Showing 10 reviews for Pioneer X-EM21 (XEM21) Micro CD/iPod/iPhone Dock Shelf System FM Tuner and USB

Customer Review Summary for Pioneer X-EM21 (XEM21) Micro CD/iPod/iPhone Dock Shelf System FM Tuner and USB
Average Customer Rating is 4.2 out of 5 stars:
4.2
based on 10 Reviews
Share your thoughts with others:
Rating Distribution:
5 star:
.
.
40%
4 star:
.
.
40%
3 star:
.
.
20%
2 star:
.
0%
1 star:
.
0%
what's this?
Average Attributes Rating:
Durability
4.1
Value
4.6
Features
4.2
Design
4.6
Usability
4.2
what's this?
Quick Comparison:
Most Helpful Customer Reviews:
September 17, 2013 Overall, I like it.
Review by
Coolidge from Fairlee, VT/
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
It has worked well so far. Sound is very good and has decent power. The only annoying thing about it is the automatic shut off mode which is a default setting on the unit. It will shut off after 15 mins. I have refer to the manual to find out how to shut off the automatic shut off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Decent
Review by
Lou from Scranton, PA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I had a JVC shelf system for about fifteen years and finally one of the speakers went. The JVC was beautifully balanced and a lot of sound for a small package. This Pioneer is a lot of sound in a small package, but not as balanced. Without the bass boost things often sound thin and with the bass boost they sound fuzzy. All around, the sound clarity is nothing to write home about. That being said, it's not bad for the price. I use it outside for parties and such and am not too afraid of it getting rained on etc. due to the price. Also, having an iPod dock is nice. My old radio didn't have one, as it was made before iPods existed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 17, 2013 Some Good, Some Not So Good
Review by
alchemist405 from Prosser, WA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Love the small size and features on this unit, but it squeaked slightly the day we got it whenever a CD was played. Now, 6 months later, it squeaks and rattles and makes quite a bit of noise when the CD plays. Since I got this primarily to play at night (white noise CD of the ocean) it is an issue, but nothing I can do anything about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
September 7, 2013 Fantastic sound for a small system
Review by
Tommy joe from Murfreesboro, tn
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
We have this unit, it gives powerful sound for a system that takes up a small amount of room. Easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
August 15, 2013 Mp3 player
Review by
BigNinja from Oxnard, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
This stereo lacks an obsolete cassette recorder but gains a USB2 port with the ability to play mp3 files. Forget about the CD player and FM radio, They are next on the list to be obsolete. I just transferred 1 GB of mp3 files onto a thumb drive and now I have music that will play all night until the next morning. And they are all favorite picks, too. I would love to see a smaller stereo similar to this one but with mp3 player capability only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 3, 2013 Adequate for the purpose
Review by
Michael from Minneapolis,MN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
I bought this unit as a replacement for a 20+ year old AIWA that had expired. The X-EM21 was selected because it fit in a custom cabinet built for the AIWA. It works well using the AIWA speakers that had been solidly mounted near the ceiling. FM reception is better than the old AIWA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
July 1, 2013 Great Value
Review by
Big Al from Hudson, WI.
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Great sound and value in a small box. Excellent for my application where I need a compact unit that provides good sound for FM and CDs.
Great value for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
June 12, 2013 Pioneer X-EM21
Review by
Dishman from Ottawa, Canada
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Outstanding product with very high sound quality. Excellent item and company has fantastic expedient shipping. A++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
March 5, 2013 Very pleased with this stereo
Review by
David from Kingsport, TN
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
After a few attempts with mini-shelf units that delivered weak sound, this Pioneer is a pleasant surprise. Nice balanced tones are rich & clear. I bought it mostly for the USB input - I can have all my music plugged in and ready when I want it. Within 10 minutes my wife asked me to order another EM21 for our kitchen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz
February 15, 2013 Lots to learn
Review by
BigNinja from Oxnard, CA
Overall
Durability
Value
Features
Design
Usability
Good lighting would be a good idea when setting up this stereo. At first the cd drawer wouldn't open. Looking closer, with more light, I noticed a piece of tinted tape was holding it shut. I suggest getting comfotable and taking your time reading the owners manual to set up your stereo. My favorite parts of this stereo are the USB and the iPod connector. I have 10,000 mp3's on a single 32GB USB 2 flash drive. I only charge my iPod on this stereo. The CD player is just an extra choice of media that, along with the FM tuner, to be used if the flash drive is removed for use on the PC or car stereo. The remote control is much nicer than the small credit card remotes found on other stereos. For what it cost, this is a good stereo. I purchased a 3 year extended warranty for $**. So $*** + tax you are guaranteed a working stereo for at least the next 36 months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
Report Abuse | Write a Review
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Delicious Share on Buzz