Showing 17 reviews for Clarion CZ702

Customer Review Summary for Clarion CZ702
Average Customer Rating is 3.9 out of 5 stars:
3.9
based on 17 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.8
Value
4.1
Features
4.4
Design
4.1
Usability
3.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
October 16, 2014 Great value but no European tuning!
Review by
oahmed from Yangon, Myanmar
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product in terms of value with some excellent features on there. Bluetooth is flawless, no need for external mic as the internal one does the job for me. Fits perfectly in my 2009 corolla. I like the fact that it is 3 way active although I'm not using that feature for the time being. Looks wise it's great. The menu however is a bit tricky to get the hang of and I needed to refer to the manual on a couple of occasions when setting up and generally to tweak the sound.

My only gripe, and a BIG one, is that it does not tune non-US radio frequencies. This probably won't affect most people as they're going to use it locally but I've just moved overseas and I bought it thinking I could use it anywhere. MOST, if not all car stereos at this price offer the ability to switch between US and EU frequencies. I feel that at the very least this should have been mentioned in the specifications on the sonicelectronix webpage but it was not. The crutchfield page for the same item DOES state that it does not tune European frequencies as I discovered later so there really is no excuse for this crucial bit of info to be omitted by Sonic. Not happy about this at all. Can't even return it now because I'm not returning to the US any time soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 12, 2014 Good quality head unit
Review by
hinano from Ross, ND
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm satisfied with this unit. I added the small amp to push the four 6.5" two-ways, and the sub outputs feed the powered sub nicely. I was going for a mild set up, and so far, it rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 15, 2014 Great Value!
Review by
Aland from Haverhill, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This Radio works great and have a wonderful features like a bluetooth, handfree and internal mic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 30, 2014 it gets easier !!!
Review by
Michael from Liberty, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At first I didn't like it, but as I learned to use it, it has grown on me still learning all the features and liking it each day I use the head unit !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 27, 2014 Its pretty good
Review by
Kevin from Lake Stevens, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
So first impression was great price, great features. I got it all hooked up today and I get the same noise as another on here from the deck. 0 volume no noise then at 1 its there. I don't think it gets louder with the volume. Its more noticeable when the truck was off and it was quiet. With the truck running you can still hear it but not as much. As soon as the volume level is up playing music you cant hear it. Kind of sucks though. I tried every setting on the deck to see if it would help.

So the good part is the 3 way active crossovers. Very easy to use and it sounds great and I am not using the eq at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 24, 2014 Not Impressed
Review by
Braden from Eureka, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After I had the unit installed I pulled the faceplate out, pulled the protective cover off and part of the display came with it. Plus the CZ702 sounds bad for having 5v preouts. Sent it back for a refund. Thank you Sonic for the no hassle return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 28, 2014 clarion cz702
Review by
clyde from Norcross, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
total upgrade love this radio. the amp is awesome I am a huge Clarion fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 6, 2014 very nice car radio blue tooth works great. I would recommend this radio
Review by
Vanessa from Avon Park, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased the clarion after searching for a new car radio .I found that this unit had everything I needed including the blue tooth the I pod connection in the rear of the unit . Still trying to get the colors set on it other than that its great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 19, 2014 great deck
Review by
james from Lockhart, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two, one in my wife's car and mine. Will work with any system. It also is as nice looking when installed, fits any application well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2014 Great product
Review by
Tony from Las Vegas , nv
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit works well with all the options I was looking for. Built in mic works great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2013 Disappointed
Review by
Terry from Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have to agree with another reviewer here. I am extremely disappointed with the 5v pre-outs. The 5v pre-outs were the whole reason I bought this deck! I get the same hissing from all my speakers. I have to turn my amp way down to minimize the hissing and lose out on the power my speakers can handle. I plugged in another device directly to my amp to eliminate the amp making the hiss. I can turn my amp up with that and no hiss. I even pulled the deck out and ran a new RCA cable directly to my amp to test an make sure I wasn't picking up noise from a power cable. Same issue. 8-( Next summer I will pull this deck out and get a Pioneer or an Alpine. I have never had these types of issues with those brands. I didn't buy the clarion here, but wanted to review here. I will definitely buy my new deck from Sonic. Their prices rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 10, 2013 Great Product
Review by
Zicafoos from LBC, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was looking for a head unit that was/had:

Not flashy
Little or no chrome
Bluetooth built in
Color choices for illumination to match the dash
Great sound
Expandable for additional amps if I changed my mind later
Less that $200

This Clarion checks all these boxes. My truck has light tint and I have no problems reading the display in direct sunlight even with sunglasses on. I was a little concerned with the chrome ring around the volume knob but it looks ok and you can't see it at night.

The head unit sounds amazing even with stock speakers and better yet when I installed new speakers. The menu interface is a little dated as you are only able to see two lines of text but once you get the hang of it, it's ok. I messed with it till I got everything how I wanted and I will never have to touch it again so it's kinda of a non issue.

The built in microphone is decent and bluetooth pandora with an HTC One showed artist and song info on the head unit display. I read about an issue with amplifier noise/hum with this unit but I solved that but turning off the internal amplifier in the headunit.

Very very good build quality! The buttons have a nice positive action to them and don't feel like cheap plastic like on the Pioneer head unit I tried out. For the price you can't beat this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2013 amazing quality
Review by
trevor from Bolton, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This deck has been great, installed it a month and a half ago along with the sirius satellite receiver. Works and sounds great, ive got it feeding an older zapco Ag-360 four channel, and a pioneer 760W two channel. Looking to go full clarion soon though. extremely pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2013 Big on features, but not the premium product you were expecting
Review by
David from Grande Prairie, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I chose this deck out among others for two features specifically: A2DP (bluetooth stereo) support, and 5V pre-outs. Despite a laundry list of other great features, the CZ702 disappoints on these two critical fronts.

To be fair, the bluetooth problems I've seen could be attributed to my computer rather than the CZ702. A couple of different Android devices connect without issue and both music and hands-free operation are great. The laptop however, connects to the deck but after much struggle, ultimately would not output any sound to it from WIndows 7. I tried MS's bluetooth drivers as well as a couple of different versions from the vendor (Acer).

I booted the same laptop into Ubuntu and was able to get phone-quality audio through the deck, but nothing you would actually want to listen to music or even spoken word through for any length of time. Again, this could just be immature drivers from MS and Linux, and no fault of Clarion, since Android had no problem with bluetooth and the CZ702.

The second great disappointment was the 5V pre-out. If you know what this is, then you know that the whole point of it is to boost your SNR for a low-noise experience. The CZ702 may or may not output true 5V signal; I have no way to verify this. The real problem is an unmistakeable hissing coming from the speakers at all times when the deck is on. The hissing gets louder when you turn up the volume and quieter when you turn it down. It is clearly audible even with the deck volume set to 1. Turn the deck volume to 0 however, and the hissing immediately disappears. Clearly this noise is not coming from the amp (this amp has already proven to be virtually noiseless anyway). I don't mean to give the impression that this hissing overpowers the music. It doesn't, and in fact it's probably not worse than your average sub-$200 deck. The point is that for a product that boasts premium features, the CZ702 unfortunately fails to delivery where it counts.

I won't bother going on about all of the features. There are many, and for the most part they function as you would expect, but if you're somebody that values sound quality in your car audio, this deck unfortunately fails to separate itself from the pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2013 Clarion radio
Review by
Joshua from Houma, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's a good product but the amp guard comes on when I play it loud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2013 EXTREMELY UNDERRATED!
Review by
Jake from Little Hocking, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this radio on a budget, due to me not being able to afford the $300 one that I really wanted. I figured that it would be pretty shoddy in comparison due to it having so many high-end features for a low price. I WAS WRONG! This radio works phenomenally. It puts out crystal clear sound, the bluetooth works perfect, it has plenty of features for customizing what system you're setting up....It is worth WAY more than what it costs. I have it hooked up to 2 RF 10s powered by a Sound Ordnance 500w amp and an RF Prime 300.4 hooked to 4 Focal Access speakers. Everything is clear and loud. It is a bit confusing to use at first but the manual explains everything. Will recommend to anyone building a high-end system on a budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 20, 2013 CLARION CZ702
Review by
Trip559 from Fresno "THE NO", CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Was leaning towards the Sony dsx-s210x but this caught my eye. Also gas BT and the 5v preamp is deff a huge plus. Clarion always has great products and this hu is no exception!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz