Showing 42 reviews for FiiO E5 (McKinley) Portable Clip-On Headphone Amplifier

Customer Review Summary for FiiO E5 (McKinley) Portable Clip-On Headphone Amplifier
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 42 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
69%
4 star:
.
.
21%
3 star:
.
.
10%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.6
Features
4.4
Design
4.5
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 12, 2012 These little guys are awesome!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Gary from Garden Grove, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I wish Sonic was carrying these when I bought mine. I have two of these which I use to amplify the the headphone-jack output of an mp3 player going thru an 3.5mm-to-RCA Y-connector into the RCA input of a car amplifier (mp3 mounted on handlebar of a MoTo going to a car amp). Especially if you have to branch the two outputs further into 4 outputs for a 4-channel amp, because doing so further halves the voltage. The battery-life on these things is friggin' great. I'll forget about charging it for a long darn time until one day it shuts-off, and I go "Oops!". They seem to stay charged for quite a long time during periods of no use as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Thanks for your feedback.
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2014 solid sound
Review by
Steve from fort Atkinson wi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this a couple months ago great amp has plenty of battery life makes my head phones sound way more bassy and clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2014 Great Product and Customer Service
Review by
Jason from Portland, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The first unit I received was damaged (battery wouldn't take a charge). No big deal, these things happen. Customer service made returning the item easy and the replacement works flawlessly. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 26, 2014 Flat RESPONCE..GREAT
Review by
RUSTY from Chesnee,SC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great unit...Needs usb power supply for long use. Contrary. Are small




,but easy to set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 22, 2014 Well worth it!
Review by
Nickifier from SE, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It ups the volume level without adding anything nasty. The battery life is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2014 Good Value
Review by
Victorm from Wonder Lake, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had used the FiiO for years and bought this one as a replacement. Works well with the added volume I need for headphone use. So far, so good with this unit, and very small and portable to use (and lose) so keep an eye on it when traveling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2014 impressive
Review by
Edgar from Chalmette , La
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The value cannot be beat, sound quality blows you out of the water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 1, 2014 Great little Amp.
Review by
Luis from Belleview, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I use this amp on my helmet to ride my Motorcycle... It is a great little amp. the sound is so much crispier and clear is unbelievable. I would recommend this amp to any one who enjoys good quality sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 8, 2013 great value
Review by
freddy from Houston Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend this product it has improved the sound of my mp3 player greatly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 5, 2013 Great buy.....
Review by
Abby from Orient Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy to use, great buy. Super product to own. Has a great sound.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2013 wonderful product
Review by
dratomic from phila, pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
compact, powerful, long battery life, used with an iPod on a motorcycle battery good for a week of commuting before needing a recharge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Works better than I hoped
Review by
Wireknot from Charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
We got 2 of these to help boost a stuio to field talk back (IFB) system that was very low on output. After I put them in the system, instead ofthe reporters saying it was too low they started yelling '' it's too LOUD! ''

Well worth the price.

Doc R., video engineer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 FiiO E5 Review
Review by
Terry Smythe from Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My objective was to add headphones to a new Panasonic P42UT50 HD Plasma TV that has no provision for this, as the internal speakers are a fixed part of an internal circuit board, no speaker wires.. I coupled with this FiiO E5 an HDMI Splitter box into which the FiiO E5 is connected to tap off the audio line. It's a Rube Goldberg arrangement, but it works at relatively low cost. The option was a high cost home theater audio system with provision for external headphones. The FiiO E5 is powered off a USB-out port on my Motorola HD-PVR cable box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 It's a good thing
Review by
Harry from Reno, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This little amp worked great for me. I used it as an after market sound booster for a tablet that was low on volume. Even on the airplane could hear the tablet. I recommend this product. Usb powered too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 mp3 to shark mc
Review by
Luke from Hamlin, WV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This item worked unbelievably well for a while, I was the envy of
riders with systems costing six times as much as mine!
Then it quit working.I dont know if I just got a bad one or what.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Great Service!
Review by
Jay from Snellville, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very Reliable! Would Recommend products & services to anyone. Product came very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Big Bang in a Little Box
Review by
dhayward207 from Rockport, Maine
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love it. I have two now. I use them to increase the volume in my motorcycle helmet (w/o faceshield on) and it does the trick. At 70 mph I can now listen to my music. The battery runs out after about 3 hours and I i just switch out the dead one for the fully charged one. That provides me with about 6 hours of listening. I run my iPod through them. My only issue is that in daylight it is incredible hard to tell whether the little blue light that signifies whether the amp is on is lit. Ive often thought it was off then found out that I'd left it on and the battery was drained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 20, 2013 An excellent upgrade to your sound
Review by
Kendal from Kinston, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this headphone amp for several reasons. These reasons include: it's a great value, it greatly improves SQ from budget headphones, and it keeps a charge for a long time.
it was probably the best money I have ever spent in the pursuit of better sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2013 fiio e05 amplifier: too little amplification for the money
Review by
milhous451 from denver, co
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
nice design, robust, works as advertised
but it only gives about 30% amplification.

30% is not enough to hear above street noise

not worth it. the fiio e11 is $60, but it doubles sound volume. that *is* worth it. you can hear the sound above all but the worst street noise. it only fails to be audible next to a freeway during rush hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 7, 2013 Great item, Great price, Fast shipping!
Review by
Dave from Wilmington, DE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This small item works GREAT! I use it mostly when out and about with my netbook to boost the volume of videos and webcasts. Great low price and fast shipping. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 22, 2013 Good When it Works
Review by
Moto from Fargo, ND
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had purchased the amp to boost sound from a Bluetooth device to my car stereo. It defiantly did the job just fine being compact and everything. The amp only lasted a couple months before it had stopped putting out sound. The buttons still lit up but that was all it did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 22, 2013 Great Product
Review by
giorgos from athens greece, Greece
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product. It is small in size great battery life and very good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 19, 2013 Ok
Review by
Fasteddy64 from Abilene, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Small, light, easy to use. Gives the audio form my device just enough boost to be useable.
Battery life and recharge time are not all that great however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 4, 2013 Good little amp
Review by
Zach from Portland, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp is a pretty good value for the money. It really gives my M50's the extra volume and bass they need. The battery lasts a good while too and it feels pretty solid and well built. Good product would buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 5, 2013 Unusual function
Review by
John from Tennessee
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
FiiO E5 is used as a "pre-amp" for a pair of Logitech external powered speakers hooked up to my large Sony flat screen TV. My previous TV had a "headphone out" jack, but the new one does not. Having only an Audio Out jack, the signal level was too low to really drive the speakers. So I used Velcro for the E5 to the back of the TV, Audio Out to E5 input, E5 output to external speakers. E5 volume up, and the external speakers really kick. Sounds great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 2, 2013 Like it
Review by
Soundlistener from Vilnius, Lithuania
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like this product. It is very neat and well designed. It has minor drawbacks, but overall my experience is very positive. It works as intended, is simple to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 30, 2013 pretty good
Review by
Evan from Greendale, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
When ordering I originally had little expectations for this amp. Cheap price, small unit, how powerful could it be? The unit is built fairly solid. Also I have tested this on several over the ear, in ear, and just all around different situations like multiple outputs. Overall for the price this is a very good value. Under certain situations like spliting to 2 or more unit did it really have an impact on loudless. With thatbeing said the amp cleans up output greatly. For audiophiles like me this is great! The rechargeable battery lasts quite some time on a single charge. Overall yes I would definitely recommend this amp over more expensive units because of the price vs quality. This tiny unit will greatly clean up output while upping output a tad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 18, 2013 Great product
Review by
Wynn from Sanford, nc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amplifier works great. I use it to monitor what I am recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2013 headphone amp
Review by
Tim from Roy, Wa.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have never written a review on any product. This one has me impressed! I was not expecting too much, but it really works! All i wanted was a little boost so i gave it a try. I works great and it works even better if u can have it charging at the same time you are using it. works great on headphones and well as a axillary input.I would recommend it to anyone wanting a boost in their sound.I use it all day in my work truck, and at home on my headphones. I don't know about the battery life, but others use aa battery's. I just didn't want to mess with them. Great product for the price!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 29, 2013 beast
Review by
Joker3813 from EaglePass, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
so i bought the amp about 6 onths ago and man its beast... makes your ****ty head phones sound like you have some subs in your ears... i kno its not god for some ppl... but for bass heads like me they are perfect.... will buy the bigger one in the future..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 22, 2013 A great product
Review by
Nick from Auckland, New Zealand
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It is well made, works well and holds its charge well. Now I can monitor the audio on my Sony Z1p and be confident that OI am getting good sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2012 Headphones with TV
Review by
Scott from Signal Mountain, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product, small and light weight. Bought mine for use with my headphones while watching tv, because the signal coming from my TV jack was at a set volume. This product worked great, now I have more than enough volume and the sound is much better. I even use with my ipod...great sound improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2012 e5
Review by
Alex from Los angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My first amp, love it, it's a good portable amp and has great price-value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2012 Fiio E5
Review by
Josh from Ciudad de Mexico, DF, Mexico
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this amp, it's small, has rechargable battery and has bass boost, would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 18, 2012 FiiO E5 (McKinley) Portable Clip-On Headphone Amplifier
Review by
HappyGuy from Toronto, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product was exactly what I was looking for and works great. It's pretty clean sounding and very useful and had a very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 14, 2012 amplifier
Review by
jonesy from corbin ky
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
very compact and easy to use but could not really tell that much difference in the sound level. did not boost sound in the manner i had hoped it would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 9, 2012 Very handy and good quality
Review by
Desmo from Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this product to anyone who needs an easy pre-amp solution for their audio. I use it for connecting my ipod to my car audio, and it works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 29, 2012 great product
Review by
rasta from elizabeth,new jersey
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
its simply really good....great buy...i've been jamin with it....DONT SLEEP ON THIS PRODUCT...PERIOD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 21, 2012 Solid
Review by
JP from IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works well and is easy to use. No problems at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2012 Good amp for the $
Review by
rene from Yorkton, Sask.,, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered this because the signal from my sat radio was not strong enough from the sat radio to my headset on my motorcycle helmet. I used it all summer and it has been great. Sound quality is good the volume is good even at 80 mph (not that I drive that fast, lol) battery life is good too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 29, 2012 Works Great!
Review by
Aaron from Newport, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this 2 weeks ago and so far i love it. This thing really bumps! I read TONS of reviews, and they all seemed to point to this model. The price is excellent! Highly recommend to ANYONE who wants to improve any headphones they have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 6, 2012 Excellent Mini Amp!
Review by
Jack K from San Luis Obispo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At first, I was a skeptic. I didn't believe this small amp could help drive my high impedance headphones. The E5 has completely exceeded my expectations. Amplifies with power and clarity. No hissing, only loud and confident sound. The selectable EQ is also surprisingly good. I most certainly recommend the E5 as a portable amp. It is portable, quality, and affordable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz