Showing 9 reviews for Alpine SWR-12D4

Customer Review Summary for Alpine SWR-12D4
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 52 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
71%
4 star:
.
.
17%
3 star:
.
.
10%
2 star:
.
2%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.4
Value
4.7
Features
4.6
Design
4.7
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 4 star Customer Reviews:
May 16, 2014 Great sub, so-so in reliability
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
GB from Stony Brook, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have been an Alpine fan in general since the mid to late 80s. I have always relied upon a great head unit, amps, and even subs. This sub is no exception. However, here's my take on the matter.

The sound quality itself is really good. Toanlly accurate, tight, deep bass in my sealed box. Power handling is exceptional as well (hitting 2 units with about 700w RMS RF power). Not bad at all.

However, recently the cone has separated from the surround from daily use. I do not compete, and I don't listen at compettition levels. I listen at moderate levels only. When a sub recently blew, I thought it was the voice coil. But in this case it was not that. I think Alpine quality has been slowly dgrading over time. Still a GOOD product / good value for the money. But there are better subs out there, you just need to do your homework.

As always, you get what you pay for. I am in the process now of having the defective sub replaced. Sonic has been really good overall since my first purchase years back. I love them overall and will continue to do business with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2014 For clean tight low end response
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Prosound from Boston, Masss
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is definately the sub for the true audiophile that is not looking to spend a fortune, but demands the best in sound quality and true clean bass respone, this is a great purchase and a well built driver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 14, 2014 pound
Review by
tony from stlouis mo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 3 of these type r alpines in a 2000 grand marquis and people be so surprised to see its not something larger......breath taking bass....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 7, 2013 Great bass
Review by
Jonathan from Boswell, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very pleased with the alpine type R. All the pros of the type X and about half the price. would recommend this sub to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2013 Great Sub
Review by
420 from Dillon, MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought one of these and a ported box and it hits just as hard as 2 12in kickers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 30, 2012 you only need one
Review by
Alexander from Taylorville, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have a single 12 in a box a built tuned to 32htz and 2.68c ft of airspace, this thing whollops its louder then my 2 15s on twice the watts, btw I'm running an alpine Mrp500 but pros it seems very sturdy and is very stylish but for how much the surround moves at 500rms 1000rms seems like it would really over push it, I might post again in six months on the durability of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 29, 2012 Great sub
Review by
bFlo92 from whitehall, michigan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purhased this sub brand new a week ago and i love it. I have always heard good things about the type r series and had to invest in one. Still breaking it in so the gain on my mx-50 Alpine amp is only up 1/4 of the way and this single sub shakes the mirrors in my olds alero and gives a nice back massage! Cant wait to hear it slam when i adjust the gain! Very crisp and clean sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 25, 2012 Alpine's uppin their game
Review by
Dennis from Los Alamos, NM
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My friend has one of these wired at 4 ohms he has a cheap amp so it probably gives the woofer around 200 watts, I connected the sub to my Rockford T1500-1bdcp which puts out over 1000 watts @ 4 ohms and the alpine really started slappin (no audible mechanical noise at 1000 watts either). 1 of these is good on 1000 watts, I would definitely get one if looking for good bass out of a single sub. 2 of these on an amp up to 2000 watts rms would be super loud. This is a nice sub I recommend.
Don't know anything about its durability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2012 Alpine made a fake advertisment for consumers but!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Randi from Los Angeles CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would highly recommend the alpine type r they hit very hard and clean unless you don't have the electrical, a powerful amp , the right box , the right gauge and battery and everything , then they wont hit. alpine really did change the type r completely i mean the previous hit harder but the power wasn't still balanced because it has 1800 peak and 600rms that's not a balance sub-woofer if you look it the rest of the company's they have there rms half of what the peak is for example if the sub-woofer is 1000peak then the sub will be 500rms, alpine usually doesn't do that that's why they always have problems but finally the first time they have the rms of the new alpine type r balance with the peak thats how you'll get a good system in your car especially when it comes down with the rms power, but iam still breaking in the subs, and i kind of smell something weird when the sub-woofer hit maybe iam breaking into them ill wait more time and see what happens just recently still bought them, the alpine type r does not do 3000 watt peak that's for sure because i heard a 3000 watt sub-woofer and it pounds super hard compare to the new type r and that's a fact and proven that type r doesn't do 3000 watt peak its 2000 peak 1000rms look on alpine.com and see for yourself and if you have the these subs you could tell they hit 2000 peak and for sure 1000 true rms they lied about the peak power but not the rms i have 2 of these in a sealed box with an alpine pdx m12 which mine is rated 1450 rms at birth sheet at 12 volts which is plenty enough for the type r each getting about 700rms each that's good you don't want to go over you could but i like to be in the safe side and not put pressure on the voice coils even thou they build the new ones strong. and my system pounds super clean and sound quality is amazing for the money you pay for. my chest pounds and my teeth rattles but for a fact not 3000peak or else I'll be ****in up car alarms in the parking lot like crazy because a peak means how much can the sub pinch it doesn't pinch 3000 it pinch 2000peak for fact and alpine even said it , so they made a big false statement to the consumers and thinking there going to get the same power as the 13w7 jl audio because it has about 1000rms and 3000peak. lets be straight here the previous version has 1800 peak and now the new ones have 3000 peak now lol that's funny the news still pinch about the same as the older ones just 200 peak difference not 3000 watts my ass.
but overall the the previous type r hit good and hard but not enough rms power as the alpine type r d4 which does 1000rms clean and true, and the new ones to let you know i still bought them but since it hit truly hard and clean and sound quality is outstanding , i have to wait more time and I'll see what alpine really did to the new type r and will see what there up to if its worth, but other than that i would recommend to anyone buying these sub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz