Showing 18 reviews for Kenwood KFC-1664S

Customer Review Summary for Kenwood KFC-1664S
Average Customer Rating is 4.1 out of 5 stars:
4.1
based on 18 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
56%
4 star:
.
.
22%
3 star:
.
.
11%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
11%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.1
Value
4.4
Features
3.9
Design
4.2
Usability
4.2
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
great speakers

sounds really good on factory deck. cannot go wrong with kenwood.

VS
Weak speakers.

I bought these as upgrades for my factory speakers and believe it or not the factory ones sounded better than these so I had to exchange it for a pair of MTX TN653's which also came from Sonic. Kenwood is a great product but I think it was only 35 watts RMS that's why it sounded weak. I also heard that these were entry level speakers so that might be a problem with sound enthusiasts.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
August 30, 2013 great speakers
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Charles from huron, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
sounds really good on factory deck. cannot go wrong with kenwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2013 Kenwood speaker
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Juan from Nevis, 0, Saint Kitts And Nevis
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product. excellent price, powerful speakers. I would purchase this product anytime or recommend to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2014 Great Replacement/Upgrade Speakers
Review by
ChrissyV from Cincinnati, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed these speakers in place of my factory ones in my Honda Accord. I am still using the stock head unit, but I can tell a huge difference in these versus the factory ones. The sound is much clearer and it was the best upgrade I have done to my car yet. Would highly recommend these to someone looking for a great everyday speaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 22, 2014 great!!
Review by
ag from macomb mi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great service and product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 14, 2014 great sound for little money
Review by
eddie from new tazewell, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Replaced factory speakers with kfc-1664s & Kenwood receiver-GREAT SOUND for budget minded--also GREAT service from Sonic Electronix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 14, 2014 Sounds good, looks good, works good
Review by
Williams from Corona ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Replaced factory speakers in 2007 Prius. Very good sound. Fits in perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 10, 2014 Good Deal
Review by
CB from TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Decent speakers for the money. Easy to install. I am not into loud music, but these sound good at moderate levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2014 cool
Review by
william from dracut, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Cant beat for price. Cool speakers. Screw there 10 word minimum review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 1, 2013 Great price, great sound
Review by
David from Buffalo, New York
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great lights and lows-especially like the bass coming from them, they fill my entire car with perfect pitch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2013 Not Even Close :(
Review by
Solid from Keystone Heights, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these recently as a stock replacement for my Honda Accord front door speakers. I bought a Kenwood head unit as well as a pair of Kicker 6 x 9 3 ways for the rear deck. I bought these speakers based on the specs (decibels per 1 watt, freq response and power handling). On paper, they matched the kickers and should really sound nice. SADLY.....the specs are a complete mislead (being nice). These speakers (and I have had a bunch in 51 years) are truly the worst I have ever heard. You could not even hear them (at zero fade) unless you bent way over and lowered your head and you could barely tell they were playing. When faded to the front to bring them in.....the sound was flat and lifeless. when driven, they distorted and sounded like crap. I ordered a pair of CS-65 kicker 2 ways to replace them......and they ROCK! They ROCK at zero fade, set up a great presence and image, deep tight bass and can take a lot more than my Kenwood 22wpc headunit can deliver! With the kickers front and back.....no amp is needed. It is clean and solid and deep bass too! Don't but these speakers....I am sending them back. I am truly disappointed that a product with the Kenwood name performs on this level. They are cheap, cheaply built and perform worse. The Kickers are twice the weight of these, solidly built and perform 4 levels above!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Very crisp clean sound.
Review by
John from Quincy, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Can't go wrong for the price. I bought two pair. Put two up front two in back of my standard cab f150. Paired them with a 50watt per channel head unit that has full hpf and lpf abilities tune it to perfection. Once you tune the bass outta the highs they scream.
my system:
head unit: pioneer mp3 50x4
amp: HiFonics 1400watt
sub: 600 watt mtx 12" running at 2ohm
speakers: 4 Kenwood 61/2

Metal,Rap and EDM LOVES my system Very loud, shakes rear of cab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 31, 2013 Good Value
Review by
Chris from Kansas City, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers are not bad for someone looking to replace the stock speakers in their vehicle. If you are looking to do a big install and have a high quality build then these are not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 7, 2013 Fits my 2005 Trailblazer
Review by
J R from Bellevue, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bottom Line: It's a cheap speaker that fits in our 2005 Trailblazer and does what it's asked to do in providing audio to the rear passenger seat.

The right rear speaker died in our 2005 Trailblazer. I have zero automotive/trade skills. So I needed a part that was easy to replace. Searching the web for a video helped teach me how to take the door panel off (very easy) and for imagery helped me with wiring and install.

For a 2005 Trailblazer I did not know GM had a wiring harness on their speakers. If you order this and want a wiring harness then you'll need to search for one as well. Not having ordered the harness, I cut the GM harness off and used wire nuts to affix the Kenwood wires to the car wires. The Kenwood packaging had tamper stickers over the wiring instructions printed on the box (no paperwork shows you how to wire this speaker -- it's only a picture on the back of the box). Thankfully I was able to peel those stickers off to see the wiring diagram on the box.

The stock speaker frame has a peg hold that rests on alignment pegs on the door. I had to break these small pegs off as the Kenwood frame did not line up with the pegs. There might be an adapter ring out there, but it wasn't necessary for this simple install. Break off the little pegs and mount the speaker. The speaker did not PERFECTLY line up with the car screw holes. So one side is screwed flush and the other screw is resting against a leading edge on the Kenwood frame. The install holds, but it's not an exact fit.

The speaker itself sounds comparable to the factory speakers. I'm not a audiophile. So, blasting the speakers is not something I ever do. If you just need a cheap speaker to repair a dead one, buy this pair. It gets the job done. If you're looking for something to blow your windows to pieces and rumble the car next to you, then look for a review from someone who knows something about speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 18, 2012 Good simple unit
Review by
JJ from NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good quality for the price. Works fine for my needs and has a decent sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 7, 2012 Kenwood speaker
Review by
Robert from Cozad, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These are very nice sounding and installation was smooth. Over all another great product from Sonic !! Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 24, 2012 First after-market car system.
Review by
Big O from Colton, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recommend this speakers. At first I had them wired to my factory reciever, and they actually sounded the same as my factory speakers from before, exept the lows were not as deep or defined. Then, I bought a Kenwood reciever and wow. Big difference to the overall experience. Much crisper highs, mids are alive and the lows are accurate and decent, yet overall better bass then my old factorys. I am very happy with these Kenwoods, but not untill I installed the Kenwood head unit. I finally can play my music loud without a lot of distortion. That makes me very satisfied.I am not ashamed anymore to roll down my windows now. I have no complaints so far, and I have had these for two weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2012 Very Nice!
Review by
Hunter from Salisbury, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these and have them hooked up to a kenwood headunit. These speakers sound very nice and clear. A huge upgrade over the stock bose speakers. I hear detail in my music that previously could not be heard. I recommend these for a nice low budget install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2012 Weak speakers.
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
slizenyuten from Upper Marlboro, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these as upgrades for my factory speakers and believe it or not the factory ones sounded better than these so I had to exchange it for a pair of MTX TN653's which also came from Sonic. Kenwood is a great product but I think it was only 35 watts RMS that's why it sounded weak. I also heard that these were entry level speakers so that might be a problem with sound enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz