Showing 10 reviews for Boss AR4000D

Customer Review Summary for Boss AR4000D
Average Customer Rating is 4.8 out of 5 stars:
4.8
based on 10 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
80%
4 star:
.
.
20%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.5
Value
4.9
Features
4.6
Design
4.8
Usability
4.8
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 23, 2014 Durable Amp
14 of 27 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Brett from FRANKFORT, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this amp keeps up with my subs no matter what I hook up. And yes it does work at 1 Ohm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 4, 2013 Great amp but doesn't put out rated power
9 of 17 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Cap from Las Vegas, NV
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Sounds great, remote gain control works great, has a good HPF and subsonic filter, and the gain was easy to set to match the output from my bass processor. I'm getting about 700 watts rms output at 2 ohms and about 1050 watts rms at 1 ohm (measured with true RMS meters and factoring in group delay, impedence rise, etc.). This is with true 4 AWG pure copper power/ground cable and big 3 upgrade running on the stock alternator and battery (in 8th Gen Honda Accord). It appears to be 1 ohm stable although it's specified only down to 2 ohms. I ran it at 2 ohms for several months and am current running it at 1 ohm for past couple months. It went into protect mode (overheated) once early on before I upgraded the subwoofer speaker wire from 14 to 10 gauge and performed the big 3 upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 9, 2012 awesome
10 of 19 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
adan from oklahoma city, OK
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have this amp hooked up to 4 kicker comps and it pushes them hard and loud and it has never over heated on me I really recommend this amp it has a lot of power and a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 19, 2015 WHAT?!!? So confused
Review by
JC from Victoria, Australia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
First I gotta say...I'm running 0 gauge ofc wire for power and ground, optima yellow top, 120amp alternator, 2 x Alpine 5th gen type R 12" at 1 ohm.
Was running a soundstream tx1.2000d amplifier that I bought new for $450. BLEW it within 50 minutes of run time playing Drake - Over.
Hooked this BOSS AR4000D...and let me tell you that I have had it for just over a month running exact same gear, and I cannot get it into protection mode haha!
Can't believe how good this amp is! And only paid $110!
Will definitely get another own and strap them together, it literally surprises me everyday how it handles!
GET THEM! stop listening to people that say these amps are the worst around...because it's definitely showing up my soundstream amp!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 24, 2015 Boss Is Hitting Low Notes!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Bass Head from Wenona, Georgia
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Man I hear individuals hate on and bash Boss Audio but I'm here to tell u they either don't know how to install or hook up sound system equipment are just trying to get you to get jipped like they buddy or relative or even themselves by buying Upper class High end Name Brands. Iv'e had a couple of Boss class D amps and my uncle use to work in Audio shops fsince the mid 90's so he's 4-5 star experienced in hooking everythang up properly he tuned my amp set my radio spl settings and let me tell you Hard hitting Bass remote button is only on bout 4 to 5 it goes to 18, amp gain almost halfway everythang on my head unit is -negative man it is Rumble in The Trunk! I would say easy 725 watts @ 4 OHMS. Great for under $120 buks. As long as you don't have Competition woofers that require major wattage like 1000 watts eachRMS each speaker Boss will push reasonable DVC woofers that don't require monster watts. Install properly, Tune amp thoroughly, Set Head unit, WARNING The Amps Remote Control is not to be used as a volume button. Follow these steps thru and thru and you should be kosher. BASS=BOSS #I'm a Fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 7, 2013 just luv this company. been around 4 awhile. never let me dwn. sincerely goldegal59.
9 of 19 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
henry from bloomington, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Haven't installed system yet. For my wife & I. Thank u.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 5, 2012 mr.850
11 of 23 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
phil from cantonment florida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
man i got these on 3 15" phantom boss subs and im ready for any body out there and by the way 8 6/2 speakers in the doors and 12 6x9 so bring it on and outside p a speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 14, 2014 Great deal
12 of 26 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Juan from St.Louis, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Boss amp works great. It arrived on time no delays. All reps where very helpful, I would always use Sonic Electronix for all of my electronic needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2014 bangin' BOSS
9 of 21 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
yunggun from Waterford, ON, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great amp, got two jl15's and they slam. I have its little brother the AR2500 powering two jl12's that pump hard. BOSS knows how to make quality budget products, looks good too. Total confidence in this brand and anything from Sonic Electronics is a safe bet. I plan on doubling what i have, strapping the AR.4000 to get the 8000watts and get another 2 15's then just getting another AR2500 for 2 more 12's. and maybe some 8's or 10's depending what deals sonic electronics has on ;)

PS Every amp gets hot, just make sure it gets good air flow and you have a really good ground, and you wont have problems because of it over heating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2013 Best Amp I've Had
7 of 18 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Charles from Tonawanda, NY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just bought one of these today and it makes my 2 alpine type e 10" subs bang hard without even breaking a sweat. You will need wiring bigger than 8 gauge cuz that's what I currently have in there and it's starving for power at points but it wouldn't be once I put my 2 gauge in very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz