Showing 15 reviews for Omega DS-2SQ (DS-2.1SQ)

Customer Review Summary for Omega DS-2SQ (DS-2.1SQ)
Average Customer Rating is 4.4 out of 5 stars:
4.4
based on 21 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
71%
4 star:
.
.
19%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
10%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.1
Value
4.9
Features
4.3
Design
4.5
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
December 30, 2012 Replacement part fit perfectly on 2001 Ford Escape
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Wayne from Versailles, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this door lock actuator to replace the broken one in the rear lift door of my 2001 Ford Escape SUV. It mounted perfectly into the exact same spot where the original factory actuator was mounted. Tight working space made re-connecting the linkage arms a bit tedious, but the part is essentially a drop in replacement. As other reviewers noted, this part is louder when actuated than the original part. But I found that to be a minor inconvenience. I'm just happy to get it fixed inexpensively rather than paying Ford over $100 for the complete assembly. (Ford does not sell just the lock actuator alone.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 24, 2012 Works on my Ford Escape Liftback
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Richard from Albuquerque, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this to fix the rear liftgate lock on my 2002 Ford Escape. Except for the end of the actuator plunger and the electrical connector, it was pretty much an exact fit. I was able to swap out the end for the end that came with the original actuator--it takes a bit of careful work with pliers, but it can be removed, as it just snaps in place. The wiring also needs to be dealt with. I was able to use the original connector in the vehicle's wiring harness by improvising some spade connectors. So far, the new actuator works just fine, although it seems noisier than the original. I was certainly happy to save $200 or more by replacing just the actuator than the whole lock assembly, which is what the Ford dealer sells.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2013 perfect match
Review by
Dad from Atlanta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit was a perfect match to replace the broken original on our 2001 Mazda Tribute. I did not research to get from dealer but I am sure this is a much more economical price. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 29, 2013 Perfect fit in 2001 Ford Escape
Review by
Stu from Tewksbury, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I searched Ford Escape forums extensively and eventually came across a reference to this item as an alternative to spending $200 with Ford for a rear hatch lock assembly.
It couldn't be a more perfect fit / replacement.
It's a bit of a nuisance to replace because even though the part is readily accessible it's bolted (actually torx self tapping screws) from the back. So , you have to remove the nuts for the latch assembly to make some room to reach in with a torx socket (I actually used a tip from a "driver" and a 1/4 inch wrench).
Other hint I stumbled across is that the connector / adapter on the actuator snaps off and the connector from your broken actuator will snap on (making it an exact fit).
Once installed, it functioned perfectly.
No data yet on how durable it will be (just installed it last week).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 3, 2013 Value
Review by
Escape Owner from Wauwatosa, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
exactly fit to 2002 Ford Escape tailgate door lock actuator. Even though the plug comes with doesn't fit the original socket, connector included makes connection. Works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 21, 2013 Almost direct replacement for Escape rear door locks
Review by
Smiley from Flower Mound, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This item was near identical to the factory unit in my 03 Escape. It was a smooth replacement and was absolutely painless. This unit saved me from spending over $150 at the dealer just for the parts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2013 excellent replacement for 2002 escape
Review by
jim from blair, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This actuator replacement made for a simple fix. All elements fit perfectly. Only had to splice two wires. It took about an hour but if doing it again could probably do it in 30 minutes. I probably saved $250-$350 compared to having a dealer replace the entire latch mechanism and dealers or parts stores don't sell the actuator separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2013 Works great. Tremendous savings!
Review by
bill from Lebanon, ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Product worked great, and was easy to install!
I know I saved a lot of money doing this myself and not involving the dealership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2013 Perfect part for 2001 Ford Escape back hatch
Review by
Bob from Gnome, Alaska
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This was a perfect fit for the Ford 2001 Escape back hatch locking mechanism. The plunger of the actuator snapped off and I replaced it with the Ford version. The mounting holes even lined up perfectly. I did not need to use any of the supplied hardware, because the Ford stuff fit perfectly. Originally was not in stock, but I just waited and it became available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 30, 2013 A must have...
Review by
Rock from Wentworth
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you have a Ford Escape that the rear hatch lock has stopped working, then this is the part you must order. Easy to install. Great price...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 OEM; well all most!
Review by
Greg from Lohrville, Wisconsin
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Product was identical to the one in my Ford Escape back door. Could not use Ford electrical connector so I spliced the wires together. Works like a champ and was well below the dealers’ price. Great bargain with little work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Exactly as needed.
Review by
Mazda Tribute from Shreveport, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This actuator motor was exactly what I needed to repair my Mazda Tribute's remote liftgate lock. It's now back to factory condition for a fraction of the cost of replacing the entire lock at the dealer parts price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2013 Omega DS-2SQ(DS-2.1SQ)
Review by
Jerry from Winston, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Omega DS-2SQ(DS-2.1SQ) door lock actuator works great. It was easy to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2013 Perfect retro fit for my 2003 Mazda Tribute liftgate
Review by
Chronos from Carlsbad, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Was surprised that it snapped right in place of the old one without having to jigger up a custom rod. Has been working fine since install (4 months ago).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 31, 2012 works great
Review by
Bob from Troy, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
2002 ford escape bolted right in works great much stronger than the oem one I replaced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz