Showing 8 reviews for Alpine SWS-12D2

Customer Review Summary for Alpine SWS-12D2
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 12 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
67%
4 star:
.
.
25%
3 star:
.
.
8%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.3
Value
4.6
Features
4.7
Design
4.6
Usability
4.7
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
December 21, 2014 Lotta bass, little money
Review by
Griffin from East Haddam, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I ordered 2 of these subs for my senior project and boy, i was definitely not disappointed. I built a sealed box to the manufacturers specs and machined it out on a CNC router machine. Whoever said sealed subs don't hit hard definitely hasn't heard these baby's! You can feel the bass in your chest and there's great response with a sealed box with really tight sound. I wired each subs coils in series, to double impedance then parallel together to cut it in half to bring the final impedance to 2 ohms. Im using the hifonics 2000.1D amp tuned to run at 900w rms. These subs really bump for a great price, all the kids say they hear me coming up the school driveway! if you are looking for an ear piercing bass i would build a ported enclosure because im sure these things would perform great in that scenario too. But 2 of these subs in a sealed box tuned to max potential is perfect for what i wanted for daily driving, cant even see out the rearview! these things perform great in a sealed box and have been running cool, they definitely handle the power efficiently. Alpine all the way! i have been recommending the type s's and type r's to all my friends now, these are some of the crispest subs and the tightest bass ive ever heard. I cant speak to the durability because i've only had them for 2 weeks, but after driving for a while i stopped to check how they were doing and the cone wasnt even warm after bumping for hours at 900w between the 2 subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 17, 2014 Great sub and great price!
Review by
Steven from Flower Mound, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Alpine has never let me down. This subwoofer hits extremely hard. I have one powered by an alpine mrv-m500 wired at 4 ohms in a ported box. The amp is only at the normal output power setting and that's all I need. This sub is a great buy for anyone who wants the perfect amount of bass to not drown out the music completely. Don't get me wrong though, this sub is capable of doing that if you want it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 27, 2014 excellent budget sub
Review by
Darius from Hampton, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great service from the guys at sonic electronix as always. Sub is one of the best bangs for the buck. It sounds great paired with my hifonics amp. I can't imagine how it would sound if I built a tuned box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 27, 2014 subs
Review by
lily from berwyn IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My boyfriend wanted these subs so i decided to buy them fir him hes happy with them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 21, 2013 Best subs around for the price
Review by
Jacob from York, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Started with a 10" alpine type E that is now in my girlfriends toyota celica. Bought 2 of these for my car and they sound amazing no matter what style of music im listening to. I couldnt say enough good things about these subs. Extremely satisfied with all alpime products, especially the type S subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2013 Alpine Subs
Review by
Brandon from Hope, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Worked great in my application, always have had good experience with Alpine products. The dual voice coil configuration makes it easy to order what you need to run your subs at 2 ohms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 25, 2013 Yeaaaaa!
Review by
Dfife from Phoenix, Az
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
If u know me I like bass! I have 2 of these in the ground shaker 2 12 sqp
Box and it slams. I was surprised cause that's really nota big box. Imagine
A custom box! Other than that I have it hooked up to a brutis 1200 @ 2 ohms. Good subs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 12, 2012 bass shaking, hard hitting, deep low traveling bass by far!!!!!
Review by
bass head!!! from kealakekua, hawaii
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had just replaced 4 10" orion cobalt subwoofers in a 5 cubic foot box ported at 45hertz. with a sws12d2 subwoofer in a 1.5 cubic foot L vented wedge box tuned at 35.1 hertz. this thing hits as hard as my old 4 orion 10" and hits as low as the 4 10". for the price of this sws you get more then your money's worth!!! this sub slams hard in my hatch back!!! I've been thinking bout getting a sws15d2. don't get me wrong the 12 is loud n hits low. but im a bass head!!!! to the fullest!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz