Showing 25 reviews for Pioneer DEH-80PRS

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer DEH-80PRS
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 25 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
76%
4 star:
.
.
16%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
4%
1 star:
.
.
4%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.1
Value
4.5
Features
4.6
Design
4.2
Usability
4.2
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 31, 2014 Quality for price this deck wins every time.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Whitefox from New Straitsville, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been wanting to do a sound quality build for some time now, but it seemed that every deck I looked at was overly priced and lacked features such as a detailed EQ, Digital to analog converters and a good built in crossover system such as in this deck.

I have a 1999 Honda accord ex and the stock stereo system was just ok to me. The main stereo didn't play Cd's very well as it would skip every song on a disc just for having 1 finger print on the Cd. The front speakers sounded pretty good for being stock they had a good bit of bass and mid bass and the treble from the in-dash tweeters actually sounded good and not at all harsh, but the rear 6X9 speakers didn't sound good at all they lacked in bass of which the front speakers actually hit good in comparison which is sad for 6X9's and the thing I noticed most ''which was probably do to the stock stereo'' is that when a song was playing with just 1-2 instruments in the song it would sound ok, but when the music got more complex the overall sound would lose it's composer/detail.

After I installed the DEH-80PRS and set loudness to on and did a quick EQ set I Noticed a immediate improvement in overall sound quality The stock Accord speakers actually sounded like a new system
The front speakers had more clarity and depth from them and the rear 6X9's actually came alive they sounded better on both highs and lows where before they where pretty much just bland, but now when I play music with some bass in it they hit almost like a small sub-woofer (although not as hard of course but you get the idea).

The overall features,sound quality and performance of this deck can not be beat from any other deck except for the Pioneer deh-99prs, but this deck coming around $900 less there's almost no point in getting the 99prs unless you want the best of the best, but either way this still makes the deh-80prs the 2nd best deck on the market hands down.

All in all this is a very good deck for the money the only thing I didn't like about the deh-80prs is that it still feels a little cheap to me since the face is made of plastic, but it still feels durable to me.

My future build includes adding on focal access components to the front stage and focal access 6X9's for the rear stage and later on they will be replaced by the focal Flax series and my amps will include a focal solid-4 for the mids and highs and a focal solid-1 for the subwoofer of which right now I have a old Kicker l7 15 that I will be using until I can afford a Focal sub-woofer.

If you have any questions just post them to me and I also will be setting up a YouTube account to show the system as of now and then future upgrades.

I hope I helped thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 22, 2014 great value for quality
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
DARIUS from Balbriggan, 0, Ireland
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Lots of advantages in options, incredible sound quality, nice design. This head unit is worth the money. I would recommend it to any audio enthusiast and music lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 4, 2014 supertuner
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
rodney from Warwick, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is my third super tuner over a lifetime I have never been disappointed, I have to say this one is really nice fairly simple great sound very clean looking. I didn't realize how bad my factory tundra stereo system was until I replaced all speakers and the head unit very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2014 value for audio quality
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ERIC from CALGARY, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Auto eq and auto time align gives you a good starting point. Face plate and chassis feels flimsy, will miss the old school motorized flips. Pioneer menus takes time to get use to. Has enough audio features and config for any user, highly customizable sound, takes time though. For an budget audiophile deck it can be a little more subtle (less flash) and a smaller rotary knob would be nice. In a 98 honda civic: even when a spacer is used to shim the deck out, the rotorary know still touches the bezel when its opened to insert cd or face plate removal. Made in thailand worries me a little also, regarding quality control, components used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 15, 2013 Superb!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mikhail from Bridgewater, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Nothing fancy just great sound. Lots of customization. So, it may be hard to tune-up but just spend some time with it and you will be rewarded with awesome sound, which will help to bring best out of your setup. Network mode is nirvana for sound maniacs. Frequency splitting is done by DSP not through active crossover and every bandwidth has it's own DAC. So, each signal is super clean. You need at least 5 amplifications channels but it worth it. Really. I wish to have matte finish instead of glossy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Pioneer Professional Series Rocks!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
William from Pickering, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I can"t say enough about this deck. It has a clean simple face, without all the flash, and produces the best sound I have ever heard. It is truly a great value in that Pioneer applied all their technology on this one to produce the highest quality sound ever. The best feature is the Auto EQ feature which tunes the internal enviroment of your vehicle and tunes it directly to the drivers seat (if desired). It's like having the artists playing just for you and the sound is truly the best I have ever heard. It's like hearing all your music for the first time again.
Best choice for the true audiophile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 10, 2014 Awesome!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Kent from Tampa, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Plenty of features. Great sound quality. Can change the buttons and display colors to almost anything and independently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 20, 2014 Good choice
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
dwayne p. from newark, DE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio is a great choice it made my system come alive with great clarity, I have better options than my radio before. The screen savers are a cool little feature. The overall performance of this radio is mind blowing recommended for and car or Harley Davidson like I used it for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 10, 2014 The best Sound Quality unit for the price PERIOD!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dave from Carbon county, Pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So far I have only used it in the passive mode but the time alignment and eq work great! I am very excited that I will be getting to set it up in active mode within the next month or so. There are not many head units that can do active if not any at this price. It is able to do 2 way active with sub. It is such a clean a clean unit that even at its max volume at 62 it is only at .015 THD! At around 4.75 volts. I am looking forward to many good years and good music with the 80prs! You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Quality head unit
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Adam from Iowa City, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This head unit was as simple/difficult as any other head unit to install. I put it in my 90 Nissan 300zx Twin Turbo that originally had a bose stereo. I paired it with an older hifonics nemesis nx880 amp. I am running some cdt audio components and an 8 ohm home woofer for some lows. The tuning options were great and all the extra's are pretty awesome. I'd recommend this head unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 29, 2013 Perfect Unit
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
detekk from Calgary, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I found this unit very simple to use. It has so many features to fine tune the sound to your liking like Time Alignment and various other filters and equalizers to play with and sounds very good. The bluetooth audio streaming works flawlessly with my phone and the call voice and audio quality is very good. I also really like the fact that this unit has the USB audio connections from the back to hide the cords better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 22, 2013 Good sound
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Lyne from Trois-Rvieres, PQ, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent products for a car that has great sound. love my choice !!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 9, 2013 Amazing radio
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
nb623107 from Athens, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best radio I've ever owned. Amazing audio quality, great equalizer settings and sound stage settings.Would recommend and buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 12, 2013 Excellent Unit
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Sam Watts from Brampton Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Right out of the box I loved the look of the sleek and sexy DEH-80prs. it came with all the parts in a very well packed box shipped from sonic. Works perfectly and out performs my expectations. 5v pre outs are a huge advantage and I have nothing but praise for this pricey unit. Well worth the money spent! Can't speak on behalf of durability soley because i dont want to drop it and find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 15, 2013 Excellant
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Iron from Springfield, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best head unit I have ever owned! The features this radio comes with for cost, has to be the best bang for your buck unit out there!
There may be units out there that can do a little more, but at triple the price, for those looking to step up in the quality of their sound image without breaking the bank, this is the radio for you!
Two small gripes keep it from having a perfect score, there is a production flaw that leaves what looks like a very small crack on the right side of the faceplate. It is very small but if you look close you will see it, and it takes awhile to learn how to navigate thru all the controls this head unit has. I got it down after a few days, but none the less it is a little user UNfriendly.
Past that, this headunit has given me the best "sound stage" I have ever had in a vehicle and I couldn't be happier with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 10, 2013 Amazing features for the price
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Richard from Union, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So many useful features to finely tune your music to your liking. Defintely the best single din out there right now, Pioneer doesn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 23, 2012 Nice purchase
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Josh from Pittsburgh, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am satisfied with my purchase, quality wise the unit is great. In my opinion, the look does not compare to the old Pioneer Premier units such as the 800. Overall happy though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2012 Sick!!!!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Dylan from Tracy, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the best sq deck I have purchased for the price. The options are endless as far as tuning goes. Not too fond of the interface and absolutely hate the beep. Other than that it is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2012 Simply Amazing
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Maximillian from Christchurch, 0, New Zealand
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Arrived in the morning, installed and setup with the Auto-EQ and Auto-Timing within 1 hour. Easy.

On flat the Headunit is great, but if you take 10min to setup the EQ, timing and passes it's just simply amazing how clear and how well this head unit reproduces sound. By far the best unit I've owned.

The unit is 5 star for quality reproduction and clarity, but I found the interface a little difficult at the start and it's a little underpar on the screen compared to what others have to offer. The design is a little mediocre in my opinion and this is also why it didn't score 5 star on durability. But it makes up for all this in features!

Hope this helps you all if you can find one of these to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 20, 2012 Perfect
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Nate from Oceanside ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is by the far the best deck i've purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2014 PRS-80 GREAT FOR AUDIO COMPETITION AND BEGINNERS AS WELL
Review by
JOSH BASSHEAD T from ILLINOIS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
AMAZING DECK! I AM A ADVANCED LEVEL COMPETITOR AND THIS HU WILL WITHSTAND WELL OVER 155+ DB IN THE FACTORY DASH LOCATION. THE BUILT IN EQ IS AMAZING AND GREAT FOR TUNING MIDS AND HI'S. THE RATING ON THIS HU IS WELL OVER 4V OUTPUT I CHECKED MINE AT ABOUT 4.7V. MINIMAL CLIPPING AND VERY EASY TO SCROLL THROUGH MENU OPTIONS. MULTIPLE USB PLUTS MAKE RUNNING IPOD EASY AND AUX IN FACE IS GREAT TO HAVE FOR A QUICK ROAD TRIP. BLUETOOTH IS CLEAR AND NEVER HAD PROBLEM WITH SYNC. GREAT OVERALL FOR ANY VEHICLE I RECOMMEND.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2014 Amazing quality
Review by
Mathew from Mackay,, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I researched alot before getting this head deck and in my opinion there is only one better head deck for sound quality and that's it's big over priced brother lol having three 5v RCA outputs makes a huuge difference to the sound quality and there is so much you can adjust and fine tune I've personall spent hours on end playing with the settings and with a 16 band equalizer I have it set up perfectly so it's crystal clear and no longer able to hurt my ears with any nasty highs and still pump out over 146db of sound. It wouldn't be possible for my car to sound so good without it. Buy one now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 car deck
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
patrick from concord, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I read about the sq features of this deck and was sold. Two weeks after installation, my feature to search or call up playlists stopped working. I have to use my iPod to change playlists.
I should have bought the Kenwood or alpine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2013 Nearly inoperable
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
sean from kansas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The unit came nearly inoperable out of the box. I can't use any functions as the buttons won't let me into any settings. I did some research and found that this had occurred before. Basically, I can listen to the radio and cd's. Other than that, I can't use any functions at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 14, 2013 Nice unit
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Toby from Wellington, New Zealand
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this with a 4 channel amp running 4 identical coaxial speakers. Initial sound quality was unimpressive but after running the auto eq and time delays was much more impressed. Running passive, so cannot comment on active performance or sound quality.

Sound quality is nice - though I have nothing to compare to.

Forward/back control is a rotating piece under the volume knob which is frankly annoying and feels flimsy.

Bluetooth integration is very very useful. Doesn't display any track information on the unit like some do.

Phone calling integration is pretty good. Phone book is transferred onto the unit so you can initiate calls from the deck itself. Never take your phone out of your pocket.

Works very well playing music while also doing GPS navigation all off a phone. The music mutes nicely, the voice gives the directions, then the music fades back in. Don't need the phone screen on, again can just leave it in your pocket.

Radio works well, searching and clarity are fine.

CD player no complaints, does the job.

The menus are not exactly intuitive to use, reading the manual solves that though.

Overall a very nice unit, and while expensive I am happy with it and feel the price is justified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz