Showing 17 reviews for JL Audio 8W7-3

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio 8W7-3
Average Customer Rating is 4.9 out of 5 stars:
4.9
based on 17 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
94%
4 star:
.
.
6%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.5
Features
4.8
Design
4.7
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 29, 2010 Great Sub!
Review by
Ben from Corolla, NC.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Subs. I got the 8" to fit in my Dcab Tacoma. It sounds great for an 8" sub. Still fills out nice and low. It is in a sealed box and is very accurate and tight sounding. Very comparable to the old Rockford Fosgate HX2 Power series. Would by again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2010 Great sounding woofer... lots of output.
Review by
WillyCAD from Phoenix, Arizona
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome sub, well worth the money. Beats the 12" and 2 10" subs I had in my truck before and sounds waaaaay better. Have it in a slot port box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2010 ol yea, lil bulldawgs
Review by
M extra from Brentwood, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you think you need (2) 10's or 12's forget it.. I have (2) 8w7's on a PPI D3000/1 feeding it appox 1000w plus @ 1.5ohms talk about SQ/SQL.

Yea, the JL w7 line is expensive we all know that BUT when you have (2) 8's that sound better then (2) 10's/12's (maybe NOT louder but BETTER) thats when JL's quality shines. Port these lil bulldawgs and sit back and enjoy. One ported can do it, but two will be perfect. The key too these are properly tuned enclosures and feeding them nothing less the 500rms per.

I have these in 2cf after displacement, tuned to 34htz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 4, 2010 JL Audio is the ONLY option
Review by
Jason from New Port Richey, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Once you try JL you will never want to buy another brand again. I previously owned 2 JL 10" W3's and was very nervous about having to downsize my system because of space. This 8" W7 is amazing! W7 is the only way to go, especially if your looking at a little 8" woofer. This thing kicks @$$!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 30, 2009 Best 8" sub
Review by
Stephen from Fort Valley, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have an 08 chevy crew cab, I have installed a quality sound system in every vehicle I have ever owned and of coarse wanted another. This one was a challenge due to the limited space under the seats. But these 8" subs are beasts in small size. I actually place two in a single chamber box with a single slot port tuned to 42 hz with available power of 800 watts each. I am amazed in the clarity and extension these subs deliver. I'm in the 140's db with pure clean sound. I can't believe that they hit the 30 hz music so well too! Just awesome to hear! I looked at allot of 8" subs and these blow all those away! Plus since they are 8" there is almost no roll off between my mids and subs. You can set the crossover to 80hz for a great blend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 16, 2009 JL Audio 8W7-3
Review by
Anthony from Grand Rapids, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought 2 of these and built a slot port enclosure out of mdf according to the factory specs. I am using a 1000/1 v2. Just broke em in and they hit so hard for a set of 8's. All my rca and power cables are monster 400 series and the clarity and sq with these subs is amazing. Only downside is I need to go buy more dynamat. Make sure u get the bass remote. U need it for quick adjustments between rock n rap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2009 Hammers Low!
Review by
David from Coldwater, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this on this website (www.sonicelectronix.com) I had just received it yesterday. Going through the break in period with it right now. I built the enclosure myself using 3/4" MDF using JL Specs. I currently am running this in the vented enclosure off of about 80 watts of Rockford Fosgate. The sub really shines through on the Very Low End! Sounds a little weak currently with rock songs but again its only receiving about 80 watts peak for break in. Plan on running either the JL 250/1 or JL 500/1. Overall I am very very impressed, Have I had louder setups for less money? Yes, but they didn't have the clarity of this 8. Have I ever heard a louder or cleaner single 8 setup? NO. I would say if your looking for very clear yet loud low end this is for you. 2 of these on a JL1000/1 would slam! BUY IT YOU WONT REGRET IT. As far as price, sonic is the cheapest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 13, 2009 Big Bang
Review by
Jeremy from Northern, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for something compact but hit hard. I knew the long line of jl products were quality products. I bought 2 JL 8W7-3 for my 96 impala and wow do they hit hard. I always stick my friends in the front seat to see how they feel and then I show them the trunk and they are amazed. They had no idea some little subs like these could even sound like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2009 JL 8W7 ROCKS
Review by
Steve from Flint, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great for Rock, Metal, Anything with quick responsive beats
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2009 amazing
Review by
letmebefree1983 from New Port Richey, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My order was packed and shipped the same day my order placed. Very quick arrival time. Extremely high quality product. The JL Audio 8W7 is AMAAAZING. Previously I owned two 10"W3's and was worried about having to downsize in my new vehicle to an 8". But JL has definitely pulled the rabbit out their hat! If you did not know that it was only an 8, you would guess it was a high-end 10 or a nice 12!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2009 Great
Review by
Mike from Boulder, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this sub to anyone. Top notch sound quality, low-end extension, and the impressive power handling of this 8-incher make dreams come true. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 10, 2008 amazing
Review by
dan from Centereach , NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
my friend had these in his ford ranger most amazing sound out of an 8 ive ever herd never would of suspected these of hitting so hard and clear at the same time very impressive subs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2007 One Amazing 8
Review by
Corey from Penn Yan, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned about ever 8 on the market and i have to say this was one of the most impressive 8's i have tested. The excursion on this little thing is crazy. The sub will take way over rated rms with no problems (800-1000rms depending on box size) The subs hammers the lowes in a nice ported enclosure will still sounding very clean and having alot of out put. Little price, but honestly worth its price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 19, 2006
Review by
Derek from Sacramentosacramento, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
People do not realize that Peak Power is not important when it comes to buying a high quality sub. I have heard these subs and they hit extreamly hard for an 8" sub and they dont break your bank when it comes to buying an amplifier. Also you can get many more subs for the same price but this sub works excelent with minimal space and low wattage. JL has always run well on low wattage systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2006 amazing
Review by
mike from erie, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A friend of mine had 2 of these installed in his mustang and they were hitting 135 db constantly and he hit like 142 at his highest db and the lows these reproduce are amazing they sound like a 10 and not an 8
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 23, 2005 lots of power for 8
Review by
kevin from clinton, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is probably one of the most powerful 8" subs on the market. it is hard to believe it is only a 8" plenty of bass when hooked up to a 500/1. I like the tightness and quickness of the 8" sub compared to the larger ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2005 What
Review by
hugh from Gloucester City, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
SOme people think that Jl is over priced i think that those people didnt supply their JL with the correct power or supported enclousure... in short i have owed a W0, W3v2 and a W7 and a wide variety of subwhoofers working as an installer .. Jl is amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz