Showing 22 reviews for Sony MDR-DS6500

Customer Review Summary for Sony MDR-DS6500
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 22 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
68%
4 star:
.
.
27%
3 star:
.
.
5%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.4
Features
4.5
Design
4.6
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 16, 2014 Sony MDR-DS6500
Review by
Jeff from Bentley, Mi.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
sound is great can't walk as far as 30 feet w/o losing sound so that is my only disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 8, 2014 Excellent Quality
Review by
Steve from Austin, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The sound is exceptional. I bought them for my husband and I am extremely happy with my choice. He likes the fact you can walk around and not miss hearing the TV. I like that I don't have to listen to it all the time! He likes them very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2014 Great value
Review by
perth from Perth, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Thank you for the fantastic product, good value, and prompt delivery. I'm very happy and recommending this product to every one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2014 Awesome wireless headphones
Review by
Kym from Tampa, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Long lasting battery; clear reception even when I go to another room; comfortable for hours. I've tried others; this is the best. And the price is very reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2014 Disappointing
Review by
Susan from Tilton, NH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Purchased these for my elderly mother who is hearing impaired.
Should have paid more attention to the customer reviews, at least a couple indicated that they aren't loud enough for the hearing impaired, and that's what we discovered.

Additionally, the on-off button is difficult to use, my mother couldn't manage it. And, you really need to take the headphones off to adjust the volume.

Have worn them myself in order to mute the TV. Thought the sound was pretty good, but there is echo.

And, they became very uncomfortable half way through a movie.

So, for my purposes, this was not a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2014 Great Wireless Headset
Review by
Ron from Powder Springs, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great surround sound and does a good job of keeping out the outside noise. You can either mute your TV or if someone else is also watching, they can control the TV volume and you can independently control the headset volume. Don't forget get to remove the round protective cap on the optical input plug before trying to plug into the TV as it looks like part of the plug. Sonic had the best prices at the time on line and much less than Best Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 6, 2013 Listen Quietly
Review by
GHDuffer from Gig Harbor, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these because my spouse didn't want to listen to what I watch & wasn't shy about telling me so. Also, I have a Sony HDTV & speakers & these headphones mesh well with them. It works fine & are easy to use despite their size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 30, 2013 Great Sound
Review by
Ritchie from Huntington, WV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very good quality sound!! I don't hear well and it has opened my world back up to listening to tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 22, 2013 Movies and games sounding better than ever - wirelessly
Review by
Bpo217 from Sherman Oaks, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
High quality sound.
Gaming surround is perfect. Just as good as the top of the line corded headsets.
It is the most comfortable pair of headphones I have ever worn.
Incredibly adjustable.
Hours of wear, still comfortable.
Oh yeah, it does all this, wirelessly... Pretty sure it's worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 11, 2013 Great Sound
Review by
Greg from Eagle River, AK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These Sony headphones have great sound quality. They're comfortable, they were easy to connect to my HDTV, and now I don't have to continuously ask my wife about who says what when watching movies. I had considered Sennheiser headphones (I believe the RS 170 if memory serves me correctly) but decided against it after I had read reviews indicating that there is a noticeable lag between the audio and video. I have noticed no such issue with the Sony headphones. Although I've owned these headphones for about a month, I hope they have a decent service life. This also was my first purchase from Sonic Electronix and I was impressed with their price and service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2013 is expensive but worth the price
Review by
Robert from Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
it has great sound, a Little bulky, but for surround Tv perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Great Sound- Great Quality !
Review by
Jhaley from Hays, Kansas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I always need the volume loud when we watch TV and it drives my wife crazy. These headphones allow me to adust the audio to my comfort level, while allowing my wife to listen at her level. They fit great, very comfortable, easy to use, easy to hook up. I can even get up and walk into the kitchen to get a snack while still listening! Digital audio sound is great! Surround sounds great ! I would suggest these to anybody !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 2, 2013 heaven sent
Review by
peterforpats from bronson,fl.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
these headphones have saved my marriage. they sound absolutely fantastic and are comfortable to wear for long periods. by using an optical digital cable from my direct tv box I receive crisp, clear, non-hissing sound. i don't have to turn up the tv any time of day to actually hear and enjoy any show or movie I want. to me they sound as good as some wired headphones I have used in the past- now I can walk outside, go into the kitchen or into the computer room without missing a sound. best electronics purchase I have made in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 20, 2013 MDR-DS6500 Amazing Performance!!!
Review by
Jerry K from Broomfield, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Absolutely love these wireless headphones. This is the fourth pair of wireless headphones I've owned and will be my last! The offerings from other manufacturers are certainly lower cost (I tried JVC, Rocketfish, and low-end Sony RF models), but performance varies from poor to completely unreliable. The Sony MDR-DS6500 is crystal clear, acoustically near perfect, exceptional battery life, phenomenal outside noise cancellation, and flawlessly reliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 6, 2013 Top Notch Product
Review by
Geoerge from Lantana, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
With my hearing lose I needed something to keep from bothering the neighbors when I watch TV or listen to music. These headphones are great. They're easy to use, turn off and recharge automatically when you put them on the charger stand and have a great sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 15, 2013 Great Sound
Review by
Vern from Kelowna, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These cordless headphones are the best sounding and most comfortable headphones I have owned, cordless or otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 13, 2013 Pure Enjoyment
Review by
Richard from West Springfield, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Comfortable, easy to wear, great sound. Best when TV is on mute!(Small delay in sound creates sort of an echo. No more complaints from my wife that the sound on the TV is too loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 23, 2013 very good
Review by
Andy from Windsor, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works well: comfortable, great sound without over boosted bass, good surround effect, no hiss or spurious noise.
Only wish that batteries were accessible in case of failure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 1, 2013 great sound
Review by
BitterrootBull from Montana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sound and very comfortable. My husband uses these for hours each day and after 3 months still loves them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 11, 2013 These Are Just Fantastic
Review by
Mickey from Chicagoland, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've gone through two of a less expensive competitor's product and they simply broke. Their fragility was confirmed when the 2nd unit broke in the same place, right where the right headphone connects to the headband. So I took the gamble on this pricier unit, and am more than happy. Not only are they very durable, but the sound is amazingly clear in all 5 channels, but the ability to easily switch from digital to analog is perfect for my needs. I also love that by simply laying the headset back on its cradle, it starts recharging it, AND turns it off. If you are looking for a great surround sound wireless headset, look no further. You've found the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 1, 2012 MDR-DS6500 - my experiences
Review by
Ray from Adelaide, SA, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Having owned the Sony product for some 6 months now I would recommend the unit to anyone thinking of buying it. I live in an apartment and cannot play load music, I have connected the Sony headphone system to my DVD player via the optical link and the results have been great. Certainly as good as one can expect from any headphone system. Setup, operating range and ease of use are all good. I am a genuine buyer and this an unbiased view of the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 25, 2012 Excellent Sound Clarity, Very Full
Review by
Jason from Chesapeake, Va
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These headphones would be a perfect 5 out of 5 if they were a little less expensive. That is a draw back. I have absolutely no complaints about the sound quality of them. The sound and the functionality of these are awesome. They even look like they are more expensive. In comparison to alot of other headphones that cost more,. I think these look much nicer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz