Showing 14 reviews for Pioneer DEH-P8400BH

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer DEH-P8400BH
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 49 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
67%
4 star:
.
.
29%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
4%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.7
Features
4.7
Design
4.4
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
December 7, 2013 Pioneer DEH-P8400BH
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
CoolFool (Larry) from Palmdale, CA.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit has many features and sounds great for the price. The knob for the sound level is a little hard to use because if you hit or tap the knob it go into a feature mode. The tuner section has great reception for a unit of this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 2, 2014 Good value
Review by
Keith from Clayton, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good head unit for the money, it has been reliable, just upgraded to a pioneer nex unit for GPS ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 17, 2014 yes yes yes
Review by
samson971 from sainte anne, Guadeloupe
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
hello very good product
I do not regret my purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 4, 2014 Great value for price
Review by
PR from IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The 8400BH is a good stero for the money. Teo of the great features is the fact it has bluetooth built into the unit. The remote is nice while you are drving on the highway. Overall it was a solid purchase from the product, ontime delivery and a follow up by Sonice customer service.
PR from Illinois
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 14, 2014 A review after nearly 2 years of use
Review by
Kenneth from Melbourne, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this head unit in the beginning of 2012. Still going strong today. It has a ton of features packed in for the price point. Three pair of 4V RCA outputs, a nice looking screen that is capable of fitting three full lines of information (versus 1 or 2 on many other units), a HPF, and one other feature that a really love that most head units don't have...... rear USB. Nearly every other single-din head unit around this price point has their USB port on the front face. This means I have an ugly cord hanging from my dash and I have to stash my iPod somewhere. Rear USB lets me stash the iPod in the glove box, see no cords, and keep everything out of sight from thieves.

I do have a couple of small gripes though. First, I hate the forward/back lever surrounding the volume knob. It's something Pioneer started trying out and I think it's super cheesy and trinket-y. Second, the USB connection to iPods is not flawless. Sometimes the iPod doesn't pause and turns off when I turn off the car. Sometimes it won't unpause and I have to dig in the glove box, only to find out that the iPod is locked up in kind of a half-Pioneer half-iPod state and must be hard reset. Both are pretty rare (once every ~6 weeks), but after 2 years of use, it's annoying. Last, the call quality on the bluetooth is not too good. I've tried moving the microphone to multiple locations over my period of ownership, but zero improvement.

All in all, a great offering. It has a a wonderful sound to it. I would HIGHLY recommend Pioneer's head units, but probably not this model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2014 Pioneer does it again
Review by
Vassago from Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Another quality unit by the Pioneer people. Packed with features this unit delivers quality HD sound. The blue tooth feature makes for clear and easy communication. Phone integration is snap for easy access to your phone book. Overall this is a great unit for single din applications, the low Sonic Electronix price made it a value that couldn't be passed up. Don't pay more elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 7, 2014 Good product for the price, problem with fitment on cobalt
Review by
Jesse from Spotswood, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I always buy Pioneer head units because to me they are the best on the market. This one was no different, very happy with the product as far as it being a stereo goes. What I'm not happy about is that to fit it in a 2006 chevy cobalt I had to break off the plastic in where the radio goes and remove this metal crossbar that was held on with 2 bolts. It was really frustrating trying to figure out why it wouldn't fit in and it made me have to break and remove part of the car to fit it. I've had other headunits in the car and never had a problem, my guess is that the large heat sink on the back of the radio was what was contacting the metal bar. Would have given 5 stars if it wasn't for this issue. Please state that it will not fit in chevy cobalts without modification.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2014 Great HU for the price!
Review by
Dylan from odessa, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bluetooth works without a hitch, the range is limited to inside the car but it's no problem at all. The sound quality of the BT is excellent.
It takes a bit of getting used to as far as the controls and features, but any HU is at first. No problems so far after about 5 weeks since installation. The 4 volt preamp are a nice feature as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 16, 2013 Good unit but not for me
Review by
Charles from huron, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit has a lot of features for its low price. 3 sets of 4v pre outs are awesome. hd radio helps me get stations but sounds bad compared to my deh-63ub. thats not that big of a deal compared to the small text size on the screen i am a diabetic going through retinopathy and can see to drive fine but couldn't read the buttons or the screen text. Also when using a usb drive with mp3 audio i get a weird white noise sound that raises and lowers with the volume control and the rear usb is a pain i really like having front usb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 10, 2013 Great unit, not for iphone 4 or above :(
Review by
Kyle from Kelso,wa, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pro's: Sounds great, looks great, 3 sets of rca outputs, great quality, great price.

Con's: Can't change song with the deck using a iphone 4 or above with the bluetooth function :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2013 Good Radio
Review by
Ryan from Blountsville, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this radio for my pick-up. It works really well and sounds even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2013 works great!
Review by
john from peru, Illinois
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this product is very nice. it is very user friendly. at the bigging i was hesitant about getting this because i could probably get a lower ranked touch screen for the price. but this thing is totally worth it and does its job amazing. i love the blue tooth and it works amazing with my subs. i would recommend this product to anyone just looking for a nicer radio nothing to flashy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2013 Great player!
Review by
dukslayer from Saffell, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awsum player for great price! Would reccomend to any one for a great value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 22, 2013 Great Buy!
Review by
Gary from San Jose, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed this unit on my RV, Great sound, ease of use, clear blue tooth
cell, I'm thinking of adding the same unit to my Toyota truck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz