Showing 31 reviews for Boss AR1500M

Customer Review Summary for Boss AR1500M
Average Customer Rating is 4.5 out of 5 stars:
4.5
based on 31 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
68%
4 star:
.
.
16%
3 star:
.
.
13%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
3%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.5
Features
4.3
Design
4.2
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
good buy

This product is definitely not a competition product but a good value. This amp is good if you just wanted to ad some depth to your sound stage with a single sub. But yet again it goes with the price if you want a serious system you need a serious amp. This is a good product for a starter system and the bass knob didn't work when I got it but it was cheap enough I didn't care to much about that. The amp tuned out well enough it didnt matter anyway.

VS
Thee almighty Boss Amp

200 watt amp. Not 1500...Good starter amp..

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
January 27, 2014 Thee almighty Boss Amp
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
whitemamba from milwaukee, wi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
200 watt amp. Not 1500...Good starter amp..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 2, 2013 Not a bad 100 watt amp to start your system with some caveats.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
imickey503 from Portland Oregon
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price, this is a sweet amplifier. it has a small foot print. And actually, I like the screw down terminals. The name plate on the top is a little cheesy. If I can, I would just take the plastic name plate off the top of the amp. (I think it's plastic?) But the look and finish of the amp is really first rate. It seems to be built very well. I can't complain about its aesthetics. I have 2 of these amps and they are great for Music. They really do have great specs on them and make a great cheap monoblock amp that does great at full range since it is a class A/B amp.

Now here are some need to know info.

Boss rates this amp at 700RMS Well it does to that IF..

1. You have a 15.5V electrical system according to the Boss tech I spoke with. BTW, REALLY GREAT TECH SUPPORT PEOPLE who are honest.

2. You actually have a linear 2 ohm load that does not happen in the real world. Going lower then 1.7 the amps starts to heat up quick. It will drive a 1.3 ohm load for a very short period of time. But the output transistors don't seem to like to work that hard and heat up quick. One side gets REALLY hot. (right upper side of amp on the input side where the Bass control switch is hooked up. (3, 4 ohm sub-woofers in parallel.

3. During 2 ohm loads, this amp is fine in the horizontal position. It never gets hot to the touch in my set up playing dub step. Bass CD's that have nothing but very low content will make this amp warm to the touch, but nothing to bad in 50' weather. On hot days, You are going to need a fan or some air movement to keep it cold in the trunk of your car with 2 ohm loads. Mine is mounted on the seat back in a minivan. So no problems with heat so far.

To get the most out of this amp Get the Boss P126DVC and throw that in a very good ported box and you will be very happy with the amount of sound that you can get at such a low price. The specs say 96db on this woofer, take that as a ball park figure. Figure about 90 in the real world. I am sure Boss got this figure at its peak output efficiency. (Numbers sell after all)


You must give this AMP MIN 14.4 voltage. Don't even think about cheaping out on your installation of power. This is not an amp that does well if the power is not there. there is no real reserve capacity for this amps power supply. Take my advice, if you want to go cheap on amps, then you have to spend the money elsewhere.

I am able to get 14.4 stable on my amp with a 140 amp stock alternator by doing the big 3, and using large 1 gauge full copper wire for both ground and Positive leads and just a stock new battery in the car. Going to do a clamp test on the amps today, ( I have 2 of these in the back of the car. And I can tell you that these amps really like 2 ohms loads and sound best at that load under my system.

It does not have the "effortless Reserve" that better amps like the RF. or the Aura Amp that I have for testing. It just seems like it is missing the "Grunt" that better amps seem to have. However, with the 2 Quantum sub-woofers that I am using in a sealed box, they seem to put out plenty of volume on a 2 ohm load.

The report that these need the bass boost switch on is kind of true, but it makes it sound very stressed. It's best use is if you like to listen to music that just does not have much bass in the song that you are listening to.(Classical music) Otherwise, leave it off.

about 2 o'clock seems to be the best gain setting on the kn0ob for me. that way I can turn the remote switch to ten without audible distortion..

High level inputs worked great from the stock infinity sound system in my mini van when I installed it at first. I think it sounded more musical this way.

Bass control knob uses 6PC connectors. I was able to get a telephone splitter so I could just use one wire and knob for both amps in the back. You have to get one that has all 6 wires in them. Most only have 4.

This amp feels more like a real 100 watt amp. And guess what. It is.

After my clamp test, with settings on max and at the 2 o clock position for the gain with the bass control knob on max, I got the following readings on a sealed 1.25 cube sealed box with quantum sub-woofers rated at 250 RMS and at 4 ohms. I tested with voltage readings at the amps being about 14 volts under normal music, and under test tones and bass heavy music, I was seeing 13.8 and 13.5 with just one amp hooked up to a sub-woofer with the other amp being at idle with no load, and RCA input being disconnected.

Both the amps had time to warm up and were cool to the touch. and only moderately warm with ambient temps with the rear tailgate open were about 45' F. while taking the readings.

I used a cheap Harbor Freight Multimeter and Clap tester in the 20A range and measured both the positive and negative leads by the amp and next to the speaker. Wire gauge to the speaker was 12 gauge.

Clamp test results while car was idling.

The best I got was 4 amps with avg being about 3.58 Amps sustained, and 30 Volts AC with avg being about 27 at 13.8 avg System voltage. at 4 Ohms.

2 ohms under the same conditions were 7.59 Amps, and around 28 VAC being about my best sustainable numbers.

So if I did the math OK, This is a 108W amp at 4 ohms. And at 2 ohms the AT1500 does 211W running bother Sub-woofers in paralleled configuration.

This is far short of even the 300W prediction someone mentioned.

According to Boss tech I spoke with, the output of each amp is a little different. However, under my testing, both amps were only of by maybe 3 watts with both being carefully set the same as possible.

Also one of the amps seem to play music even without the Amp plugged in to the line in. I think it is defective as the other amp does not do this. After a power cycle, I think it went away for a bit. But all my wires are running up the same line so this may be why the cross talk goes in to the power and ground leads. To stress this, the other amp is dead silent. . I have a 120000 MFD cap on there to serve as a filter to clean up the DC, but somehow, the amp is playing music from the power, and grounds going to it. But still plays and tests great, so back to the store it goes for one that does not do this. This amp has been working for about 3 months now, and the other one is 2 days old. So time will tell if the other amp does the same thing after a while as well.

The Description here says to use 4 gauge wire. You could use 14 gauge power and ground wires (Extension cord type) and still not over stress the wire This amp pulls about ballpark 25 Amps at MAX load.

According to my math, a 15 amp fuse should do the job.

Problems I have faced so far has been the one amp getting a audio signal via the power wires, and playing it through to the speakers. Other then that, both amps seem to be working ok. The other amp does not do this.

If you really want my opinion about this amp and its best use. I would use it as a mono-block full range amp for each channel. 100 real watts to your front speaker set is more then enough headroom.

Also, I know it would invalidate the warranty, but I would remove that plastic boss logo from the top of the amp. The Titanium/ Gun Metal Gray finish is just beautiful to look at. The Large boss logo just ruins it.

As a bonus, it would aid in cooling to a very small degree.

As a side note, if you run multiple amps, you can control the gain from just one knob using a 6pc telephone adapter. My set up works just fine and is very musical at the 4 ohm load during normal balanced listening.

If you have your subs in a well insulated trunk, this amp just does not have the power to really provide you with what you need. Sonic has a great Stillwater Designs amp that puts out a real 500W RMS for around a Hundy. I would really recommend getting something something that puts out 500 RMS for sub-woofer use. Not that you want to shake the car, it just needs to have that headroom in a loud car environment and especially if you have your sub-woofers in the trunk. That way hot days won't be a problem.

Running a amplifier at it's limit is never a good idea in places with little in way of ventilation.

If you want to stay with the great 5 year warranty (on this amp anyways) get the biggest Boss amp in the series they sell, and remember, all these amps only put out 1/4 of what they say in an average installation and are very sensitive to voltage drop. A cap will not help that 8 gauge wire issue. On cheap amps like this, you need every single volt of power you can get to this amp otherwise, you are just wasting your money. If you are going to bother running wire, do it right and use a min of REAL AWG 4 gauge real copper for the run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2014 good buy
Review by
bailey from aurora, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is definitely not a competition product but a good value. This amp is good if you just wanted to ad some depth to your sound stage with a single sub. But yet again it goes with the price if you want a serious system you need a serious amp. This is a good product for a starter system and the bass knob didn't work when I got it but it was cheap enough I didn't care to much about that. The amp tuned out well enough it didnt matter anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2014 Awesome
Review by
Pasha from Gridley, California
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works just as it should and my step son loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2014 boss ar 1500
Review by
anthony from alpharetta, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is a good amp for the money, not the best sub amp ive had but a good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 22, 2014 good deal
Review by
bh from michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Fast shipping and just like my other amp, easy hookup
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 19, 2014 It might be overrated
Review by
eduardo from elgin, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I hooked up 2 12-Hifonics HFX12D4 combimed rms up to 800 so as soon as I try turning it up they turn off the amp completely but other then that its good the amp can tell what it's able to handle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 24, 2014 Does the job well
Review by
Chuck from New Smyrna Beach, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Works well with older head units w/o subwoofer equalization and even better with eq. Clean and tight with MTX double 10", Pioneer and Infinity single 10". Easy install nice size and finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 17, 2013 freaky fast delivery
Review by
dhoward from Dallas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
still in a box haven't used it but the boss logo looks cheesy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 30, 2013 real nice
Review by
theyoloswagger from atlanta ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
More than enough power. Really good amp. Good price. I like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Great Amp
Review by
L.J. from Heber, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have been using this amp for a few months. It is powering a JBL 12" woofer and doing a great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 4, 2013 Great Amp!!!!!!!!!!!
Review by
Mr. KuPPKaKe Mayka from Roscoe, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Im actually using this amp for home audio. Using an X-Box power strip to power it, instead of a battery. I decided to use my 2 Alpine type-s that i had stored away.I blew my house speakers and i really didn't want to spend a lot off money for new speakers. So i switched them out and bought this amp and connected the amp up to my laptop/phone through RCA. Both Alpine subs are 200 RMS and 400 Peak bought em in 05'.... im really not pushing the amp to hard, But Let me tell you I have the loudest system in the dorms on campus at school!! deep bass and loud crisp treble. Very very clear clean crisp and loud!! very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 2, 2013 Stereo Product
Review by
damarlon from lenoir, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome product. Works very well. Owned it for 6 months now and its still in top shape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2013 Great buy
Review by
Joe C from East Brunswick, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sound and ease of installation ....best value for low cost...could never duplicate it locally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2013 Bang for the Buck
Review by
Tonyjr31669 from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp was used for two kicker comp 12. Very surprising how well it pushed, even more surprising no heating problems. This was in a Chevy extended cab truck down firebox and produced very good overall tone and depth in the sub. I wouldn't recommend using any larger speakers. For this wattage it was ideal. Sonic Electronix does it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 27, 2013 So far so good
Review by
Steve from Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm running a 12 inch 800 watt rms mtx thunder wired at 2ohms. And I can only run the amp at about 60% of its full power. Very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 17, 2013 BOSS AR1500M
Review by
Bill B. from San Antonio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this amp. I was looking for a smaller sized dedicated sub amp that would fit on my rear shelf next to my 4ch amp and have sufficient power for my 10 inch sub. This meets those needs perfectly. I didn't expect and was surprised by the power of this amp. It provides plenty of thump.As you may have seen in other reviews, the adjustable knob does not function so I went 4 on the features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 11, 2013 Great punch for a little amp
Review by
georgelv1999 from Alhambra, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This has to be one of the best amps for the price. If you bridge it right you'll get some hard hitting sound. It's well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 3, 2013 Great Product!!
Review by
Drel from Port Vila, Vanuatu
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its really awesome!! Powers the speakers really well, small size, easy to move around, great amplifier!! Cheers!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 24, 2013 Best Bang For the Buck
Review by
Paul from Cushing, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This amp was truly surprising in many ways. It has all the features you would expect from a much more expensive amp. It has run bridged in my car at 2 ohms for 6 months without once shutting down or cutting out at all. The low pass crossover works well. It drives a lot of power into my 12's- more than they have ever seen...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2013 Abused & Misused!!
Review by
William Speed from Dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am straight abusing this amp! The ground is suppose to be no longer than 18 inches long...mines is 26 inches and it's a pretty horrible ground too. Every where I look, this amp is listed at not stable for 1ohm use, do not lower to 1ohm...PPSSSHHHH please! I have 2 4ohm 12s pulling at 600rms a piece, wired in parallel. Which pulls 1ohm from the amp and this amp sub combo is killing some bigger and pricer systems. Had it since July of 2012 with only one shut off due to overheating but came back on in 3 minutes...guess it was extremely hot that day in Texas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 13, 2013 Cheap, but misleading...
Review by
Jake from Minneapolis, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At the time, I purchased this amplifier on a tight budget. Getting this amount of watts out of such a cheap amp, I figured it wouldn't hurt to try. The amplifier itself looks nice, however the knobs and switches are a little cheap. However, it is overrated. I hooked it up to my 12" VVME subwoofer to it and I feel like this amp is only pushing about 300 watts, if that. It works great and doesn't get too hot - just don't purchase this amplifier expecting it to run at 700 watts RMS. That simply will not happen. I recommend this product to a beginner who is looking to power a couple hundred watts, nothing more. Also, when tuning your subwoofer while using the power knob, make sure to turn the knob all the way to max volume before setting your gain. This knob is not to control gain, but rather to limit the amount of power you are providing for your sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 13, 2013 great little amp
Review by
brannon489 from Simi Valley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
first time boss user, great little amp. powers my pioneer 12'' through the roof. at first had it installed on the side of the sub box itself but noticed that it was heating up awfully quickly. so i re-installed it to the back of the rear seats in my 2012 Kia optima and it hasn't gone into protection mode ever since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2012 more like 800 watt amp
Review by
Pineda from Victorville, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this amp for a friend to power up 2 12" at 1ohm in a tahoe it does its job but i thought it would sound better for a MONO. Its also really small and tends to heat up fast. It might be because i had to use a Hi to low Converter because he still has the stock bose stereo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 12, 2012 great amp!!!!!
Review by
Hunter from Wisconsin
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
if your looking for a cheap reliable amp for a single 12" sub its great i have a 12" pheonix gold dual 4 ohm wired at 1 ohm 400rms it gives great highs mids and lows. couldnt ask for anything better only have it turned up 1/4 of the way and pounds like hell!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 3, 2012 great
Review by
romeo from tarboro,north carolina
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I like this product because it was easy to install
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 15, 2012 Nice amp
Review by
Mike from College station, tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
For the price, this amp is really good. I am running one 10inch pioneer champion series sub off it an never had a problem. It should be able to power two 12" subs but ive heard that the 1500 watt specifications may be a bit inaccurate. For just one sub though, it works perfectly. It looks pretty damn cool too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 1, 2012 nice starter amp
Review by
Wallace from Decatur, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Was looking for a cheap setup for my son. He's not into trying to rattle every thing in sight, just wanted to upgrade from factory and use his ipod. This was one of the cheapest sub amps and it had some good reviews so I went with it along with a infinity reference 12 inch sub in a 1cb inch seald box. I'm 40 years old so I came up in the 90's when a system like this would have been very expensive. I hooked up his system and man this little cheap amp puts out plenty of power,and its quality power at that. I don't no if you would enter a sound competition, but if you just want a cheap way to get some bass, get this little cheap amp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 21, 2012 BUMPIN!
Review by
Moneymike from Williston, ND
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just put this amp in my truck and DAMN this thing is hittin. I got it hooked up to 2 Orion 12s and theres some songs I can't listen to its just too loud! Definitely a good deal you can't beat it for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 30, 2012 Good value.
Review by
Jake from Denton, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Boss 1500 is worth every penny. I downgraded from a 2500 after blowing my second JBL 10, and this POUNDS my single JBL 10 to its limits at 1/3 gain. Make sure you know a thing or two about LPF's before trashing monoblock amps, because for $80 this is the best purchase you can make.

Pros -

- Runs without distortion / clipping in 100 degrees (Summertime in Texas, ugh.)
- Enough RMS output at 4 ohms for ANY single sub
- Runs about 950 RMS @ 2 ohm load
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2012 crazy
Review by
Terry from maricopa, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
small but powerful. way under powered and yes it has enough power to push the 2 hifonics subs that i have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz