Showing 13 reviews for Clarion NX702

Customer Review Summary for Clarion NX702
Average Customer Rating is 3.8 out of 5 stars:
3.8
based on 13 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
46%
4 star:
.
.
23%
3 star:
.
.
15%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
15%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
3.8
Value
4.0
Features
4.5
Design
4.4
Usability
3.9
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
Clarion NX702

The touch screen face is great, there are so many features to this Nav radio. You can set the viewing angle. Once you have setup your phone, as soon as you get in the car it automatically links itself to the Bluetooth. The Navigation is spot on, Tells you when a speed limit zone has decreased or increased. Tells you way before your next turn is due. I also have an external mic connected for phone, and talking to the nav, you can voice tell it to find someplace. The Sirius adapter I got, works flawlessly. only Con I can think of is don't leave the Ipod USB cable plugged in, it will drain your battery. I also have a rear vision camera connected, great for backing up in tight spots. you can change the operator buttons to match your vehicles standard dash panel light colors, or just from a wide selection of colors. This radio was more than I expected it to be, and far less in price than others that I researched.

VS
Junk

The unit came in a used X5. The date that it was inspected is 6/12. The Bluetooth does not function. The touch screen is too sensitive. Always going back and forth from the Nav to the menu. After accidentally pushing the Nav button, I then wait 15 secs for it to come up only to then try and get out of it to get back to the menu. I lost volume out of the unit yesterday. The screen states "no signal" I can see the artist info and song info when in Sirius or on an FM station; but no sound. CD's want play either now. Ohhhh I haven't even mention the ridiculous "Tech support" from Clarion... THERE ISN'T ANY. Why in the world would a brand name company like Clarion sell such a cutting edge product and not have a tech support to talk too? Lastly, upon trying to figure out why this product quit, I pulled the unit our of the car to find a hack of an install job. I went back to Clarions website to look for a schematic... not to be found. I would call Tech support... THERE ISN'T ANY. I will be replacing this unit... but not from Clarion. Just simply google NX702 and see what little info you get. That should tell you something. This unit SUCKS.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
December 1, 2013 Junk
Review by
Robes from Midland, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The unit came in a used X5. The date that it was inspected is 6/12. The Bluetooth does not function. The touch screen is too sensitive. Always going back and forth from the Nav to the menu. After accidentally pushing the Nav button, I then wait 15 secs for it to come up only to then try and get out of it to get back to the menu.
I lost volume out of the unit yesterday. The screen states "no signal" I can see the artist info and song info when in Sirius or on an FM station; but no sound. CD's want play either now.
Ohhhh I haven't even mention the ridiculous "Tech support" from Clarion... THERE ISN'T ANY. Why in the world would a brand name company like Clarion sell such a cutting edge product and not have a tech support to talk too?
Lastly, upon trying to figure out why this product quit, I pulled the unit our of the car to find a hack of an install job. I went back to Clarions website to look for a schematic... not to be found. I would call Tech support... THERE ISN'T ANY.
I will be replacing this unit... but not from Clarion. Just simply google NX702 and see what little info you get. That should tell you something. This unit SUCKS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 14, 2013 JUNK, JUNK & JUNK
Review by
DD from Redwood City, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this NX702 thinking I would combine the mess of electronics in my truck. Mainly though was the radio and nav system. Well the nav system gave up the ghost 4 days ago (the day I needed it most), volume bar quits working after about 20 minutes. So I have to pull over turn the engine off and back on so I can adjust the volume. Very convenient. The front panel sticks in the 1/2 closed position for no apparent reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Clarion NX702
Review by
William from Sturgis, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The touch screen face is great, there are so many features to this Nav radio. You can set the viewing angle. Once you have setup your phone, as soon as you get in the car it automatically links itself to the Bluetooth. The Navigation is spot on, Tells you when a speed limit zone has decreased or increased. Tells you way before your next turn is due. I also have an external mic connected for phone, and talking to the nav, you can voice tell it to find someplace. The Sirius adapter I got, works flawlessly. only Con I can think of is don't leave the Ipod USB cable plugged in, it will drain your battery. I also have a rear vision camera connected, great for backing up in tight spots. you can change the operator buttons to match your vehicles standard dash panel light colors, or just from a wide selection of colors. This radio was more than I expected it to be, and far less in price than others that I researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 14, 2013 A working unit is a great piece.
Review by
William from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First head unit arrived and wouldn't recognize map license files for NAV. Ended up pulling and returning for another of same model. With a working unit and 6 months or so of use, I have to say I am overall pleased with the NX702.

NAV: Pros-Great image quality, and TBT directions are easy to follow. POI database seems very comprehensive. Cons-So many options, it takes time to get it set up to your liking.

BT: Primary device phone and media connections are stable. Both have great SQ. Internal mic has presented no problems. Cons- If you stream from another device, or media player on primary device the HU may not present proper music metadata on display.

HDRadio:Pros- Many user features for finding your favorite stations. Cons-Basic functions may not be obviously apparent. Takes a little time to learn.

CD/DVD: Pros-Great picture and sound. Lots of user options. Cons- None so far

BU Camera- Pro-Switches quickly to on screen when wired to reverse circuit of vehicle. Con-THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN, When vehicle is put in reverse, volume controls do not respond to inputs. If the unit has just booted up, and audio playback hasn't begun, it will play at last volume level selected. Basically, you can get blasted from the stereo audio, and can't turn it down until you are out of reverse gear. Very distracting/aggravating when trying to back up.

Pandora- I BT stream through my Android phone. I believe to take advantage of this feature you must use an iPhone with hard cable connection.

IPhone/Pod- I'm an Android user

Sirius/XM- Still have a Starmate 4(external receiver) that I used with factory HU. Using ANT switch/FM Modulator for input.

SD Card: I've tried to load picture files for wallpapers. They show as options, but don't display as wallpaper. Haven't tried to read music files from card.

Flash Drive: Played MP3 files just fine.

General SQ: It's a Clarion. You have lots of different user controls to fine tune the sound in your vehicle.

Display Quality: Nice and bright during the day. Great resolution. Screen doesn't show smudges very easily.

Ease of Installation. It's a full featured DD head unit. There are a lot of connections to be made if you're taking advantage of all the available I/O's. Otherwise, mine went in without anything out of the ordinary.

Overall: Even with the hassle of having to pull/return a defective unit, I'd buy this unit again. What you get for the price can't be beat at this time. User inputs are fairly intuitive, and there's lots of custom sound/display options.

There is a YT review from back in Aug 12. FWIW, the author made a couple hasty assumptions. The display tile layout can not be re-arranged. I wish it was, as that would help make using steering wheel controls more predictive. Individual volume levels can only be adjusted when using that particular function(ie Phone volume when in midst of phone call, NAV volume when voice guidance is actually occurring, music volume when music audio is playing). I wish these could be individually set relative to each other, and turning the main volume up or down would adjust all at the same proportion, but that's not the case. These are picky little things, but could be turned into functional improvements with a firmware update.

CLARION, FIX THE VOLUME ADJUSTMENT BUG WHEN IN REVERSE PLEASE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 15, 2013 Clarion NX702
Review by
Billy from Chandler, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First NX702 was a LEMON and had to be returned for a new one. USB connection would work off and on. New one works great so far. Sent the first one in to Sonic for repair/replacement and they sent me a new radio! Thx!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 5, 2013 OVERKILL!!
Review by
Randy from Bronx, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm gonna keep it short. If this unit was twice as much as it is with half the features it has it still would be a great purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 21, 2013 Be Aware
Review by
Caterpillar Doc from Houston, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love every feature on this head unit but....

pros: great look, fairly easy to use, nvigation through the menus is quick, the sound is amazing, gps is the best feature by far.

cons: hd radio cuts in and out, ipod surfing is extremely slow (compared to sony single din head unit) bluetooth is picky.

now i live in houston and i figured the hd radio would be amazing but it constantly cuts into hd and out into normal radio definition and it causes volume and unsatisfying quality changes of the music if you are a music person.

the bluetooth is phone specific!!!!!! pay look to see if your phone is compatible because i dropped alot of money for this thing and i cant stream music i can only make calls, also it doesnt auto connect for my phone. (HTC evo 4glte sprint)

all i have ever owned is sony single din head units and every feature they have has worked like they say and beyond. i decided to get this one because it appeared to be perfect, but its very far from it.

2008 siverado 2500
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 6, 2013 Exellent Unit
Review by
Chino 31 from Miami Fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Superb sound,acurate gps.really nice look .easy of use,i deninitly recomend this unit ..enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 6, 2013 Awesome unit
Review by
Chino 31 from Miami Fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i definitly recomend this unit..is really fast ,exellent sound ,the gps is really acurate. god look.for sure it is one of the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 3, 2013 Good value, not perfect
Review by
Dan from Detroit, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have only had this unit for about a week and haven't had a chance to figure out all the nuances in detail yet. However so far, I am pleased with this purchase.

Pros:Great sound, Many features, Reasonably easy to use, GPS seems to be both accurate and up to date, 4vp-p preamp, touchscreen works well, Good looks

Cons:Not really any cons, however there are a few things I would have done differently and/or add to the software. 4 stars on design

Overall the NX702 is a good value and should be considered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 6, 2012 Great Unit
Review by
Dolce70 from Brampton, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's great unit it's easy to use i recommended to anybody because has a lot of information On the GPS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 17, 2012 Know before you buy
Review by
Steven from Hickory, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is very hard to use. The manuals are on a disk and that makes it hard to setup the nx702 which is in your dash. The biggest problem I have is that some of the features will work sometimes and sometimes they don't look very nice but I need something that works all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 10, 2012 great navi
Review by
rashad from port st lucie,fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love it easy to use, great sound, recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz