Showing 29 reviews for NVX SDRLR1 Sound Dampening Rubber Roller

Customer Review Summary for NVX SDRLR1 Sound Dampening Rubber Roller
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 29 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
76%
4 star:
.
.
21%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
3%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.6
Features
4.5
Design
4.6
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
August 23, 2014 Takes a beating
21 of 35 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jonathan from Marion, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This thing can take a beating to say the least. I used it for about 5 consecutive hours to install my trunk kit and it only unscrewed once. I was using as much pressure as I could on certain parts to make sure the sound dampener would stick and this took it all. By the time I was done, the rubber roller seemed to have shrunk a little but I expected that. I wish I would have gotten the smaller roller as well for the tight spaces, but this was a great help to get all the air bubbles out. It's also really durable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 3, 2012 a must have when installing sound dampening products
19 of 31 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Foxy from Martins Ferry, Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Very nice and works very well. I would have never did as good as i did installing nvx sound dampening without this. This and the material is all you need it makes the job very simple. I would reccomend this to anyone who wants a good durable roller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2013 Good and cheap
22 of 38 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Sam from Vancouver, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good product, easy to use and durable. Very helpful in installing sound dampener. It's also cheap for a proper rubber roller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 3, 2015 Works fine
20 of 36 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
BZ from South FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Bought from Sonic along with Maxxlink VSD-TK 5 pc set. Basic shipping was fast. The roller worked very well. I have large hands and was able to use the roller without a problem. Only thing- check the tightness of the Nyloc nut and bolt that holds the roller on the handle. Mine popped apart while I was on the 5th and last section of damping material. A simple twist together plus an extra 1/8" turn and it did not come off again. I would buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2014 Why pay more?
24 of 44 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ACLJavi from Waco, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This roller is more than capable of getting the job done. One trick you can do for tight curves is to use the handle of the roller to get the dampening material to conform to them.

All in all, a roller is roller. So, why pay more than this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 3, 2012 Worked as advertised.
14 of 25 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Blake Parken from Charlotte, NC
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
No complaints. Little roller worked just as advertised. The YouTube video you guys have on the installation was quite helpful too for a novice like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2014 value
20 of 38 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ERIC from CALGARY, AB, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I hear a roller is a must have for applying dampening, for the price its worth ordering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 5, 2013 Rubber Roller
17 of 32 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Trent Streichert from Northwood, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is a heavy duty roller that is very durable. Ive used it for many applications and was always pleased with its performance. I would recommend this to anyone trying to apply sound dampening material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 18, 2013 NVX Sound Dampening Roller
19 of 36 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brendan from Boise, ID
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Amazing roller gets the job done well. Seems like everytime i got into little spaces that i couldnt use the roller I cut my hands up this roller saves your hands and saves time. I did have the nut that holds the roller on come off while using it but its easy to put back on, I put it back on by hand. Worth the money for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2012 Perfect tool for all sound dampening products
19 of 36 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
DonnieE from Santa Clarita, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great tool for all sound dampeners for half the price of dynamat's roller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2012 HEAVY DUTY ROLLER!
13 of 24 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Hector from San Diego, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is great when it comes to installing sound dampening works great and helps u alot installing your sound dampening it is heavy duty and for me i think its a great product and NVX is making some great products check them out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 29, 2014 great roller tool
18 of 35 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
tevin from hot springs, SD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Really can't say anything bad about this product the good it made the job ease a plus another is small and easy to get in most small places note but not all places
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 17, 2013 Not very good
11 of 21 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Chris from Parksville, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The roller came apart in less than a quarter of the installation of a NVX kit. Was not expensive but would not recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 8, 2012 NVX rocks!!!
7 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
erozas03 from United States
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sweet little tool! Works well with NVX Sound Dampener or any other brand! Made my install simple, durable and great looking! Thanks NVX!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 5, 2015 It's a roller
17 of 34 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Greg from PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
There's not much to say. It held up through the job. Hopefully I won't have to use it again for awhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 10, 2014 NVX Roller
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Amy from Foreston, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I rubbed on about 70-80 sq ft of dampener with this roller, and I wasn't particularly nice to it and it did it's job and is still as new. Works well working dampener into the recesses of sheet metal, but that being said, it is just a medium duty tool. Be decent with it and it will last you a while. Not really any hidden features, it just rolls dampener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2014 Glad I used it or something like it.
12 of 24 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Denton from Oologah, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I went ahead and punched this roller due to a special when I purchased a 36sq ft Roadkill Bulk Pack. I could have done the job without a roller, BUT, It would not have gone as easy or as successfully! Based on other reviews the first thing I did was tighten the end nut of the roller with a socket. The net is a nylon locking nut. I had no problems with it loosening. This product can and will bend if you apply a lot of pressure, to me this was a non issue. I think if you are just going to do a few vehicles than you can't beat the value of this roller. If I was a professional installer I might would want something more.
I do feel like I was able to more successfully apply the sound deadener with the roller. I was able to roll out air bubbles and achieve good solid adhesion.
So far I have only used it on my four doors. I do recommend some sort of roller for installing sound deadening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 30, 2014 Great roller!
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tman from Queen Creek, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Really helped adhering the sound deadener. Would buy again, cheap and a time saver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 does the job well
10 of 21 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
austin from westminster, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i used this roller to install a 40sq ft bulk kit, and when i was done the roller was still in great shape. The metal bracket that holds the roller to the handle could be a bit stronger, but it held up for the time that i needed it.

definitely worth the money, it makes the job alot easier than doing it by hand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 9, 2014 SO AMAZING YES
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tyler from Bartlesville, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It's a freaking roller, what'd you expect? The nut hasn't come off yet so it's obviously not a 1/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 2, 2013 Does it's job for cheap
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Sean from Port Moody, BC, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Does what it's made to do for cheap without breaking after my first installation. Nothing special though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2013 works great
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
ant from normal, illinois
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
initially i thought it looked cheap, i tighten the bolt up before i used cause it wasnt quite to the locking part of the nut. it lasted through my whole install of a 40 ft bulk kit. i did the whole interior of my s10 extended cab. i will be writing a review of that also, nvx hasnt let me down yet, thanks sonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 8, 2013 awesome
15 of 32 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
gary from green bay, wi
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its a great tool and worked awesome... Well worth it A+++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 14, 2014 Rubber. Roller
13 of 29 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Joel from Pataskala, OH
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy to use, only a couple of extra dollars with bundle purchase. A very primitive design, but it works well. I used the rounded wooden handle as much as the roller side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 21, 2014 Greate value
15 of 33 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Derek from Las vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would defiantly recommend this to anyone applying deadner. It worked perfect for me. Made my install go flawlessly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2013 Rubber Roller
4 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brandon from Hope, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy to lay the sound deadening with this roller. I had the lock nut come off once but easy fix. The handle on it works great to get into some of the odder shapes on the floor.
Would not attempt to install sound deadening wihtout this, or something like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 30, 2013 Nice and durable
16 of 36 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Savion from Ogallala, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
When you first get it, it looks amazing. It's a very nice wood and rubber roller. it's tough and it handled sitting in my pickup for a few hours in 100+ degree heat. It didn't bend and I applied a lot of pressure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 22, 2013
15 of 35 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
3vilpanda from concord, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i got this to use on my back deck and my trunk and my plate. worked great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 27, 2015 its ok
11 of 30 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Eric from harvest, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Its good for flat surfaces, but you could actually get away with using the edge of a tool or carpet knife. The roller doesn't get deep into cracks and creveses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz