Showing 21 reviews for Clarion CZ702

Summary of Customer Ratings & Reviews

Rating Distribution

5 Star
52%
4 Star
24%
3 Star
10%
2 Star
10%
1 Star
5%

Average Attribution Rating

Durability
4.0
Value
4.3
Features
4.4
Design
4.2
Usability
3.9
james

Lockhart, TX

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great deck

January 19, 2014

I have two, one in my wife's car and mine. Will work with any system. It also is as nice looking when installed, fits any application well.

41 of 74 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Jake

Little Hocking, Ohio

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
EXTREMELY UNDERRATED!

March 9, 2013

I bought this radio on a budget, due to me not being able to afford the $300 one that I really wanted. I figured that it would be pretty shoddy in comparison due to it having so many high-end features for a low price. I WAS WRONG! This radio works phenomenally. It puts out crystal clear sound, the bluetooth works perfect, it has plenty of features for customizing what system you're setting up....It is worth WAY more than what it costs. I have it hooked up to 2 RF 10s powered by a Sound Ordnance 500w amp and an RF Prime 300.4 hooked to 4 Focal Access speakers. Everything is clear and loud. It is a bit confusing to use at first but the manual explains everything. Will recommend to anyone building a high-end system on a budget.

39 of 72 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

trevor

Canada

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
amazing quality

September 19, 2013

This deck has been great, installed it a month and a half ago along with the sirius satellite receiver. Works and sounds great, ive got it feeding an older zapco Ag-360 four channel, and a pioneer 760W two channel. Looking to go full clarion soon though. extremely pleased

33 of 61 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Joshua

Houma, LA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Clarion radio

July 23, 2013

It's a good product but the amp guard comes on when I play it loud

35 of 65 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Zicafoos

LBC, CA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Product

October 10, 2013

I was looking for a head unit that was/had:

Not flashy
Little or no chrome
Bluetooth built in
Color choices for illumination to match the dash
Great sound
Expandable for additional amps if I changed my mind later
Less that $200

This Clarion checks all these boxes. My truck has light tint and I have no problems reading the display in direct sunlight even with sunglasses on. I was a little concerned with the chrome ring around the volume knob but it looks ok and you can't see it at night.

The head unit sounds amazing even with stock speakers and better yet when I installed new speakers. The menu interface is a little dated as you are only able to see two lines of text but once you get the hang of it, it's ok. I messed with it till I got everything how I wanted and I will never have to touch it again so it's kinda of a non issue.

The built in microphone is decent and bluetooth pandora with an HTC One showed artist and song info on the head unit display. I read about an issue with amplifier noise/hum with this unit but I solved that but turning off the internal amplifier in the headunit.

Very very good build quality! The buttons have a nice positive action to them and don't feel like cheap plastic like on the Pioneer head unit I tried out. For the price you can't beat this unit.

30 of 56 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

hinano

Ross, ND

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good quality head unit

September 12, 2014

I'm satisfied with this unit. I added the small amp to push the four 6.5" two-ways, and the sub outputs feed the powered sub nicely. I was going for a mild set up, and so far, it rocks!

34 of 66 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Michael

Liberty, MS

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
it gets easier !!!

June 30, 2014

At first I didn't like it, but as I learned to use it, it has grown on me still learning all the features and liking it each day I use the head unit !!

36 of 70 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Terry

Canada

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Disappointed

October 24, 2013

I have to agree with another reviewer here. I am extremely disappointed with the 5v pre-outs. The 5v pre-outs were the whole reason I bought this deck! I get the same hissing from all my speakers. I have to turn my amp way down to minimize the hissing and lose out on the power my speakers can handle. I plugged in another device directly to my amp to eliminate the amp making the hiss. I can turn my amp up with that and no hiss. I even pulled the deck out and ran a new RCA cable directly to my amp to test an make sure I wasn't picking up noise from a power cable. Same issue. 8-( Next summer I will pull this deck out and get a Pioneer or an Alpine. I have never had these types of issues with those brands. I didn't buy the clarion here, but wanted to review here. I will definitely buy my new deck from Sonic. Their prices rock!

32 of 62 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Aland

Haverhill, MA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Value!

July 15, 2014

This Radio works great and have a wonderful features like a bluetooth, handfree and internal mic.

33 of 65 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

David

Canada

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Big on features, but not the premium product you were expecting

August 13, 2013

I chose this deck out among others for two features specifically: A2DP (bluetooth stereo) support, and 5V pre-outs. Despite a laundry list of other great features, the CZ702 disappoints on these two critical fronts.

To be fair, the bluetooth problems I've seen could be attributed to my computer rather than the CZ702. A couple of different Android devices connect without issue and both music and hands-free operation are great. The laptop however, connects to the deck but after much struggle, ultimately would not output any sound to it from WIndows 7. I tried MS's bluetooth drivers as well as a couple of different versions from the vendor (Acer).

I booted the same laptop into Ubuntu and was able to get phone-quality audio through the deck, but nothing you would actually want to listen to music or even spoken word through for any length of time. Again, this could just be immature drivers from MS and Linux, and no fault of Clarion, since Android had no problem with bluetooth and the CZ702.

The second great disappointment was the 5V pre-out. If you know what this is, then you know that the whole point of it is to boost your SNR for a low-noise experience. The CZ702 may or may not output true 5V signal; I have no way to verify this. The real problem is an unmistakeable hissing coming from the speakers at all times when the deck is on. The hissing gets louder when you turn up the volume and quieter when you turn it down. It is clearly audible even with the deck volume set to 1. Turn the deck volume to 0 however, and the hissing immediately disappears. Clearly this noise is not coming from the amp (this amp has already proven to be virtually noiseless anyway). I don't mean to give the impression that this hissing overpowers the music. It doesn't, and in fact it's probably not worse than your average sub-$200 deck. The point is that for a product that boasts premium features, the CZ702 unfortunately fails to delivery where it counts.

I won't bother going on about all of the features. There are many, and for the most part they function as you would expect, but if you're somebody that values sound quality in your car audio, this deck unfortunately fails to separate itself from the pack.

30 of 60 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Keith

Riverside, CA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent Product, Excellent Value!

January 10, 2015

I bought this for my daughter's 2000 Volvo so she could have hands free calling mostly. I've tried other types of hands free devices that don't work as well. The radio is very nice as it will sync to your smart phone, it advertises Iphone but I synced my Samsung S4 just fine. Plays your Pandora or any music you have on your phone. It installs very easily with a standard harness adapter sold separately. Delivery was fast, didn't expect that when I ordered it.

29 of 59 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Trip559

Fresno "THE NO", CA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
CLARION CZ702

February 20, 2013

Was leaning towards the Sony dsx-s210x but this caught my eye. Also gas BT and the 5v preamp is deff a huge plus. Clarion always has great products and this hu is no exception!!

33 of 67 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Braden

Eureka, CA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not Impressed

June 24, 2014

After I had the unit installed I pulled the faceplate out, pulled the protective cover off and part of the display came with it. Plus the CZ702 sounds bad for having 5v preouts. Sent it back for a refund. Thank you Sonic for the no hassle return.

29 of 60 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

clyde

Norcross, GA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
clarion cz702

May 28, 2014

total upgrade love this radio. the amp is awesome I am a huge Clarion fan

34 of 70 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Vanessa

Avon Park, FL

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
very nice car radio blue tooth works great. I would recommend this radio

March 6, 2014

I purchased the clarion after searching for a new car radio .I found that this unit had everything I needed including the blue tooth the I pod connection in the rear of the unit . Still trying to get the colors set on it other than that its great.

35 of 72 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

jdogg

royston ga

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
gonna get one soon

March 10, 2015

I had a clarion cz500 I loved it was awesome so clear

13 of 30 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Roger

Huger, SC

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Radio!!!

January 17, 2015

Worked perfectly with what I wanted to do in my truck. I am now considering replacing my radio in our motor home with the same unit. Use it with my iPod and love it.

34 of 72 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Mary

Canada

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great Value !!!

November 4, 2014

This is a really good radio at a really good price !!!

27 of 59 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Tony

Las Vegas , nv

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great product

January 5, 2014

This unit works well with all the options I was looking for. Built in mic works great.

33 of 71 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

Kevin

Lake Stevens, WA

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its pretty good

June 27, 2014

So first impression was great price, great features. I got it all hooked up today and I get the same noise as another on here from the deck. 0 volume no noise then at 1 its there. I don't think it gets louder with the volume. Its more noticeable when the truck was off and it was quiet. With the truck running you can still hear it but not as much. As soon as the volume level is up playing music you cant hear it. Kind of sucks though. I tried every setting on the deck to see if it would help.

So the good part is the 3 way active crossovers. Very easy to use and it sounds great and I am not using the eq at all.

31 of 68 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?

oahmed

Myanmar

Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great value but no European tuning!

October 16, 2014

Great product in terms of value with some excellent features on there. Bluetooth is flawless, no need for external mic as the internal one does the job for me. Fits perfectly in my 2009 corolla. I like the fact that it is 3 way active although I'm not using that feature for the time being. Looks wise it's great. The menu however is a bit tricky to get the hang of and I needed to refer to the manual on a couple of occasions when setting up and generally to tweak the sound.

My only gripe, and a BIG one, is that it does not tune non-US radio frequencies. This probably won't affect most people as they're going to use it locally but I've just moved overseas and I bought it thinking I could use it anywhere. MOST, if not all car stereos at this price offer the ability to switch between US and EU frequencies. I feel that at the very least this should have been mentioned in the specifications on the sonicelectronix webpage but it was not. The crutchfield page for the same item DOES state that it does not tune European frequencies as I discovered later so there really is no excuse for this crucial bit of info to be omitted by Sonic. Not happy about this at all. Can't even return it now because I'm not returning to the US any time soon!

25 of 60 found this helpful

Was this review helpful to you?