Showing 11 reviews for JBL MS-62C

Customer Review Summary for JBL MS-62C
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 11 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
73%
4 star:
.
.
27%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.9
Features
4.7
Design
4.6
Usability
4.5
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
June 14, 2014 Simply the best!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Terry H from Saint Charles, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Don't second guess yourself with this component set, I bought both the JBL MS-62C (FRONT) and the JBL MS-52C (REAR) got both sets for less than $250.00 on sale (thanks Sonic). Let me just say these speakers will set your ride apart from the rest. There is not one person who has gotten in my car and not fell in love with the high fidelity of my audio system. I mean it sounds like a freaking concert in there. The mid bass is great, I have mine crossed over at 80hz on up and my subs @ 80hz on down. For metal based tweeters they are not harsh at all, in fact I would say they are about as close to a soft dome tweeter as a metal based tweeter can be, the sound is simply incredible. I have 80w rms going to all 4 doors with a 60/40 fade to the front to give the illusion of rear fill. In the end I estimate that I've spent a little over 2 grand on my system counting everything from head unit to speaker wire and that includes doing the Big 3 and extra battery in the back. I done all the install myself (a lot of nights without sleep) but in the end it sounds like a 5k-10k dollar system. The secret is to do ALOT of research, ask ALOT of questions and buy the brands that you do choose to run, from the cheapest most
reputable place you can trust. Shop wisely and be very patient. Now that I've taken up too much of your time with this review, go install something, lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 30, 2014 Great component set!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Graham from Telkwa, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed these speakers in well sealed doors, tweeters in pillars. Hooked them up and was blown away! If you told me these were a $500 set, i would believe you. Great sound quality, crisp pure, clean sound. I have these running active crossed at 3.15k being fed about 80w rms. Sounds amazing! Best comp set for the money right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 12, 2014 Great speakers I ever own
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mark Allan from KapoleI, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I been searching for a really good set of component speakers. I've heard a lot of great speakers too like the dls reference series, rainbow audio sl, and dream line that I got in stalled in my last car. They sound amazing but I wanted to be different plus I wanted to do it on a budget so I look up and jbl ms-62c got a lot great reviews . I got them install a few days ago and boy let me tell you it's amazing!!! I got it hooked up to my head unit only (kenwood ddx790) and it's awesome. Was afraid that the tweeter will be to harsh for my taste but it actually sound pretty smooth. The best part of it is the mid bass, mid bass sounds so good I can listen to it out my sub playing. I will be powering up later with a massive audio nx4 so I'll update my review when installed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 16, 2014 Sounds phenomenal!!!!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Riad from Orlando, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got these to replace my cerwin vega vmax 6.5 components because the tweeters are a little harsh. These Jbl components sound incredibly awesome, they dont get as loud as the vegas but the sound quality is fantastic. Driver and tweeter build are good and the crossover is well made as well. The tweeters were a bit tricky to get into the cup holders but once they were in they looked flawless!! In all they were a good addition to my system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 8, 2014 High end Mids and Highs for Mid range pricing.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jared from Birmingham, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After much debate and thought on what mids to use for the main front sound stage,.. these were recommended over and over. I finally gave them a shot and looked them over (I encourage you to go to Amazon, car audio forums, etc and find a bad review on these).

I am pleasantly pleased that they are everything people said they were.

The strongest quality of these JBL's is their Mid range power -- I can see these speakers being used in setups that don't have any subs and sound phenomenal.. I have them Crossedover at 100hz,.. and when I turn my sub off the music doesn't sound weird like it's a bunch of treble and weak lows.. these carry and imo do a little "Sub" duty on their own. Great for overlap between sub and mids.

Make sure they fit, but they have nothing that is overtly larger than other speakers in this category. The tweeters are 1" and provide several mounting options, brackets, flush ring options, etc.

The Crossovers are designed well and have three jumper settings to pull back the "brightness" on the tweeters if you don't like them at the default levels.. Which is a nice touch. (I left mine at max).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 21, 2014 Amazingg
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
RiadB from Orlando
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Got these speakers last week and hooked them up instantly. After a week break in they sound awesome, handle alot of power and have great tonal characteristics. Tweeters are a bit bright when you run them at 0db but put them at -3db and they balance off nicely. The only problem i've found is that the passives are extremely difficult to open when you have to make adjustments. Great set to throw amplifier power behind. Highly recommend it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 6, 2013 Highly Recommend!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Chris from Charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After months of research I decided to get these new JBL's, to replace the factory Bose set up in my tahoe. Since I was doing a complete install I wanted to get something that would sound good for all types of music. I have always like JBL produces and did a lot of comparing on several different sites. I was looking at these as well as CDT's, Sundown Audio, and Hertz. After reading, listening to, and asking tons of questions i couldnt be happier with my decision! These JBL's sound amazing! They are crystal clear, and stay that way from low level to full tilt, no matter what im listening to. I have quite a wide range of music taste, from dudstep, old school rap, rock, metal, you name it and I listen to it. I have been extremely happy with these and are powering them with a JL 300/4, and they are quite happy with this and could take more if I ever decided to upgrade my amp. I also replaced the rear door speakers with JBL P662, also running off the JL amp. They fill in quite nicely and are nice a clear as well. These JBL's are a super deal, and from what I could find, the best bang for the buck and I could'nt be happier! I would recommend these to anyone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2013 Best 6.5 components for the price, and probably for ANY price
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
JoeWeider from Vegas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Put these in my /08 350Z, running off 100W/ch amp. Sound is nothing short of incredible. Read about these on one of the big car audio forums, some really detailed reviews there, and the guys there (who are real audiophiles) absolutely RAVED about these speakers.

Best sounding speakers I have personally ever owned, and I have owned MANY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 13, 2013 JBL MS-62C
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Ian from Kailua, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
GREAT sounding components. For the price, you cannot go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 24, 2013 You will not regret this purchase!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Daymond from Reading, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just finished installing these today and, although I have not started any tuning, I am EXTREMELY, impressed! I have not heard such clear and loud music from a system that I can remember.

I pulled the trigger on these comps after doing TONS of research. They are getting rave reviews and selling out at places at a high rate. JBL hit a homerun with this components and they are not only a great set for the price, they are a great set PERIOD.

I am running them with the supplied crossover but plan on going to an active setup in a little while, just to see if there is much of a difference. They are rated at 80 watts rms but I have them a getting a little more than that with the gains adjusted accordingly (I rarely ever crank it).

What I was astonished the most about these was how life like vocal tracks sound, you can hear their breaths and articulations, its great. Gives my music a whole new dimension. Get these while they are still in stock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2013 Great Value from SE and Seriously Well-Built
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mark from Porter Ranch, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Currently have these comps mounted in well-deadened doors. First powered them with a Rockford P8004 and now have them getting juice from an Eclipse 36501. They accept the power much more willingly from the Eclipse amp and will play around with bridging them on the four channels of the Eclipse when more wiring arrives.

The woofers in this set can seriously produce some good midbass, but are very install-dependent. Without the doors properly deadened, you won't be getting the midbass clarity these speakers are so good at producing. Have noticed that, even without a sub, these constantly help point out new parts of the doors to deaden. You could legitimately use these without subwoofers if you're just looking for well-rounded sound.

The tweeters, despite being metal domes, are respectably laid-back. They are not shrill or sibilant which has been my experience with other metal domes in the past. This might also have to do with the crossover points JBL chose in the passive crossovers as it seems the woofers carry most of the sonics and the tweeters just close it out from about 2.5KHz up. Also, I like the fact that JBL included both surface-mount and angle-mount cups that are easy to work with and not made of cheap plastic. The tweeter is easily removable from either housing as well if you need shallow mounting.

I have not yet run these active, but am considering doing so in the not-so-distant future. Have been very impressed running them passive and they are meticulous at reproducing live instruments well. Drummers or fans of accurately reproduced drums will see the benefits of this more than anyone else as they know how difficult it is to get cymbals right on car audio speakers. Additionally, all guitar and bass work is well-presented. You can clearly hear individual picks and strums and bass riffs are easily distinguished.

In short, this was a very worthwhile purchase and I would easily recommend this set to anyone, regardless of budget. They are serious contenders in the sub-200 (heck, even the sub-300) market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz