Showing 26 reviews for JL Audio 13W6V2-D4

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio 13W6V2-D4
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 26 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.2
Features
4.5
Design
4.7
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
GREAT SUBWOOFER!!!

Hands down one of the top subwoofers on the market. I went with the 13w6 instead of the 12w6 because the 13w6 inch pushes 89% more air than the 12w6..And this this POUNDS!!! I'm simply amazed. Sonic has the best prices..you cant find deals like this anywhere else on the internet. THANKS SONIC!!!

VS
Over priced subwoofer

I decided to try one even though I have never been a fan of JL Audio. The subwoofers performance for the Price tag was way below my expectations. I ran this at 600 watts rms with a Orion amplifier and my opinion was that I have had just as good if not much better from much lower priced subwoofers. I am now running a Audio Que HDC 12 with the same amplifier and it destroys the JL 13W6. The Audio Que is said to handle 2000 watts so I am way under powered yet it is louder and the bass rolls off very smooth. Also I have been trying to sell the JL which I only used for 2 weeks and cant't move it for 275 dollars. I don't understand all the hype about JL Audio. It appears they are still living off of their name and people have been suckered into thinking they are the best when in fact they are second rate and below average for the price. Do some research and look at Digital Designs, Fi Audio, RE Audio, Massive Audio, Ascendent, or Sundown as they offer way more output, quality and durability than this over rated and over marketed product.

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
January 19, 2007 GREAT SUBWOOFER!!!
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Thomas from Boca Raton, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Hands down one of the top subwoofers on the market. I went with the 13w6 instead of the 12w6 because the 13w6 inch pushes 89% more air than the 12w6..And this this POUNDS!!! I'm simply amazed. Sonic has the best prices..you cant find deals like this anywhere else on the internet. THANKS SONIC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 19, 2005 good
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
alex from Lutz, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this is a very good brand and very good sub. The only problem with JL is that it is overpriced. even though it is expensive, its why you buy mercedes over a dodge. the benz will last much longer and is overall a much better vehicle. JL products are all top knotch so still recommended if you have the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 9, 2012 Hard to pay almost 500 dollars for a sub that will break after time.
Review by
Sam from Portland, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These subs are very musical, sound great and hit hard! However the durability is not so much. They do suffer from crappy soft parts that will break. I own two of them, and they are both suffering from surround failures as well as ripped spiders. Being driven off a JL 1000/1, and in a JL built box, they are not being over powered or abused. After doing some research, I have seen that many owners of these subs and other W6 sizes are also having issues with it as well. They do offer surround kits online for these subs, but I feel like that shouldn't be an issue when I pay as much as I did! Shame on you, JL, use some better parts if your going to charge me top dollar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 23, 2012 Excellent Sub
Review by
Josh from El Paso, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had one of these in my 05 mustang gt in a sealed fender well enclosure, It was hooked up to a slash 500w amplifier and all I can say is wow, yes the sub is fairly pricy but its well worth the money. You can also find them used at a very reasonable prices, It hit very hard and very low and was incredibly responsive to fast paced bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 8, 2012 JL 13w6
Review by
Maximus Audio from matawan
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
save yourself the headache and time,,,save up and buy this sub,,,the 13w6,,is the most user fiendly flexable sub out there. ,,its well built and expensive for a reason,,,dont waste time with ID Max or Digital Designs,,or Re audio,,JL w6 line has minimal break in time,,demand is high for this brand becasue its a well built product,,,ive owned them all one time or the other,,,ID MAX is one of the worst subs made,,,,600watts of real unclipped power with start to max this sub out,,,DD is a very well built sub but needs exact breakin procedure,,the jl 13,,with 700watts for power will last you the rest of your life,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 16, 2012 best speakers i've ever owned!
Review by
rob thomas from pittsburgh, pa
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought a pair of JL Audio 13w6v2d4s. They are wired in parallel down to 1ohm. I have them wired to a rockford fosgate t1501bd amp. My birth sheet reads 1893 actual watts! And let me tell you, these speakers hit really hard, tight, accurate, and low. Had to get ear plugs! I have them in a sealed box so they can handle a lil more power vs. Ported. Had em for about 6months, hittn em hard, and they seem like there getting even better with age. Like a fine wine! Love these speakers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 15, 2012 Awesome
Review by
Munja75 from Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Prompt service and great guys to deal with. Will buy from again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 22, 2012 JL Audio 13W6V2-D4
Review by
Eric from White Haven, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Excellent product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 19, 2012 13w6v2
Review by
cadillac from Ca anahiem
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
i had the 2x12w6v2 and they pounder with the right amp but i want more more i want that crazy bass but JL is very pricey. I dont know if i want to buy the 13w6 if i wasnt pleased with the 12's but you cant go wrong from the forums ive been reading the
13w6 is equal with the 12w7. I'm interested in buying these though they are great quality subs. I'm thinking about waiting for the realese of the v3's thoughs should be nice the lip on them resembles the w7 and there coming out with a 1300v3 amp soon so stay tuned for SonicElectronix im sure they will have the best prices with the warranty to match it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2011 Jl w6v2
Review by
Toe from Helena MT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I am running 2 of the jl 13w6v2's in a custom box on a rockford fosgate p1000/2 amp at 1 ohm resistance bridged in my ford expedition and these two pound hard!! Defently worth the money! Will be buying 2 12w7's in my bmw but that's for later talk the w6's flat out pound hard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 9, 2011 I don" get it
Review by
MACS from Buffalo NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have to say that for the price of JL audio (both the w6 and w7) they are way over rated. I hear many people claim they are the "best" SQ sound quality subwoofer made. This makes me laugh as I have competed since 1994 and if this is sound quality then im Santa Clause! I have had the 13W6 and the 13W7 and have to say that I have found many better subs for way less. I switched to the RE Audio XXX and am much happier and payed less than my W7. I feel JL is just living off the reputation they built as the subs have not changed in about 7 years. 500 to 1100 dollars for these subs is robbery but if you just have to have JL then have at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 31, 2011 great subwoofer!
Review by
jake from holland, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just bought two of these beast and they pound, I only have a rockfordfosgate 500.1 amp hooked up to them right now so there only getting 250 watts rms each and there rated at 750 watts rms, they are louder then my two type r's at 1200 watts rms when the w6's are getting 250 rms each, my friend has one in his Lexus with a 2 cubic foot box and a 1200 watt rms JL audio amp and up by his mirror the windshield is cracking and they wasn't there before he got the w6, these subs sound really good and there loud, don't think about it just buy there there worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 30, 2011 sounds amazing and loud!
Review by
jake from holland, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just bought two 13w6v2 and put them in a 4 cubic foot box, in my s-10, and now I'm waiting for my t1500.1bd to come in. But as of right now I have just a 500 watt rms Rockford Fosgate amp at 1 ohm hooked up to both and they hit so hard, I upgraded from two 12" alpine type r's and had a 1200 watt rms amp at 1 ohm hooked up to both and the 13w6's are just as loud at 250 watts rms each, don't listen to people saying that JL audio is all about SQ, they do sound great but there also loud as crap! My buddy has just one and that thing broke his windshield, he has a Lexus and the sub is in the trunk, don't think about it just buy it you will be impressed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 28, 2011 Deep bass guarantee!
Review by
Gustavo from SP, Brazil
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Definitely one of the best subwoofers I have ever had the pleasure of listening. Mounted it on a bandpass enclosure with an alpine PDX-M6 amp and the responses are amazing. Recommended to all who enjoy deep and well defined bass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 24, 2011 Good product
Review by
Smitty from New Jersey
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Well I bought this sub and for the 30 minutes or so it worked it sounded incredible but I have blown 4 amps at this point and have yet to figure out the problem so I have given up hope for now and just have a big change holder where my center consol once was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 10, 2011 Quality subs
Review by
KC from chicago, il
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These replaced a set of JBL P1224's. Those weren't bad subs, but this is a whole different level. They require a custom box. I went sealed because of available space. I currently have them running on an Alpine PDX 1.1000 and i'm going to swap to something a little more powerful since the subs get distorted at LOUD volumes (because the amp can't keep up with them). They sound great with all types of music and at all volumes. They sound very controlled as well as loud. It is hard to criticize such a phenomenal sub. (BUT...) They are pricey even at sonic's prices. I wish the outside cosmetics of them were better. The surrounds have an old foamy rubber look to them. The surrounds also highlight dust/saw dust. The terminals on them are extremely easy to use and seem very durable. These have a great combination of spl and sq. They are heavy, but the old p1224's were about the same weight. Plan on using bracing in the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 23, 2011 Best Subwoofer
Review by
LT from Grand Island, Nebraska
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had 3 13w3v3s before I got my 3 13w6v2 and man the sound quality from the w3 to the w6 its just amazing the w6 hits harder and has better sq than the w3. The w6 doesnt bottom out like my w3s did. Overall Im hitting 150 plus on the floor board with my w6s. Im using a mrp 2000 and cant be any happier. If you want a woofer that slams hard and has the best sq in the world the w6 is the sub to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 24, 2010 You get what you pay for
Review by
The Kid from Daytona Fl
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
People b**** about how much these things cost i got 2 in a ported box done right and it hurts your ears you cant turn it up all the way cause of the pain.

THESE ARE THE BEST SPEAKERS ON THE MARKET
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 13, 2010 Awesome Sub
Review by
Logan from Crestview, Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love this sub! I have 2 of them running off of a rockford t1000-1bd and it pounds!!! It is in a ported box and it hits all the notes clean and loud! I have not got it metered yet but it is one of those setups that everyone turns there head and looks at you and since it is so clean sounding it doesn't even hurt your ears, it just rattles everything that is not fastened down. Dynamat is a must to be able to hear the music with all the bass it has!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 8, 2010 Best woofer I've ever heard.
Review by
Josh from Boston, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just purchased a single 13W6v2 and I can't be any happier. I've got a 500/1 driving and I now what know what the true meaning of an SQ woofer is. I've worked my way through the W3 lines, swapping from 12's to 10's here and there, but this is by far the truest "sub"woofer I've ever heard. The deeps are deep and pronounced (but not boomy) and the response is ridiculous. I enjoy a good amount of metal and the double-bass response & transients are crystal clear no matter what the listening volume. Whether you decide on a 13, 12, or 10 you honestly cannot go wrong with a W6v2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 24, 2009 Very loud
Review by
Brad from Mooresville, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have one of these with a jl 500/1 amp and it pounds. I don't even turn the bass up past 2 and it still hits very hard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 11, 2008
Review by
Catherine from Bushwood, MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
good sounding sub, good price. i have an alpine 600 watt amp pushing it and it pounds! You get what you pay for and this a good product, it was worth the dollar amount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2008 TWO JL13W6V2 ONE JL 1000/1
Review by
Sergio from Del Rio, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The SPL these subs produce is really impressive, not to mention they maintain SQ through a wide parameter of the frequency range. I have two of these running off of one JL 1000/1 Slash Series amp, in a custom built box. I hit 144.7dB at 40Hz on the floorboard and 150.0dB at the port at 40Hz as well. These are well worth the buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 19, 2007 IF YOU CAN AFFORD IT, GET IT
Review by
Patrick from Marysville, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This sub is insane! I have it in a sealed box right now. The bass is amazing at high levels with no distortion. I had one running off 1000 watts RMS. NOT RECOMMENDED. It blew. Since I got it back, I Have had no problems. Its now powered by a 500/1 and is running perfectly. If you can afford the amp/sub match, get it! You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 12, 2007 Perfect!!!
Review by
Joe from Mobile, AL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have two being pushed by a eD NINe.1 and they slam like no other. It hurts my friends to sit in my car. I love the SQ and the SPL. It is in a sealed enclosure and gets really really LOW. If ported my car would fall apart. Panels fall off and i am going to sound deaden my car because you can hear me 300 yards away. They bump and sound good doing it and they get low. I love the subs and will definitely buy nothing but JL in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 25, 2011 Over priced subwoofer
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Phalanx from Cape Coral Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I decided to try one even though I have never been a fan of JL Audio. The subwoofers performance for the Price tag was way below my expectations. I ran this at 600 watts rms with a Orion amplifier and my opinion was that I have had just as good if not much better from much lower priced subwoofers. I am now running a Audio Que HDC 12 with the same amplifier and it destroys the JL 13W6. The Audio Que is said to handle 2000 watts so I am way under powered yet it is louder and the bass rolls off very smooth. Also I have been trying to sell the JL which I only used for 2 weeks and cant't move it for 275 dollars.

I don't understand all the hype about JL Audio. It appears they are still living off of their name and people have been suckered into thinking they are the best when in fact they are second rate and below average for the price. Do some research and look at Digital Designs, Fi Audio, RE Audio, Massive Audio, Ascendent, or Sundown as they offer way more output, quality and durability than this over rated and over marketed product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz