Showing 20 reviews for Rockford Fosgate P165

Customer Review Summary for Rockford Fosgate P165
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 20 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
80%
4 star:
.
.
10%
3 star:
.
.
10%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.8
Features
4.6
Design
4.8
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
July 3, 2013 Great Speakers
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Geff from Carmel, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
When I got my car it had aftermarket speakers in it already (Infinity, Alpine, and Pioneer were the 3 pairs). These replaced my front door speakers in my 99 Camaro (the Infinity pair).

What I said after finishing the replacement and giving it a listen was "WOW!" These Rockford's really brought clarity and detail to my music that I hadn't been able to appreciate much before. The highs are sharp, clear and distinguished. The mids are good as well but the difference wasn't as great from old to new speakers as it was with the highs.

As always, the Sonic Electronix price was excellent and shipping was prompt.

I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking to bring clarity to their music. Actually, I would recommend anything in the Rockford Fosgate Punch line. All of my car speakers are Punches and it sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 22, 2013 Best I've Owned!!!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tim from Southaven, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Paired these with 6x9s and a Orion 600w amp the sound is amazing. Was gonna get some subs but I'm glad I saved my money. Great clear highs and just enough bump to accomodate my 6x9s. A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 30, 2014 Great Sound quality for the price.
Review by
EP2 from Memphis, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros: Price & Quality is what you expect from Rockford Fosgate.

cons: none
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2014 Rockford Fosgate P165
Review by
Behre from Northern CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
DOLLAR FOR DOLLAR THE BEST CAR AUDIO SPEAKER I HAVE OWNED. When I saw the price I expected to receive 1 speaker (instead of 2.) Mine are driven by a VIBE 200 Watt RMS amplifier. They are responsive at all frequency ranges. Well, O.K. for their size the BASS, which I love, still exceeds what I thought they would produce.

Don't hesitate to buy them unless you like spending more and getting less. Sonic, by the way is trustworthy and delivers on their--uhm delivery times. NB: I had just written a somewhat unfavorable review of a Kenwood AM-FM-CD so I call it as I 'hear' it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2014 Not that bad with some music
Review by
Tiffany from Columbus, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These Fosgates are "not that bad". Given the low sensitivity of the speakers, you will have to pump some wattage into them before they come alive. I am using a Pioneer GM-D8604 (150x2 @ 2 ohms + 300 @ 4 ohms bridged) x-over set at 100HZ. They were worthless running off the factory 16 watt x4 Pioneer head unit.

They tend to fall apart at moderate volume with speed metal (Exodus, Testament, Brick Bath), but are surprisingly good sounding with music from the likes of Yellow, and most Jazz such as Chick Corea and Elizabeth Mis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 22, 2014 Great Speakers
Review by
Tony from Tellico Plains Tenn.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great speakers ,great value .They are very clear and have a little THUMP also!Great company to deal with.!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 9, 2014 Amazing for the price.
Review by
Tyler from Bartlesville, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These things sound pretty good in my '01 civic. I have them on a P-500 set with my oscope so i know it isn't clipping. Not necicarily bassy, but very clean mids/lows and crisp highs. NOT as over-powering as my P165-S tweets, but amazing for 60$. Did start getting hot when i clipped the amp a little bit during tuning. so 60w rms is a yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 27, 2014 absolutely love these speakers !
Review by
Andrew from Seffner, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Plug and play nice and loud, got a little boom boom to them too! Crank it up unamplified and not break the bank
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 12, 2014 Great speakers for a great price
Review by
Dr.powers from ktown, Germany
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good sound quality and bass but ded need an amp to get full advantage out of them, they are definently power hungry but overall great experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 12, 2014 pretty good
Review by
Tony from Waltham, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I mainly got these to pair with my 12" Rockford sub and it sounds great. Beautiful mids and highs but the bass wasn't too good on these. Granted it is only a 6" speaker so what do you expect. If you mainly want a lot of bass from a speaker I don't really reccomend these but if you are pairing it with a sub and just need the mids and highs then these are perfect. Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 22, 2014 Great Speaker
Review by
JM from Seattle, Wa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Rockford Fosgate P165 Punch was a nice upgrade from the stock speakers in my 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander. They added nice depth with a decent amount of base, mids and highs. I use these speakers with the Stock HU. Its a big thumbs up for these speakers.... I did notice that the speakers took a little bit of time to break in but as time went on the tones just got better. Go buy them!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 14, 2014 Pretty good :)
Review by
Jacob from BC, texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been a die hard RF fan for a while and these exceeded my expectations
Honestly these can keep up with the focal A1 series
I have 4 running off a Prime400.4 which is giving roughly 80-90watts each and they take every bit of it.
Bass on these speakers suprised me sounds like i have a single 10" sub :) dont second guess these GET EM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2014 Awesome speakers
Review by
Robert from Houma, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First pair of Rockford speakers I ever had and find they can match or put away many others on the market. I. Am very pleased with them and they mount right in the 2014 Harley Batwing of my Street Glide without the need of the adapter rings. They put Harley's stock speakers to shame. It was a major job getting them in the boxes of the new batwing but worth it in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2014 great sounding speakers for the money
Review by
james from salyersville, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These speakers sound great. Couldn't find the cheaper anywhere I even checked the top sites like ebay and amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 17, 2014 Great sound, fits my '02 subaru
Review by
Subie02 from Wolcott, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great upgrade for my 2002 outback, his and lows excellent, great bass. Would recommend highly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 16, 2013 Good
Review by
Willy from Bryan, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Rockford fosgate p165 are very loud and clear. But if you're looking for speakers with a little bass this isn't your pick. A slight rattle when the bass knob is turned up a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2013 Mixed review
Review by
denny from new orleans, la
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Base not as deep as original speakers. Hard to find speaker adapter.
Good value, great design
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2013 These things crank
Review by
Tobi Gillis from LH NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The stock speakers were a joke in my new Subaru. Installed 4 of the Rockford FosgateP165. Even with the stock radio, these speakers are awesome. Best price around at Sonic. I would purchase more of these for my truck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2013 Great Sound
Review by
Steve from Whitesboro, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Replaced the stock door speakers on my 2013 FJ. The sound difference was astounding. I would recommend to anyone who needs a great speaker that wont break the bank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 26, 2012 Good value
Review by
Adam from alberta, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
bought these on the black friday deals, great speakers for the price. Rockford fosgate seems to have stellar quality with their price. I havent been able to get my full potential out of these, but even powering them at 50w rms they are plently loud and a great upgrade from stock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz