Showing 14 reviews for Sony XBA-S65

Customer Review Summary for Sony XBA-S65
Average Customer Rating is 3.6 out of 5 stars:
3.6
based on 14 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.1
Value
3.6
Features
3.6
Design
4.1
Usability
3.5
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
February 14, 2014 great value
Review by
paul from miami
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The service was great, shipped quick and as discribed. They are 10 out of 10. Good company!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 1, 2014 Review
Review by
Review from Lake villa Illinois
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great ear phones. I would recommend these to anyone who asked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 16, 2013 I disagree with most of previous comments
Review by
Rlagarto from Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First the headphone design allows you to tie the cord around your ear, and does a pretty good job. If you have problems, most likely will be because the cord is not to pull the cord a little more or the rubber buds are not your size. Just change it for the right one.
Now about the sound, for me is not that good volume is low and not that clear i had to use an amp to get better results. My previous headphones a monster isport sounds way better, but those ones have serious fit problems. so i keep Sony ones over monster, because until now, I had no issues about the fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 21, 2013 Terrible headphones for the price.
Review by
iDre from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
"Balanced Armature" seems to mean incredibly weak low end. While the stylized design is quite pleasing, and the rubberized loops may keep the headphones hanging on your ears, but they do nothing to actually keep the buds in the correct position inside your ear while doing "sports". Correct positioning is essential to make good contact between the rubber piece and your ear, to properly hear the best of the poor sound quality that these buds offer. But while running I would constantly have to adjust the buds in my ears. They don't solve the problem of securing earphones while being active.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 18, 2013 Still looking for the perfect running headphones? These aren't.
Review by
EuroBlue from Bruxelles, Belgium
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I run every day, rain or shine. Needless to say, my headphones experience a lot of abuse and I am almost constantly on the look out for good running headphones. I won't be trying these again.

Point one: running headphones need to stay in place. These ones use a strap that goes around the ears and then you tighten it into place using a slipknot. It stays on the ear, but the buds don't really stay IN the ear, moving around and sometimes coming out. Also, the strap is not that comfortable when you have it as tight as it needs to be to stay in place. And I have already noticed, after 3 months, that the structure of the headphones is becoming weaker even with normal tightness.

Point two: for reasons I don't understand, the left headphone came with a speck of dust inside. Try as I might, I cannot remove this. As a result, I have an annoying buzz at certain frequencies.

Point three: notwithstanding the annoying buzz, the sound quality isn't that great. Your sound will become mashed and tinny. There are plenty of headphones that deliver much better sound.

Point four: for such a mediocre output, these headphones were actually quite expensive....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Great sound, terrible fit
Review by
Event Horizon from Bridgewater, NJ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Best sounding sport headphones, as long as your sport is ... chess. Nice drivers, clean sound, good bass. Yes, good bass. I will explain later. But I think, nobody, really nobody from this particular design team NEVER went to gym or tried to run, because these headphones, regardless of it's interesting design, can not stay fit longer then 1 min. When they fit securely, so there are no air gap, they sound really, really nice. As soon as you start moving, and they get off your ear just little bit, bass is gone, zero, none nothing and SQ is goes to level of $5 headset. So, Do not even think about them as long your sport includes any movements of body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Review
Review by
David from Bakersfield, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I only use ear phones for audiobooks while exercising. I find Sony's $10 earphones work and fit better than these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Awesome earbuds!
Review by
Frank Smokesweed from Calgary, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I would recommend these because a week after owning them my girlfriend accidentally put them through the wash cycle and they still work perfectly. Water resistant as advertised! I also own a pair of Ultimate Ears studio reference in ear monitors and the sound quality is comparable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 2, 2013 Good value and performance
Review by
Alex M from Cambridge, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this primarily because I wanted some earphones that would loop around my ear so I wouldn't have to worry about it falling out of my ears especially if I'm walking or in the train and holding onto the rail with one hand and holding a bag in the other.

One thing about the earphones is that it is soft and flexible - good in the way that it curves around your ear and doesn't have any hard edges that poke you; bad in the way that because its soft if you accidentally tighten it too much because it needs to stay in your ear you could end up twisting your ear lobes a bit.

The sound performance was pretty good, I'm not an audiophile and I'm happy as long as I can hear the subtle bits of music without being overwhelmed by a lot of bass. As long as it stays tight in your ear it provides reasonably decent noise isolation. Only problem is that because you kind of cinch it around your ear when you're wearing them, if someone asks your something you have to loosen it a it and pull it off your ear to hear them clearly.

They come with a nice fabric bag to store the earphones when you're not using them. I've gotten them wet by sweating on them and even gotten trapped in some really bad rain in Boston and it's still performed.

I recently got off the noise isolating bandwagon and took the plunge into the much more expensive but oh so rewarding realm of noise cancelling earphones. I bought a pair of Bose QC20's for $300 and they are super comfortable and cut out noise like nothing else. If you're not looking to spend that kind of money these Sony earphones are pretty damn good. I also ended up buying a set of Shure exercise earphones with a loop around the ear but the wire cracked open after very limited use while these Sony's which were 1/4th the price are still going strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 28, 2013 OK Value-Needs More
Review by
Seth from Milwaukee, WI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought these hoping I'd finally have ear buds that stay all the way in my ear while running (inside & outside). These definitely stay on my ears better than alternatives. However, they do loosen from my ear hole while running and it doesn't take long until the music is quieter and very dull because of this distance. They never fall all the way off, but won't quite stay on either. Durability has been great with sweat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 1, 2013 Good earphones
Review by
Don from Mililani, HI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've got a lot of use out of them. I use them on my elliptical and have eliminated the problem of earphones falling out of my ears. The ear straps take some getting used to, but they sound great and do what they're designed to do. Sonic had the best price by far that I could find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 29, 2013 Good for everyone, but me.
Review by
jGRite from Florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
These headphones fit PERFECT. I already had a sweat proof headset that didn't stay in my ear like these. The problem with these is they aren't loud enough. I wear these at a skating rink and I have my own playlist that I listen to when I skate. My Pioneers drown out other sounds. These do not. If my device could be louder, these headsets would be PERFECT, but if you're looking to drown out all sound then I have another headset (with many colors to choice from) that will get the job done. If you don't need to drown out sound then these will never fall out and be PERFECT for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 25, 2013 Best I've used for workouts
Review by
shamdam from Pennsylvania
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've been using these for several months. Music quality is very good. Best feature is that they block out the awful Top-40 station in our fitness center. They also stay on during all types of activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 25, 2013 Good sports product
Review by
Kees from Heerhugowaard, Netherlands
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Easy to fit, comfortable wearing, great sound, only one problem, if you wear them, you can't hear cars coming from behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz