Showing 9 reviews for JVC KD-HDR71BT

Customer Review Summary for JVC KD-HDR71BT
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 9 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
78%
4 star:
.
.
22%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.8
Features
4.9
Design
4.8
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 17, 2013 Great Sound, Great Value
Review by
Tim from Tolleson, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This stereo works great and the reception is better on HD than my old one was on analog. The menu's are a bit more complicated than I think is necessary but the adaptability that the adjustments give to the sound in my truck is great. The only thing I have to really complain about is the sensitivity of the microphone for the Bluetooth hands free phone usage. It is not nearly sensitive enough. I have to talk very loud to be heard. It seems to need to be less than a foot from your mouth to work for a normal tone of voice. It does work seamlessly with my "Dumb Phone" and was fairly easy to link up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 8, 2013 Great all around unit.
Review by
Troy from Alexandria, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit has been fantastic from day one. Easy to use and you will always have a way to connect to it. Could not ask for anything more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2013 Great Product
Review by
Mark from Maryland Heights, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is everythng you would ever want for your car. It's amazing. It goes with me if I get another car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 8, 2013 Works well
Review by
Raymond from Claremore, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Unit installed easily in my 2000 Chevy Silverado. Navigates easily; Bluetooth syncs easily to my 4G iPhone. I have played it on FM HD & Bluetooth almost daily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 4, 2013 JVC KD-HDR71BT
Review by
mike from Rancho Santa Margarita, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great head unit with BT capability (supplied dongle) allowing you to use your iPhone wirelessly along with Pandora and iTunes. Also like the front end USB port as well as its capacity to read a large number of folders and files. The HD FM Stereo is real sweet as well! Love the multicolor display feature. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 28, 2013 great value
Review by
Pancho from FEDERAL WAY, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend this product. easy to install. they give everything you need to install
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 26, 2012 Great receiver
Review by
Robert from Virginia BeachVirginia Beach, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently returned to sonicelectronix.com to purchase another JVC KD-HDR71BT. This time it went into my classic 1972 Oldsmobile 442 which I factory ordered in November 1971. This JVC unit has performed so well in my 1999 Chevy Blazer Trailblazer that I wanted to try it in my special Oldsmobile. I had previously installed a Jensen MP6212 in my Olds so the hard work was already done. I had previously constructed a wiring harness and it was a simple matter to remove the Jensen harness and solder the JVC harness in its place. The wiring color code for both JVC and Jensen are the same. The only difference is in the radio connector. once this was accomplished, the next task was routing the microphone wire up the door post and under the head liner. This took about 25 minutes. the microphone was position neat the rear-view mirror. I painted the faceplate trim ring to match my interior color and crafted a rear support to hold the rear of the receiver a bit more solid. This is the way GM did it originally.

I am delighted with this JVC receiver. The Blue Tooth is really easy to set up. I love the HD radio, the Pandora control and the rear USB. The price is great for a radio with all of these features. I am really impressed with the quality and features of this unit.
As I said in my last review, I am a retired automotive technician and I am a stickler for doing a job so that it works and looks like it belongs.

I highly recommend the the JVC KD-HDR71BT and Sonic Electronix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 11, 2012 awesome sound
Review by
Robert from FARMINGDALE, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This unit sounds awesome. Tons of features. Biggest bang for your buck. I just wish there was a faster way to navigate to the eq section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 11, 2012 Excellent Company, Excellent Receiver, Great value.
Review by
Colonel Bob from Virginia Beach, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently ordered the JVC KD-HDR71BT from SonicElectronix.com after a couple of weeks of research for the right unit for my 1999 like new Chevy Blazer Trailblazer. I wanted Bluetooth/hands free/ HD radio, Sat radio, iPod/iPhone and Pandora and CD. Since my original unit is Din and a half i was concerned about fit and finish appearance.
I also do not like to alter the dash or factory attaching points. As a retired auto technician with a degree in Applied Science and a classic car collector I like the option of returning the vehicle to its original configuration if desired.
I viewed many manufacturers and units and even considered a Double Din Conversion. Finally I decided that the JVC KD-HDR71BT was the the best value for my requirements. Careful measurement of my original radio and the dash cavity and a review of the JVC dimensions made me confident that the JVC unit would fit without alteration to my dash. I was still concerned with the finish and trim appearance in my Blazer. I really dislike the appearance of most install kits, which usually add some kind of dash pocket to take up space. I bought a couple of different install kits to check out the options and decided to proceed.

My internet search found many vendors for my chosen JVC units at prices from $155.00 to $240. The JVC suggested retail price is $209.00. Sonicelectronix.com had the best value at $155 plus free shipping and free install kit. The antenna adapter was $4.95 for a total of $159.95, a minimumal savings of $54 on the Receiver along not counting the cost of shipping and the install kit, wiring harness, etc. As a plus I received my order within three days of making the order.

The installation of the KD-HDR71BT was straight forward. I built the adaphter harness in my shop and chose to solder and heat shrink the connections. I added a seperate ground wire because of all the warnings on ensuring a good ground. Installing the microphone wire out of sight was labor intensive as was routing the rear USB cable thru the dash.
The install which SonicElectronix.com provided was exactly what I had been searching for and had not found. It is a Scosche GM1588B/GM1588. Ihis is a single din plate that filles the dash opening perfectly and attaches to the OEM attachmet points just like the original radio. This makes the aftermarket unit look like it belongs.

The instructions provided by JVC and Scosche are easy to follow and straight forward. The customer service of SonicElectronix.com is first rate. The overall experience has been very pleasant. With a bit of patience and care and not forcing the dash trim, There are three 7mm screws that hold the dash bezel in place. the easy one is at the center top infront of the gage cluster. The other two are under the lower trim which must be removed to access them.

I would and will purchase from SonicElectronix.com again. I would also purchase another JVC Receiver. The setup and operation of my KD-HDR71BT has been flawless. It does require that you read the manual supplied and have it handy while performing the operations. This is a full featured Receiver with many wonderful options. I highly recomment it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz