Showing 9 reviews for NVX NSW102

Customer Review Summary for NVX NSW102
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 9 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
67%
4 star:
.
.
33%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
5.0
Features
4.8
Design
4.8
Usability
5.0
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
January 3, 2014 Serious quality at incredible value
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Quixxxand from huntington, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Doing some research on NVX products I became interested in the brand. The fact that their products posess some of the more expensive manufacturing processes in light of performance and durability and that their company is remaining competitive in today's economy as a fledgling company must mean they are doing something right. So on a whim.... I tried one of their entry level woofers in my small hatch build to see what they are capable of producing. Upon arrival the most notable things were the spider and surround being different than what I'm used to. The single spider was INCREDIBLY stiff and the NBR surround is super thin, some people would say too thin for a trunk environment where objects could easily puncture the surround.....my thoughts are it is a benefit helping keep the cone light and letting the spider take care of the suspension. I mated this d2 ohm sub to a jbl bp600.1 that puts out a very clean 300 x1 @4ohm which is what the sub is getting. The enclosure is roughly 1.24 ft3 and has a 3x10" round port.... The sound you can achieve with this woofer is nothing short of amazing. By no means is it the teeth chattering monster my RE 10 is but it's ability to reproduce some very VERY LOW hz (I'm talking mid 20s) is incredible. And it isn't the power hungry monster the RE is. When pushed hard it will let you know well in advance the voice coil is getting warm. I've pushed mine and is still hasn't failed. It falls off on top and the specs don't lie. Is says black and white 200hz. So don't expect it to fill the entire lower spectrum. But what you do get is a product that outperforms many of the leading brands middle of the road woofers with a budget minded sub $50 woofer. I'm a really hard guy to please. My $44 NVX Woofer that showed up on my doorstep didn't have a very high bar set for it..... But I guarantee the next NVX woofer will have a pretty high standard to follow. My hats off to the audio engineers over at NVX!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 29, 2014 Great sub on a budget.
Review by
Brett from Gig Harbor, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Put this in my daughter's Beetle to replace a blown Infinity. I was impressed with the sound at initial installation. After about a week and some break in time, it sounds amazing. This is a great choice for some good bass in a budget system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 27, 2014 Quienes. NY.
Review by
Monica from Far Rockaway, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own two nvx subwoofer. and impress me as they sound. I have them on a ported box. and I like the sound. I will continue with nvx brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 29, 2014 awesome budget subs!
Review by
samuel from little rock, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nice well built subs. They get low in a tuned box. But don't like to be overpowered. Good overall entry level sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 20, 2014 Awesome sub
Review by
Skyler from Roswell, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well I'm running this in a sealed box on a hifonics at 600 rms .they hit beautifully nice excursion. Adding a kicker l3 15 to the mix for low lows. Will have the nvx subs wired to .5 ohms and l3 to 1 ohm run both at about 900rms. These subs have very nice bass tones, sound very crisp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2013 excellent speaker
Review by
sumrao from ny
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
When I bought them felt kinda light didn't think it was up to par but was able to handle full power. Great speaker for car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 12, 2013 Initial thoughts
Review by
Gerry 3 time SBN pro class winner from Merritt Island, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At first glance this driver seems to be a good value based on price. The rubber surround makes it a great candidate for small sealed enclosure. The powder coated basket is I nice touch to the traditional boring painted ones. Spider and leads look suitable as well. I did notice the motor structure was similar to the design engineered on the Hollywood Sound Labs Excursion line of drivers. This design increases air flow over and around the voice coil to promote cooler running temps and increased life of the driver. The cone seems ridged enough for the application and stitched surround is plus. For the price this sub fits the build. If it performed will the question. I do feel the surround should have been a high roll or EROM style to extend the drivers XMax, but for the price it will suffice. I have never had great luck with push terminals but this is a personal preferance. Next up will be the install and then a proper review can be concluded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2013 To the guy that wrote the review about this subwoofer saying that it doesnt hit the low lows...
Review by
BASSHEADBOOM from Honolulu, Hawaii
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
General Features:
•10" Dual 2-ohm N-Series Car Subwoofer
•Power Handling:
◦Power Range (RMS) 200-350 Watts
•Impedance: Dual 2 ohms
•Polypropylene cone
•High excursion rubber surround
•Stamped steel basket for maximum rigidity
•Nomex single spider
•2" KSV voice coil
•40oz. magnet motor structure with protective rubber boot
•Frequency response: 20-200 Hz
•Resonance Frequency (Fs): 34Hz
•Optimal sealed box volume: 0.75 cubic feet tuned at 40 Hz
•Optimal ported box volume: 1.25 cubic feet tuned at 25 Hz
•Top-mount depth: 4-11/16"
•Sensitivity: 83.4dB
•Authorized Internet Dealer

Above is this subwoofers specification sheet, now the guy that wrote that review is most likely an amateur car audio guy for a few reasons, one his subwoofer is in a "SEALED BOX" sealed boxes give a broader bandwidth for frequencies meaning it will allow the subwoofer to be able to play more bass notes, "HOWEVER" placing the same subwoofer in a ported box will not allow it to play as many notes, but it will play notes more effieciently... The other problem with "SEALED BOXES" is that they "CANNOT" be tuned...AH there lyes your problem! So what im going to do for you all is educate you folks for some that are reading this now and just know the basics of car audio... The "Human Ears" hearing response bandwidth is between 20Hz-20000Khz (for those of you that don't know Hz stands for Hertz and KHz stands for Kilohertz). What that means is that you can Hear no "lower" sine's (or sounds) than 20hz, and no higher sine's (or sounds) than 20,000khz. NOW TO THE SPECIFICATION SHEET the subwoofers Frequency response is between 20hz and 200hz.. Well then, seeing how you cant hear anything lower than 20hz Id say that is EXTREMELY low... OH! and it gets better! WHAT? Better? The Resonance frequency of this subwoofer is 34 hz. THAT PRETTY DAMN LOW! And WAIT THERE IS STILL MORE!!!! The optimal ported box volume: 1.25 cubic feet tuned at 25 Hz.... AGAIN THAT IS EXTREMELY LOW... So folks in ending this it doesn't matter what subwoofer you buy if you put it in a "SEALED BOX" don't expect some whopping low's out of it because that is not what sealed boxes are designed for. They are designed to be able to play a very wide variety of music to appease all consumers. But unless every other song you listen to on a daily basis is a different genre of music you need a ported box that is tuned to your type of music for the best listening experience.. If you want a subwoofer to hit LOWS you cant just go buy pre fabricated ported box at all (unless the pre fab box shows tuning spec's)...Most prefabricated boxes are tuned to 40hz... You need to either A.) Build the box yourself and tune the port to a low frequency or B.) Contact a professional to build you a box and tune it to a low frequency... Now a little about me. Now I am a professional car audio sound pressure level competitor and have been competeing for 10 years and have owned somewhere near $50,000- worth of car audio equipment between all my vechicles (at full retail).... I do not own these subwoofers but, I can tell you now, just by reading what the company recommends to make them sound the best that they will slap lows if put in a box that is tuned to the companies recommended optimal ported box volume: 1.25 cubic feet tuned at 25 Hz... Don't listen to that numbskull above me and again don't be a dumbass and don't buy a sealed box (or prefabricated ported box) if you want great lows... And of course you don't think I know what im talking about here is a link to my youtube, I need the views anyway. WATCH ME HIT LOWS!!!LOL http://www.youtube.com/user/BASSHEADBOOM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 31, 2013 NVX NSW102
Review by
Bernie from ON. Canada, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this subwoffer powerd by a 250-1D Rockford amp and it really did surprise me.Its getting about 200 at 4 olms. Its in a small sealed box with lots of polyfill and when I put on Techmaster PEB or Crystal Method it shakes my mirror. And quite a bit I might add. If this is what the entry level NVX sub can do I would really love to hear the VS or VC series of this company. If you had two of these in a ported box with a 600 watt amp it would be all the bass you need.The only con I can think of is they dont hit the low low stuff very well because my amp doesn't have a subsonic filter. Any hesitation that you have about NVX you can put aside because even these subs do really really well. $70.... its a no brainer. But this sub or a couple. You wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz