Showing 24 reviews for Alpine SWR-10D4

Customer Review Summary for Alpine SWR-10D4
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 24 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
83%
4 star:
.
.
4%
3 star:
.
.
8%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
.
4%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.7
Features
4.8
Design
4.9
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
August 6, 2012 The new generation of the SWR line.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
John W from St. Louis, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Not as sloppy sounding as the previouse models. I am running it on a hifonics brz 1200.1 in a 1 cubic foot sealed box. And the sound is so clean and tight. This 10" sub can hit the low notes! Props to Alpine its a bargain for the price. Thanks Sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 22, 2012 Best bang for the buck
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Del from Seattle, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well worth the price compared to the competition. I'm running one of these in a custom box made for a 350Z. Simply amazing what this single 10" subwoofer can do. My amp is a Rockford Fosgate P400-1 and they are set for 2 ohms. The actual RMS output for the amp is 534 watts @ 2 ohms. I thought I might end up needing more but I'm very satisfied with the results. I highly recommend this sub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 19, 2014 sportman
Review by
Randy from Magnolia, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Wow this thing hits like Thor. I already had a swr10d43-x and was very impressed with it. It is 600 watts rms. This new swr 105 is a positive step above at 1000 watts rms and just as clear if not clearer than before. I can't think of one bad thing about this sub unless it is the fact that I don't have room for two. Thanks again Sonic you are by far the best when it comes to electronics. Keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2014 Spend the extra money to get something better sonic offers
Review by
matt from york, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Pros - Clear sound with somewhat decent volume for the price.

Cons - Durability isn't that great. Other subs offered by sonic are much "louder" with the same or better sound quality and last much longer.

Sub is very clear. Not as "loud" as everyone claims. Broke in the sub for the correct break in period and after that the sub completely fried out. With just a few more dollars a much better sub can be purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 20, 2014 Half price/ kick ass
Review by
Brodie from Whitecourt, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have ordered a few things from this company and all I have to say is I'll be ordering lots more cause you can't go wrong with the great deals and great customer service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 16, 2014 Great cheap bass!!
Review by
Changa from Wisconsin
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These things are loud! For what you pay you get more then expected. Best bang for your buck. Put two of these in my 2014 sierra in a under the seat ported fox box and it bangs! Just make sure ou break them in correctly. I had 2 12 alpine type r shallows and fried them hit me too hard too soon. Alpine recommends 4-6 weeks of breakin in. Otherwise great overall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 25, 2013 Excellent Sound
Review by
R.zapien from Anderson, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is way worth the price and sounds amazing. Soundz way bigger than a 10 inch just from putting it in a little box with a 1 inch port. Im planing on buying 3 more. Certainly going through Sonic Electronix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 25, 2013 Top pounding sub
Review by
J from Nyc
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Top performance and quality. Hits freakin hard. Has deep bass
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2013 Excellent sound quality
Review by
Michael from Breezy Point, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I'm running this Alpine SWR-10D4 with a Rockford Fosgate PRIME R1000-1D. I built a custom box tuned to 35Htz and let me tell you this; I have never heard bass sound this awesome! It's not as loud as you would expect from 1000 watts but it's only 1 10" sub too. After all, the more surface area, the more sound. Definitely a good buy though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Awesome as always from Alpine!!
Review by
Byron from Denver, CO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have always been a fan of Alpine speakers/subs. The one thing that you need to know about Alpine is they love power! If you do not intend on fully powering the speakers/subs you purchase close to or right at their recommended RMS, then go with something else!
That being said, this sub is currently in a custom sealed fiberglass enclosure, just under 1cf. I am running Alpine's 1000X1 RMS @ 2ohm mono class D to it, and it loves it! Sounds better than the 2 12's I had before. Sure, being a 10, it can't hit all the extremely low notes of a 12 or 15, but it does the job.
If you have the power to push it, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 SPL VS CLARITY? These 10s have both!
Review by
TampabayBass from Tampa, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was pleasantly surprised to hear the low clean/clear notes bellowing from these subs. They've wow'd me since day 1 and I'm only getting more excited to hear more from them wen they are broken in. definitely a great buy! Would easily recommend to anyone who wants to save a little trunk space but don't want to sacrifice power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2013 apline swr- 10d4
Review by
Joe from Anchorage, Alaska
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am pushing a single swr-10d4 in my f-150 after destroying two other subs. I currently have 500 watts rms pushing my alpine but this beast needs more. The response, sound quality and durability of this sub is amazing. This sub is badass and I recommend it to anyone looking for better sound in their ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 26, 2013 Pack-a-punch
Review by
dreaded hippi from Newport,WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is really great for its size... everyone told me I needed two twelves to get any bump but this downfired 10 incher really blows me away every time I crank it up... definitely a great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 29, 2013 10 inches of power
Review by
Yogadon from Rome, Ga
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This thing pounds the cab of my S-10. Running it with a MRP 500 Alpine. Make sure you dynamat. Sonicelectronix price can't be beat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 27, 2013 Awesome subs
Review by
Dj rock from Brooklyn ny
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchase 2 swr 10d4 for my ford Taurus and I have to say they kick butt.. but you have to buy the proper amp In order to get the full effect of the subs. I would recommend these subs only if your amp can handle 2000 watts rms not peak. you won't regret these subs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 26, 2013 Great buy!!
Review by
Aj from Argos, Indiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Would recommend to anyone that is looking for good clean low bass and sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 13, 2013 Good sub
Review by
Manuel from Watsonville, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The sub is good sound really good in the right box. The sub has really good flex the only thing that I did not like is the cone gets scratched really really easy other than that no complaint. Good for the price:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 23, 2013 good price
Review by
rick from yuma, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
great price on the speakers i have them in a my 2500 hd pushing them with a pdx 1000 mono amp i was not too impressed with the performance i expected more but i would not say it all has to do with the subs it may be the box they are in or something but i do think they should hit harder for being such a big rms capable. the magnet and frame work make it something to consider when installing if you have a nonconventional designed box like vehicle specific boxes for example when the box has limited space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 2, 2013 Durable is an understatement!
Review by
steffan from Vancouver, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am currently running two SWR-D2 Alpine subs with a RF T1500-1bdCP at 1 ohm with less than 1/3 gain. The birth sheet for the amp reads 1867 Watts RMS. With a OFC 1/0 gauge power and ground complimented with a 137 amp aftermarket alternator than states a 160 amp draw at 2000 rpm's with a constant 13.5 volt draw at an idle. in a slot ported box tuned at 33 hz with a gross internal volume of 1.33 cubic feet each. the T1500 is easily over powering the subs with the PEQX3 sub knob you have to be careful not to boost the bass too much because the voice coil will start slapping the magnet structure (which i do on accident all the time). I've been running these things at least 3 hours a day sometimes up to 6 hours continually at max blast for the last 4 months!!! very dependable and always stays cool (which you can feel on the cone)as long as you amp doesn't peak out. i have ran 6 different amps with these subs trying to find the perfect 1. always abused and driven to the full excursion capable of these subs at 20 mm one way which equals 1.5 inches from all in to all out. i think its closer to 2 inches but its impossible to measure, its just a guess based on the travel of the alpine emblems. my only complaint is the wire jumper terminals that come with the subs are unreliable because it hits so hard and the SPL is so high it pushes them out, however if you just use your speaker wire instead, it holds firm and tight forever. always remember that the output of the sub is relative to the amp pushing them and more important is the box they are in. i originally had them in a seal box of .75 cubic feet each but i enjoy more bass output with the same clarity tuned at 33 hz in my new box.i have spent over $2200 on my system and know i would not be where i am at now without alpine quality and sonic electonix great prices and never failing customer support and warranties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 29, 2013 Bump for your Buck
Review by
Terry from Florissant, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This subwoofer surprised the hell out of me for it's size and how much I paid for it. I have it in a sealed box and powered at 2ohms. It's getting 800watts RMS! This sub is almost as loud as my 2 12s and those were in a ported box and it less than half the size so I'm saving room too! Planning on getting a ported box for it so I can really see how loud it is! I recommend this for anyone needing to save room, money, and be loud at the same time!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 1, 2012 cant go wrong with alpine
Review by
eric from Lemont, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I shouldn't have to say much, it is alpine. Never a bad product. I have 600 rms @ 2 ohms going to it. i would love to hear it powered all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2012 Awesome subwoofers, and possibly the best.
Review by
thatIRISHtruck from T-Town, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two of these 10" subwoofers in a sealed (.65) Fox Acoustics box under the rear seat in my truck, and they sound amazing! Despite the modifications that had to be done to the box, because Fox Acoustics measurements were incorrect, there was no replacement that I would have choosen for these Type-R's. The sound is incredible, especially coming from a subwoofer that is only a 10". They definitely have a nice deep tone. I haven't attempted to push the limits of these subwoofers, but I'm sure they are pretty scary at their peak. Both subwoofers are powered by a Rockford Fosgate T1500 amp, along with a 30 farad capacitor (not adding a second battery unless I have to). BTW, yes, these subwoofers do shake everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2012 MONSTERS
Review by
Speaker Head from Lansing, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
They might be small but they are powerful. Everyone thinks I have 12's in my truck. They shake everything. Best subs I've ever owned. Highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 29, 2013 blew.
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Clinton from Wichita, KS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The subwoofer blew after 30 minutes at 4 ohms on my mtx thunder 7801. 4 ohms @ 600 watts. Am not getting a replacement even though the subwoofer was rated easily to 1000 watt rms and 3000 peak. Not sure what to try next time..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz