Showing 60 reviews for Alpine SWR-1542D

Customer Review Summary for Alpine SWR-1542D
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 71 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
85%
4 star:
.
.
13%
3 star:
.
1%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
1%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.7
Features
4.7
Design
4.7
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
December 29, 2010 killing bass
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Damian from Cookeville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this sub from a friend of mine and im using it in a focus and the sound it looud!! im pushin this wit a T1000Bd and u can hear my car coming from blocks away just one speaker wit a ported box..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 19, 2014 alpine speakers
Review by
wilson from willimantic,ct
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I order these speakers for my husband. he's so in love with them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 28, 2014 it called to me
Review by
Nathaniel from Covington, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I personally haven't set it up yet but my friend has one and it sounds pretty great I would reccomend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 20, 2014 Great!!
Review by
Dewey from Memphis, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sub woofers. great price. Did not take long to break in. Easily installed..Not recommended for those who don't enjoy lots of bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 19, 2014 Sealed box
Review by
Bob from New Mexico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one in a sealed box which saves a lot of space in my small trunk, It is louder than my two 12" infinity 1262 that were in a ported box tuned at 32hz with the same amp. Being a 15" it hits lower than the 12's, just like I wanted it.

"900w" @ 2 ohms with a Kenwood kac-9152d. Its overpowered, but I do have the gain turned down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 24, 2014 Great price
Review by
Mark from Glen Allen, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great price fast shipping the best 15 sub for the money and the rms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 18, 2014 Great sound
Review by
15" from Chicago Illinois
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great price - great subwoofer - very friendly service and FAST shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2013 You guys are the best
Review by
Dash from Detroit, Mi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Alpine type r is the best 15 inch subwoofer I've ever bought. I highly recommend this subwoofer to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 7, 2013 OMG
Review by
Mak from Newcastle, Great Britain
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I cannot say anything bad about this sub, I had the small 12 type r they were amazing so I upgraded to the 15, on volume 5 with amp down and headunit sub level up the car rattles and its scary, it actually surprises people as they think am holding a 600 sub and a 500 amp lol. this sub is not powering to its full yet as I need to upgrade my amp as I only have a 1300watt amp and thats nothing! so it says it all when upgraded al be sitting on volume 1 hahaha great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2013 Simply Amazing!
Review by
Dat Kid Dylan from Papillion, Nebraska
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this from a friend with a Alpine MRX-M1110 in a 1.7 ft. sealed box. I haven't set it up in my own vehicle yet but i've heard it in his car, POUNDS! Slams the lows like none other. Almost seems like it struggles for the higher notes, still hits, but doesn't kill the highs (good thing for my 6x9's.) Can move hair, vibrate your whole body, and be heard from probably 1/2-3/4 mile away. One of the loudest in town. Great sq output, dBs and value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2012 Amaaaazin
Review by
Manny from Bonita Springs, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sound quality and has an amazing kick to it. My room mates in the third floor of our apartment complex said they know when I'm home because they can hear me parking. Tuned properly and you're set, crisp nice boom to the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2012 Superb!
Review by
Steve from Lake in the hills, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Throughout the past 6 yrs now, I've been installing and buying subs and currently I've found nothing much better than a type R 15" for the price. I run one right now in my Malibu at 1000RMS powered by JX1000D and I've been slamming it around and it still sounds louder and louder each day. Alpine did a great job on this one, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 14, 2012 Love The Bass
Review by
Nicholas from St. Johnsbury, VT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My alpine is a beast. It's a jaw dropper when people look in the back of my 2000 ford ranger. Ive given it all ive got and havent been able to do anything damaging to it yet. I ran a 2200w SPL amp and fried the amp pounding it a little too hard. Got another amp on the way and the beast will roar again. I highly recomend this sub. It's fun to watch the last cone start to move and feel the waves through the seat, steering wheel, roof, Ohh and my roof and back portion of the cab flex with the bass. It's a head turner and a seat shaker. Don't believe me try out in a ported box. I fiber-glassed the inside of my box. Huge difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2012 Broke my mirror!
Review by
DB The General from Pleasanton, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub knocks! I have one of these and a hifonics 1000.1d at 2 ohms 750 rms. Havent had any problems so far with the sub, easy install, great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 8, 2012 DEF CON ONE
Review by
Po Boy from Apalachin,NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well I got two of these bad boys in a custom built to specs candy apple red box hooked to a 1500.1 crunch power zone amp and when I ride though parking lots I set off car alarms and people cover their ears. Even the cart boy said he hears me across the parking lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 31, 2012 the best sub
Review by
sound man from pittsfield, ma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Clean hard hitting lows, need at least 500 watts rms from a good amp to fully appreciate how awsome they are. I like jl audio but i love my alpine type R by far the best sub Ive ever owned. Thanks Alpine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2012 Hits Hard!
Review by
A from Ma
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would buy this sub if your looking for a loud sub that hits hard on the lows! Put it in a good box with at least 500 watts rms and it will slam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 12, 2012 i love these speakers
Review by
timothy from cairo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently bought two of these speakers and they are stupid loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 18, 2011 great price
Review by
out law from red wing minn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs really are super awesome for lows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 19, 2011 Great Deal Fast Shipping!
Review by
Derek from Pleasanton, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Fast shipping, product came in perfect condition, and the sub bangs! Would definitely reccomend to anybody! Powered by a kicker 1000.1 settin off car alarms!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 14, 2011 Awespme
Review by
@PsHeLL08 from Eupora, Ms
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the best sub ive owned as far as sound quality and total output. Thanks alpine and SonicElectronix!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2011 type r 15
Review by
CJ from Norfolk
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just got one and love it, sounds really good compared to most subs around this price. And for the guy saying put 1000 rms to it is stupid you'll burn the voice coils. Anyways, great sub i recommend these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 10, 2011 Strong and Powerful
Review by
Joseph from Madison, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I heard a demo of this sub at a local store and wow do they bang. The shelf it was sitting on rumbled like an earthquake was coming. I would recommend to anyone who can purchase this sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 15, 2011 Great price for big bass!!
Review by
Chris from Atlanta, Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I cant believe how great these sound and why people knock them i dont know! ive had plenty of Jl's (overpriced), have used audioques hdc 3's banged hard but sold them, had mtx 9515 is really loud lots of power sounded good to a point and was last sub before my alpines and for some reason the alpine 15s sound absolutely great in a 6ft ported box at 34 hertz powered by a powerbass xa 3000d at 1 ohm! The alpines may not be as loud as some higher end brands but for 25% of a W7 or RE Audio xxx this hands down best sub for the money. The mtx 9515 gave me a 150.1 on 2200 rms but with both of these alpines i can tell u its definitely louder and sound quality is great while doing it! I wud recomment these to anyone! Tuned right with the proper amount of rms power, voltage, no clipping, proper built box, and big 3 upgrade, these will take a beating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 9, 2011 killer sub
Review by
omalley from Alexandria, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this sub for 180 shipped and have owned it for 8 months and am very pleased with the performance. Its running at 2ohms on the Alpine 1000 RMS mono with gain at 70 percent in a ported box at 5hrz. Best buy for the money sound quality is great sounds better than my L7 I had. You will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 28, 2011 Solid Deal
Review by
Stanley from Ventura, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great speaker and the ladies love it!!!! It makes my car even more sexy than it already was. .... Really, all joking aside the speaker worked out well and I Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 8, 2011 THANX TO SONIC alpine type r 15'' swr1542d
Review by
jai from vancouver BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
THANX TO SONIC ELECTRONICS
If you want the a sub that can play low's super loud than Alpine Type r 15" is for u,this sub is rated at 750 rms but I used Alpine PDX1.1000 and now Kicker zx1000.1 on this sub and this sub takes 1000 rms+ with no issues,runing this sub on 750 rms is a waste of this sub,for best bass, ported alpine spec encloure and alpine pdx 1.1000 or kicker zx1000.1 and u be all set. if u just wanna DISTROY ur vehicle than 2 of these will do the job just fine for u, DO NOT USE ANYTHING UNDER 500 rms worth OF mids and highs in order to make it sound crisp,

IF U R COMPARING THIS SUB TO ANY OTHER SUB WITH 750 RMS THAN U R WASTING UR TIME COZ THERE IS NO CHANCE THAT ANY SUB WILL COME CLOSE TO THIS SUB.

1000 rms to this sub will give u enough bass that u can feel in ur throat and chest. all ur bass need'll be fulfilled.

sonic did a great job on the price+shipping+packing,these guys get 10 out of 10,very happy with purchase.
GIVE SONIC A CHANCE AND THEY WILL MAKE U HAPPY WITH THERE GREAT SERVICE.
THANK YOU VERY MUCH SONIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 17, 2011 Alpines
Review by
Tony from Garner, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
very good subs bought 2 of these monsters. they both have been through A Lot i mean A Lot pounding to the max and still run like brand new had them for about a year now. been through a few amps but no worries. i recommend these to anyone who wants a nice system. very clean. besides im a huge fan of Alpine :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 16, 2011 Love it!
Review by
Val from CALDWELL, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is probably one of the best subs out there for the money. Yeah you can get louder subs, but that's not why people buy Alpine. It's all about the clarity. I'm using a slightly undersized sealed enclosure, and I still get deep, rich bass no matter what genre I listen to. Pair this with a good Alpine head unit and some Type R or Type X mids and amps, and you've got one of the best sounding systems available right now. Definitely recommend this sub!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 24, 2011 Sounds way better than two twelves
Review by
Liquidmind from DC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought two of these subs about 5 months ago and hooked them up at 1 ohm to my Rockford Fosgate P1000-1BD in a sealed box and it completely quakes. Still going strong and I leave them on for a while. Of course they heat up a little now and then but have great heat distribution and I know my amp rocks but I had no idea for the price of these subs they could put out over 150 dB. Supersonic down to about 20-25 and leave it steady at 80 hz on the LPF. Must buy, SonicElectronix always runs a deal on these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 1, 2011 Sub of Gods
Review by
Doug from Carmel, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this and hooked it up in my 94 cadillac, with a 2000watt amp and a ported box. I started bumping it at a quarter gain and it slaps so hard!!!!!!! This sub shocked the hell out of all my friends and is one of the loudest I have heard at my school, not to mention i haven't even turned it up past half so far until it is all the way broken in. It is defiantly quality bass that u can feel. It is like a back massager for the people sitting in the back seats! Because of this i will never buy a speaker that is not Alpine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 25, 2011 loud sub
Review by
david from mesa,az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one of these in a 1.8cu sealed enclosure running off a Alpine MRP-M1000 amp with a Audiobahn cap and Dynamat lined trunk and wow. At half gain on the amp it hurts and my car is falling apart lol sub handles alot of power. Highly recommend this sub and brand to anyone Alpine is the best by far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 9, 2011 Big heavy sub
Review by
Brady from Omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is great. I am sure I am underpowering it with my Power Acoustics Stax 2000/1 Class D Mono Amp. I have it ran 2 OHMS and everything works great. The bass is very loud and also very clear. No distortion. This sub is mounted in a ported box 3.1 Cu Feet.

I would say this beats most 2 12" sub setups I've seen that are within this price range.

Alpine is a great brand name and Sonic is the only place to get it from for the right price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 12, 2010 Holy ****!!!
Review by
Tim from Elk Grove, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had two Kicker comps (C15's) in my truck and blew both within two weeks. I bought two of these with the knowledge alpine had great subwoofers. They have accurate bass without the distortion the comps had when the volume was high. The hit so hard my rearview mirror shook off!! I recommend these to anyone who wants alot o bass. Great product!!! YOU CANT BEAT ALPINE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2010 This Sub Pounds!
Review by
Wesley from Cape Coral, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered one of these bad boys so far for my project on my car. I''m fitting two of these suckers in a 1996 Mazda MX-6 in their own custom sealed boxes. The only bad thing was when I received the Sub, i discovered a small crack on one of the supports from the metal frame. But with Sonic Electronix's customer service, it was no problem working it out and now I'm getting another brand new one. I know these things are good cause my friend has one and it honestly feels like your getting punched in the back when its cranked :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 24, 2010 KILLER LOWS!!!
Review by
Rango from Washington
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these monsters in a 6 cubic ft. custom made 1" MDF Ported box tuned to 36hz.. I got them wired down to 2ohms on to a Kicker ZX2500.1 with gains @ roughly 70% so they get well over 850 RMS a Piece (& can easily lift two more) DAILY and boy does my truck slam!! For my power source I got an Optima Yellow Top Under the Hood Big 3 Upgrade & used nothing But 0Guage. The Real Low Bass Notes sound Brutal Yet Clean and Strong not muddy and distorted. The subs take the power like a walk in the park Literally & Alpine is known to underrate their products.. I Definitely Recommend These!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 1, 2010 Alpine Rocks
Review by
Bassline from Missoula, MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub pounds. I have had MTX 12s, a 12 kicker L7, and this sub is my favorite. People bash on the sound quality, but it sounds great! I don't know what they are talking about. If you want loud bass that sounds great at 750 watts rms, this is your sub!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 31, 2010 great!!!!!!!!!!!
Review by
tyler from ramona, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i bought this sub only expecting the best and that's exactly what i got. loudest, hardest hitting sub out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 13, 2010 best ever
Review by
reaper from augusta GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have two of these in my 98 Chevy blazer four door. there in a slot ported box tuned to 38 hertz. i recently won a car show hitting 153.8 db on a term lab pro meter. i work at a shop and I'm running two dual 2s with a 1500 on each. that's 1500 rms 3000 max at 14.8 volts. they take every bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 1, 2010 INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!
Review by
Madflaa from East Tawas, Michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is awesome!!! I'll be as honest as I can, it isn't much for high bass, but the low mids and lows are absolutely mind blowing! I've only had mine for about a week and its still breaking in so I don't have it turned all the way up but it blows away my old lanzar 15 by a billion miles. If you're looking for a good rock solid sub definitely go for the Alpine Type R. You will not be disappointed!! And not to mention this thing is huge! At least a good 30 pounds or more and well built. It says 750 rms but I'm pushing 900 rms to it and it doesn't smell funny or anything, so if your worried about that it will take more power than rated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 17, 2010 15" type R
Review by
michael from Horton, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
bought this sub to put in our conversion van. it works perfectly in a 3 cubic foot ported enclosure. definately a brain rattler. when i get another sub this will the one i choose. nice bass for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 13, 2010 type r 15
Review by
magic bass from nasty nati ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this product to anyone looking for 15s with awesome bass, my friend has them in his Chevy S10 and you can hear him coming from almost a mile away. He is pushing it right at 750 RMS, perfect 15, def better off spending the money to buy two of these then one kicker for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2009 excellent
Review by
CJ from Des Moines, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these hooked up to a 2006D hifonics amp and i have never heard anything as loud. They are louder than my friends 2 15' l7's. I would highly recommend these 2 anyone who wants 2 go loud and cheap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 18, 2008 WOW
Review by
Chris from Solon, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
so i heard this sub at my school
new setup in a ported box...
LOUDEST and clearest sub at our school
BY FARRRRRRRRR
im ordering it
dont even look anywhere else
this thing is redonkulous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 25, 2008 PERFECTO!!!!!
Review by
jamar from joliet, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
excellent speakers they pound so hard. i have a bxi1206D hifonic hooked to these and it is crazy loud. a stange but perfect thing about this combo is that two 15s sound like four 12s. INSANE, and worth the money. PERFECTO!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 9, 2008 Learn first bash second
Review by
Nathaniel from Newberg, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
To those who don't know what they are doing or talking about have it professionally installed.

I am running 4 Alpine Type R 15's powered by 2 MTX 81001 strapped together in my 08' Supra Launch 22SSV. These subs hit so hard they enduce vomit and they are the cleanest on all types of music.

Anyone who disagrees needs to learn what to buy (i.e. powering) and how to install properly.

Learn what you have before you bash it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2008 LOUD!
Review by
Sue from Nottingham, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is really loud especially when i play it loud for 5 minutes my ears start to ring. My girlfriends love it!! Unfortunately the this sub could not take more then what it is rated so when you hear that i advise you to not listen! if you are looking to get this sub i would recommend an amp no higher then 850 watts RMS! Other then this incident this sub is amazingly loud and i love it and hope you do to! Pi** off those neighbors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2008 Really Nice
Review by
Gary from Nantucket, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub sounds so nice i am giving it 800 watts rms and it handles it like a champ. This sounds will out preform any other 15 it sounds so clean and hits the lows and mids well i was very happy with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 8, 2007 great subs
Review by
Juan from denver, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this subs are great i have them in a jeep and they hit so hard you could feel the air when the bass hits i have with a mtx amp and it only pushs 1900 watts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 28, 2007 Great for the $$$
Review by
Dona from Poulsbo, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these in my Chevy Avalanche, 8cu ft box tuned to 33Hz, running on a hifonics Bxi2607D, and its pretty insane. They sound great and clear, but also have the ability to get retarded loud as well. Also, these subs can take much more than there rated power of 750RMS. mine are getting about 1100RMS watts a piece and they do just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2007 BUY THESE
Review by
Jim from West st. Paul, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs wang so hard. you will not be disappointed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2007 Great Buy
Review by
Benjamin from Woodbury, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Sub for the price, kinda had to customize a box because none i found had the requirments especially for my trunk but its bumps really good and is really loud, also very good if you want to have a good sound system and dont want to bump it like your deaf. Thank Sonic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2007 man i love alpine!!
Review by
Dan from Mason, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these type r's just slam there is no way else to put it...two of them dual four wired down to one ohm just pounds the bass...my back window flexes over a half an inch...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2007 Awesome Sub
Review by
Will from Louisville, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ive had this subwoofer for over a year and it is amazing. It hits lows so well and hits highs great. It has been awesome with my JL amp and I would def. recommend this sub to everyone. I get compliments on it all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 24, 2006 Excellent Subs!!
Review by
Kimberly from Jasper, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 of these in a 2001 Tahoe ported to 38hz powered by a Boss RT1045D pushing 800 watts to each sub. I have to say I am very happy with the purchase. They have lived up to all of my expectations. I still need to meter my system, but I would guess it's in the high 140dB's. These are excellent subs for the money! They hit very hard and very deep. I would encourage anyone that likes there music to sound great to get some of these subwoofers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 17, 2006 NIIIIIIIIIICE
Review by
Chris from Leominster, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this kid at my school has two of these in a seale box and they bump insanley deep. alot of kids have systems at my school adn i think his is better than my friend 12 L5 and this other kids 15" 2000 watt MA audio which in my opinion is made for rock but he doesnt think that. THESE SLAME great for rap and reggae really deep all i can say is NIIIIIIIICE, highly recomend these if you like chillin in ur car... but i would sugest you go ported with these babies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2006 good sub
Review by
Oonna from Lexington, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
good sub not really likeing 15"s because not really nothing but lows but it good for breaking the glass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 27, 2005 wow.......top of the line!!
Review by
Erik from Athens, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I do not own this product but my friend does. He has a mitsubishi elclipse and i'd swear he had the baddest and most expensive subs in town. Then I found out he had these and i was like wow.....these are awesome1!!I highly recommend them to anyone interested in bass and good quality.They are wonderful for the amount of money that you pay for them. Sonicelectronix is the Best!!!Keep it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2005 amazing
Review by
James from Hackettstown, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
amazing product. hooked it up in my 2001 Ford Taurus with an Audiobahn 800w amp, and it hits so nicely.

i love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 15, 2011 Very happy
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Moncho from galt,ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Shipped out very quick. GreAt purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz