Showing 17 reviews for JL Audio 8W7-3

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
94%
4 Star
6%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%

Average Attribution Rating

Durability
4.8
Value
4.5
Features
4.8
Design
4.7
Usability
4.6
Jason

New Port Richey, FL

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
JL Audio is the ONLY option

February 4, 2010

Once you try JL you will never want to buy another brand again. I previously owned 2 JL 10" W3's and was very nervous about having to downsize my system because of space. This 8" W7 is amazing! W7 is the only way to go, especially if your looking at a little 8" woofer. This thing kicks @$$!

12 of 17 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Anthony

Grand Rapids, MI

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
JL Audio 8W7-3

November 16, 2009

Bought 2 of these and built a slot port enclosure out of mdf according to the factory specs. I am using a 1000/1 v2. Just broke em in and they hit so hard for a set of 8's. All my rca and power cables are monster 400 series and the clarity and sq with these subs is amazing. Only downside is I need to go buy more dynamat. Make sure u get the bass remote. U need it for quick adjustments between rock n rap.

10 of 15 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

kevin

clinton, MA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
lots of power for 8

December 23, 2005

this is probably one of the most powerful 8" subs on the market. it is hard to believe it is only a 8" plenty of bass when hooked up to a 500/1. I like the tightness and quickness of the 8" sub compared to the larger ones.

7 of 11 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Stephen

Fort Valley, GA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best 8" sub

December 30, 2009

I have an 08 chevy crew cab, I have installed a quality sound system in every vehicle I have ever owned and of coarse wanted another. This one was a challenge due to the limited space under the seats. But these 8" subs are beasts in small size. I actually place two in a single chamber box with a single slot port tuned to 42 hz with available power of 800 watts each. I am amazed in the clarity and extension these subs deliver. I'm in the 140's db with pure clean sound. I can't believe that they hit the 30 hz music so well too! Just awesome to hear! I looked at allot of 8" subs and these blow all those away! Plus since they are 8" there is almost no roll off between my mids and subs. You can set the crossover to 80hz for a great blend!

5 of 8 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

dan

Centereach , NY

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
amazing

July 10, 2008

my friend had these in his ford ranger most amazing sound out of an 8 ive ever herd never would of suspected these of hitting so hard and clear at the same time very impressive subs

7 of 12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Mike

Boulder, CO

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great

February 10, 2009

I would recommend this sub to anyone. Top notch sound quality, low-end extension, and the impressive power handling of this 8-incher make dreams come true. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for here.

7 of 13 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

hugh

Gloucester City, NJ

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
What

December 20, 2005

SOme people think that Jl is over priced i think that those people didnt supply their JL with the correct power or supported enclousure... in short i have owed a W0, W3v2 and a W7 and a wide variety of subwhoofers working as an installer .. Jl is amazing

8 of 15 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Ben

Corolla, NC.

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Sub!

September 29, 2010

Great Subs. I got the 8" to fit in my Dcab Tacoma. It sounds great for an 8" sub. Still fills out nice and low. It is in a sealed box and is very accurate and tight sounding. Very comparable to the old Rockford Fosgate HX2 Power series. Would by again.

7 of 14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

M extra

Brentwood, TN

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
ol yea, lil bulldawgs

February 7, 2010

If you think you need (2) 10's or 12's forget it.. I have (2) 8w7's on a PPI D3000/1 feeding it appox 1000w plus @ 1.5ohms talk about SQ/SQL.

Yea, the JL w7 line is expensive we all know that BUT when you have (2) 8's that sound better then (2) 10's/12's (maybe NOT louder but BETTER) thats when JL's quality shines. Port these lil bulldawgs and sit back and enjoy. One ported can do it, but two will be perfect. The key too these are properly tuned enclosures and feeding them nothing less the 500rms per.

I have these in 2cf after displacement, tuned to 34htz.

7 of 14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

letmebefree1983

New Port Richey, FL

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
amazing

August 17, 2009

My order was packed and shipped the same day my order placed. Very quick arrival time. Extremely high quality product. The JL Audio 8W7 is AMAAAZING. Previously I owned two 10"W3's and was worried about having to downsize in my new vehicle to an 8". But JL has definitely pulled the rabbit out their hat! If you did not know that it was only an 8, you would guess it was a high-end 10 or a nice 12!

7 of 14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

WillyCAD

Phoenix, Arizona

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sounding woofer... lots of output.

March 25, 2010

Awesome sub, well worth the money. Beats the 12" and 2 10" subs I had in my truck before and sounds waaaaay better. Have it in a slot port box.

7 of 15 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

David

Coldwater, MI

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hammers Low!

October 24, 2009

I purchased this on this website (www.sonicelectronix.com) I had just received it yesterday. Going through the break in period with it right now. I built the enclosure myself using 3/4" MDF using JL Specs. I currently am running this in the vented enclosure off of about 80 watts of Rockford Fosgate. The sub really shines through on the Very Low End! Sounds a little weak currently with rock songs but again its only receiving about 80 watts peak for break in. Plan on running either the JL 250/1 or JL 500/1. Overall I am very very impressed, Have I had louder setups for less money? Yes, but they didn't have the clarity of this 8. Have I ever heard a louder or cleaner single 8 setup? NO. I would say if your looking for very clear yet loud low end this is for you. 2 of these on a JL1000/1 would slam! BUY IT YOU WONT REGRET IT. As far as price, sonic is the cheapest.

6 of 13 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Jeremy

Northern, CA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Big Bang

October 13, 2009

I was looking for something compact but hit hard. I knew the long line of jl products were quality products. I bought 2 JL 8W7-3 for my 96 impala and wow do they hit hard. I always stick my friends in the front seat to see how they feel and then I show them the trunk and they are amazed. They had no idea some little subs like these could even sound like that.

6 of 13 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

mike

erie, PA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
amazing

March 25, 2006

A friend of mine had 2 of these installed in his mustang and they were hitting 135 db constantly and he hit like 142 at his highest db and the lows these reproduce are amazing they sound like a 10 and not an 8

4 of 9 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Corey

Penn Yan, NY

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
One Amazing 8

July 19, 2007

I have owned about ever 8 on the market and i have to say this was one of the most impressive 8's i have tested. The excursion on this little thing is crazy. The sub will take way over rated rms with no problems (800-1000rms depending on box size) The subs hammers the lowes in a nice ported enclosure will still sounding very clean and having alot of out put. Little price, but honestly worth its price tag.

5 of 12 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Derek

Sacramentosacramento, CA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability

July 19, 2006

People do not realize that Peak Power is not important when it comes to buying a high quality sub. I have heard these subs and they hit extreamly hard for an 8" sub and they dont break your bank when it comes to buying an amplifier. Also you can get many more subs for the same price but this sub works excelent with minimal space and low wattage. JL has always run well on low wattage systems.

6 of 14 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Steve

Flint, MI

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
JL 8W7 ROCKS

August 30, 2009

Great for Rock, Metal, Anything with quick responsive beats

5 of 16 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?