Showing 7 reviews for JVC KD-R80BT

Customer Review Summary for JVC KD-R80BT
Average Customer Rating is 4.7 out of 5 stars:
4.7
based on 7 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
71%
4 star:
.
.
29%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
4.7
Features
4.9
Design
4.4
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
November 29, 2012 Excellent buy
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Gerard from ottawa, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is an excellent car radio. Bought it for my daughter. The reason I selected it was that it had excellent connectivity to smart phone (BB), had good blue tooth, connectivity to other usb port (ipod). Morover it was important that the usb port could be coupled to a port I had made in the dashbord (so that all wires would be concealed requiring that the port of the radio was not on the front of the radio). This radio has it all and more. Excellent sound etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 2, 2012 Great Head Unit
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tallredrider from Washington, UT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this head unit for my boat. It has been exceptional. It has a higher preamp output which was very nice given that my RCA cables make long runs to get to the amplifiers. I love how it has 2 USB inputs that are powered. So I can even charge up my phone on the head unit. In addition, the AUX input adds even more variety. It has performed flawlessly, and I would buy this unit again for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 11, 2012 Good, but lots of tweaking required
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Mark from Evanston, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed this in my older 3 series over a month ago, but only now am I finally happy with it. Some background will help. I was coming from a 1999 era top-end Blaupunkt CD deck (Toronto RDM126). It only had CD and radio, and controlled the 10-disc in the trunk, but it had very good sound, decent ergonomics, rock-solid build quality, and it matched the dash beautifully. I just wanted to add USB playback and Bluetooth. On paper, this JVC looked great: a big full-pixel screen, adjustable color, and a classier design than many decks today.

After an extensive install (due to the removal of the old changer wiring and running the mic up to the ceiling and the USB to the console), my first day with it was a big disappointment. I found the buttons small and awkwardly placed; the sound was either tinny or muddy depending on where the EQ was set; I had to wait 45 seconds each start-up for it to catalog the USB drive (I assumed it would cache this, but it does not); but worst of all, the screen was nearly illegible in any daylight at all. Since everything is menu-driven, this meant taking my eyes way off the road to do anything. My overall impression was that this was high on technology but low on usable design.

Since then I've been trying to correct as many of these shortcomings as possible. At last, I've fixed the biggest two to my satisfaction: the sound and the screen.

Sound: For whatever reason, with my system (5.25 Polk all around and still using the factory amp), the head unit needs a Loudness setting to sound decent. My old Blaupunkt had a great adjustable Loudness control. This JVC just has a single setting, on or off, but Ďoní would bottom-out the speakers even at modest volume. They key here was to counteract this overkill with the EQ by cutting bass substantially. Itís counter-intuitive, but by playing these two settings off each other Ė one boosting bass and the other cutting it Ė it now sounds decent.

Screen: This was a trickier problem. I first tried the obvious: contrast and brightness settings. These were not enough. I then gave up on matching the display color to the dash, since the only way to get true full brightness was to turn up each element (R,G,B) to max, which produces a blueish hue. Still not enough. I then switched the display to Positive rather than Negative, which makes the screen put out more light (since the background is lit, not the text). This helped more. Finally, the key was to apply a good anti-glare filter over the display, to allow the still-weak LCD to compete better with the ambient light. I first tried a simple cellphone matte anti-glare shield, but this helped only a little. The real key was the discovery of a reflection-cancelling film called NuShield DayVue. (The smaller cut-to-fit kit is just big enough.) This was a savior; I can now comfortably read the LCD display in normal daylight, which means I can finally operate the thing safely. You may have an easier time with the display depending on the angle your installed location makes with your line of sight to it. But for me, I nearly had to return it over this.

Still no solution for the 45 second start-up, some small buttons, or the plastic-y build quality, of course, but at least I can finally enjoy my new stereo. The phone integration works well too. I still havenít played a CD in it yet, but itís nice to know that is still there as a backup. The KD-X80BT is the same deck without a CD slot, if you are sure you can dispense with it. The price difference is minimal, however.

Installing a new head unit has never been this much work for me, but I think it was worth it in the end to have my entire music collection in the car. I just wish JVC had put a little more effort into the use factors of the design. Cheap shiny plastic over a dim LCD is design malpractice in a car stereo. I hope these tips help someone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 1, 2013 great buy!!!
Review by
Michael from Spokane, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
cd player is a great deal for cost and offers alot of features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 12, 2013 jvc head unit
Review by
donald from baton rouge, LA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
so many options with this guy and easy to find them how ever i dont like the bass control for user set up. other then that i love this unit looks ok in my car sound quality is awesome, and works great with my phone i never got around to useing the app so cant really comment on it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 15, 2012 Great Unit!
Review by
Tom from 203, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product is awesome! It really does sound great, has great features (ACTUALLY HAS THE 30k COLORS LIKE THE REST OF THE JVC'S, not just blue, as advertised, if you dont believe me, look at the picture of the box that sonic has supplied, and look at the top of the box, :) its red) but yes, it puts out a very clear signal, sync's great with my android phone, phone sound quality is good, Pro EQ is quite adjustable, the filters work great, and all in all, it is easy to use, and best of all, it has AMAZING sound quality. I leave my ipod hooked up to it, and it sounds really great. I Love this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 12, 2012 Love this thing!
Review by
Spoolin from Omaha, NE
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
My past experiences with jvc were not good (10+ years ago), but I decided to try them again. JVC has completely changed their game, and I am a big fan now. This thing is awesome, I'm totally in love with it. It does everything it said it would. Tons of options in the menus, download the owners manual and check it out, amazing. It's only a 3 band EQ, but it does impact the sound quite a bit, and you can have different EQ settings for each source. I love the fact that I can stream Pandora from my Evo 4g (Android), and it gives me complete control of changing stations, creating a new station, skipping a track, thumbs up or thumbs down, and it gives you all the artist & track info. The Pioneer 9400 I had briefly before getting this did none of that. Navigation of the menus is pretty easy & intuitive. Press menu to get to a list of options for that source, or press & hold menu to get to the global options. Press the big volume button, and it pauses the track, or mutes the radio, simple. I love that you can go into the menu and hide sources that you don't use, like AM, and aux. I never use those, so I hid them, and now I don't have to cycle through them when choosing source. Phone calls are crisp & clear, most people don't realize I'm using a handsfree device. It has 3 sets of 5v pre-outs for future expansion, and they can all be crossed over at the headunit, high pass for front & rear, low pass for sub, all of which have adjustable crossover points, phase control 0 or 180 for the sub, sub level, and you can turn the subs on or off from the unit. As well you can turn off the internal amp if you're not using it. If I had to say anything negative, the source button is placed a bit awkward, it's recessed a bit, and sometimes difficult to find. And I wish the volume knob had some ridges in the edge to make it easier to grip, it's smooth, and you have to grasp it between thumb & finger to turn, if it had texture, you could turn it with one finger. But those are seriously minor gripes, overall it's everything I had wanted and more. So much so, I went and bought the double din r900bt for my other car, which is even more amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz