Showing 32 reviews for JVC KD-X50BT - Factory Refurbished

Customer Review Summary for JVC KD-X50BT - Factory Refurbished
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 32 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
81%
4 star:
.
.
16%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
3%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.9
Features
4.7
Design
4.7
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 20, 2013 Can't be beat!!
Review by
Smurf from Elberta, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This media receiver is the bees knees!
Plays my 500gb hard drive and connected to my phone instantly which is cool. I have problems with my moms 2013 Mercedes GL350 (factory system) connecting to my phone but not my 2005 pt cruiser with this receiver. 10 stars if possible. And the customer service was insanely awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 25, 2013 Install JVC KD-X50BT
Review by
Dan from Klamath Falls, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just installed it without much difficulty. Took a hold 5 minutes to figure out the mounting bracket. The sound quality is much better than the factory radio. Does not have the sensitivity on FM receive that the factory radio did. Not a big deal as we listen main to digital music. After reading the manual before the radio arrived, I had a good grasp of how I wanted it setup. It was easy and intuitive. Bluetooth hooked right up to my android phone without a hitch. We'll find out how well it holds the signal over time. So far, I'm quite happy with it and have no complaints. I'll review again in a couple months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 12, 2013 Nice Radio
Review by
Jeff from Rayland, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit is very nice for the price. The Bluetooth phone and streaming are great. My son's phone doesn't have to leave his pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 12, 2013 good system
Review by
Giuseppe from Burlington, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for a bluetooth stereo that would work with both IPhones and Android Phones. This one works like a charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2013 GREAT Radio
Review by
Okies Darlin from Rush valley, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this radio for my husband and he LOVES it... The bluetooth is GREAT, usb port a wonderful add... I have nothing bad to say about this product except I wished I would have bought it sooner...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 4, 2013 Perfect!!!
Review by
Aaron from Dalton, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It is a quality, well priced piece of equipment. Buy one, you will be happy. I put it in my wife's Ford Fusion with stock speakers & it sounds great. The USB is a great way to keep & play a lot of music. A+++ to Sonic Electronix!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2013 great
Review by
TINA from Sarasota, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It was worth it. Clean clear music booth was clear very easy to use would buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2013 Brilliant Device
Review by
Phil from Ashfield, Sydney, 0, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Glad I purchased this. Great durable unit, east to fit and with all the good features. Bluetooth is great and the use of this device is seamless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 22, 2013 Good audio quality, good Bluetooth integration, outstanding value
Review by
Que from Sherbrooke, QC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros: Very good audio quality (at least when combined with a Monsoon amp). Solid connectivity options (Bluetooth, USB, analog audio). Good Bluetooth integration. Effective hands-free system. Fine-tuning of colour and brightness for controls and display separately allows a perfect integration with the interior illumination of the vehicle. Shallow, so it does not require cutting even for those vehicles with shallow OEM head units (like mine). Intuitive setup. Mostly intuitive controls. No CD player (I have not used CDs in a long time). Good price.

Cons: Counter-intuitive label for the "Menu" button, which does activate the menu on a long press but has assorted, unrelated functionality (depending on the audio source) on a short press. Does not really have two USB inputs (one is taken by the Bluetooth dongle). No direct access buttons for radio presets (going to a preset requires a press on the "menu" button and then turning the volume button). The one-line display allows for very little information to be displayed at any given time. The displayed information is at times incorrect (example: when the Bluetooth playback is initiated from the player, the display keeps reading "stop" even if the music plays just fine). The establishment of a Bluetooth connection to an otherwise paired device is slow.

Other thoughts: If the cons above sound like nitpicking is because most of them are. Overall this head unit is very good in all the things that matter. The value for money is outstanding. I have the unit in the car for less than one day and I am already in love. Installation was by the way painless and essentially everything worked as advertised from the first attempt. This being said, I'll see tomorrow whether this head unit fails to turn the Monsoon amp off (this amp being very sensitive to leaked current of any kind) and so drains the battery...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 19, 2013 Great stereo
Review by
Rude from Choiceland, SK, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This stereo is great at a low cost. I have my iPod hooked up through the back USB and the Bluetooth in the front. Works great. The only thing in wish it had was a 2nd USB on the back. I would rather have both iPod and Bluetooth on the back and have the front USB open for a memory stick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2013 Great buy!!
Review by
Colin from St.John's, NL, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this stereo over 6 months ago. This web site threw in the harness and wires for free. I had to deal with them a couple times and they were fantastic to deal with. Excellent service. Fast shipping (I'm in Newfoundland, Canada) and the radio itself is awesome. This radio is the into reason why I haven't sold my car yet. It works flawlessly in every way. Wither your using it for music or as a hand free device for your cell phone it works great! And at the price I got it for you couldn't get a better deal! I highly recommend this radio and web site!! I've already told a bunch of buddies about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2013 Very nice head unit
Review by
Dirk from Penticton, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed into JDM Toyota MR2 Turbo. Went in with no problems at all. Very easy to configure, connects to all my USB drives and has no problems connecting to my HTC Raider via bluetooth. Only downside is the Android app for this unit - essentially useless; this however, is mitigated by the fact that an app doesn't really add anything anyway. In all, great product - especially considering its cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2013 Android Pandora
Review by
Joe from San Antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased this to listen to Pandora in the car. It does that well. The speaker phone isn't bad either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 26, 2013 Awesome buy
Review by
Ricardo from San Antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this for my 03 Dodge Dakota. It fit great and looks even better. It works excellent with a IPhone 4S and a old iPhone 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2013 Great Head Unit!!
Review by
SVT fofo from chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
first of all the unit it self its solid, i mean everything about its awsome even tho it don't have a CD player i mean who even has CD's now a days but any ways this unit its great BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 8, 2013 Super Deal !!!
Review by
Steven from Cool, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is by far the best unit on the market for the money. I have since purchased 3 more for my other vehicles and have recommended it to many friends. It is very easy to use. It has two usb ports, which I use my blue tooth for one and thumb drive for music. I thought I might miss not having a CD player but I don't miss it all since using the memory stick. I installed the first one over a year ago with no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 8, 2013 Great MP3 Deck
Review by
Dylan from Lac La Biche, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I custom installed this deck in my 1980 Chevy Van, and i quite enjoying it so far, i have both our phones connected, an ipod and also a headphone jack for when i hookup a dvd player. Its does exactly what i wanted and for a great price i couldnt go wrong.
The adapter that came with the deck was useless as i had to wire everything in myself.
Recommend for anyone who wants a simple setup and doesnt use cds anymore, just mp3s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2013 Best Radio for the money
Review by
Guy DePlacido from Billerica, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this radio and instantly fell in love with it. Being able to connect to your phone without wires is an awesome thing. Connecting is so easy and it will be saved in your phone so you never have to connect again. Overall I am very pleased with this radio and I have been recommending it to all my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 26, 2012 Wonderful unit for a great price.
Review by
JT from Mc Minnville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Omitting a Disc player brought this feature packed unit down to a great price and lets face it how many people actually use Discs anymore? The Bluetooth, Aux and USB inputs all work great however the supplied mic for handsfree phone operation it severely lacking in quality. In a non running car with no ambient noise the person on the other end of a test call was struggling to hear me, I'm sure adding a quality mic would resolve this but I haven't really needed this feature so I haven't tested it. I'm happy with my purchase and would buy the same again if I had it to do over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 24, 2012 Great Radio
Review by
Kirk from Stillwater,OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own a slightly older JVC which I really like in my '01 Dodge Ram, so when I was looking for one like to put on my Goldwing I couldn't find the older one so I got this one instead,and now I have the KD-X50BT on the Goldwing , in my Dodge as well as my Ford 3/4ton,GMC Suburban,and my Chevy worktruck and I moved the old JVC to my Jeep.So I have 5 KD-X50BTs and no problem with any of them. Seems like a good endorsement to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2012 Warning! Digital Media only, not a CD player
Review by
Buddy Lee from Lawton
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well I feel stupid. Bought this as a Christmas gift for my mother-in-law. My wife's brother came up with an excuse to "borrow" the car and we just installed it and it made the stock speakers in her Nissan Altima sound better than ever as I played a couple of tracks off of my iPhone. I tested out the FM receiver and it worked great, tested out the blue tooth for a phone call, tried Pandora over blue tooth and everything sounded great. So then I decided I would open the face to insert and test out a cd, but the face doesn't open because this is not a cd player. If it were for my own use I wouldn't care because I am all digitial with my music, but I am pretty sure my mother-in-law is not going to be truly happy without being able to play cds. I am sure she will let us know soon and if she doesn't like it, I guess I will have a new digital media player for my boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 17, 2012 Fantastic buy !!!
Review by
Steven from Cool, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The price can not be beat. The wiring kit and installation kit were free !!!! Very happy with the unit. I shopped locally and nobody could come close to the price. Shipping was super fast and packaged well. This stereo does so much more than I expected it to. Great sound, easy to use controls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 3, 2012 great inexpensive digital head unit
Review by
anomen from milford, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
pros:
1) plays all the digital media i have: USB sticks with MP3 and WAV files and also using the media on my Android smartphone via Bluetooth
2) excellent sound; big upgrade from my factory head unit.
3) Android app works fine to display what is playing and if there is an EQ adjustment active

cons:
1) annoying "random" play as it resets back to single track play every time the car is turned off, so random only works on longer car rides, not short errands.
2) spend a little more $ and get a higher end model with more text display as one line is not enough to search
3) Android app does not search tracks. seriously? Andriod = Google = search. lame...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2012 Excellent Radio!
Review by
Tyler from Terre Haute, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this product to replace the stock radio in my 2000 Dodge Durango. I don't believe I could have found a better radio for the price. It was quick and easy to install, and works beautifully. The bluetooth has amazing connection, and it takes almost no time at all to connect. I don't know what the other reviewer was talking about, but it could have been his phone instead of his radio, as mine works flawlessly. My phone connects before I even pull out of the drive way.

Other than the bluetooth, the radio itself has many settings for you to set it exactly as you wish. All of the colors are a nice feature, as well as the built in EQ. Overall, I highly recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 13, 2012 Perfect
Review by
Capster from Patchogue, New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy setup, beautiful sound, can't ask for much more. Just Perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 24, 2012 Amazing
Review by
David from Cranston, RI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I can't possibly just write a review, its too good! I have to record a video review to better explain how this receiver changed my daily life!

I have a 99 mustang and this thing woke up my daily commute. Speakers sound amazing and the harness worked with the factory Mach amps. The bluetooth works great! Streaming is very clear, to the point I don't use AUX in, even though I'm an audiophile and can hear the faintest feedback.. Call audio quality is very good and the mic clips to my visor and is wired down the a-pillar hidden..

You can fine tune a great deal of the sound and look, even change color to suit your mood.. I use blue at night and red during the day (it knows when I turn on the headlights) I have told so many people about the receiver and Sonic!! Excellent support and answered my questions, not to mention the best price!!

Thanks Again!
Dave (from RI)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 18, 2012 Great!
Review by
Mike in Chicago from La Grange, IL.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love, Love, Love this stereo! Works great and has great features. Had it installed for only 85 bucks at a local place. Phone pairs nicely with no problems. The audio controls take some getting use to, but once you get it where you want it, it's pure joy! You can't beat the price and quality. Buy it now, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 19, 2012 Excellent bluetooth
Review by
Josh from McMinnville, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this to stream music from my phone primarily, the bluetooth works flawlessly with my Atrix phone it automatically reads the phone book so you don't have to import manually like a lot of others, also has separate talk and play buttons that let me start playing music or start voice commands without ever having to take my phone out of my pocket. It has excellent audio control, if you use the pro equalizer or u can use the basic three band eq and preset curves but overall great sound quality. The one knock is the design is pretty basic, not the most attractive deck I've owned. Can't really say for durability, just got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2012 Excellent
Review by
Kenny from Cerritos
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The sound I like, panel display is excellent, easy to control, less buttons is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2012 Great Head Unit
Review by
ledge from Allen,TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this unit Friday, took me about 30 mins to install it in my 97 Mustang. It's everything i expected it to be, the bluetooth and ipod connection is great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 24, 2012 Great value, good performance
Review by
Martin from Portland, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently installed this unit and so far I am very pleased with it. It is simple to use and the bluetooth works great. It does NOT have a detachable face as it is described to have. I bought it because it said it had a detachable face and I wanted to deter theft and damage caused by thieves trying to steal it. I realized the face did not come off after installation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2012 Poor Industrial design
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Richard from Waterloo, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this stereo just for the Bluetooth, and now rarely use it. Maybe I'm spoiled by Apple, but I'm shocked how many little details reflect poor industrial design and quality:
- screen at max brightness is too dim to read in sunlight
- have to keep pressing mode button to get a clock on the display instead of something useless
- Bluetooth audio takes a long time to connect, making line-in more practical
- Various Bluetooth audio bugs with.both Android and iOS

In retrospect, I should have known to try Sony instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz