Showing 15 reviews for JVC KW-R500 (Factory Refurbished)

Customer Review Summary for JVC KW-R500 (Factory Refurbished)
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 17 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
88%
4 star:
.
.
6%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
.
6%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.9
Value
4.8
Features
4.8
Design
4.7
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
August 4, 2012 Great and Powerful Sound! Worlds Better Than OEM.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Aaron from Richfield, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
JVC has the most selections for more "budget-priced" double-din head units. My 2012 Corolla will accommodate a double-din, so I wanted that. Single DIN head units just look too tiny. I've never had JVC car audio equipment before, but had some home audio stuff from them many years ago. While often overlooked for other brands, JVC is quite a respectable brand and should not be overlooked.

I bought this to use exclusively with my iPod nano. I don't listen to CDs anymore, and I don't listen to the radio. Practically everything I would want to listen to is on my iPod. So I can't comment on the CD player or radio tuner.

I won't spend too much time talking about the features of this model. You can easily look that up yourself. I'll just quickly say that it's not difficult to use. Anything that isn't immediately obvious to use can be quickly looked up in the owner's manual (which is pleasantly succinct).

What I will talk about in this review is the sound quality and power output from the built-in amp.

I had this installed with Pioneer TS-A1674 6 1/2's in the door, and Pioneer TS-A6974R 6 x 9's in the rear deck. I had the installer disconnect the stock tweeters. I'm not running an amp to these speakers. They're both pretty efficient (90+ db sensitivity) and this JVC deck puts out 20 watts RMS. That might not sound like much to some people, but turned up, this hurt my ears well before any distortion set in. So as far as the 20 x 4 RMS amp, it's plenty powerful to drive efficient co-axials. In fact, I'd personally have no problem using this deck to power a set of efficient components up front. So to sum up the power portion - it's plenty powerful. I was drawn to this instead of competing decks offering 14 watts RMS.

Now let's talk about sound quality. When first installed, the sound is actually pretty bad. I wasn't too surprised. I figured I would just have to adjust the bass, mid, and treble. (Some head units only have bass and treble - I like how this one has mid as well). So I started tweaking the bass, mid, and treble. Didn't help. At all. I was convinced that I either bought the wrong head unit, but was really suspecting the speakers were cheap crap. That's when I remembered reading about the "Pro" EQ settings. Accessing these Pro options is different than hitting the EQ button to adjust bass. The Pro options let you adjust the frequency of the bass/mid/treble that you're boosting/lowering with the normal EQ button. It also lets you adjust Q. Even if you don't know what Q is (like me) it doesn't matter. You try the few (or so) different settings until you like what you hear. After I adjusted the Pro settings, I had a big smile on my face. It now sounds GREAT. Now I just need subs and an amp and my system will be complete.

Speaking of the Pro EQ settings, it might sound like you either need to know what you're doing, or that it's a huge pain that takes forever. But it's not (I promise). It's actually pretty quick and easy, and it's all by ear.

Should you choose this HU, or another one in the JVC line? I went with this one because it's the cheapest. I don't care about bluetooth, nor do I care about HD radio. Those are really what you're paying for with more expensive models. The power output and sound quality (and Pro EQ options) are the same. If I want good sounding radio, I'll just plug my iPhone into the USB connector and run an app like TuneIn which apparently streams at higher bitrates than HD radio anyway.

Conclusion - I'm very happy I went with this unit. It's powerful, sounds great (and minor tweaking) and didn't break the bank. It does everything I want it to. If I had to come up with something I wish it had, it would be the ability to store more user selectable EQ settings (instead of just one) but it's not a huge deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 9, 2014 Love it!
Review by
Mike from Westminster, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio is fantastic with the my ipod. Lots of cool features on this radio. Found it the cheapest by far at Sonic electronix. Very easy to install myself with the kit they sent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 29, 2013 Well worth the money
Review by
Marcos from St.Cloud, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Never really owned any JVC Products, but as doing my research on this particular radio, it seemed very well worth the price. It has everything that is needed to do some serious customizing on the output of the speakers on the size of the vehicle for the dimensions as well. Being able to match the color on the gauges of my vehicle was a plus :). Bluetooth pairing has been a blessing with not having to use headphones, the mic is awesome, it also automatically connects the Bluetooth device to the radio in less than 45 secs or so which is great with the Pandora. The overall construction of the radio it self seems very sturdy and good quality.

Very impressed with the radio from JVC. It was installed in a 05 Subaru STI. Great investment ! and I recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 14, 2013 Great stereo,sound great
Review by
O from Oamaru, New Zealand
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
like this double din,affordable,and sound great,and adjust color,lot of different light to choose from to match my dashboard light,...
And last of all SONIC done a awesome service,
Letting me know that this will fit on my odyssey 05,if not for them i wont have a clue,bought it,and its perfect..
THANK YOU SONIC ELECTRONIX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 26, 2013 Great Product
Review by
Greg from Arlington, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very happy with the product and this wonderful company which sells it. Saved lots of money as well since I needed it for my car in Canada. I had it shipped to my friend in Arlington who brought it with her to Toronto.

Once I had everything is ready I realized that Dash Kit for the US model only and I had to cut it to fit to Canadian model of Hyundai Elantra 07.

Other than that installation was pretty easy, sound was great plus I had an option to play via USB and AUX.

Thanks Sonic Electronics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2013 Awsome Stereo
Review by
Edgar from Odessa, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love this stereo, I like the idea that I can tune the colors to match my interior gauge cluster lighting. The only drawback of this stereo is that I just cant get the "subwoofer" function to operate properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Exceptional value and sound
Review by
Leonard from Westfield, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would highly recommend this radio, it sounds great with plenty of features. I love the option of changing the screen color to match factory colors. iPod and I Phone control are great through cord and IPhone 4s really charges too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Great Features & Price
Review by
Matt from Centerton, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Simple to use, complete with great features (USB port, mini plug for auxiliary input, wide array of color themes, crystal-clear sound, plus remote control), and all for a great price! Easy install in my 2000 Toyota Tacoma pickup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 13, 2013 Eye Candy
Review by
John from El Paso,Tx
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I don't know of a better stereo for the price. The double din in my Ranger looks awesome. You won't believe how much more power this has over stock. The display that changes colors constantly grabs your attention. It can also be turned off. Together with my JBL GTO speakers make a hard to beat combination. Highly recommended. Thanks Sonic for a great deal on an awesome stereo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2013 GREAT RADIO
Review by
Austin from Warren, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
radio works great and it looks amazing! its really cool at night when it goes into color rotation. the only bad thing is sonic told me that it would fit in my truck with no modifications but it needed major dash modification.. i had to cut about 1/2 inch of plastic from around the outside of the old head unit but other than that it is a great head unit and i would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 28, 2013 Great Radio, Great Price
Review by
Sebastian from Santiago, Chile
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The radio is incredible. For a double din I think it's one of the best at this price range. I installed it in a 2005 RAV4, and works perfectly. The only problem of this radio, is that I can't see clearly the display in the sunlight, which is pretty annoying sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 16, 2013 Great Head unit
Review by
Derek from apple creek, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great head unit. I have had no problems with it. It looks awesome and all the features are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 10, 2013 Great stereo upgrade
Review by
Tony from Sellersburg
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I replaced ome stereo in 08 Hyundai Santa Fe with this unit. I also purchased Axxess ASWC to operate steering wheel controls and everything works and looks great. Very pleased with this purchased . Great price and value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 28, 2012 nice headunit
Review by
jake from Hartselle, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
it was easy to put in works great for what i need it for not a lot of money overall it was awesome clock never stays with right time only problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 16, 2012 Great Looking
Review by
Nathan from Melissa, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great looking piece of hardware and is very easy to install. The only problem I had was getting the dimmer to adjust automatically according to when my lights were on or it was time for it to be dark outside. I love it so far. No other issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz