Showing 10 reviews for Pioneer DEH-P9400BH

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer DEH-P9400BH
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 10 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
80%
4 star:
.
.
10%
3 star:
.
.
10%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.8
Features
4.6
Design
4.7
Usability
4.2
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Awesome Brand

I don't have this model but I have the previous version of it with the flip down face. I have had the unit for about seven years and the thing just keeps on kickin. Internal x overs make this an awesome companion to the Fosgate amps I bought here. I also have my 16GB iPod connected to it through what was in those days considered the plug for a CD changer. I used to work at a stereo shop in my younger years and all I can say is Pioneer head units are the best.

VS
ok deck, but not android friendly

I've always loved Pioneer in the past, but his deck was just alright. I didn't care for the complicated navigation through the menus. The real killer for it for me was it has basically nothing to do with an android phone. Yes you can stream music over bluetooth, but you pretty much have to control everything from the phone, and stare into a blank screen. In the end, I returned it and got a JVC R80BT which has most of the same features, except the HD radio, which I honestly didn't notice much of a difference with it anyway. But the JVC displays track information from android phones, and lets you control everything from the deck, plus they have an app to turn your phone into a remote for the stereo. This deck would probably be great if you have an iphone, but if you have an android, I'd suggest looking elsewhere. Pioneer needs to wise up and realize there are other phones beside iphone.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
April 19, 2012 Awesome Brand
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
abel from Kingsburg, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I don't have this model but I have the previous version of it with the flip down face. I have had the unit for about seven years and the thing just keeps on kickin. Internal x overs make this an awesome companion to the Fosgate amps I bought here. I also have my 16GB iPod connected to it through what was in those days considered the plug for a CD changer. I used to work at a stereo shop in my younger years and all I can say is Pioneer head units are the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 3, 2012 (First Week) Working Great / Best of the Best
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Victor from Danville, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I received this Radio last Friday and installed the same day by myself. Easy installation. This is exactly what I was looking for. I attached a 32GB USB Drive to it and its working great with it. Is incredible how can I organize all of my favorites music by folders. Also, love the Bluetooth work just fine. I'm using both USB ports, USB1 for my iPhone and USB2 for the USB DRIVE witch I installed inside my glovebox.

Like I said, it's only been a week since I installed, so let's see how it continues working. Will recommend this unit to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 1, 2012 worth every penny
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ali from Moubark Alkabeeer, Kuwait
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this unit is really high end with classic m.c button , it have tons and tons of nice features like 2 usb's , aux , Bluetooth , cd , pandora
i have paired my galaxy s2 with this unit through Bluetooth then i set my phone in the car glove box , because you can see the phone charge status , service , missed calls on the head unit , you can even browse and call your contacts through the head unit , the Bluetooth in this unit is high end because the sound streaming is very clear , if you want a product that fit your car and give you everything then look no far for this unit .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 30, 2012 Fantastic
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Robert from Douglasville, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This HU installed without a hitch. I played with the unit before reading in depth the User Manuel, and found it to be easy to figure out. The only thing is the setup Menu. if you miss it, you have to turn unit off for it to reappear. The Blue tooth connected to my HTC Thunderbolt without a Hitch. The Streaming music from Pandora, Tune Wiki, Slacker, Music Player all work great and you can control them from the HU. You can download apps from Google Play to your Phone (free). The Hand free Phone works like a charm, it displays your calls, call missed, list your phone book, makes and receives calls. This Radio just blows me away, not to mention the superior sound. The endless color displays, full function clock, M/D/Y, and other functions will keep you entertained. PIONEER, you have a WINNER!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2012 Great Radio
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jimmy from Alhambra
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been looking for something like this for a while now. 2 rear usbs let me keep my ipod connected in the glove box and the other to charge my iphone when needed. using the XM is great and the bluetooth is pretty good. Haven't played with the HD radio much and I'm having a hard time figuring out how to store presets, but I haven't read the manual yet either. I originally bought the 84oobh and returned it to get the dual usb and the overall look is better IMHO comparing the two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2012 Excellent single DIN unit
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Steve from Clarkston, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit has some great features for being a single DIN unit. The only thing it's missing is video, but obviously you can't do that with a single DIN unit. I can say it's great bang for the buck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 29, 2013 Excellent HU
Review by
srp365 from Dallas, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Owned this HU for 8 months, simply the best HU I've ever owned. Huge plethora of inputs, Bluetooth 3 sounds great and can flip tracks on Pandora on the Android with the remote or lever on the radio. There are more HD radio channels than I have presets and the line output is clean all the way up to 62.

With the dual USB inputs on the back I don't have a ugly USB drive sticking out the front, but one 500GB drive in the glove box and plug in a thumb drive in the console for easy access.

The display color is so tweakable it matches my dash exactly and looks factory. EQ and built in crossover makes this an excellent head unit and great value.

One Star off of Design... the volume knob bumps the lower trim when putting in a CD. But who listens to CDs anyway? Also doesn't support FLAC which would be the only thing to put this HU over the top for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 10, 2012 Very Nice!!!!
Review by
David from Akron, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this HU for two reasons , I needed audio streaming and bluetooth since I have a Droid phone and use the Amazon Cloud , The phone controls my music and the bluetooth is awesome.I have a 2008 Dodge Dakota and my sales rep sent me everything I needed..Me and my buddy installed it in less that two hours had it paired and bluetooth and audio streaming have never been better, the Pioneer also turns off the Cloud so that I would not incure data charges from the device if I left it on. Install was not that easy but if you are patient and you can tell your colors it's not bad when you solder the harness together.Face plate fit perfect..The audio portion was a bit different you have to tune in your station then hit list and it goes to the band list and you are ready to go at first I struggled but after you did it a couple times so easy..overall I got great service a good price and a quality product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 29, 2012 All the primary features needed for daily driving.
Review by
Patrick from Bensalem, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is perfect for me. I also have a Kenwood KDC-BT952HD that is a little over a year old to compare it too. Both Are Excellent Head Units. I have an iPhone 4S and a PandoraOne Subscription so when I got a mini-van for driving to rehearsals and gigs (I'm a musician) I wanted another Bluetooth, iPhone/Pandora radio to keep my eyes on the road, and hands on the wheel.

The Bluetooth Microphone is quite a bit better than the one on my kenwood (less noise on the receiving end) syncs perfectly with my iPhone 4S with the OS 6.

The dual rear USB's were the selling point for me. Allows me to have an easy accessible port for my iPhone, and I have the other in the glove box for my 120GB iPod Classic.

The Front Aux Port is a nice touch, my Kenwood doesn't have it and on many occasions it would have been nice for friends with generic MP3 players or Tablets droids etc..

Pioneer's Feature menu isn't as intuitive or as detailed as kenwood's I have a much more flexible audio setup with kenwood over the pioneer.

Installation in my 2005 Grand Caravan took about an hour, and was very easy. Sonic makes it easy providing the mounting and wiring harness kits with all the heads they sell. I solder and heat shrink all my electrical connections, wrap it in electrical tape like a factory harness and you don't have to worry about shorts or crimp connectors coming apart. I've installed 50+ radios from Cheap junk to $1200+ DVD/Navi+++ Units this is the only way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 12, 2012 ok deck, but not android friendly
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Spoolin from Omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've always loved Pioneer in the past, but his deck was just alright. I didn't care for the complicated navigation through the menus. The real killer for it for me was it has basically nothing to do with an android phone. Yes you can stream music over bluetooth, but you pretty much have to control everything from the phone, and stare into a blank screen. In the end, I returned it and got a JVC R80BT which has most of the same features, except the HD radio, which I honestly didn't notice much of a difference with it anyway. But the JVC displays track information from android phones, and lets you control everything from the deck, plus they have an app to turn your phone into a remote for the stereo.

This deck would probably be great if you have an iphone, but if you have an android, I'd suggest looking elsewhere. Pioneer needs to wise up and realize there are other phones beside iphone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz