Showing 18 reviews for Klipsch Reference S4i Premium In-Ear Headphones with iPhone/iPod Remote & Mic

Customer Review Summary for Klipsch Reference S4i Premium In-Ear Headphones with iPhone/iPod Remote & Mic
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 28 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
64%
4 star:
.
.
29%
3 star:
.
.
7%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.4
Features
4.5
Design
4.5
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
November 27, 2012 Enjoyable Listening
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
PFM from St Petersburg, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent product. Earpieces fit and sound adjustments are very good. Case protects the earphones when travelling. I use them daily on IPAD & IPhone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2011 Klipsch S4i Reference
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dirk from cologne, Germany
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hello,
i'm from germany and sorry my english is not so good. I have first the s4i and i was amazed what a wonderfull sound these headphones are have,i love my s4i headphones, I have them in white black and now the reference s4i, they are perfect and sound a little bit better as the image s4i. They look so much better, my new favorite for all times !!!
I love the quallity and the warm and precision sound and i would buy them every time again the best sound and quallity for your money, when you hear it you want it 100%!!!

Thanks, Dirk H.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2013 Incredible sound
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kevin from Spruce Grove, Ab, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These headphone have the most incredible sound. I had the regular S4i headphone before trying these. No comparison, these are significantly better. Glad I upgraded, no regrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2012 Great headphones
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
JDP from Nyc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Super durable and overall great headphones. Love the control buttons also
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 19, 2012 A glowing reference!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Joseph from Mexico City, Mexico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I consider many options, read a lot of reviews, did a whole research, I was looking for something that could reach my standards. After more than six months of use and new options out there I would still buy these. To begin with, Sonic Electronix offers an unbeatable price and ships without issues. You get the value for your buck. I’m really amazed, the 18 ohms impedance matched with the noise isolation allows to listen even at the lowest volume set. It’s true that you experience each and every single instrument, honestly, like listening to your music for the first time.
Some facts: 1. you might have a hard time for them to fit your ears, but that’s solved with the right tips, 2. if not fitted properly you would miss bass, that if you actually notice, we’re talking about the bass you miss with most commercial headphones anyway, 3. they give you a fragile feeling… but no, they’re not that fragile, the new cables with built-in strain relief really do their job, I’ve been using them everyday to deal with public transportation, they don’t have a scratch, and no, the cord doesn't get tangled 4. the only issues you get are those for any other in-ear, but these are the only ones who would match, if not beat most speakers.
They sound so natural I usually find myself forgetting I’m wearing them, they’re really light but they can sound like a concert. You would never look back, they’re indeed a reference.
P.S. the case is just the right size as you can check on any picture, but it has a custom size foam inside which you can actually take away if it gives you any trouble…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 12, 2012 COMFORTABLE EARBUDS !!!!! EXCELLENT SOUND !!!!!
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
DRUMMERMAN from WOODLAN PARTK NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Let me just say that these earbuds are the only pair that fit my very very small ear canal with the tips that come on out of the box. They come with a total of four from really small to larger. They will definitely fit all ears. Not like all the other'd out there that hurt your ears after 10 minutes these you will not know there there after hours of listen pleasure. Great sound reproduction from lows to highs to good bass. Very light so very comfortable. Good company to purchase from !! Great price and fast delivery. Buy these buds from this company an be happy listening to your music without ear pain !!!!! Thanks !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 18, 2012 best earbuds under 100$
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Boris from Modiin, Modiin, Israel
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I won't waste your time and just say, that even after almost 4 years since the release date "klipsch image s4" is still the best earbuds for under 100 (or maybe even 200$). Klipsch reference s4i is basically the same earbuds but with a few cosmetic enhancements, mic and also a remote optimized for apple devices. The only negative aspect of this product is the case, its too small and it takes too much time to cram in the earbuds. If you own an android based devise check the s4a model that is optimized for android. If you are looking for better ear tips you should check Comply TX-100 series foam Tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 12, 2012 Excellent In-Ear Headphones!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brad from Wichita, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I own lots of Klipsch audio products, and the Reference S4i In-ear headphones are excellent! They deliver crisp, clear detail. Well rounded highs, mids and lows that the reference series are known for. They look nice and the controls on the cable are very functional. The Reference S4i's are well worth the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 5, 2013 Wonderful Choice
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Asurbanipal from Florence, Tuscany, Italy
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am Italian so first of all, sorry for my english.
I liked to do this review because this product has solved all my problems with earphones. I've changed more than 10 usual earphones before discovering these fantastic Klipsch earphones.
Quality is more than excellent!
Thanks a lot to the mnufacturer, brilliantly simple!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 18, 2012 Love Them
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Luke from Marysville, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very comfortable, have tried others and these feel the best. I use them as ear plugs everyday i work and listen to music about half the time I wear them. They are a bit spendy but worth it by far for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 12, 2012 Earbuds
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jim from Baton Rouge, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great set of earbuds. Works perfectly with my iphone. Excellent sound and comfortable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2012 another great product from klipsch
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
hillhippie from hazard,kentucky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am very pleased with the klipsch reference s4i earbuds, the mids and highs are everything that you would exepect from klipsch, the bass was another nice suprise, not to heavy, not to light, just right, smooth and flowed with the mids and highs, it did not matter what type of music that I listened to. I would recommend these earbuds to any body that likes to listen to every instrument in the band, you will hear it. The cords are just the right length, the mic works perfect. The volume buttons work nice as well, plus they look great with the black and copper, a very nice look. Pros, everything, cons, none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 1, 2013 Best sound quality of any headphone I have tried.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
a.muse from Brooklyn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I rarely write reviews, and I only received my earphones in the mail today, but I was so impressed that I felt the need to review these. They are far and away the best sound quality of any earphone I have tried. The separation is very good, base is distinct and not overpowering, treble is clear and not tinny, mid range is balanced.

I have also owned Klipsch S4i's which I loved, but these are even better. I can only hope they last! I will assume that they do for the purpose of this review.

Lastly, Sonic has the best price for these by far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2013 Great headphones for the price!
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Sergii from Kyiv, Ukraine
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product, I really like the sound quality and noise isolation is excellent as well. Also, convenient for my ears. Overall, great product for the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 1, 2013 Better than $250 Earphones
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
jmw from Atlanta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First, a tip: try putting the Right earphone in your LEFT ear, and vice versa. I get a much more comfortable fit, better seal and sound this way. I think it looks better, too. If you're not getting a good seal at first, twist them slightly.

My first earphone purchase was Bose, I had trouble keeping them in my ears, and the Bass was very boomy, I looked for something else. I've been a Sennheiser earphone fan and user for years, starting with their $80 model (I don't remember the name) and working my way up to their very good IE6 unit. I thought they were really great, loved the sound. I listen to some classical, some jazz, some acoustic, and a lot of pop.

Almost all of my music is in AIFF or ALE encoding, very few MP3's or AAC's. Can't have as much music on my iPhone, but the quality of sound is worth it to me.

Was very satisfied with the IE6's. But after several years of daily use, they were literally falling apart.

My budget is much tighter than it was when I bought the IE6's, so I searched the internet reviews on dozens of earphones. I decided to try the S4i Reference, bought them here at Sonic Electronix.

One of the best purchases of any kind I have ever made. The quality of sound is much better than my $249 IE6's (okay, I paid that several years ago, the current IE60's are less expensive).

They do have a somewhat boosted bass compared to Sennheisers and other brands I've listened to. But it's definitely NOT booming or muddled.

Bass (especially the kick drum) is tight and thumping, which I have come to really love. Mids are clear, maybe a bit warm, Highs are clear and crisp. I can hear more detail than with the IE6's, and more instruments. Separation is superior. Classical, jazz, pop, rock all sound superb through the S4i Reference.

Absolutely excellent sound all around. Incredible sound for the money.

The S4i Ref's comfort is outstanding. I bought a set of Comply foam tips to use with these, but to my surprise, I find the standard Klipsch tips more comfortable. As mentioned above, I wear them in the "wrong" ears, and I can wear them for 8+ hours in complete comfort. Noise isolation is good, but don't expect total silence (I have children, so that's a good thing, I don't need to be completely out of touch).

As many have noted, the cord stays in the shape it was folded into in the package. The wire from the microphone to the jack is stiffer than any earphones I've seen (some insist that the cord is not thicker, but it's definitely stiffer), maybe that's why it doesn't straighten out. I usually have the cord running under my shirt and keep my phone in my pants pocket, so the cord doesn't get in the way, and the bends don't show. Even wearing it that way, the microphone works very well, callers hear me perfectly.

As I said, this is one of the best purchases I have ever made, I am extremely happy with the S4i Reference, and highly recommend them. If you want really excellent sound and amazing comfort, get the Klipsch S4i Reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 23, 2012 Very crisp audio
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
GBOUK from Melbourne, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very impressed with these headphones. Least importantly, they never tangle which is a nice touch. The sound is very crisp and I find it hard to believe you could get any more bass out of a set of in-ear headphones - but if you could, a little more wouldn't hurt. I could never go back to el cheapo headphones after these. Everyone who has used them has been particularly impressed by sound quality, comfort and the sense of noise canceling they create when using them in a noisy environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 26, 2012 Klipsch Reference S4i
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
cmarti from Orlando, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got these six months ago and I love them more now than then, they sound superior than the Normal Klipsch S4's.

I am not sure why but they do sound like earphones 4 times more expensive from what I paid.

They are still like new and I use them for exercising and for making phone calls, the microphone is excellent.

I like them so much that I just ordered the Klipsch X10's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 11, 2013 With Comply Foam Tips they're amazing.
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Frooonk from Glendale, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I use these with Comply Foam ear tips and they sound great. I was a little disappointed with how they sounded with the included tips. I tried the different size tips, but was never really impressed with the sound. I expected them to sound really good but they didn't until I tried the Comply tips, what a difference! Love these ear phones for my day hikes and dog walks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz