Showing 16 reviews for Pioneer DEH-X5500HD

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer DEH-X5500HD
Average Customer Rating is 4.6 out of 5 stars:
4.6
based on 16 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
63%
4 star:
.
.
38%
3 star:
.
0%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.7
Value
4.8
Features
4.7
Design
4.4
Usability
4.3
what's this?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
April 22, 2014 The price was right & it has the features I wanted
Review by
N from Crozet, VA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Receiver works well for the most part, mostly does what I want it to. It has CD, radio, and 2 inputs. So i can play music from my phone and from a USB music player as well as CD and radio - these are as many choices as I have needed.
Since my speakers are fairly crappy, hard to rate its audio quality. I like that it works with my USB drive automatically BUT these days (nearly 1 year after purchase) it puts itself into some mix/DJ--mode and refuses to play the entire song - blends into the next, even though I do not want it to and have switched short playback & MixDJ to OFF. Can't find any other setting to fix it.
Come to think of it, it would be nice if it would remember the last-selected source, rather than always starting up with the USB input. Maybe there is a setting for that but I haven't come across it.

Lots of button pushing to get to the settings, dunno how that compares with other models. It is possible that if I tried a bit harder I might find ways to deal with these issues, so perhaps it is ease of use rather than features that is lacking?

Also, the lights are too bright and my car doesn't have a dimming connection. But it is ok and Sonic were great, would def. shop with them again next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 11, 2014 GREAT VA;IE
Review by
David from Rialto, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Fast shipment, great price and works great, would buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 30, 2014 Awesome Radio
Review by
blaine from Canby, OR
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This radio has all of the bells and whistles and so many features that are needed to rock your world. I love it and the price was 1/2 of what the retailers wanted for it. I highly recommend not only this radio but this company. They did more than they said they would for me..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 28, 2014 Nice radio
Review by
Chris from Maricopa, AZ
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This head unit was inexpensive, looks great, and sounds much better than the stock one. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 19, 2014 Great Value and Service!!
Review by
Gavin from Saint Petersburg, FL
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Awesome price that can't be beat AND INCLUDED wiring harness and dash install kit! Insane value; great service!; and fast shipping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 11, 2014 One of the Best Stereos
Review by
TooTall from Danvers, MA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This Pioneer Car Stereo is one of the best car stereos I have heard. This was a Christmas gift to my son, who picked it out and we had installed by my mechanic at work. He had a problem at first but we called Expert Service and they resolved the problem with great expertise. Along with the stereo, I purchased a set of 12" woofers and now I can hear when my son has arrived home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
January 4, 2014 Great little head unit for a little over $100
Review by
WT from Concord, Ca
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Rich, solid sound and easy to use features. Having the Aux port and the USB connection in front means you can plug just about any device in. Variable color illumination is a cool little added bonus. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 21, 2013 trust
Review by
eric from dallas, TX
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
so far that i buy pionners they never fail, or have any problems, so far they satisfied me, for me i would not try any other stereo only pioneer stereo ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 19, 2013 Bumpin' Again
Review by
Justin from New Albany, IN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Stereo got busted so I was looking for a replacement. Great value on this model. You get so much for $100. I'd buy it again in a heartbeat. Easy to install as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2013 DEH X5500HD
Review by
Gary from Kingsland, GA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The Pioneer DEH X5500HD is a great radio. It is loaded with many features and settings. Playback from USB storage device, I-phone, mp3s, and Pandora. Must of Sonic delivers on time. The only drawback on the radio it's a 1-DIN radio. Some of the controls are hard to see and feel. But guess what, It comes with a remote control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 27, 2013 Great stereo!
Review by
john from ct
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Highly recommend this receiver. ..sounds great and easy to use! Has the cool mixtrax feature that allows you to use more than 200,000 different colors to match your auto console.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2013 Good to have I will buy some more
Review by
Leland from Jackson, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The price was good and I love it.
I need to get one for my honda accord ex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 26, 2013 This is a good product and a good price
Review by
Leland from Jackson, MS
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 21, 2013 Nice Unit, Just Plug in Your Flash Drive!
Review by
tdn from Seattle, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
The really annoying thing about this unit is that there is no "previous" button (ie, you cant get shuffle backwards), like if I'm shuffling through mp3s to listen to, I might press the next button too fast and I can't go back to the track again (without doing complicated searches)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
May 10, 2013 Great sound
Review by
Erik from MD
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
No real cons - everything sounds great. Before replacing my speakers that were blown, I installed this and it made them sound 10x better by itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
November 11, 2012 Radio Good. Owner's Manual Bad
Review by
Coping from Bloomington, MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This is the second HD radio I've owned. HD stations work great in the Twin Cities. Some HD stations sound more digitized on this Pioneer than on my previous unit. It took a couple of days to find the EQ settings needed to remove the tinny digitized sound from the those stations.The radio provides plenty of power for my needs. The ability to change display colors is nice but it doesn't impress the wife. I choose this radio based on its features, price, Pioneer name and the fact that it has buttons for preset stations. After a couple of weeks with the radio I feel those buttons are too small. This radio charges my android phone and allows me to access the contents of the SD card. Pandora still requires an AUX jack to stream from the phone to the stereo....the usb cable will not handle streaming. The owner's manual has tiny font in light grey print which is worthless. I had to download the manual from Pioneer's website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz