Showing 12 reviews for JL Audio CL441dsp CleanSweep

Customer Review Summary for JL Audio CL441dsp CleanSweep
Average Customer Rating is 4.3 out of 5 stars:
4.3
based on 12 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
50%
4 star:
.
.
33%
3 star:
.
.
8%
2 star:
.
.
8%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.6
Value
3.9
Features
4.2
Design
4.5
Usability
4.2
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
March 13, 2015 Amazing Device! Absolutely blown away.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Cody from Katy, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After reading various reviews of JL Audio's CleanSweep I was a little skeptical but what it does is exactly what I was looking for. I drive a 2014 Mazda 3 and the head unit in this vehicle cannot be replaced. Whether you get the Bose audio or not it simply cannot be done. There are no dash kits that exist! I added a Rockford Fosgate 5 channel amp and changed the door speakers out with some very nice Polk Audio DXi's and an MTX 10" sub. It was a nice improvement over factory sound but the amplifier naturally amplified the factory head unit's wildly distorted signal. I am an audiophile and was not completely pleased with the way it sounded so I made a leap of faith and ordered the CleanSweep. After having it installed and playing with the calibration I cannot express the amount of improvement that it offers. There is a tiny percentage that if you really know the song and pay attention and have it really cranked up you might notice a tiny imperfection here and there since it is still a factory head unit behind everything but overall it was a worthwhile upgrade. The CleanSweep produces a nice controlled, very aftermarket sound I was used to in my previous vehicle that I had a full stereo aftermarket system in. My system has the balanced, clear sound I was looking for for hundreds less than the upgraded Bose stereo. I would whole heartedly recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 23, 2012 Works well... Recommended
7 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
John from Novi, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
With the factory programing vehicle specific eq these days into their head units, this is a must for building around the factory hu. Major difference after calibrating this in my vehicle. Set up is easy, not a huge fan of the volume knob but it is not required to use. Works great otherwise. Could be slightly smaller, but again no biggie. Def will use again in future installs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 19, 2014 Does what is says... and that's a good thing
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Frank from Boston, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently bought a new car and wasn't thrilled with the stock system that came with it so I immediately went ahead and started purchasing the necessary parts and replacing them.

After discussing with friends I decided on making the JL Audio CL441dsp CleanSweep a critical piece of my rebuild and I couldn't be happier. The stock deck wasn't going anywhere as it was so tightly integrated into the car itself (dash notifications, steering wheel controls, etc).

The CleanSweep is powering two seperate amps for me. An Alpine KTP-445U that feeds my four Infinity Primus 6.5" speakers, and a Rockford Fosgate R500X1D amp that feeds my JL Audio 10" Bass Wedge.

The Fosgate has a Pass-Thru so I opted to run the Front Channel from the CL441dsp there, and then loop it back to the Front RCA inputs of my Alpine.

It rid me of the stock deck optimizations that Nissan put in place to make up for their crappy stock speakers, and allowed me to really push the amps with a nice clean signal.

For the price, it works great. Some might just say it's an overpriced LOC, but I really do love how the system sounds overall when I compare it using the EQ Defeat. I do which it had additional DSP features for further optimizing EQ to my personal tastes, but it definitely has good bang for the old buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 23, 2012 Ok for what it is.
8 of 16 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Isaac from na, na
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Put one of these in a 2012 Camaro, not Boston Acoustics, to pump signal into a 4ch amp. The unit was easy to install, essentially just a fancy LOC with power, and easy to program.
The issue I ran into is this: this sound processor is one that adjusts frequencies to output a flat signal. It *doesn't* sound in a way that would improve upon a junky source unit. The 2012 Camaro's headunit is just that: *terrible.*
The issue was remedied by taking out the Cleansweep and upgrading to an MS8 (which sounded wonderful).
Ran into the same thing on a 2010 Boston Acoustics Camaro, as well. Terrible sound without a good soundprocessor or new headunit (even with all new speakers/amps).
Lesson learned: the source unit must be outputting a decent quality signal for the JL Cleansweep to do what it's supposed to do. It's a very nice active LOC, basically.
One of thing I noticed: the sound processing circuit that the Cleansweep uses introduced a slight "hiss" onto the RCA outputs. We weren't able to get rid of it, and found others had the same issue online after some research into it, another reason the Cleansweep was swapped out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 6, 2012 This is the best solution when you want to keep your factory head unit!!!!
9 of 18 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
andy j from chatham, IL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I installed it in a 2010 ford F150, i did not want to lose all the features like sync and steering wheel controls. Plus the dash is not very accepting to aftermarket head units, the cost of the JL audio unit is less than that of a head unit that has the features to replace the factory unit, i run this to a jl hd 900/5 amp and the sound is awesome, crystal clear, I tried the PAC line out converter with the harness and the sound was not good. The output adjustments were not able to go low enough and the sound was still super bass heavy not leveled. This product is totally woth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
April 11, 2012 JL Audio CL441dsp CleanSweep
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Tony V from Thornhill,Ontario, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It made my 2011 Nissan Frontier factory stereo sounds even better. I am extremely happy with the quality of the JL audio clean sweep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
October 20, 2006 Worth IT!!
9 of 18 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
DAVID from LILBURN, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It also takes the place of a hi/low converter! Gives control back to the passengers great E.Q. alternative. Installation is difficult but well worth the time and effort!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 6, 2009 Know what you need it for, and make sure it's compatible with your stereo
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Jack from Los Angeles, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
At first I was disappointed. It didn't work with my ford fusion mp3 cd player. The installer told me the unit might be defective as the signal would disappear after car was turned on. Exchanged unit, same problem! Installer put his stereo in which was was the 6 cd changer version and worked flawlessly. I bought off of him and am now happy. The sound quality from my components is amazing and the bass comes out at perfect response.

A lot of people think you install this and just replace speakers and expect it to improve sound. This is NOT what it's made for. It is to run your components and sub through aftermarket amps. for perfectly flat frequency. For best results you only use the volume control they gave you. You can still get acceptable sound through your decks volume control if you adjust the gain on the volume control and adjust the amp accordingly. People are very impressed with this setup and it is nice to now worry as much about getting your stereo, amps and speakers stolen with this stealth setup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 25, 2008 Not worth it...
7 of 16 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Stan from San Diego, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I was very disappointed with this piece of equipment! Installed into an '06 Accord, I was hoping this would allow me to keep the factory look (I quickly returned my other option the METRA TURBOKIT which is absolute junk, don't bother) while still having a great sound system...

Unfortunately that did not happen. The sound is always on the muddy side. Although CD's sound OK, strangely enough the radio sounded worse than stock! Not sure why that would happen, other than "cleaning" up the signals also increased the static noise.

On Ipod (aux input) you cannot turn up the volume too high or it will freak out, sounding like the tortured death of an electric xylophone and shut off for 2 seconds, then will start back up and repeat the process.

Definitely a waste of time and money... If you have to get decent tunes out of your ride and this is the only option (as in 03 to 07 accords), do what I did and trade in the car or go with the MTX REQ5 which is way better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 28, 2006 Talk about insane difference!
7 of 16 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Joe from Marquette, MI
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I recently installed one of these in my mom's 2001 Dodge Dakota with the Infinity package. Although the speakers were never that great, they sounded awesome stock. Then I saw this new product from JL and decided what the heck? Give it a shot on some name brand speakers. And man-o-man did it ever make that vehicle sound like a concert hall!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 30, 2009 Great Sound, But Understand First
7 of 17 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
Matt from New Hartford, CT
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The end result is outstanding; exceptional sound quality. My advise is to ensure you go to a certified JL Audio installer, as my installer stumbled multiple times. First the system sounded awful and the telephone didn't work. He finally figured out I needed to have the JL Audio SSI (Signal Summing Interface) added. He then again stumbled on the installation. I ultimately started over with a JL Audio certified installer. He first called and told me my head unit was defective. After I 'pushed back a little', he agreed to talk with Tech Support. He learned I needed yet another part (small cost, not sure what it was) to get the factory phone connections to work.

Pros:
- Sound quality
- Normalized connections to allow me to use an older 4 channel amp
- Allowed me to add use of my iPod

Cons:
- Tricky installation (unless you have the right guy)
- Had to add another $100 plus part (the SSI)
- Volume can't be controlled from head unit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 22, 2008 really helps
7 of 17 people found the following review helpful:
Review by
dromus from Fort Myers, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
this really does make my system sound better. it even has 8volt outputs to keep the signal pure. very nice. a little pricey though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz