Showing 31 reviews for Pyle PLDNV78i

Customer Review Summary for Pyle PLDNV78i
Average Customer Rating is 4.0 out of 5 stars:
4.0
based on 31 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.7
Value
4.4
Features
4.6
Design
4.3
Usability
3.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Amazing Deal!!

Not really one to write reviews - but, this is probably the best piece of business I have done in a while. Bought it for my 2010 VW Golf City to replace a system that I bought a few months ago. I have a friend who installs navi systems and recommended Sonic Electronix. When I first saw the Pyle - it seemed to good be too good to be true for the price. Yet, after reading reviews from various websites - the majority were very positive. I played around with it to familiarize myself with the functions and was blown away with the amount of features. I like the Bluetooth and the fact I can play all my music from my iPhone 4S wirelessly. I could even listen to Internet radio. I tried the GPS and it was extremely accurate with the voice directions. I was even able to add a 16GB SD Card filled with Mp3's and video files which it read very quickly. If you're looking for a reasonably priced system with all the features - get this one without a doubt. Also, in dealing with Sonic Electronix Customer Service Staff - friendly & professional. To finish off, the only negative for me was the lack of a Cage to fit in the dash. I modified my present one, but need to purchase the correct model as it is sticking out slightly. Reading a review on their website - SE has a pioneer model for $39.99 that should do the job.

VS
Pyle PLDNV78I

The Pyle PLDNV78i has some great features. However, it has some issues that are some what minor concerns. 1) This unit will not fit a 2006 Toyota Tundra properly, it a tight fit and it will not let the unit open to insert DVDs. 2) If the day is bright and sunny , its hard to see the screen due to the bright reflection. and 3) Once you start your vehicle, the radio will go blank and the USB wants to load. this will be for a few seconds and then the radio will go back on .

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
April 8, 2012 Amazing Deal!!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mike from Vancouver, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not really one to write reviews - but, this is probably the best piece of business I have done in a while. Bought it for my 2010 VW Golf City to replace a system that I bought a few months ago.

I have a friend who installs navi systems and recommended Sonic Electronix. When I first saw the Pyle - it seemed to good be too good to be true for the price. Yet, after reading reviews from various websites - the majority were very positive.

I played around with it to familiarize myself with the functions and was blown away with the amount of features. I like the Bluetooth and the fact I can play all my music from my iPhone 4S wirelessly. I could even listen to Internet radio. I tried the GPS and it was extremely accurate with the voice directions. I was even able to add a 16GB SD Card filled with Mp3's and video files which it read very quickly.

If you're looking for a reasonably priced system with all the features - get this one without a doubt. Also, in dealing with Sonic Electronix Customer Service Staff - friendly & professional.

To finish off, the only negative for me was the lack of a Cage to fit in the dash. I modified my present one, but need to purchase the correct model as it is sticking out slightly. Reading a review on their website - SE has a pioneer model for $39.99 that should do the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 6, 2012 Pyle
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
RW HOLLEK from MOSES LAKE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Could be more happy with audio system ,love bluetooth making me hand free to talk on my cell. Navigation is great perfect pic of road also safety fact is voice come on let u know u speedy.
Dvd player work find watch movie used sdhc card for music n/p. Ipod and flashdrive everything work great . Install it was easy also took the back up camera color is good .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 5, 2012 Pyle Audio
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
RW HOLLEK from MOSES LAKE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Bluetooth for my cell works great. Good sound, DVD picture was great. GPS navigation is ok. I hate how voice commands tell you you're over speed limit. For the price, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 15, 2014 I bought a car navigator and got a free radio too.
Review by
oldrocketdog from Apopka, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It is very nice to be able to fit modern equipment like the combo radio and GPS Pyle offers into my old car (2003 Crown Vic). The installation went OK because after wiring the cables together Pyle equipment worked fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 4, 2014 Pyle PLDNV78I
Review by
Paul from Oxnard, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Pyle PLDNV78i has some great features. However, it has some issues that are some what minor concerns. 1) This unit will not fit a 2006 Toyota Tundra properly, it a tight fit and it will not let the unit open to insert DVDs. 2) If the day is bright and sunny , its hard to see the screen due to the bright reflection. and 3) Once you start your vehicle, the radio will go blank and the USB wants to load. this will be for a few seconds and then the radio will go back on .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2014 excellent for the price
Review by
Alex from Saint Louis, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I really recommend this product. It is really worth the dollar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2014 Good price
Review by
Craig from Yeadon, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy install for me, first time doing the install. Gps works great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 14, 2014 Awesome!
Review by
solomone from Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Looks..price... Quality... Many extras... Works better than factory units I've seen and installed. Just blown away can't beat the price. This is the only site I order this type of great electronics from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 13, 2014 very great buy, thanks for fast response on replacement unit. no problem at all. many great features, took long trip and unit works flawlessly. Thanks
Review by
Solomon from ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Absolutely the best-selling unit I have owned for price. Already spread the word!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 12, 2014 A good deal for the money
Review by
jonathan from Chicago, il
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Everything works as stated. The only issue I have is if you own this unit you are not allowed to updated the gps at all. The features & accuracy are fine but you can tell it needs to be updated. The one cool thing about the gps is it has alerts for the red light cameras. This unit is slightly larger than the standard so this install is not an easy 123 install. You have to be good enough to make some modifications of your own. Hey for the money it is not a bad unit and it is better than the factory radio. Oh one more thing, you will loose your steering wheel controls if you have them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2014 7" Navigation/DVD/CD/AM-FM Touch Screen Radio
Review by
Corey from Lawton, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered the 7" Navigation/DVD/CD/AM-FM Touch Screen Radio for my wife's 2011 Nisan Titan as a Christmas present. She does a significant amount of driving (any where from 5-10 hours at a time.) and our two little girls are always with her. The navigation system has lead her easily along her routes and has made the travel experience much more pleasant versus the experience of the small 4" Tom Tom which we had suction-cupped to her windshield that always fell off. The directions are always accurate, and they keep up with the car. The DVD player works great and has an amazing picture! It really helps to keep the kids from crying the entire trip. Also, the transition from DVD back to Navigation is quick and easy. I would highly recommend this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 20, 2013 Pyle PLDNV78i
Review by
Charles from Hanover, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
What I received the first time I ordered and now the second time I ordered does not look like what's in the advertisement. Does not come with that cable of RCA plugs. The RCA plugs are built into the radio. Other than that it a great investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Love it!!
Review by
Sti from Quincy,MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good unit,good price,works well.I WILL GET ANOTHER ONE FOR MY ANOTHER CAR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 great replacement radio
Review by
Steve from marianna, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Tired of factor radios Pyle is not that expensive looks better more features and more fun to have great radio to have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 good value for the price
Review by
jazzlover from gwinnett, ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The unit has met all expectations with a few minor glitches. There is not much in the way of information in the owner/user manul and the web site does not give much more info. But over all I'm satisfied with the unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2013 Discouraged
Review by
David from Hartford, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Day after install and the GPS no longer works. Spent all day yesterday installing and with major modifications to my dash. All worked last evening and to work. Came out of work and GPS won't load. It keeps saying to put in the card. I do but nothing. I called Sonic Electronix and all they said was send it back (nothing to try) just rip it out and send it back. I contacted the maker without any positive results. Now this gift has no worth. It will cost to send it back, hole in my dash and my wife threw out the packaging so that's a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 10, 2013 Nice Unit
Review by
Hector from Ridgefield Pk, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this unit for the simple reason is the price cant be beat!!! I don't like the fact that there are no instructions but the Tech support at sonic was pretty good about helping me.

I had an issue with the back up camera install no one ever told me to run a 12v reverse line to the BACK wire coffee color wire. I had to spend 4 hours goggling it.
Here is what I found "You must wire the trigger wire to the head, the wire should be labled reverse. This is a +12v hi the head must see in order to switch on the backup cam. The trigger wire is part of my RCA cable running to the back of the truck. The trigger should be connected to the (+) reverse lamp side. When you put the car in reverse the head will see the +12v and turn on the backup cam. You still need the power for the cam also.

The wire is coffee colored and labeled (BACK) on the PLDNV78i. When the 12+ from the reverse lamp is applied to this line the display will be forced to turn on the backup cam."

I also know on a F150 you don't connect the Tele mute wire it cuts the sound off and on once you drive.

Other than that this unit ROCKS!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 25, 2013 Great Product and Great Value
Review by
Surinder from Lewisville, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Item was as described. With free shipping, the price was also unbeatable. Works great. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2013 Excellent service
Review by
phillip from Memphis, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had to finally replace the AM/FM factory base radio. Chose the Pyle double din 7". Thought about ordering without the GPS, but...for just a few dollars more, I'm glad I did. My order arrived quickly, and the packing and all components were more than adequate. I pulled out the old Ford factory unit, (had a DIN removal tool,) and installed the new unit in less than an hour. This unit is very light on installation instructions, so I'd ask for help if you've never installed a radio previously. This being said, the wiring harness and the connector I ordered, (ask your sales person), made the job easy. Unit sounds great!

I wanted the new unit installed before going on a long road trip, and had a lot of fun learning everything about the Pyle system. Yes, it is a budget Double Din, but....it's got DVD, GPS, IPOD connect, SD card interface, CD, etc. Haven't used the DVD feature yet, but the GPS worked very well and I used it everyday on my 3 week out of town visit. The sound is awesome, especially compared to the factory head unit. For the money, I think you can't go wrong. Thanks, Sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 28, 2013 Not bad
Review by
Bill from Cocoa, Fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you are thinking of putting this in a new Dodge Ram, stop. This unit does not fit without major re-construction. I had to carve away a lot of plastic at the old radio mount, then I had to cut the metal bracket inside the dash with tin snips, then, after ready for install, the outside panel opening did not allow enough clearance for the front panel to open and close without binding up. After a lot of trimming and a boogered up front panel, the unit is finally installed but now I have to come up with a creative way to cover up damage. Forget the face plate, that is useless. Some good things, the problem that everyone was having with the sound and the GPS issues while playing music is non existent with this unit. It works fine. Car logos are terrible. A lot of cars listed that I never heard of and no Dodge Ram logo at all. Wiring the unit was a piece of cake and it was my first aftermarket radio install ever. E-brake wire will ground to the unit to allow DVD play so, don't go buy anything extra to make that happen. So far I have tested the SD card play, the bluetooth, and the GPS. All three of those work so far, bluetooth set up was a bit of a task with a Galaxy note, took a couple of tries but got it. The unit is too high. The mounting kit that I got with it was sufficient enough to cover the normal width opening as this unit is not as wide as the stock unit, but the height is way off. Sound is good, but I will need to upgrade my speakers, already planned on it, as my stock speakers cannot handle the unit at too high of a volume. Touch screen is a bit troublesome, especially when looking for your car logo and background items. I still have to play with some settings, but, I'll figure it out. Overall, pretty happy with it except alterations to the vehicle. I don't think the unit would have sit as flush as I would have liked, but, for the price, it looks good in there and will look better when I can figure out how to trim it out to hide the scars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 29, 2013 try a different one
Review by
CARL from WILSON, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm not too happy with this product. The directions are basically non-existent. It has RDS so you can see the artists and song.. well it's in the smallest font possible and in a cell of the screen that's about and inch of information can be displayed on. The GPS is decent. but hard to understand the voice prompts. I have yet to figure out how to change the time on the radio portion so it will lock, it's an hour off. The time on the GPS worked out ok.. why is there 2 ? I seem to get static on all stations. I've checked all of my connections they're fine. The screen freezes up a few times a week. You can't exactly reboot it easily. It actually happens at start up..
There are several options for wall paper and as I said the GPS isn't too bad. I haven't tried the dvd player yet. I have had this unit for about 4 months. I bought this unit partially because of the back up camera option. Of course the camera didn't work, I thought it was a bad wire and tried splicing it, it was internal, of course it can't be returned now.
It was inexpensive, i guess you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 22, 2013 NEEDS BETTER INSTRUCTIONS
Review by
LES from river ridge, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price this is a great purchase. Minor glitches are caused by the translated instructions.One of the setup screens makes no sense to me whatsoever and the "manual" does not even list what it is for. It's there for some reason but I have not found it yet. Great feature is the second card slot. you can fill a card with music or audio books. Navigation is pretty good but slow to load and again no real help from the "manual"
Otherwise what do you want for the price.Cannot be used with a pre amp but sound output is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 17, 2013 ALMOST A GREAT RADIO
Review by
Adrianus from Payson, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Everything about this raido was great. The exception to that is when the gps voice come over the speakers to give directions the radio volume doubles and drowns out the gps voice. according to pyle customer support this is a design flaw and can not be fixed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 15, 2012 Best bang for the buck!!!
Review by
Alexandro from Gardena, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After lots of research, I was going to purchase a head unit from a major company for $839 however, I decided to not pass on the opportunity of purchasing the pyle, go figure $300 for navigation, ipod/iphone controller, bluetooth, etc... Lets just say my brother and I were extremely happy with the purchase I did. Everything works perfect. Bluetooth is beautiful, sounds nice and clean. Ipod/Iphone works really nice. Navigation is wonderful (can't get the voice commands to work) will try to look at it tomorrow. Getting use to it is a bit eh... but manageable. Great product for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 7, 2012 Unhappy and Returned it.
Review by
Marc from Flagstaff, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Upon receipt screen mechanism would not operate and would would not play in stereo, only mono. I think some folks get ones that are ok and work well, others like me not so lucky. I decided to return and upgrade my order to a more respectable brand... Pioneer. Of course it's twice the price. Your luck may differ than mine, but I wouldn't recommend to anyone. Customer service was helpful by phone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 6, 2012 Good Price
Review by
Jason from Wake Forest, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this unit to the low budget buyer, but no one else. The default volume is set to 10(loud) and there seems to be no way of changing it. Every time the unit powers on it startles me. While in navigation mode every time you operate the on screen menu options the unit blairs the volume in the rear speakers. Other than this the unit works fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 24, 2012 Nice
Review by
Rory from Danville, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit performed very nice for the money. I would recomend this device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2012 great buy
Review by
timothy from shelby county, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
was looking at a few dvd players i chose this one for gps an price i wound recomend this one over all very pleased an always buy from sonic best prices an fast shipping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2012 g man
Review by
gethsemane from new orleans, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
good for the price but the durability is poor and doesnt hold up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2012 ONE OF THE BEST RADIOS FOR THE PRICE
Review by
Christian from West Orange, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio has everything you need. LITERALLY! I love it. its amazing. for that price, its a steal. gps, bluetooth, touchscreen, dvd. all you need in your car. works great and installation wasn't hard at all. everything is labeled and spliced for you so all you have to do is connect the wires. Placement was a little hard, but it does get through. Definitely a great buy! no regrets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 2, 2012 Excellent So Far
Review by
Michael from Colborne, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just purchased it but so far it has been excellent. The menus are easy to navigate, it has tons of features, and sounds good. The only drawback is that it sticks out farther then my original radio, but that is just the way it is designed. The installation was relatively straightforward even without documentation except for the steering wheel controls.

Overall excellent value and I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz