Showing 34 reviews for PAC SNI-1

Customer Review Summary for PAC SNI-1
Average Customer Rating is 4.4 out of 5 stars:
4.4
based on 34 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.3
Value
4.4
Features
4.2
Design
4.1
Usability
4.6
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
The most helpful favorable review: The most helpful critical review:
great

Worked perfectly I also recommend taking a small wire and wrapping it around your rca outputs on the head unit and grounding it on the closest screw. it took away all noise from head unit static and the engine rpm

VS
Worked but not great

The remote out would stay on for about a minute after car was off sometimes my amp would get interference and the sub would start going off with a loud bass note due to this unit. It also has alternator whine noises. The instructions could be better they were not clear enough for me on the wiring of the black wire i guess for ground loop noise???? I replaced this with a cheaper xscorpion unit that is passive not active like this one and the alternator noise was reduces

Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 7, 2011 great
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jordan from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Worked perfectly I also recommend taking a small wire and wrapping it around your rca outputs on the head unit and grounding it on the closest screw. it took away all noise from head unit static and the engine rpm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 30, 2014 good for the price
Review by
Bill from fredericktown.. Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had to hook up my equalizer the old school way due to the fact that I only had one set of pre out on my head unit (rca to speaker wire)... so that created a slight hum and kinda annoying. .. so I bought this Pac sni-1 and installed it and wow what a difference. . It took all the hum out and it was an easy installation. .. strongly recommend. ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 30, 2014 good for the price
Review by
Bill from fredericktown.. Ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had to hook up my equalizer the old school way due to the fact that I only had one set of pre out on my head unit (rca to speaker wire)... so that created a slight hum and kinda annoying. .. so I bought this Pac sni-1 and installed it and wow what a difference. . It took all the hum out and it was an easy installation. .. strongly recommend. ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 31, 2013 Worked but not great
Review by
David from Nb texas
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The remote out would stay on for about a minute after car was off sometimes my amp would get interference and the sub would start going off with a loud bass note due to this unit.
It also has alternator whine noises. The instructions could be better they were not clear enough for me on the wiring of the black wire i guess for ground loop noise???? I replaced this with a cheaper xscorpion unit that is passive not active like this one and the alternator noise was reduces
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2013 Kind of worked
Review by
Joe from Boston, Massachusetts
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I have an issue with the RCA cables carrying the signal for my front channels. Both left and right channel had their own problem with noises on the amp. This device completely removed the noise from the left channel, but somehow made it worse on the right channel. So I have the left channel into this device and right channel directly into the amp.
It might be a hit or miss product, but for the price and with the return policy I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Didn't really work
Review by
Niff from Toronto, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
A lot of people said it worked but it didn't work for me. Ordered two and none of them worked. It just muffled the volume output and did nothing else. Didn't get rid of the alternator whine at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 26, 2013 Great item
Review by
Hi from Indiana
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Had a Honda with terrible vehicle noise that I could not get rid of. This item took care
Of the problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 14, 2013 Works great
Review by
AdamO from Missouri
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I used 2 of these in my car. I have 2 amplifiers powering a sub and 2 sets of component speakers. I was getting engine whine in my speakers. I hooked these up at the amplifiers and it killed the noise and did not effect the sound at all. These work great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 21, 2013 PROBLEM SOLVED!!!
Review by
hotrod500 from Bowie, Md
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
GREAT ITEM, GREAT COST, WORKS GREAT. After I installed my kenwood 4 channel amp ran to my door speakers i acquired a whinning humming sound that went along with the tone of the motor. I installed a new head unit for different reasons and it seemed to had gotten worst. I looked for options and came upon this and after the 20 seconds it took me to hook it up my problem was gone! I love it, money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2013 Doesn't Eliminate Engine Noise!!!
Review by
Nick from Dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product works great for what it is. It got rid of all the annoying wining from radio interference. But i was also under the impression that eliminates engine noise as well. it doesn't! It's not too big of a deal because the noise doesn't bother me. But if you're buying this for engine noise think again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 20, 2012 CHEAP MATERIALS
Review by
nunya from any city, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The RCA jack failed within 6 months. The male plug is actually a piece of plastic coated with metal. The THIN layer of metal (like foil) cracked and separated. I had to spend some time fishing out the metal from the female connector.. What a cheap piece of crap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 27, 2012 Awesome !!!
Review by
Robert from Alton, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the best noise filters /i've ever used. i was having trouble with my car system too much noise when car running and that because I ran wires seperate from power and away from ground. I recommend it if you are experiencing this problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 19, 2012 Must use!
Review by
ricki from castaic, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've got this on both 4 channel amps and my three sub amps. What a difference it not only stops the high pitched wining it cleans up the entirety of the sound all together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 9, 2012 Works on ground loops
Review by
Noah from Nevada City, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This inexpensive box does indeed cure the ground loop interference that plagues us musicians/audiophiles. If you can hear your computer's inner workings or your car's engine in your music as noises then you have a ground loop. Later, I moved on to the Hum-X for better fidelity since I mix and master music on my speakers, but an snl-1 will surely work for your listening pleasure at home or in your car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 1, 2012 PAC SNI-1
Review by
Ken from Rocklin, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I purchased 3 PAC SNI-1 ground loops for my 2005 Corvette. One for front, one for rear, and one for subwoofer and hooked them up close to the amplifier. I was getting a lot of loud whine and they took 100% of the whine away. Great product at a very reasonable price. AND they WORK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 13, 2012 nice unit
Review by
budman from cincinnati, ohio
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
a little loud but it works fine easy hook up would recomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 9, 2012 pac sni-1
Review by
jose from victorville, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This product help me stop engine noise in my system. I will recommend this product to other people that want to stop engine noise from their system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 24, 2012 Great product
Review by
Jack from San Rafael, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Does exactly what it's supposed to do, plugged it in and and the buzzing/ticking sound went completely away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
December 16, 2011 Best product Must buy
Review by
uriel` from CLIVE, IA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had allot of noise and this item fixed it completely. It is also a lot cleaner in sound quality, but it decreases volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 25, 2011 Great Product and Customer Service
Review by
Chocolate 1047 from Detroit, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Item was very useful and reasonable priced. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2011 Works Great
Review by
Mickey from Pompan FLorida
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I noticed a significant reduction in alternatory noise and whine. The head phones the kids use no longer have irritating back ground noise. Works as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 13, 2011 Great Item
Review by
Ken from Hammond, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
To make a long story short, I hooked it up and there was no more alternator whine. I'm not quite sure what the brown wires are for, but I just hooked it up to my RCA's and then to the amp and it worked perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 31, 2011 PAC sni 1
Review by
Bik from hayward, ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It does decrease volume a bit but no more buzzy noise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 21, 2011 Absolutely works
Review by
Jack from Harrisonville, MO
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought several of these to break the ground loops between a computer, a DVD player and a sound board at our church. Was easy to install and took the 60 Hz hum out of the sound system completely. Next will be trying one between the sound system and an HD Video Recorder. The company was quick to ship the products, also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 31, 2011 Works fine
Review by
Hank from Beaverton, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I built up a PVR for home use using a PC and a TV tuner card. However I had a lot of noise on the audio (using a newer audio card). I tried this product and it worked very well. The only issue was the output signal was dampened quite a bit - but it is clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 26, 2011 Fixed engine whine in my speakers!!
Review by
Aaron from Port Arthur, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This noise filter fixed all my engine whine problems with my amplified door speakers. Also gave speakers a boost in loudness and clarity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 19, 2010 PAC SNI-1 Quieted Computer to Sound Mixer Update
Review by
BJ from London, KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
the PAC SNI-1 has been in service for about 6 months and still is keeping the hum at bay. The church Sound has has no perceptible hum and the Video is the sharpest and clearest it has ever been on the DVD's we produce.

This little inexpensive device has done what larger and/or much more expensive devises could not do.

I still love this product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 23, 2010 simply excellent
Review by
Wassim from Al-Manar, Riyadh,
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought it for my Tahoe and ended up using it everywhere in my sound and home theater, great product and value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 14, 2010 Doesn't come with schematic instructions
Review by
Steve from Los Osos
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Unfortunately the packaging didn't include schematic installation instructions for the recommended configurations. It seems simple enough but without a schematic I can't be sure. Anyway, I hooked it up as advised in my 2003 Ford Windstar but it did not remedy the noise problem. Perhaps this is due because the short pigtail of the filter plugs into the head unit, still requiring using the same, long patch cables. Because those patch cables connect to the amp after the filter there may still be an opportunity for picking up noise in the patch cables. Using shielded cables did not help so perhaps the signal noise is occurring elsewhere.

Next I will use adapters to plug the filter in just before the input of the amp to see if that helps. Still, the small price makes it worth trying. I am not an electrical engineer but happily, as I get older my high pitch hearing is worsening and so the problem is not as apparent as it was at first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 26, 2010 PAC SNI-1 Quieted Computer to Sound Mixer
Review by
BJ from London KY
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This little device FIXED a long standing problem in our church's soundroom.

Several devices were tried between the computer and Sound Mixer, but always with some audio hash and hum noise. The SNI-1 connected between the computer and Mixer resulted in the computer noise going down to the residual noise floor in the mixer.

I LOVE this thing! And another side effect is that the video feed is quieter also.

NOTE: I assume the durability of this will be good, but I've only had this for two days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 13, 2009 Works Great.
Review by
Booyah from Reno,Nevada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I just bought this and it works great, great, great. For such an annoying problem this is a very cheap fix. Got rid of the whine and my system sounds great. It may have even added a little sound quality because once I used it my system sounded better. Could just be because that horrible noise is gone or because it does in fact add SQ. Glad I didn't go with the more expensive ones because this gets the job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 1, 2009 It's a great product... if you can get to the needed place...
Review by
Peter from Houston, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've had it for several months now. This item is great for slightly older (pre-2007) G35 owners that want to be able to hook up Auxiliary input. However, it is only if you know how to take apart the stereo and get access to the cables and such behind it.

Once you are done, it's great! Never really had problem with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 18, 2009 this works
Review by
disturbance sound system from CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I've always used these noise filters if I'm getting distorted noises and they have always worked. Once the noise is coming from the RCA wires, this product will eliminate it. If its a power noise, it won't. They have a different one for the power noise and pop noise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 14, 2009 pac sni-1
Review by
Star from Chicago, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Worked great for what I needed it for... worked great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz