Showing 41 reviews for Alpine SWR-12D2

Customer Review Summary for Alpine SWR-12D2
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 41 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.7
Features
4.7
Design
4.9
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 19, 2013 Great woofer!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Austin from kingsley, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The new Alpine Type R is phenomenal and so is the service SonicElectronix provides. Heres my story:

I purchased the SWR-12D4 and shipping was very fast. With it, I also bought the HiFonics GLX 1400.1D. I wired the speaker at 2ohms giving it a total of 1000 Watts and WOW. This thing at 1000 Watts rattled my brains all freaking day. I do not recommend giving this speaker 1000 Watts unless you get it installed professionally. My type R blew after 20 hours of almost non-stop pounding (totally my fault). After I called SonicElectronix, they explained to me that you shouldn't wire it at 1000 unless conditions are absolutely perfect. I assumed the worst but here is the best part THEY REPLACED IT FREE OF CHARGE!!! They even gave me the 2ohm model instead so I could wire it at 4ohms @ 500 watts instead. I could not believe it. It says everywhere in the warranty and return policy that they do not replace blown woofers, but they did it anyway. SONICELECTRONIX UNTIL THE DAY I DIE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 9, 2014 Owned for a little over one month...
Review by
Jonathan from Killeen, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this sub to pair with Pioneer GM-D8601 @1ohm and 800w RMS. I ran into issues with the subwoofer's durability and ease of use. After only two weeks of low to moderate volume levels (with matched gains for Pioneer headunit) one of the manufacturer banana plug jumpers popped off. Shortly after fixing this issue with jumpers of my own, the sub would sometimes work and othertimes not. The amplifier was tested and worked fine with the same cabling, so the problem was the subwoofer.

Other gripes include the spring-loaded terminals on the subwoofer providing lower tension than I would imagine for a sub rated up to 1kw RMS. I would have preferred screw-on terminals due to the lackluster spring tension and location on the underside of the subwoofer. If you mount this subwoofer horizontally (typical install) with the "R" right-side up, the wiring hangs beneath the subwoofer, possibly shaking loose.

Overall, the Alpine Type-R is still a good value for the cost and performance, but the factory jumpers and internal components may be defective or come loose after light use. Lesson learned; I will use my own jumpers from now on. Good thing I purchased the additional warranty as the loose jumpers was not the only issue I encountered. Hopefully the replacement is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 14, 2014 Amazing subs for great price
Review by
Will from Palestine, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 4 of these subs running off 2000 rms @ 1 ohm and they handle it with ease and rattle everything in my car. Probably one of the if not the best subs you can buy within this price range. I've owned a lot of subs and I love Alpine products. I have also owned both models of these subs before this one and they were good too. With these you get the value of what you normally have to pay twice as much for. Great build, great sound quality and output, overall great value, and price. Would highly recommend to anyone as long as you have the amp to power them. Type R series from Alpine are the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 9, 2014 Pounders
Review by
Kicks from Hammond, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome speakers! These things pound and are often compared to rockford P3's but these are better in my opinion. Started off with three and added another one so now I have 4 of these. My power drill went through the cone of one of my subs and sonic electronix said there was no warranty against that but other than that these things slam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 28, 2014 Great brand and Product!
Review by
cody from Edgar, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love the alpine type r swr-12d2. Great brand and product all around sonic had great shipping time and a unbeatable price!

DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE AND EVERYONE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 24, 2014 Would not buy for several reasons
Review by
Amos from Mesa, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you have an amp that pushes a true RMS of over 800 i would strongly recommend buying a different sub. 800 RMS or less for the money this is a great sub though..... I had this Sub for 1 day on a PPI 1000.1 amp.. it sounded great until i turned it up to negative 12 on my pioneer deck... Toast!! ... Waiting to hear from the warranty department in store credit I'll keep you posted!......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 24, 2014 alpine type R 12 20hm
Review by
arteaga from canoga park
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amazing subwoofer Will buy another one again. Gives you great quality. Great brand wont let you down. Really recommend this sub gives really good bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2014 Excellent sub
Review by
RJT from Flower Mound, Texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have always own alpine products can't go wrong with these subs. Powerful yet affordable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 9, 2014 Best Subs You Can Buy
Review by
Tyler from Toledo, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
When I say "best subs you can buy" I mean, they are the best ones you can buy at a store (with the exception of Alpine Type-X's), because I'm not sure how true it is because I've never heard any, but I always heard the best subs you can get are the competition subs you have to order.
I've had these installed for a bout a month now, and use them just about every day. They hit hard as hell and I have them under powered. They're rated for 300-1000 RMS watts, and I only have them hooked up through one Alpine amp that is 11000 watts, so they're only pushing out 550 RMS watts each (I have two 12's). From other reviews I read, many people have said only 1 of these 12" subs sound better than most 2 12" sub set ups, and I believe it.
For anyone that is going to buy these (especially if it's more than 1) I recommend buying a secondary battery (Kinetik, Reissen, Stinger, etc.), and a battery isolator (do not get a capacitor, everyone has told me they're junk).
I also recommend buying them from Sonic Electronix since they're $149.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2014 Awesome Sub
Review by
Reshard from Titus, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one of these and its being pushed to the full 1000 watts and it sounds amazing. I would definitely recommend buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 23, 2014 Perfect!
Review by
Connor from Seattle, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sub for a great price. Offers a perfect low end! Just what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 22, 2014 just wow
Review by
Anthony from Schaumburg, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
All i can say about this sub, it hits HARD. If you are debating this sub or another one, this is the one. The right box with 1100 watts just pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2014 Alpine SWR-12D2
Review by
Smuck from Des Moines, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this sub wired down to 1 ohms on a NVX JAD1200.1. I have it in a custom slot ported box tuned to 33 hz with 2.25 cubic feet of airspace. This sub hits crazy hard and low with excellent sound quality. This sub also has 20 millimeters of excursion, which means more air being moved, which is up there with a lot of the top of the line subwoofers. I am very impressed and pleased with the Type R. There is no doubt in my mind that you can feed this sub 1000 watts RMS. I've had it about a year now and it's still hitting hard. It looks mean and sounds even better. The only flaw with this sub is that it took forever to break in, but I also got it in the middle of winter. I highly recommend the Type R. Excellent product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2014 Ooooohhhhh MMMMMYYYY
Review by
Eric from Anderson, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub hits so low, I had an mtx thunder 4500 before this and this sub hands down is wayyyyyy better, I give it 700 watts rms and it shakes my whole car. For any price alpine cannot be beat in quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 2, 2013 Love these subs
Review by
Jordan from West Chester, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have had these for about a year and they still are great. Running them at 700RMS Each and it is incredibly loud. Would recommend these to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2013 Just great
Review by
tantan from langley, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought from sonic and the service was great.Got it in time as ordered.
I had the earlier model which was captured by my son. Had it for over four years and it still thumps so I decided to get one for myself but was introduced to this one by sonic service. Best sub I have ever owned. Sounds deep and lows clear. Bought it in Dec. 2012 and no problems whatsoever. Powered by hifonics 1400 @2 ohms and just sounds beautiful.I would definitely recommend it.Saw it in VIsions for double the price. My good. Thanks Sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 24, 2013 Great Value
Review by
bobby from los angeles ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Alpine is a great sub bass is clear and clean and hits hard and holds alot of power
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Competion worth!
Review by
esalo from Columbia Falls, MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed this sub in my 2013 Accord sport sedan with an Alpine 500W RMS Digital amp and this sub can hit lower than anything I've ever heard For the money I wouldn't consider buying anything else. A few rattles I have to take care of with Dynamat but blows everyones ears off that I give a ride to. Takes a while to tune right with no rattles but You wont be disappointing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Top shelf!!!!
Review by
Erock from Fl, okeechobee
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Top quality speakers that do not disappoint.....I recommend these to anyone that wants the most out of there system
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 14, 2013 1 Ohm or Go Home
Review by
PhilSam from Bartlett, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ran this at 1 ohm with a budget SSL 5000D amp and with my 3 farad capacitor the headlights get a little draw still when I'm HAMMERING... It makes my hairs move and the seat becomes part of the music.

I also put it in a sealed box to max capacity air space because I like rock and rap with some others around that too. If you just want bass galore then I recommend a ported box but, it wasn't my preference for my taste of music. You will need to upgrade your door speakers to match the performance and clarity of this brilliant monster.

At 1 ohm the sub slams and my amp is running cool. I don't why you would run a mono amp at anything less. Gain at 3/4 and bass boost at 0. I adjust the rest through the head unit. I could go on forever on how great every song sounds now but, you need to hear it yourselves.

If you are in the market seriously shopping... save this page and look around. You will not find a better sub for the price. Definitely a competition subwoofer. I have just one in a Jeep Wrangler 2002 and I never thought this upgrade would be this good from my Infinity 12".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2013 Great sub and small boxs!!!
Review by
Shane from Saint Augustine
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 2 that are in a 2 chamber small sealed box 0.8 after sub. This is great for rock and everything more control of the drivers for tight bass and sq pushing. 300 watts each at 4 ohms And one in a ported at 34hz .1,43cf after flared port and sub displacement I used a 3" port by 10.5 long and it slams 600 watts at 4 ohms. I like 4 ohms at less rms then 2 ohms at full rms. For the price and build you cant go wrong. I am just not sure if you want to feed them 1000 or more watts . 1/2 of that will still do you good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 8, 2013 Lord have mercy
Review by
Bam from St.louis, Mo
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought two of these and I must say... It was worth every dollar!!! Got them on my kenwood 1200 watt because I'm waiting on my power acoustic amp (from sonic electronix). U gotta buy these no doubt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 26, 2013 Very great subwoofer!!
Review by
Joel from Ontario, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Alpine SWR-12D2 sticks to the Alpine name when it comes to performance. I have it paired with the MRX-M240 and it performs mighty well. Clean, powerful and perfect. Works beyond excellent for the price. I would highly recommend this product to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 6, 2013 Haven't hooked it up
Review by
Alejandro from Spring Valley, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Waiting on my hifonics amp right now after that, ima turn this beast on. A friend of mine has one only pushing 500w on it and sounds like a beast I had to get one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 3, 2013 Disapointed
Review by
Daniel from Schererville, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought a pair of these Alpine subs as an upgrade to my 2 kicker cvr's powerd by a Rockford Fosgate T1000. The Kickers sounded much better so I returned them and got 2 Kicker cvx and RF T1500 now very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 25, 2013 looks nice
Review by
darren from Catoosa, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i have had two of these at seperate times...they both blew at 100 rms so i would reccomend only feeding then 800 rms or less. but they look very nice and i would buy again if they were on sale and i was looking for some more 12's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 24, 2013 Worth it
Review by
Deadpulse from Oklahoma City ok
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Get them worth every penny my gave been Pounding for almost a year now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 19, 2013 BASS INCOMING!
Review by
Brad from Omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These things are B.A.!!! Currently feeding them 1000w rms and they rattle my entire car! Can't wait to get a bigger amp to push these subs to the limit. Great sexy look and the standard alpine durability! People can hear me coming from a block away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2013 Bought two, lincoln ls.
Review by
james from Lansing, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Absolutely beautiful. I have owned everything from Sony to kicker, Jl to Sundown lol everything under the sun.
Bought them because of the price and stats they sound beautiful! Roll off on rock is amazing, rap/hip hop is flawless. overall amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 9, 2013 Amazing sub!!
Review by
Jake from LaSalle, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My brother has 2 of the original Type R's, with a 2000 watt amp, and they POUND! I recently bought one of these new 12d2's, and have it on an 800 watt amp, and my one will keep up with his 2 all day! It's in a ported box, and it rattled my license plate off, cracked my taillights, and everything in the car shakes like crazy. Looks BA too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 15, 2013 Clean
Review by
Bo Jangles from Rhode Island
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Just installed two of these in my volvo s60, its in a vented enclosure running off of a Rockford fosgate Power series 1200watt mono. Probably the cleanest bass ive heard, and these subs deliver some ass pounding lows. So low that is pounds your a**
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2013 Good Bang For The Buck!
Review by
ithree6mafia from Bentonville, Arkansas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I decided to upgrade from my 12" Kicker CVR's that I had in a extended cab chevy s10. They were really loud, but didnt quite hit the lows that I wanted.

I upgraded to two of these Type R's in a custom 4 cubic foot box tuned @ 32hz and this thing hits so low! Not even joking it makes the whole car vibrate different then highs. its a new type of bass that I experienced from these subs. they look great and pound hard, I havent exactly broke them in yet because I just got them in yesterday but so far im impressed!

I have them in a 2007 honda civic ex coupe. powered by a MTX TE801D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2013 Best Subs I've Ever Owned
Review by
Cam from Amherst, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If you're wondering if you should buy these, do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 27, 2012 wow
Review by
chris from Brockport, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought these subs 6 months ago. I built a custom enclosure in the spare tire well of my grand Cherokee. about .8 cube per sub. Oh my god these are amazing. i am a huge JL Audio fan but the price of these were great so I thought I'd try them. All I can say is im so glad i did. I using a MA Audio mono amp pushing 500 rms and peak 1000. these subs are so crystal clear for subs and pound like crazy. my wife says she can here me coming 2 blocks away.. i HIGHLY recommend them. my music intrest is usually country but listen to everything depending on my mood.. buy these for sure..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 10, 2012 Ridiculous Bassness! Crazy Boom! Boom!
Review by
Rob from Newark, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I must say I have been researching for the right subwoofer for about a year and then came across this baby! Let's just start off with the basics. I have one of these Alpine SWR 12D2's in a custom bulit ported box hooked up to a hifonics brutus brz1200.1d amp, wired to 1 ohm.

This subwoofer has clearly exceeded my expectations. At first I was skeptic thinking that it would not be able to handle 1000 watts and boy was I wrong. It has been about 7 weeks now since I have had this sub and it still is hodling out pretty strong!

For the cost of this sub you cannot go wrong, very affordable and a big bang for your buck. The look is very simple but slick with a glossy black finish, and the durabiltiy of this sub is very well built in terms of weight and structure. Alpine, you have made me a fan and in the future I will most likely purchase another sub to make my system slap my socks off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 10, 2012 DAMN!!
Review by
Nick from Blandinsville, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Have 600 watts going to each of my type Rs and no one elses subs even come close!!! People can hear me coming from all the way down the road!!! Amazing sound quality as well. Cant go wrong with an alpine sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2012 Pure Bass
Review by
Stewie from Newark, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Once again Alpine has done it. A good, durable sub for a great price, what more could you ask for? As soon as you open the box, you see that glossy shine from the cone. Its sleek design is sure to be an eye-catcher.

Probably the most common set up with this sub is indeed the Hifonics Brutus 1200.1D. The voice coils on these babies are rated as 500 RMS each, which adds to a total 1,000RMS, but these subs can handle more, just don't abuse them too much! Wired to the sub is a Hifonics Brutus 1200.1D, at a full 1 Ohm load. The sub hits very well, and is accurate to most songs out there. Most people think two subs are in the back, and they are surprised that its only just one! (But remember, get the proper enclosure, it does make a HUGE difference - use the recommended specs from Alpine). The sub is in a sedan. Lots of rear view mirror shaking and trunk rattling. Its been over 7 weeks now and the sub still looks brand new. To the people out there who had problems with the same exact set up, I'd hope you had a warranty so you can get a new one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 26, 2012 Awsome Sub
Review by
Brandon from State College, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one of these running 700 watts rms and it blows everything out of the water. It hits notes my old Kicker CVR could only dream of hitting. The notes are so clear and smooth too. I recommend these to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 4, 2012 Beast Speakers!
Review by
Gabino from Green River, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have 3 of these with a hifonics brz2400.1D in my truck and these things are crazy loud, I cut the firewall from the cab to the bed made a custom box and man am I happy with the sound. (: I do recommend these to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2012 Not very impressed...
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tyler from Evergreen, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this sub about 4 months ago. I broke it in for 2 weeks an i have it in a 1.5 cubic foot box and power it with a hifonics brz1200.1. A lot of my friends have had the past versions of the type R and i thought they were awesome, but this sub has been nothing but trouble. It over heats like crazy. I can't even get through a whole song with out my car smelling like burnt plastic and copper... It hits hard for the 2 min i can play it but after that if you feel the cone it will literally burn your hand... I never had this problem with my p3, 2 p2's or the old t1 and now I'm considering getting a new T1 cause I've never had any problems with RF. I would not recomend this sub to anyone that wants to bump for more than 2-3 min...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 30, 2012 1000 watt RMS!!! JOKE
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Anthony from Spartanburg, South Carolina
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Ok I would like to first off state I have owned the two Type R's before this one in a 10". The last one looks very similar other than the front finish and color. When I first seen this new 2012 announced I just had to get one since it could handle another 400 watt rms! Well guess what it doesn't. I have a Brutus 1200.1 that powered my last Type R great. This new one how ever for some reason can not even handle the same power. Same amp settings, same custom built box, same car. I'm not saying its a bad subwoofer and you shouldn't get one but if you already have a Type R like I did or are expecting more power don't get it! Very disappointed in you Alpine. I may be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz