Showing 31 reviews for Kenwood KDC-252U

Customer Review Summary for Kenwood KDC-252U
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 31 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
71%
4 star:
.
.
26%
3 star:
.
3%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.9
Features
4.5
Design
4.5
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
August 6, 2012 Great Headunit
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dean from Los Angeles, California
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I only had this head unit for about six months, and I love this product. I installed this myself to replace the factory stereo. Since then has been a pleasure to have, and sound quality is much better.

A fault I have with the headunit only has red lighting, but luckily it matches with the rest of my gauges in my Toyota Matrix.

It seems the most common problem is the ipod control through the usb. This is actually a very easy problem to fix. First you plug in the ipod, then the ipod has "kenwood" on its screen, and you can only control it through the headunit. However, if you press the ipod button (on the right of the volume knob) for about 2 seconds, the headunit will display "app's & ipod" I think; anyway from there you can control the music from your ipod. It is mentioned somewhere in the manual.

Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 4, 2012 Use in my tractor
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Bosco from Deary, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this radio to use in my Kubota 8540 tractor and it works great. The stock speakers from Kubota have all they can handle (or more) from this unit. My only con is in the selection menu(s) - it's hard to know where you are and where you want to go but that may be a function of having so many options. Also, haven't been able to get my flash drive to play but could be from the format of music on my computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2012 Serious Improvement
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mike from NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not going into technical details. Upgraded my stock head unit in a 2012 mazda 5. A true musical delight emerged from my stock speakers. I thought I would have to dig in my pocket a little deeper for 6 new speakers, not the case. Well worth the money. Sonic was on spot with the service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 1, 2012 good features, good looks, easy to use. GREAT VALUE
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Max from Evansville, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have owned one of these for about 3 months. its a very nice radio, has options for sub woofer level, bass, mid, treble, and a lot of things in between. its a great product and the red matches really well with the stock gages on my 2000 grand prix. only problem i have had is that the ipod won't play thru the USB port for some reason. it will just say 'reading' and get to the song but won't play. I have tried hitting the play button on both the ipod and the dash but to no avail. I'm not sure if its the ipod or the radio.

also very easy to use, and as i said earlier it looks great. plenty of features. read the owners manual to find them all

a great product, gonna buy one for my friend on her birthday here soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2012 nice
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Denny from Kutztown, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Fits perfectly for a sub system but if you plan on doing speakers look elsewhere. Also has no rear usb input so if you hate wires this also isn't for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 17, 2012 Great headunit
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Matthew from Luverne, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Looks great, adds power to your speakers, the only bad thing about it is when you have your iPod plugged into the usb function you have to control it through the stereo which takes time getting used to, otherwise great headunit, definitely recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2012 Kenwood=Bo$$
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Stacky from Reading, Pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great looking and easy to use car head unit. I do not regret purchasing. Its a great price and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2013 Great Head Unit!
Review by
Jeff from Massillon, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have been using this head unit for about 6 months now and have not had a single problem with it. all the features and options are great. the way it looks is great, and ever since switching i've had much clearer sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 5, 2013 best basic headunit money can buy
Review by
masterspeaker from League city, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Fastest charging head-unit I've ever plugged into, iPod button makes switching from aux or CD easy with one big button to iPod.

matches volkswagen gauges and leds perfectly looks sexy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2013 Solid Product
Review by
Corey from Castlegar, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had this head unit for about a year now and the only problem I've had is that it some times takes a little long to load the next song on a mp3 cd. Besides that I've loved this head unit from the design to its dependability, for paved highways to the rocky back roads this thing hasn't quit yet. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a cheap reliable head unit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2013 Great Pice
Review by
Kenny from Westminster, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this for my Kids they love it. I have triplets and they were always complaining about the stereo in their car, so I bought the radio and a subwoofer from Sonic.had it installed Looks and sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 22, 2013 Very simple!
Review by
John from Edmonds, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this in my Mom's collector car, a Datsun 280z. Works great and very simple for her! Would recommend for anyone who doesn't want an over complicated headunit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2013 Works Great!
Review by
Alex from Cincinnati, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this product because I wanted a radio with a USB port, and it works for much more than that! I would recommend this to anybody who is looking for a simple to use, easy to install radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 27, 2012 Great deal!
Review by
Jeremy from Hillsboro, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this thing! Low price for usb AND 3.5mm connectivity?! Amazing! I just bought 2 of these, installed one in my sisters car for christmas, she's not very tech savvy, but she loves it and figured out how to use it, and i installed the other one in my own car.

Con: By ear, I can't hear any difference in the sound of my 4 6 3/4" clarion speakers with this new head unit in comparison to my stock head unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 21, 2012 Great deal
Review by
James from Taylorsville, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works great and was a great deal takes a little while to navigate the iPod but worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 16, 2012 Cool Radio
Review by
Chris from gallatin, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio looks very nice and has some good features. i would recommend this to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2012 perfect
Review by
Adam from Tulare, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Basic deck. Works great exactly what I expected. Not many features but I didn't want to spend too much money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2012 Sure
Review by
Juan from Cleburne, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio has been my fav. I've had a pioneer before and went with this one and I've been very pleased. It gets a hiccup every now and again when the iPhone gets plugged in. But I don't know if its me causing it. Not a big deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 24, 2012 Bang for your Buck!
Review by
John from Brownsville, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit looks and plays like a champ! Easy to install, remote makes it a breeze. This is not bad on your pocket book. Red lite up matches my instrument cluster. Very happy with this unit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 21, 2012 sounds great
Review by
scott from mayville, wi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It sounded great hooked up in my superduty, easy to understand how to set it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2012 Pretty good headunit
Review by
Tyler from Loganville, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It looks good and not hard to really use. My only problem is trying to get the direct control for the ipod to work. It may just be I have one of the first generations but either way the usb port is an awesome thing to have. Totally worth getting and for my first time installing a headunit it went really smooth. Really good for the price!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2012 inexpensive unit
Review by
Christopher from West Bend, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit cuts out at high volumes. Sent it back got another one and new one does the same thing. the heat sink on the back gets very hot. I have it installed in a Chevy van with factory speakers. Put the Factory Delco head back in and dont have any problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 10, 2012 Great economical deck
Review by
Zach from Marlin, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this deck about 6 months ago and it has been all I was hoping for and more. I just put it in with 4 new speakers in my Ford Ranger daily driver. It works great with my Iphone and I have had no problems with it. I dont' know what else to say, other than it is a great deck for the dollar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2012 kenwood kdc-252u
Review by
R J from Albany Oregon
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this unit. You gave the best price and it works great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2012 great ddeal
Review by
John from Birmingham, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
easy to use, ipod friendly, and reads WMA's. no problem to install with kit and wire harness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2012 Great HU for the price
Review by
D from Nashville, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros: This HU gives a good amount of RMS, sounds great, and has a lot of options compared to other HUs in its price range. It also looks great and is fairly simple to use once you're used to it. You'll notice a huge improvement from your stock head unit.

Cons: It only has one RCA output on the back, but that isn't a problem for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 7, 2012 Amazing stereo!!
Review by
Derrick from Valparaiso, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This stereo made my crappy speakers sound pretty amazing. I cant wait to see what will happen when I get better speakers! Really sweet looking at night too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 27, 2012 Good value for the money
Review by
wc from Oxnard, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Replaced a stock stereo on a toyota sienna with this. Sounds great and controls are very easy to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2012 Good Head-Unit
Review by
Eddie from Centertown, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Simple and Plain but a good thing. It isn't going to blow your mind with insane features, it's a simple head-unit but it's a good one. It has a good amount of RMS per speaker and it can make a factory system sound pretty damn good (considering its just an addition of an aftermarket radio).

This was the first aftermarket stereo I purchased when I got into car audio, but after about 9 months of use I sold it to a friend for 50 bucks and put that 50 on the eXcelon headunit I purchased to run my 3 amp system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2012 Sounds great, controls are very easy to learn.
Review by
Wil from Oxnard Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered KDC-248U and I was surprised to receive this, which is actually an upgrade (more features) for the price of the former. As always, great service from SonicElectronix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 1, 2012 Display screen
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
dave from Council Bluffs Iowa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like the unit, but after a few minutes the radio stops playing and "protect" shows on the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz