe from being seen and stolen but it keeps every thing clean and fresh!! deck is very simple to install and very easy to use!! i love mine and i wouldnt go any other way!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 19, 2012 Audio head unit
Review by
Mr.T from Toronto, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A lot of people replace their factory CD/Radio with aftermarket head unit.
I had one Sony CDX-410IP for years in my 1999 Mercury Couger to 2000 Pontiac Sunfire. Then I moved it to my Mustang too. It's a CD/Radio player with external iPod cable with control function on the head unit. I loved its simple control interface and look of it. I had iPod nano(4GB), and a few CDs in my center console.
One day my iPod went missing so I was listening to CDs or Radio, then I literally met a head unit and fell in love with it.
Sony DSX-100. "Oh my...mechanical CD player is history..."
I researched and found out it's not the latest version, so I ordered the latest version DSX-210 from Sonic Electronix.
Then after a good time of consideration, I got myself an iPod touch (32GB) and put all CDs and photos in it, even email accounts too.
I use the iPod at home, at work and it is literally in my head unit while I am driving!!!

I really love this integration. Push the open button on the face plate, push the tray to come out, connect and push the tray again then close the face plate.
Now my glove box takes gloves, and center console takes cell phone charger, pens, tire pressure gauge, and lotto tickets. The space opened by removing CDs is really useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 19, 2012 Sony DSX-S210X
Review by
Jeff from Lacey, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
We have had this stereo running in our car for the last 6 months. It has been a fantastic stereo! It installed very easily and has been rock solid. We love the fact that the iphone goes inside the stereo so our son cannot text while driving. Also, the phone reception is compromised when the phone is in the stereo. That is why we did not opt for the 310, we did not really want our son on his phone at all while he was driving. This stereo really fit this criteria! It sounds fantastic and intallation and setup were very easy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz