Showing 21 reviews for Kenwood KDC-BT852HD

Customer Review Summary for Kenwood KDC-BT852HD
Average Customer Rating is 4.4 out of 5 stars:
4.4
based on 21 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
57%
4 star:
.
.
24%
3 star:
.
.
19%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.3
Value
4.5
Features
4.6
Design
4.5
Usability
3.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
August 4, 2012 Very Satisfied
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Steve from North Bend, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall, I give it an A-. The sound quality is awesome, it looks great (you can pick the backlighting color to suit your car, or let it cycle through all the colors continuously). Considering this is a DIN1, the display gives and adequate amount of info, yet is still large enough that it can be read easy. It's loaded with features (SiriusXM, HD radio, USB, bluetooth, Ipod). I use just about all of the features on this deck.
--SiriusXM--I bought the $70 satellite kit. Installation was super easy, the sound is decent, what else is there to say? Grade-A
--HD radio--This is my first deck with HD Radio, WOW! Tons more stations to choose from, 1000% beter sound quality and reception. By far the best feature of this deck Grade A+ (if I could give it a higher grade,I would).
--Bluetooth--I have a bluetooth cell phone adapter in my other car, and I love it (factory Pioneer, in a Chevy). The one in this deck has a few more features, like receiveing texts that read out on the display, and auto reply "I'm driving right now. I will review your message shortly" (or something to that effect). The included microphone kind of sucks. The callers that I talk to say it sounds horrible on their end, like I'm in a tunnel. I installed it per the instructions, just behind the steering wheel. I think there is an adjustment procedure, but I haven't done it yet. It also can stream from your Ipod, android, etc. via bluetooth. This was easy enough to do, but the sound quality is substandard, so I don't see it's usefullness. Grade-B
--Ipod. Works well, sounds great, but the search tool kinda sucks. It's similar to the Pioneer that my son has, which makes you scroll through all of the songs in your playlist to find what your'e after, so if you have a lot of songs stored it can be cumbersome. I haven't used the tagging feature, so I can't comment. Grade-A
--USB. pretty much the same as the Ipod. Grade-A
Gripes--My biggest gripe is the station tuner set up. You have to set up how you want to tune stations. You make it so that your up/down controls "seek" to the next staion, or "seek" to your next preselected favorite, or "manually" tune up one Khz at a time. I REALLY wish all of those functons could be done, whenever I liked, without going into the set up menu. You should be able to push the up button to manually go up 1 Khz, push and hold the up button to seek to the next station, and push some other button to seek to the next preset favorite. I bet Kenwood could do this with just a software change, and it wouldn't cost them a cent.
I have this set up with my factory steering wheel controls, via the Axxess ASWC controler (purchased seperately). It works awesome. Installation is easy (about the same as any other deck I've installed). The value for $200.00 just can't be beat. I would purchase again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2012 kenwood #1
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Clint from Hope, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best kenwood head unit made and so many new features. I love it, strongly recommend and easy to use!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 1, 2013 Kenwood kdc-bt852hd radio review
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Vincent from Virginia Beach, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio does everything I'd ever want. Great sound, easy to use considering all of its features. I couldn't be happier. The one thing I would add if I were the designer would be to add a mute button but that is very minor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2013 Excellent Stereo
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
smitz327 from Marion IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just finished in stalling in my 2002 Grand Prix GTP along with the Axxess ASWC-1. The stereo sounds great with the Bose speakers I have in the car and the interface is easy to learn as long as you look over the manual a little. I have no problems going through the menus on the stereo. The Blue tooth streaming works great with my iPhone 4 and I use the XM radio, Pandora, and iHeart radio AP for listening. The Blue tooth phone works great and I sound good when talking to my wife on the cell. I installed the microphone on the sun visor. This is my 3rd Kenwood car stereo I haven't had any problems with them. The steering wheel control, adaptor was a easy hook up since the Kenwood already has a wire designated for it. This is one excellent sounding system. I highly recommend this stereo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 15, 2012 Nice, but probably should have got the 752
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
raylo from Maryland
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just installed this yesterday so I am still learning but have some initial thoughts. This is a highly capable unit and packs a lot of technology into a small package. That is both good and bad.

Pros:
Plenty of power (for me); lots of customization with colors, EQ settings, etc; iPod, HD, BT streaming, Pandora, Sirius-XM... lots of ways to get you music going; good BT phone quality and function.

Cons:
Mostly ergonomics. All the pros mentioned above stuffed into a single DIN needs great ergonomics and this is very difficult to achieve. First this radio does not have dedicated radio buttons. Everything, including radio station selection is menu driven via the single control knob. It works, but there is going to be a learning curve to get good enough to do much, like even selecting stations, whilst driving. You can't just feel for the buttons and cycle through them with your eyes on the road.

Also, the other small function buttons surrounding the main control knob are just that... small. For someing like me with big hands it is difficult to say, hit only the escape/back button w/o also hitting something else.

With the limited space for dedicated buttons there are some less than obvious sequences and button combinations needed to say, answer or reject a call waiting. I am not sure I am even going to worry ablout trying to learn those.

Also, the display is not highly visible in bright daylight. You can work around this by changing the color. Some are much better in daylight than others.

As for durability, I can't say much but bring your attention back to the single control knob that you need for everything. If that breaks you don't just lose a couple of radio station presets, your radio will be a paperweight.

So if I had it to do again i would probably get the BT752.

But it sounds great and i am sure I'll get better at operating it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 26, 2013 Excellent Car Stereo
Review by
Caino from Kansas City MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love the bluetooth audio! There is so much you can do with this stereo. I am very pleased!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 15, 2013 Great Unit
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mark from Pensacola, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've installed three of these units. I was so pleased with the one I installed in my brother's truck, I got one for my son's vehicle, and another for a new truck that I recently purchased. The remote microphone works well; those I'm talking to don't know I'm talking to them from the vehicle. The handy search button changes function depending on what source you are listening to. For example, if you are listening to your iPod, the search button allows you to look through your iPod content. If you press it when listening to Pandora, it allows you to scroll through your stations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 26, 2013 Good features, but clumsy to use and some problems with USB stick
Review by
Derek from Boulder, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Despite all the negatives that follow, I quite like this unit. I've gotten used to its quirks, and learned to live without working USB.

The biggest problem I encountered with this unit is that I just can't get the USB port to reliably play music off a 32GB USB stick. It sees about 10% of the music, seemingly at random, and skips right over the rest. It worked fine earlier when I tried a smaller stick -- 8GB I think it was. I know by 32GB USB stick is not defective, because it works flawlessly in other players. All the files are simple mp3s, no fancy formats, and all the name length restrictions are complied with.

The other problem is that it has a highly unintuitive user interface. The first time I used it, I couldn't even find the off switch, let alone figure out the music controls. The manual solved that problem, but then when my wife borrowed the car, same problem. Operating a car stereo just shouldn't be this difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 13, 2013 Awesome radio
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Cowboy Red from Pleasant Grove, Utah
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio can and will do it all you want at a good price. I have it in an over-the-road Kenworth truck. It hardly skips the cd and has all the bell and whistles you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2013 Almost a great head unit
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Joe plumber from Any town ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Menus are convoluted and non intuitive at best. Support is nonexistent from kenwood because they say Internet retailers are not authorized dealers. They will never put out a software upgrade for the single din head units.

In all fairness sound quality was spectacular once I got it dialed in. The rest that went along with it just soured me on this manufacturer. There are other similar head units out there that have 5 band parametric eqs for the same money. 3 is ok but 5 is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Very nice headunit
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Scott from Victoria, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Definitely one of the best looking headunits in this price range. Comes with all the RCA pre outputs, USB input, AUX input, 22 watts RMS x 4; can't complain. It does take some getting used to as the buttons are few and everything is controlled with one knob; it does however come with a remote and I've just gotten used to using that instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2013 Good value
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Buy the pound from Monroe Township, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like this radio and all it's features. My only gripe is that everything is controlled basically by one knob. There is a learning curve to figure out how to use this radio. I installed this in my truck which doesn't have the smoothest ride, it gets a little challenging to work that knob when you are moving. I'm sure it a car it would be a lot easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2013 Excellent
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Greg from Marion, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just finished in stalling in my 2002 Grand Prix GTP along with the Axxess ASWC-1. The stereo sounds great with the Bose speakers I have in the car and the interface is easy to learn as long as you look over the manual a little. I have no problems going through the menus on the stereo. The Blue tooth streaming works great with my iPhone 4 and I use the XM radio, Pandora, and iHeart radio AP for listening. The Blue tooth phone works great and I sound good when talking to my wife on the cell. I installed the microphone on the sun visor. This is my 3rd Kenwood car stereo I haven't had any problems with them but if you plan on buying another stereo with blue tooth, just make sure it comes with a MIC because internal MIC's are worthless and you won't sound good on the phone. The steering wheel control, adaptor was a easy hook up since the Kenwood already has a wire designated for it. Just as a note, I use a free GPS app on my iPhone and it gives you step by step and street names and even speaks over the music either from Pandora or HD Radio. Saves allot of money if you plan on buying a double din with GPS. I highly recommend this stereo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 4, 2013 Great Product for the Price
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Richard from Omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This Kenwood receiver does a great job with radio, CD and Bluetooth inputs in my '05 Sonata.

I mainly bought this product to be able to use Bluetooth from my android and after some quick setup I was easily sending signals to the receiver from my phone. One downfall is that sometimes the sync between the phone and device gets screwed up and I need to restart the phone to get things working again. Another annoyance is that connecting via USB was not very successful (I think it is more geared towards iPhones).

But overall this receiver is a great product for not much money at all, especially considering the HD radio receiver and ability to use it for Bluetooth calls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2013 a all around decent radio
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
theace from marland
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bluetooth works well for audio streaming and for hands free. I got this cause i thought it would work with my samsung gs3. Well through the usb, no. But through bt it works flawless. Using as a tuner works well if not better than factory. Although i couldn't plug my gs3 in via usb it works even better through bt! =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 21, 2012 Kenwood KDC-BT852HD
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Christy from Langley, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Overall I love this stereo, but especially the built in blue-tooth. I can program phone numbers into the stereo and make calls without ever having to touch my phone. Playing songs from my iphone wirelessly is pretty awesome too. Figuring out how to access certain menus and all of the different controls was not the easiest, and once in a while it will shut off and restart while I am driving, but the music keeps playing so I am still happy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 6, 2012 Kenwood KDC-BT852HD
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jacob from Tukwila, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had built in blue tooth, HD radio and comes with a mic. Syncs to Pandora and can skip songs from head unit or controller. Lots of features for a low low price!

Cons, slow sync to phone and sometimes needs to restart phone/head unit for proper sync. Have a mazda 3 with stock Bluetooth that worked much faster and never a problem, so kind of lame this is a step down for speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2013 Great features
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Steve from Boise, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This stereo has all the features. The hands free Bluetooth works great. Tuning is a little odd but you get used to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 28, 2013 Great sound quality BUT...
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Chris from Oak View, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Kenwood has always been a favorite of mine, have had many Kenwood product's over the years.

Pros:
Sound quality is great, super clean, lots of sound adjustments, bass, treble, mids, loudness and bass boost are nice features. Blue Tooth connectivity is nice, the phone calls are crystal clear. Install was easy, nice connection features for steering wheel volume control, power antenna, extra power amps and sub woofer.

Cons:
The biggest issue I have is the screen is not very bright at all. It's very hard to see what is on the screen in daylight, which is basically EVERYTHING because all your adjustments are made via the menu screen. I have this stereo in a convertible and haven't even put the top down yet and can't see the screen. Even though you can adjust the color to anything in the rainbow, unless it's night time, you will only be using YELLOW. White isn't even offered. I can only imagine it's a total black out when the top is down. Add the fact that the face of the stereo is so shinny and reflective, all I see is reflections of the interior of the car, not the information on the screen. This is a MAJOR down fall.
The blue tooth connection is also very spotty. Connecting the blue tooth, then getting out of the car to run into the store and come out and start the car and it takes a long time for the phone and stereo to re-pair with each other, if they do at all. Sometimes the phone will pair, but Pandora doesn't work but my other music player will stream. I did download the "Kenwood" app for my phone (HTC Thunderbolt) and each time I got in the car and turned on the stereo, it opened that app automatically, but I didn't have that app set up, so that might be a way to go....but still kind of annoying. Went for a drive with my wife this weekend and was more frustrated than relaxed. Couldn't see the screen to make adjustments, couldn't connect to the stereo via Pandora, Kenwood App kept loading, just wanted to play my normal mp3 player that I use (MixZing). Finally gave up and played a CD.

During the "Tuning" phase after installation I thought there was a problem with my wiring, then thought that 2 of the RCA channels on the head unit were bad, turns out there is a setting for blue tooth streaming for either front speakers or all speakers. I assume this is for phone calls and to prevent feed back from the mic, but it wouldn't stream the music to all four corners. Spent HOURS figuring that out, no mention in the instruction book. Speaking of, the instruction book is only the very basic's. Go to Kenwoods Website to download the full manual.

There is no doubt that learning how to operate this radio through memory will be the only way to use it because you can't see the screen while day time driving. Even changing radio stations can be a chore because there are no preset buttons for the stereo.

HOWEVER, since I own it, I will have to get used to it. I'm sure over time the adjustments will tapper off and hopefully I will learn the patterns of connect-ability and that will make things smoother....I HOPE.

I would probably not buy this stereo again simply based on the dim display screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 3, 2012 great system
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Darold from Temple, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This was a great set-up. We went with this unit and these speakers Kicker 11KS693, Kicker 11KS410, Kicker 11KS35 and put them as a stock set up in a 74 Plymouth 'cuda. This set-up allowed us to hide the unit, and keep the stock look, and have good clear sound over a roaring engine. As i am somewhat hearing impaired, I was able to hear everything crystal clear as I could not with the old set-up. I would highly recommend this system and set up for anyone wanting an old-school stock set-up with great clear sound. The system also has all the modern features for the younger generation and their gadgets, including the microphone so they can talk and not text and drive. It all came together easy and was very affordable for the quality of sound and functions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 16, 2013 It's okay
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Csr from Saint Cloud, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Bluetooth sound quality is good but the microphone is a little bit awkward to find a place for. I suppose that goes for any out-of-place piece of plastic you have to jam somewhere. It's even fairly easy to use from either the radio itself or the remote.

Sound quality is fairly good, it puts out noise that your speakers play. Basically it does it's advertised job.

No HD radio included (need separate piece for that, darn.

It has a lot of features, including a fairly good set of audio controls (HPF, LPF, etc) including Front, Rear and Subwoofer outputs on the back.

But the downside is that it just seems... cheap. I've gone to using the remote to switch tracks and such because I don't want my volume knob to fall off, which it feels like it's always about to do.

And don't even get me started on the HD radio, egads, what a horrid system I personally still haven't figure out how the hell to add stations to the preset, and hunting for the things takes far too long.

Thank god for USB and AUX inputs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz