Showing 27 reviews for JVC KW-R900BT

Customer Review Summary for JVC KW-R900BT
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 38 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
71%
4 star:
.
.
29%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.8
Value
4.9
Features
4.8
Design
4.6
Usability
4.4
what's this?
Most Helpful 5 star Customer Reviews:
March 7, 2014 great buy for the money
Review by
rondale from Orlando, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is a nice set if your looking for usb,cd player and just a nice buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 7, 2014 Awesome
Review by
Lj from South Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The product does everything it tells you to a high standard especially for the value u get the features for on the stereo. The bluetooth feature is the most used feature for me and works great (use for music 10 but the mic doesnt work crystal clear on phone conversations but get the job done 6-7).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 18, 2014 Love it!
Review by
Brian from Heber City, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I needed a deck to give my wife bluetooth hands free in her Mitsubishi Galant. Install went off with out a hitch. This deck has great features for it's price point. I was hoping it would be easy to navigate and access features so I would have to explain it over and over again to my wife. She mastered it in no time (and she's really not that technically savvy). I love that it remembers and pairs with both our phones and switches back and forth easily. I'm glad I purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2014 Very Good Head Unit for the Money
Review by
Bradley from Port Saint Lucie, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Everything worked as described in the literature. I prewired the wiring harness to the new head unit on the kitchen, much easier to do there than sitting in your truck. My harness was the Scosche GM09SR for my 2005 Colorado and worked perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 27, 2013 Loaded value double-din unit
Review by
JonUF02 from Orlando, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a great value-price unit for a double-din space. Packed with great features and so easy my sister can use it with minimal questions. All the bluetooth features work simply and flawlessly. Pandora link shows song titles and allows track skipping directly on the unit. Phone sync works perfect and allows 2 phones. If you don't care about paying extra for the unnecessary "bling" factor of a touch screen unit, and you want to fill a double-din opening without the ugly pocket adapter kits, then this is the one for you! This has all the good stuff and nice display features for a great price. I chose this over the similarly priced Pioneer because it allows for addition of Sirius/XM satellite option, and the display can show more information than the slightly lower JVC model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 17, 2013 Great Unit
Review by
Nonickname from Birmingham, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit sounds great! It also has some very useful features like time alignment, amplifier gain, speaker crossover separate for front and rear, subwoofer control, three sets of RCA outs (one for the subwoofer), and many others. I have seen reviews complaining that the unit's lighting is too bright, but the thing is there is a setting for that too! Under the main menu choose "dimmer" then "brightness" and you can control that. I adjusted mine and it is very close to the same brightness as the stock gauges on my f150. There is also a 5 band equalizer that is useful to tune overly bright speakers or to alter the sound to your liking. The unit blends in on my dash and looks very stock like too.

I am very pleased with this unit and I believe it sounds good enough to please even many "audiophiles". I have mine connected to an older A/D/S amplifier (MX460) which puts out 60w x4 and it sounds great. The Burr Brown 24 bit DAC probably has a lot to do with that. For the price I don't see how you can go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 16, 2013 Nice Head Unit
Review by
Robert from Sanford, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The head unit does just fine. I like the factory style buttons, and color choices. I am not a fan of any of the touch screen head units. The head unit mounts well. I will say that it introduced some noise to the system coming from the amp pre-outs. I resolved it by using a small copper wire and wrapped around all the pre-outs and then put the RCA cables in. The pro-eq is great, it allows full control of the sound. Bluetooth works perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 9, 2013 peterc
Review by
Peter from Edmonton, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
so far so good lots of features sounds great, good purchase the free installation kit made life easy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 18, 2013 Great deck for a great price!
Review by
Danbin from Calgary, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought this deck to replace the factory unit in our Trailblazer. Having owned literally dozens of decks, ranging from low end to the best money can buy, I didn't have high expectations for this one (being priced at $159!). I must say, I am pleasantly surprised!
This unit is very simple to operate. Installation was a breeze, thanks to the good folks at Sonic E helping me get the necessary harnesses and adapters. Functionally, this deck does EVERYTHING I want it to! Bluetooth works great (love the fact that we can have 2 phones hooked up at the same time), which is what I use most of the time. The built in crossovers are so simple to use, I am so impressed!
Overall, I would definitely recommend this unit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 17, 2013 great value and great oem replacement
Review by
joseph from west memphis, AR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
factory radio in my 2008 gmc sierra stopped working. installed with two radio converters, one for steering wheel capability and one to run all other bells and whistles with onstar. radio sounds great. keep up the good work Sonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2013 JVC
Review by
Terry from Compton
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit is great.It has a lot of features to adjust your music needs,and the power is great.The bluetooth works well,cannot complain on that.I would recommend this unit to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 15, 2013 does not fit 2011 ford ranger.
Review by
kevin from Ramstein, Germany
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I guess the ford ranger stock CD player is not quite a double din. I had to dermal out the dash to make this unit fit and when all was said and done, there was a small gap on the right side. people say the installation looks good but I see the gap every time I get into the pickup...... what a pain :/.... other than that, it's a great CD player. this is the second time I've bought this model. I had it in my 2007 chevy Silverado and the JVC fit great. it also sounds great in both trucks and it easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 10, 2013 pretty good
Review by
Hew hempner from Warm Springs, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
No list of cons with this headunit. When using the bluetooth to play music its clear as a cd. Highly recommend this here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 26, 2013 Amazing
Review by
Erik from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This deck is above and beyond what I hoped for. Many features and functions and they all work great. Bluetooth works great call quality is top notch.

Only down side it wont read my 1 terabyte hard drive. But I can deal with that since everything else is outstanding

Well worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 20, 2013 Great Head Unit
Review by
Jacob from Niagara Falls, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My only complaint is that it can be hard to read when it's sunny out, although I suspect this is the case with most comparable head units.

The sound quality is fantastic, the deck looks great, too. With the ability to choose a wide variety of colors, it doesn't stick out like other aftermarket decks. Most people don't even realize it isn't stock.

I mostly use bluetooth and it works great. I haven't used USB or AUX yet. Bluetooth takes about 15-30 seconds to connect to my phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 8, 2013 awesome car stereo
Review by
Robert from Dewey, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This stereo is a great buy at this price well worth the money.I have owned a lot of car stereos some were really expensive and this by far is my favorite one.It has plenty of hookups to run multiple amps front rear and sub with plenty of power to feed them.It has plenty of menu options so you can make ur system sound great what ever kind of music you listen to.The bluetooth is awesome works perfect the ipod controls are great as well.The screen is big and bright the buttons are big and well lit easy to get to and use.It is very user friendly easy to understand.The colors are endless and can match just about any interior.i have one in my 2002 GMC Sanoma and my 2010 Malibu and i have recommended it to all my friends and family they love the way it looks in both vehicles plus sonic electronix gives you everything you need to install it so you cant go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2013 Very Happy With This Unit
Review by
Strongcoffee from Regina, SK, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed in a 2007 Ford Crown Victoria. Just wanted to wait a few months before reviewing this unit and I must say that it was a very good choice. I really enjoy being able to sync two phones. I was able to adjust the color to match my interior and the day/night dimming feature all work fine.
The hard buttons and volume dial were a real plus for me as it gets really, really cold here in the winter (-42F last year) and a reason I didn't go for a touch screen. Installation was not difficult, with the Sonic supplied accessories. Just wish the menu was, at times, a little more intuitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 25, 2013 Excellent Value
Review by
Michael from Watauga, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Installed in 2000 Toyota Tundra. Factory mounts matched up almost perfectly.(Had to enlarge 1 out of 4 holes). Easy install, hardest part was running the mic. Used pre-amp outputs to my existing amplifiers. Used a scope to adjust amp gains, unit sounds great. Tuner maybe not as good as factory, but close. USB and Bluetooth are what I bought it for, Phone pairing was simple and fast. Taking phone calls works great and people hear me fine. This is really an amazing value at $199. Multi-line display, Radio preset hard buttons and the ability to tune the color(Day and Night separately make this a great head unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 16, 2013 Great Buy. Exceptional Value
Review by
mark from Belle River, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Takes up to 3 Bluetooth devices. On long trips each person playing there music wirelessly.
Audio book play wirelessly also over Bluetooth from phone or Ipod.
Come complete with Microphone for clear hands free while driving. I do a lot of mileage and this car audio has been a great help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 14, 2013 Reliable
Review by
Adam from New Albany, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have had the JVC KW-R900BT for 6 months and i have not had any problems. I use the bluetooth feature all the time. If you want a reliable radio this is the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 26, 2013 Great Product
Review by
Edwin from Fort Worth, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Me and my son and a friend bought JVC for our vehicles and installed them ourselves and 6 months later were still very happy with the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 9, 2013 Great Unit for 2001 to 2004 Ford Mach 460 Replacement.
Review by
JerryM from Mississauga ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My Mach 460 HU kept jamming, I bought a KW-R800BT here in Canada but the HPF/LPF was not quite at the frequencies of the the stock Ford unit and I wanted to keep things as stock as possible (no wiring changes). Checked around Pioneer, Kenwood, (JVC-Kenwood same thing), Alpine, the KW-R900Bt is the closest I could find for a simple swap and this unit has not disappointed. I also installed the Powerbass S-275CH into the Mustang pods and rear pods tight fit but it works. This is for a 2001 Cobra. LPF 200HZ, -12db slope, HPF 200HZ -18db slope, subwoofer volume at 3 and I must say it sounds twice as good as the stock sytem. Thanks, to SonicElectronix this was a great buy for me, didn't need the free harness or mounting kit, however will give that to my brother he has a 1999 Cobra. Could not have purchased this unit for less, that is if I could find it above the 49 parallel. Will give him my 800Bt if he wants it good unit as well but not as many options to keep things stock. Mach 460 has just became a Mach 540 peak, no sub required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 2, 2013 Clean, Sleek, And Full of Functions
Review by
Steven from Grand Rapids, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I got this unit as a Christmas gift from the family (awesome right?) after looking at reviews everywhere on all different units. I was looking for something that wouldn't attract the wrong attention and look almost stock without sacrificing the benefits of a nice deck. 5V gold plated preouts, Bluetooth system that is easy and clear, and the ability to tune to your hearts content, and features galore. The cool thing is, I can't complain about a single thing on this radio. I put it in Christmas day and a week later I still don't want to get out of the car. If you want something simple packed with the best of the best packed into it, Here ya go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 4, 2012 2002 F150 Install
Review by
Tom from Imperial, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent unit. Looks OEM installed in myF150. Do not use the JVC sleeve when installing. Cut your sub dash about 3/4" and use the Metra kit to install.
The unit is excellent, operates well, sounds awesome. Functions are well laid out. Bluetooth for my Droid and Pandora streaming is so cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2012 JVC
Review by
james from corinth, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit performs great! I was a little hesitant coming from an Alpine CDA-9887. I was looking for a double din unit that had blue tooth, Time Alignment, X-Over and subwoofer adjustments. This one does and it really performs. Super clean unit. My only complaint is the menu system. In order to get to some of the often used controls - Sub level, balance and fade, you have to go into the same menu as everything else. It would be nice if there was another button to access these controls. In any event, the performance is what counts must and this one delivers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 1, 2012 Awesome Deck
Review by
Steven from Tucson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This thing is real nice. Has a wide range of controls. If you need to be happy with seeing the radio in the day time,then buy this one. The color adjustments are second to none. Very cool to have 5 band eq that the user can mess with, even the factory settings. It also has a full set of cross over settings.
The bad.. to hard to get to the sub level without wrecking the vehicle. So a control from kicker was a must , and a better way to go anyway. The two things a need to adjust quickly with no fuss is the sum level and volume control. That brings me to the other gripe. The volume knob is to slick and requires to much effort. Pretty minor issues for such a great amount of pluses. I would say this is the nicest deck I have owned. And I have owned my share because I am a tech junkie. The bluetooth and pandora off of my Samsung Galaxy 2 work perfect also.
Super happy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 9, 2012 worth the $$$
Review by
Big O from Pittsburgh, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased this unit bout a month ago. Ifinally have it in my car & I love it . It does everything I need it 2 do. It has my T1 bangin out. So far i'm very satisfied
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz